Year Zero - Nine Inch Nails
Year Zero Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 218 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Trent Reznor offers his vision of a bleak future (the year 2022, to be exact) on this 16-track concept album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reznor sets his machinery on "kill" and points it toward authority and herd mentality. [Jun 2007, p.158]
  2. Listened to as a journey from beginning to end, this is a genuine attempt to progress to pastures new after With Teeth.
  3. 80
    THe music is scarily gripping... his best computer blues since 1994's The Downward Spiral. [May 2007, p.108]
  4. “Year Zero” is much more seductive than “With Teeth,” partly because of all the so-called noise.... If all these sounds often distract listeners from Mr. Reznor’s lyrics, well, so much the better.
  5. Year Zero doesn't just fall short of the promo campaign; it doesn't even rank among NIN's most adventurous efforts.
  6. Its nihilism can grate, but it makes an impression.
  7. 50
    The songs drag in the middle, choruses become interchangeable, and too many tracks end with the same electronic stuttering. [May 2007, p.84]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 5 out of 107
  1. CraigC.
    May 29, 2008
    THE best NIN album thus far!
  2. RichardH
    Apr 23, 2007
    I'm not going to compare this CD to the Downward Spiral. I'm not going to liken it to With_Teeth or go on and on about 'digital hardcore' since I have no idea what that even means. But what I will say about this disk is that it is Reznor's most ambitious outing since The Fragile. And he pulls it off easily. From it's darkest growl to it's softest whisper this disk simply bleeds into you. With each repeated play-through the sounds between the lines of each song have slowly unfurled and I've become completely absorbed in this fictional future that is actually simply a slightly darker depiction of the current status of our world. For fans of the sound that Reznor has been crafting starting with the Fragile this CD should be highly recommended. For fans of the earlier era stuff that have disliked the sound of his more recent work, you may be less thrilled. Expand
  3. StevenR
    Apr 13, 2007
    Trent is back, and in full force. As a huge NIN fan, this album surpassed my expectations and then some. I really recommend this.
  4. Apr 11, 2012
    Nine Inch Nails' most ambitious offering to date, with a concept based around the future of the human conciousness we see Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross exercising their most experimental works into pop/rock anthems, a benchmark for modern music production. Expand
  5. BrianK
    Apr 17, 2007
    Reznor can do no wrong, and proves once again with his systematic, noisy, yet refined, digital prowess that he is once again a rock god among rock men, I like the concept and it weaves into a nice story and paints a dark and detailed image of our society should we give into the ways completely we are seemingly putting ourselves through. Also classic NIN always has a nice balance of industrial growl and catchy hooks, Reznor once again does not dissapoint. Great Album! Expand
  6. BillN
    May 2, 2007
    NIN best album in years. Better than WithTeeth and The Fragile (and i liked both albums).
  7. RingoDingo
    Sep 6, 2007
    Terrible. I guess I bought the non-concept version because mine sucks. No immagery, no hooks, very forgetable. I listed to it twice, tried to make it a third time through but got bored. I then popped in 90's NIN, cried a little, because like Nirvana that music will not be created anymore. Trent isnt dead, just his ideas. You can post masterpiece on a canvas smeared with fecal matter and people will buy it. I guess Trent smeared fecal matter on a mixing console and you all bought it. Expand

See all 107 User Reviews