• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Jun 18, 2013
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1528 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    Sonically, this is a great departure for West, and it's pretty exciting. But thematically, this is absolutely nothing new, for him or hip-hop/rap. But you can't just have a good album with just music alone, and unfortunately his lyricism and tone just completely destroy this album could have had. Maybe I am being harsh with a zero, but I guess hyped destroyed it as well. I was expectingSonically, this is a great departure for West, and it's pretty exciting. But thematically, this is absolutely nothing new, for him or hip-hop/rap. But you can't just have a good album with just music alone, and unfortunately his lyricism and tone just completely destroy this album could have had. Maybe I am being harsh with a zero, but I guess hyped destroyed it as well. I was expecting something great with all the raving from everybody, but with the expectations set before me this album was pretty underwhelming. I agree with a user who said this earlier. A lot of the praise for Kanye simply comes from him being Kanye, not that he actually does anything good or not. And sadly, this time he did not. Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    2
    I don't like it not even a little. Kanye placed the goal of innovation over the goal of making good music. The production has its moments, but slips too often into a rumbling synths, bassy buzzsaws, high-pitched metallic shrieks that overshadow what little lyrical element exists but that's preferable to the hamfisted lyrics.

    Kanye may have abandoned catchy production and mass appeal,
    I don't like it not even a little. Kanye placed the goal of innovation over the goal of making good music. The production has its moments, but slips too often into a rumbling synths, bassy buzzsaws, high-pitched metallic shrieks that overshadow what little lyrical element exists but that's preferable to the hamfisted lyrics.

    Kanye may have abandoned catchy production and mass appeal, but his lyrics burned the bridge. Kanye has always been a juxtaposition, mixing the fragility and transparency of a glass champagne flute with the narcissism and braggadocio that is typical of hip hop. Kanye has fallen (or jumped) from this tight-wire balance, landing deep within the infinite void of his own ego. The lyrics are self-exalting, self-congratulatory and self-centered. On more than a few tracks, Kanye is battling old shadows with incendiary lyrics, responding to echos with a rebuttal to the choir no one is arguing the point anymore, but Kanye continues to tantrum on; not with the witty lyrics of his past albums, but with brutish blusters, caterwaul screams, and childish yowls laced with production cuts and reverb. And, when the time comes, Kanye delves into closet of hiphop's past and drags out the autotune to compliment his tired arguments.

    Kanye's flow ebbs due to a conscious decision to adopt the slow-paced percussive style of southern rappers that bounce over club bangers. Kanye's wavering confident self-aware delivery of the past that made his previous records so great is nowhere to be found, but is certainly missed.

    The media will, of course, gush over the emperor's new clothing, with words like 'brave' and 'genius', but it will only be lip service and mouthed praise. Deep down this isn't about His music, this is about Him as a concept, and idea, a brand. the media's love affair with Kanye was built on the foundation of quality music, but in the wake of countless spectacles of egotism, and displays of self-unawareness, supported by unearned comparisons have laid the brickwork to this taj mahall, Kanye mutters to a reporter, "I am the best ever" and those words migrate to the front of music magazines and the world begins to echo back kanye's own praise, first framed as a question, but like all echos, the end trails off and the statement, "Kanye is the best" becomes a statement. And he has been the best, he has been really really good, but not this time, and no one will have the guts to tell the self-crowned emperor that he is naked.

    I applaud Kanye's vision and ambition to continually grow and change as an artist, but new isn't always better, and sometimes it's terrible. Kanye's music is lacking the soulful sweetness and depth that counteracts his acerbic ostentatiousness. I won't be buying this album, and I will certainly be more skeptical of any subsequent releases.
    Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    3
    The lyrics are lazy and the production is not interesting enough to warrant wasting space on my ipod. Nothing and I mean nothing on this album is worthy of a 10.
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    WOAT Lyrics! Unbelievable how bad this Album is content wise. And it isn't groundbreaking at all, there are many other Artists who made a LP with a similar sound
  5. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    great production but it sounds like an instrumental album

    extremely bad rapping and extremely bad lyrics.
    Kanye definitely needs to step his game up
  6. Aug 1, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's pretty damn sad... when a person cannot make it through a "musical" album. Kanye...you f*cking suck...even at naming babies...you f*cking suck. I wonder if you were on meth when you were making this album... Expand
  7. Jul 15, 2013
    3
    Kanye West is a lyrical genius. He showed it on this one. My favorite song on this whole album was "Hold My Liquor" with Cheif Keef. It's pretty bad for THAT to be the best song. "Bound 2" was just annoying, the beat was just weird with the voice in the back round. I disliked this album ALOT.
  8. Apr 30, 2014
    0
    "I just talked to Jeezus, he said, "WHAT UP YEEZUS??!" I said, **** im chillin, tryna stack these millions" (Car crash sonic disaster blares in the background)
    I AM A GOD, I LIKE MASSAGE'S, KIM OPEN MY DAMN GARAGE, I LIKE RESTAURANTS, I AM A GOD!

    This is what critics like these days huh. Smh.
  9. Aug 28, 2013
    0
    I can't understand where all of the positive hype about this album is coming from. I understand how original Yeezus is and all the risks 'Ye took in releasing this with no true single and such... I get it. However, that doesn't instantly forgive the abominable lyricism of this collection of songs. Kanye used to produce and write some of the most inspirational and well produced music in theI can't understand where all of the positive hype about this album is coming from. I understand how original Yeezus is and all the risks 'Ye took in releasing this with no true single and such... I get it. However, that doesn't instantly forgive the abominable lyricism of this collection of songs. Kanye used to produce and write some of the most inspirational and well produced music in the hip hop genre. Now he takes a leap of faith that falls incredibly short and people are loving the fact that he jumped, not the music itself. It is definitely original and it pushes the boundaries, but none of these songs are songs that you can really listen to and enjoy.... Expand
  10. Feb 23, 2015
    0
    It's because of this album's metacritic score I've decided to kill myself. As long as albums by Drake and Kanye are getting higher ratings than great artists like Eminem I don't want to live here. Lyrically his album is trash. Kanye used to be decent but now he's just horrible.
  11. Jan 5, 2016
    3
    The worst Kanye's album, i like the fact that he's tryna experiment with his music, but this time he failed. The best song on the album is "Black Skinhead", where he fuse the industrial music with the hip-hop, and it's sounds pretty good, but in the album there are HORRIBLE songs, like "Bound 2", sounds like a bowl full of **** and the other songs are bad, songs like "Blood on the Leaves"The worst Kanye's album, i like the fact that he's tryna experiment with his music, but this time he failed. The best song on the album is "Black Skinhead", where he fuse the industrial music with the hip-hop, and it's sounds pretty good, but in the album there are HORRIBLE songs, like "Bound 2", sounds like a bowl full of **** and the other songs are bad, songs like "Blood on the Leaves" doesn't need to exist. Hope that his next album will be much better Expand
  12. Jun 25, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I seriously have an issue with all the positive critics this album is receiving; I still can't understand it.

    This album supposedly had all the elements to success with the rooster of producers on the track, I was expecting a great Daft Punk Yeezy collaboration, totally waiting for it... but it turned out ridiculously.

    I can understand the concept of changing the style, moving to industrial music, mixing it with Hip-Hop and Acid house, creating a new fusion genre (sort-of)... but this absolutely ridiculous. On "Guilt Trip" he even went further to introduce 8-bit bass synthesizer. The samples are horrible too, sampling screwed up a potentially nice track like "Bound 2".

    Kanye West's lyrics are the most narcissist, and it's sad because other than "New Slaves", the whole album revolves around "Screw your music, I go home to bang Kim Kardashian every night" ("I am a God" is a proof)

    Still I find the track "Blood on The Leaves" to be a cool track, the Nina Simone sample created a great amp along the dirty-brass and piano melodies. "Send it Up" might be rocking clubs within a few months probably the drum-line in "Black Skinhead" is nice. And that's that for the album.

    Yeezus is totally overrated and underwhelming in my opinion, an experimental album that totally "went Chernobyl", specially on a production-level; hopefully we can move along that as soon as possible.
    Expand
  13. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    10 songs in a full album is a rip! He goes overboard with the beats. Raps about himself all the time. Impossible to relate to his album. The beats hurt you ears, too hyped.
  14. Jun 18, 2013
    1
    This album is pretty disappointing. Nothing bold or creative about it. It drones on for the first half of the album, has a couple of average songs, then sputters against towards the end. I think he has too much going on in his life to put out a great album atm. Hopefully future efforts will be better, because this was disappointing.
  15. Jul 1, 2013
    0
    Lazy garbage, per Wikipedia:
    "The album was to be turned in two days later. Kanye was planning to go to Milan that night. Five songs still needed vocals and two or three of them still needed lyrics. In the two hours before he had to run out to catch the plane, he did exactly that: finished all lyrics and performed them with gusto."
  16. Jun 18, 2013
    1
    I would like to say I'm a Kanye West fan, but this album is complete garbage. It is lacking in the lyrical ingenuity or anywhere near the quality of beats ias in n any of his previous solo album. I have no clue how much Spotify paid for this, but i want a refund.
  17. Jun 20, 2013
    0
    I don't know how people keep buying this insufferable tripe. His lyrics are not only offensive and brash, but they are down right idiotic. For example, lets take the song "New Slaves". A clarion call towards the ills of capitalism, Kanye being pigeonholed by an industry, with an emphatic statement reminding his black brothers that we are the "New Slaves" to the corporate master. Not a badI don't know how people keep buying this insufferable tripe. His lyrics are not only offensive and brash, but they are down right idiotic. For example, lets take the song "New Slaves". A clarion call towards the ills of capitalism, Kanye being pigeonholed by an industry, with an emphatic statement reminding his black brothers that we are the "New Slaves" to the corporate master. Not a bad message, if it wasn't so hypocritical. Kanye West, or rather the Louis Vuitton Don (his old moniker) himself is a corporation, with ties to Nike via his Air Yeezus lines as well as his own clothing companies. He has crafted a song entirely aimed at exposing the ills of capitalism, and yet, he hasn't the hindsight to look into his own life and see that the clothing lines he either supports, endorses or manufactures are largely made in sweatshops. While this is just one song that i find trouble with, the confusing messages/themes run rampant throughout this album. The music is top notch, well produced, and finely crafted, something that we have all come to expect from Kanye. However, I cannot get passed the lyrics on this one. Expand
  18. Jun 18, 2013
    1
    Garbage! pure, unfiltered garbage. Praise Jesus if you can make it through the first song without feeling nauseous. I have been a Ye fan since Freshman Adjustment and this is by far his worst work. Nothing inspiring, nothing worth mentioning even (other then the lines we all know..'crossiants'). What a let down top 10 of the worst rap albums I've listened to
  19. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    Maybe I'm overreacting by rating it a 0, but this album is just not for me. The sounds are very displeasing to my ears, and they made me literally cringe. The only songs that are okay to me are Blood on the Leaves and Bound 2, and even on both of these songs I feel Kanye messed up my vibe.

    Many people enjoy this album, but I just don't. Simple as that.
  20. Jun 18, 2013
    2
    Good beats poor lyrics. Yeezie the beezie just doesn't have the life experience to say anything interesting. If you would like to know the latest name brands to purchase pickup the album or the latest GQ. Oh and did he mention how cool he was?
  21. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    Album is rubbish, hurts my ears, this isnt music its screaming, kanye needs to lay off the drugs and get back to that college dropout style, also hes a gayfish
  22. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    There is no substance to this "album". I grew up listening to actual innovators of music....Kanye falls way short of this. This sound that he is trying to pass off as "revolutionary" is like cancer to your ears. The younger generation may love this CD, but that just proves how far music has fallen. Save your money, don't buy this 10 track travesty. The production is all bad, the lyricsThere is no substance to this "album". I grew up listening to actual innovators of music....Kanye falls way short of this. This sound that he is trying to pass off as "revolutionary" is like cancer to your ears. The younger generation may love this CD, but that just proves how far music has fallen. Save your money, don't buy this 10 track travesty. The production is all bad, the lyrics feel forced and uninspired, and the man is claiming to be a god. The packaging of the album should tell you the story of what you are getting with your purchase, a lackluster attempt at trying to revolutionize music without trying. If he is still selling this well then the sheep that listen to this garbage are all brain washed by his antics. He's a pretty transparent person when you really step back and look at it. "I don't want to be famous" only holds so much weight while you are laughing all the way to the bank with the peoples money you just stole. If you really aren't doing this to be famous, donate that money to someone who needs it. Stop lying and calling yourself an artist. All of the real hip-hop heads have already seen through your skirt wearing facade. Expand
  23. Jun 22, 2013
    1
    I think it is a very boring album, with nothing new to offer. All the hype is for nothing. People like this music because they are told it is good through different medias, but it is nothing more just pop music, in a fancy packaging, which want you to believe it is unique.
  24. Jun 20, 2013
    3
    Honestly, nothing impresssive. Very pretentious and try-hard from start to finish. This exaggerated praise will prove to do nothing but inflate his already over-blown ego.
  25. Jun 24, 2013
    1
    The songs are generic and very un-inspired, West has fallen off, every single song sounds like a filler, it seems as if he was just bored and decided to get in the studio. There isn't any melodies, drum patterns. This is not music at all. I do not recommend this album, Buy it at your own risk.
  26. Jun 18, 2013
    1
    This album is crap, how is this better than j cole's. You can't even understand the lyrics, it's just a bunch of loud screaming. I laugh at the people who say this is innovation, this cannot even be called music
  27. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    Complete garbage... Ive tried to like this album. I listened to it 3 times. The beats, the lyrics, the overall feel of the album is just wack. Kanye needs to go back to his late registration college dropout days because this just sounds like noise.
  28. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    Yeezus christ this album is dreadful. Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay past his peak
  29. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    This is the worst album i have ever heard. It sounds like Kanye just went in the studio and said it, lets just make some noise and put my name on it. Do not pay for this trash.
  30. Jun 20, 2013
    3
    Critics you can't be serious, this album is trash and this isn't music. All of Kanye's previous albums outdo this one by a long shot. Kanye is getting confused with believing in a God and thinking he is God.
  31. Jun 23, 2013
    3
    This review was pretty simple. There were 3 good songs out of 10.

    Pros:

    + Black Skinhead
    + New Slaves
    + Blood On The Leaves

    Negatives:

    - Everything Else
  32. Oct 15, 2013
    0
    Yet another example as to how West is the absolute epitome of talentless douchebag...but thankfully, the world smartened up and also made this album a commercial failure. The man needs to give up...he has yet to record anything worthwhile...how critics continue to misdirect praise to this joke of an "artist" is beyond me. The man is all ego, ZERO substance. This album is, like all hisYet another example as to how West is the absolute epitome of talentless douchebag...but thankfully, the world smartened up and also made this album a commercial failure. The man needs to give up...he has yet to record anything worthwhile...how critics continue to misdirect praise to this joke of an "artist" is beyond me. The man is all ego, ZERO substance. This album is, like all his albums, horrifyingly terrible. Expand
  33. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    This is total rubbish... it's not music, it's just some moron rapping stupidity over boring repetitive drum beats. it's not even music, it just sounds like when you accidentally play a few youtube videos at once.
  34. Jun 22, 2013
    3
    This album has little to offer and I am very disappointed in Kanye. With only 10 tracks on the album, it is a rip-off to even purchase. Not only are there just 10 tracks, it sounds like he recorded the entire album in an echoing gymnasium 3 hours before the album was due to his label. Kanye said he didn't want it to be radio-style music, but you can still make good songs without soundingThis album has little to offer and I am very disappointed in Kanye. With only 10 tracks on the album, it is a rip-off to even purchase. Not only are there just 10 tracks, it sounds like he recorded the entire album in an echoing gymnasium 3 hours before the album was due to his label. Kanye said he didn't want it to be radio-style music, but you can still make good songs without sounding radio-friendly. In "Blood On the Leaves", he sounds like a bad version of T-Pain, sounding even more generic than T-Pain himself. Overall the album leaves much to be desired from the rapper who previously never failed to impress me. In my opinion the worst thing he ever could have done for his career was get married and have a child. Expand
  35. Jun 18, 2013
    1
    Overly produced. Lyrics were outright pathetic. Couple decent songs. No replay value for me. I understand he wants to go outside the boundaries of hip-hop, but I can't even give this a pass.
  36. Jun 18, 2013
    1
    Maybe the best album form kanye, i mean his wordplay is amazing, his screaming is on another level, genius cause he has a penius, see that wordplay, masterpiece
  37. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    This is a weed plate...Something I'd use to break buds on...The only people who would find this album "revolutionary" are people who aren't familiar with anything outside of top 40...He's biting styles left and right, but his take on other genres is sub-par to put it nicely...and the lyrics...bwahaha!...Kanye is the type of guy that would have a baby with Kim Kardashian...enough said
  38. Jul 11, 2013
    0
    How in the universe of music does this album have a more positive score than that of J. cole's Born Sinner? This album is trash and it should not be bought by anyone who listens to Hip-Hop music. I don't have a problem if a person wants to do something different with their music just make sure it's good. This is a lyrical failure he is capable of sooooo much better but he did not put isHow in the universe of music does this album have a more positive score than that of J. cole's Born Sinner? This album is trash and it should not be bought by anyone who listens to Hip-Hop music. I don't have a problem if a person wants to do something different with their music just make sure it's good. This is a lyrical failure he is capable of sooooo much better but he did not put is all in this album at all. I am not a Kayne hater I loved every album that he has done before this one even 808's and heartbrakes that was actually a good album but this....This is trash do not buy and Rate J Cole's Born Sinner higher because it is a much better album than this one. Expand
  39. Jan 5, 2014
    0
    I don't recall listening to a worst album than this one. It is unbelievable how most critics can't tell a rubbish record from revolutionary one. So disappointing. There is no highlight in this album. The lyrics are terrible, so is the production and the music in general. I cannot believe RS ranked it on the second position of 2013's best albums. This magazine and these new audiences areI don't recall listening to a worst album than this one. It is unbelievable how most critics can't tell a rubbish record from revolutionary one. So disappointing. There is no highlight in this album. The lyrics are terrible, so is the production and the music in general. I cannot believe RS ranked it on the second position of 2013's best albums. This magazine and these new audiences are destroying what once we knew as great, enjoyable music. Expand
  40. Sep 5, 2013
    0
    This album is Grade-A trash. The lyrics are absolutely terrible and the production is so so. This is coming from a Kanye fan btw. I love all of his other albums but this is a disgrace and the only reason people think this is good is because Kanye made it. If B.o.B or Kid Cudi had made this these same people would be trashing it.
  41. Mar 3, 2015
    0
    Just trash period. Listen to the actual album its really trash, it only has two hit songs which include bound 2 and blood on the leaves. It has a really annoying buzzing sound and just terrible.
  42. Jan 29, 2016
    0
    Dull, boring and pathetic and that's just Kanye. This is quite possibly one of the worst excuses for an album though to be fair none of his albums are awful so this is no surprise.
  43. Feb 9, 2014
    3
    Honestly, this album works better as an instrumental. There are some songs that DP worked on, which pisses me off since R.A.M. was poorly executed and the instrumentals are amazing here. Otherwise, this album is just rubbish put together that ends up just being all over the place. No structure, just an inflated ego. I don't care for it.
  44. Oct 10, 2013
    2
    Self-Labeled "genius" does not live up to his self earned title. With the overuse of samples, outdated industrial beats that I've heard many times before, and terrible lyrics with no thought or emotion. Kanye Wests ego doesn't affect his music, but his talent does.
  45. Jun 12, 2014
    3
    This is worst album. First I would like to say that there really isn't any thought provoking lyrics at all in his album, which is hilarious in the fact that he tried to sell it as his deep meaningful anti establishment piece while only really saying "YOU DON'T OWN ME" and "I'M A GOD" over and over again. I would say that any of his previous albums, literally any of them had more time andThis is worst album. First I would like to say that there really isn't any thought provoking lyrics at all in his album, which is hilarious in the fact that he tried to sell it as his deep meaningful anti establishment piece while only really saying "YOU DON'T OWN ME" and "I'M A GOD" over and over again. I would say that any of his previous albums, literally any of them had more time and thought in their words.

    Not trying to say that Kanye never sang about how cool he is, but the rapid amount of self praise starts sounding like nothing but denial and also most of his previous albums at the very least had a moment where he praised someone else for helping him out. College Dropout had "Jesus Walks", Late Resignation had "Mama", the closest thing we have here is "Bound 2", which doesn't succeed to lowering himself a bit and instead takes a song about how he is so in love and makes it more about him having sex a lot. Kayne, please stop, you've made good songs about girls you would in love with before.

    The good side of this album, the same thing that just makes me frustrated at Kanye's subpar lyrics is the wonderful and I mean amazing instrumental. I bought the album just for the background music and listen to it for the same reason. I hope to hell there is some good mix tapes using this stuff cause then I can replace Kanye's words with those that have a bit more meaning.

    Kanye, please try a bit harder next time.
    Expand
  46. Dec 12, 2013
    2
    If 808 and Heartbreaks2.0 with no soul.... Daft Punk production and Bound 2 are the only things 2 worth writing home about. No lyrical depth. No story. No connection between the music. The edits and song order makes little to no sense. It sounds like listening to a man self gratify for 40 minutes. If he is a voice of a generation then you must have a heavy investment in plastic cultureIf 808 and Heartbreaks2.0 with no soul.... Daft Punk production and Bound 2 are the only things 2 worth writing home about. No lyrical depth. No story. No connection between the music. The edits and song order makes little to no sense. It sounds like listening to a man self gratify for 40 minutes. If he is a voice of a generation then you must have a heavy investment in plastic culture with no substance or depth only concerned with the surface with things. You helped create the megalomaniac by reinforcing that he is an icon or a god (Kanye to Yeezy to Yeezus), note the lowercase g because true icons do no tell you they are an icon. I will not let Yeezus kill your discography you still produced four tracks on the Blueprint and My Twisted Dark Fantasy will be your Thriller in a few generations. Expand
  47. Dec 26, 2013
    3
    So after reading all about this critical darling making the number one album of the year in various respected publications, I finally listened to Kanye's Yeezus album.

    Admittedly, synthetic is not my usual stomping ground, however I did find his music what I would consider somewhere within the realm of compelling, although not quite genius. I could delve into my praises more
    So after reading all about this critical darling making the number one album of the year in various respected publications, I finally listened to Kanye's Yeezus album.

    Admittedly, synthetic is not my usual stomping ground, however I did find his music what I would consider somewhere within the realm of compelling, although not quite genius. I could delve into my praises more specifically, but I'm not. In fact, my praises are going to come to an abrupt, deliberately dismissive stop right now.

    This dude's lyrical message is trash in the most absolute sense. I find it so detestable, the only way I'd ever purchase this album would be if this crybaby "genius" invented a machine to go back in time to his studio, and re-used these beats to make cover versions of twinkle twinkle little star and mary had a little lamb. I'm not going to waste my money or time to hear some self righteous, ego maniacal, man-infant-supremacist perform a racist rant. Quite frankly, it's defamatory to me as a human being.

    The universal acclaim for this album among indie music critics has revealed a highly accomplished field of predominantly white male jackasses who's primary skill in life seems to be outsmarting themselves. All you awesome artsy fartsy indie hipsters in love with this pile of excrement have revealed so much I wish I never knew about your socially depraved mindset. The desperation to be accepted by black people must be incredibly overwhelming to appropriate such wretchedness. I'd ask God to have mercy on your nerdy little beta male souls but why bother? Most of you are atheists anyway.

    Your Baby "Yeezus" belongs in a barbed wire playpen, with a digital rattle so it can best express his musical genius. Gently toss in a bottle of baby formula hopefully spiked with arsenic for this rat to suckle on, and I think we may have finally taken an appropriate step toward cleaning house in the music world. To see this dude's career riding first class on a one horse open sleigh to hell would be the best Christmas present the world could ask for. I'm flushing this God-Turd like a half eaten, partially decomposed dead feeder goldfish.

    Turn out the lights on this one. This album is a shameful waste of time for any human being with a half-shred of dignity.

    Happy Holidays to all, and to all a good night.
    Expand
  48. Mar 3, 2014
    1
    Painful to listen to. It's been out for a while but i still struggle to see why it even exists. I've never been a big fan of Kanye West and this album does nothing that even makes me consider caring about what he does. Everything about this album, from the promotion to the production was awful. Horrible album. One okay song but that's about it.
  49. Jun 4, 2014
    1
    Worst kanye album ever. Worst hip hop album for the last decade. In my opinion if 2pac, biggie, eazy e, big pun, big l and eazy e heard this, they would be turning in there grave if they heard this music. There nothing wrong in experimenting in music and being creative but this is ridiculous. Weird instrumental and ignorant and incoherent lyrics. Plus theres only 10 songs on the album. ItWorst kanye album ever. Worst hip hop album for the last decade. In my opinion if 2pac, biggie, eazy e, big pun, big l and eazy e heard this, they would be turning in there grave if they heard this music. There nothing wrong in experimenting in music and being creative but this is ridiculous. Weird instrumental and ignorant and incoherent lyrics. Plus theres only 10 songs on the album. It seems like rappers a selling out to get rich and get famous. Sadly I was a big kanye fan until I heard this album. Expand
  50. Sep 10, 2014
    1
    Kanye's first two albums were decent hip hop albums with actual effort put into the lyrics. Since Graduation, Kanye has gotten lazy and most of his lyrics sound like a bad freestyle. He needs to sit down actually spend time writing lyrics and polishing them like the great rappers of the 90s (Nas, Tupac, Ice T KRS-One, etc.) Yeezus is without a doubt, Kanye's worst album to date. Dating KimKanye's first two albums were decent hip hop albums with actual effort put into the lyrics. Since Graduation, Kanye has gotten lazy and most of his lyrics sound like a bad freestyle. He needs to sit down actually spend time writing lyrics and polishing them like the great rappers of the 90s (Nas, Tupac, Ice T KRS-One, etc.) Yeezus is without a doubt, Kanye's worst album to date. Dating Kim Kardashian has lowered Kanye's IQ to a few points above retarded. Kanye has been drinking some of Kim K's stupid juice. Kanye sounds incredibly trashy on this album. Bound 2 is by far the worst song Kanye has ever written. Bound 2 belongs in the top 5 worst hip hop songs ever written. Yeezus is a disgrace to hip hop and music in general. Kanye you should be ashamed of yourself. Expand
  51. Nov 23, 2014
    3
    As someone who has always loved Kanye's beats, but almost never his lyrics, this album was a nightmare. There are redeemable moments, or brief glimpses of thoughtfulness, but the LP as a whole is a mess. Where MBDTF was epic and musically stunning, this album feels confused and muddled. The album went for a more industrial, heavily electronic taste. Where there is some merit to thatAs someone who has always loved Kanye's beats, but almost never his lyrics, this album was a nightmare. There are redeemable moments, or brief glimpses of thoughtfulness, but the LP as a whole is a mess. Where MBDTF was epic and musically stunning, this album feels confused and muddled. The album went for a more industrial, heavily electronic taste. Where there is some merit to that idea, it comes across sour. The opening track, though only two and a half minutes, feels like 5. This isn't to touch upon his lyrics, which are at an all time low. Not only are they even more self absorbed, they're almost completely useless. Except for moments on "New Slaves", I have a hard time calling any of these lines inspired or even quality. They're even worse than the music he puts them over. Okay, so what is good? After all I gave this a three, which means at least something was worthwhile. I'd have to give that to "Blood on The Leaves", "New Slaves" and "Black Skinhead." All of these beats are memorable, refined, and unique. Plus these are probably the closest we get to Kanye West actually rapping even remotely "Well". Those three songs, though not my favorite of his, I may put on at some point. For the other seven songs, I could care less. You compare the pro's to the cons and you easily can see the problem. I won't be as arrogant to say that this IS how the album is. A lot of people adore this album, and if you do too, great. I wish I could like it, but I am personally very sick of Kanye's arrogance, which is no longer an aspect of his personal life, but a key player in all of his songs. Plus some pretty bad, unfocused electronic beats, and awful lyrics, it's no wonder this album divided a lot of people. And I'm pretty safely on the dislike side. Expand
  52. Feb 14, 2016
    0
    Très ambitieux et "novateur", cet album est à l'image de son chanteur: un mégalo prétentieux.
    Beaucoup de bruit pour pas grand chose, Yeezus est loin de révolutionner la musique, bien au contraire.
  53. Feb 16, 2016
    0
    Complete and utter autonued garbage that sounds like an angry child throwing a tantrum. Stop making music Kanye, produce and leave rapping up to real MCs
  54. Jun 6, 2015
    3
    there are great ideas on this album and it could have been done good. But knowing well that Kanye is an egotistical maniac, I'm getting the feeling that he is only doing this to say ''look at me, look at me, look at me''. This album is in no sense a good album. Black Skinhead is the only song that does it, which is strange, because I want to like the other tracks more because they are morethere are great ideas on this album and it could have been done good. But knowing well that Kanye is an egotistical maniac, I'm getting the feeling that he is only doing this to say ''look at me, look at me, look at me''. This album is in no sense a good album. Black Skinhead is the only song that does it, which is strange, because I want to like the other tracks more because they are more experimental. There is more to experimental music than this, it isn't just slap up a couple of beats and then deliver lines with extremely basic lyricism and just Lil Wayne-esque metaphors and punchlines that are only funny because they are drenched in melt cheese and deepfried. It's ridicolous. There are good ideas here and there, I am a God for instance has an extremely intense beat, but it's destroyed by Kanye's strugglebars and the syntriffs and screaming thatis just nails on a chalkboard. Hold My Liquor has a beautiful set of harmonies, but having Chief Keef slobber on the mic over autotune just makes it terrible.

    Kanye is by no means a bad lyricist, but if this was his breakout project, I would think it was a bad parody on Death Grips. Some parts of the album are good, but they are just overshadowed by the vast incompetent crap that is the rest of the album. There are no deeper meanings to the lyrics, hurry up with my damn croissant! I'm eating asian **** all I need is sweet and sour SAUCE is also terrible ( did I mention that the beat on this track sounds absolutely dreadful? ). I'm giving him a 3 on this one. Some good ideas, so it may deserve a 5, but there is no chance in hell I will increase the score on this album.
    Expand
  55. Dec 22, 2015
    3
    I don't know where Kanye's head is at with this one. It seems like he tried to do industrial type production, which is cool and all, but this man's bars are some of the worst I've heard in a while. Then the ever so cringy sex themed lyrics make it hard for me to take this man seriously. Definitely not the worst thing I've ever heard, but I expect MUCH more from Kanye West.
  56. Mar 24, 2017
    2
    This project is very weird and un-settling. It offers poor lyricism and can only be described as what sounds like Kanye rapping and yelling over sounds that many producers would instantly skip if they were to come across them. The only thing saving this project are songs such as "Bound 2" and "Blood On the Leaves".
  57. Oct 16, 2017
    2
    UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGH Kanye what the **** You've failed in almost every aspect! Your wordplay is trash, your lyrics are trash, and your beats are especially garbage!! The only reason I don't completely hate this album is because Blood on the Leaves is a good song. 2/10
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. The Wire
    Dec 10, 2013
    50
    His concerns are serious--consumerism, race, fame, relationships--but he rarely addresses them with the craft or focus they deserve. [Sep 2013, p.66]
  2. Q Magazine
    Aug 20, 2013
    80
    Contradiction incarnate, Yeezus is Kanye's most Kanyeish LP yet. [Sep 2013, p.103]
  3. Mojo
    Aug 13, 2013
    80
    Nasty, brutish, short, and wholly compelling, Yeezus begs only one question: where next? [Sep 2013, p.89]