Yeezus - Kanye West
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1013 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    About 5 listens deep and I'm still amazed by this collection of music. Looking at the producer list it's no wonder this has the flavor it does. But where are those bonus tracks?
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Completely on par with Kanye's magnum opus: My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy; but with a completely different outlook on production and lyricism. Everything sounds and feels cleaner, sort of like a silver razor.
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    This album isn't a 10/10, but I'm giving it a 10, purely to balance out the absurd 0/1 out of 10 scores from people who can't appreciate music.

    The production is twisted, choppy, dark & experimental but it works. Sure Kanye drops some corny lines (e.g. the "sweet and sour sauce" line & the "croissants" line) but he's always been a musician first, rapper second so that's forgivable.


    Bottom line, no mainstream artist expresses himself as freely/as uniquely as Kanye West does. Good artists have a tendency to stick to a tried & tested formula which, after a while, becomes uninteresting, this is why so many musicians' best albums happen to be their debut album e.g. 50 Cent, Nas, Pharcyde, Eminem, The Strokes etc. The truly GREAT artists are the ones that can continue to bring something NEW to the table e.g. The Roots, OutKast, Radiohead, Pink Floyd Kanye West belongs in this list.

    Love him or hate him, he's an innovator with balls, and that's something you very, very rarely find in mainstream music.
    Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Yeezus is an evolved feature of the sounds and ideas from many of his past projects. The production that comes with Yeezus is a perfect pairing for the emotion and intesity that Kayes brings to the table.
  5. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Yeezus proves to be a raw, visceral, and brash album that takes its place in Kanye's discography as one of his best. Kanye uses some of his most interesting samples yet in creating this mechanical-esque masterpiece.
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Innovation in hip hop amazing album do not listen to the haters they are just late comers and are gonna love it in the end! this album changes everything you thought you knew hip hop it will blow your mind.
  7. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Yeezus.
    This album obviously isn't for the faint of heart, or those who enjoyed the vast orchestras of MBDTF. Kanye West takes a hard left in his music career to a minimalist-based but hard driven music style. This album is like 808's and Heartbreak meets Random Access Memories(Daft Punk) with a dash of Toxicity(System of a Down). Yeezus isn't for everyone, but if it is for you, it will
    fulfill every single one of your music dreams.
    Track Ratings:
    On Site 7/10( Far too much energy, but respectable seeing where the album comes from), Black Skinhead 10/10, I am a God 9/10, New Slaves 10/10, Hold my Liquor 10/10(Potential Single), Im in it 9/10, Blood on the Leaves 10/10, Guilt Trip 9.5/10, Send it Up 10/10(Definite Dance Track), Bound 2 10/10(College Dropout 2 Anyone?)
    Expand
  8. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Kanye West doesn’t give the listener a second to realize the album is more a masterly response to a masterpiece than a masterpiece itself. With one sweep of the hand, West brushes away expectations
  9. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    People need to listen. Listen. You will not like it, You will LOVE IT. It changes everything. Give it a second, third and fourth listen. I bet you that you will love it. Evolution. Every time. Good Job Kanye WeST.
  10. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    A powerfully strong and sweeping album, Yeezus breaks down barriers and cares little about the fallout. A great album full of sexual and religious imagery (most Kanye albums are). Production is fantastic with heavy-hitting synths and bass beats. A new song, a great sound. Yeezus demonstrates that Kanye is back on his feet (although he never even fell).
  11. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    This is a weed plate...Something I'd use to break buds on...The only people who would find this album "revolutionary" are people who aren't familiar with anything outside of top 40...He's biting styles left and right, but his take on other genres is sub-par to put it nicely...and the lyrics...bwahaha!...Kanye is the type of guy that would have a baby with Kim Kardashian...enough said
  12. Jun 23, 2013
    5
    The experimental production makes this a positive in all for his career, but as an album it is extremely lacking. Unfortunately, it has an enjoyable feel to it, that combined with Kanye's excellent musicianship, makes it easy to overlook the massive flaws. I can still listen to this album in the background of anything and enjoy the experience, but any kind of critical look leads to an extremely painful feeling.

    The lyricism in this album is by far the worst Ye has ever put out. I find it extremely annoying when people praise his lyricism in this album, citing his focus on the racism of others or the racism of blacks towards blacks or any other such thing. Sure, he has a few conscious lines, but not a single one of them brings any new message from anything he's said before, and every time he's said it before, it was done better. Not a single line in this album strikes me as even somewhat stellar, and it's coupled with the extremely painful lines such as "I'd rather be a dick than a swallower". That line specifically also shows a weakness in Ye's lyricism in this album, where he is too lazy to think up lines that follow one another and just decides to repeat the same ones multiple times.

    His egoism is something I will never look at negatively, as I think it is an incredible asset to his persona, and I normally love how he always proves himself right in so many ways. But for an album that contains a song titled 'I Am a God' (featuring God), he does not provide the backing.

    I will however say that the production on this album is quite interesting, impressive at parts, surprising at others, and for that reason is why I say that this album is a good step for his career. As long as he decides to actually put some effort into his writing, and possibly take more time putting some of his storytelling talent into his next album, I think his next album could be legendary if he takes some of the experimental sounds on Yeezus and puts them to a better use.

    Lyricism: 1/10
    Production 7.5/10
    Content: 2/10
    General Cohesion: 3.5/10
    Expand
  13. Jul 1, 2013
    0
    Lazy garbage, per Wikipedia:
    "The album was to be turned in two days later. Kanye was planning to go to Milan that night. Five songs still needed vocals and two or three of them still needed lyrics. In the two hours before he had to run out to catch the plane, he did exactly that: finished all lyrics and performed them with gusto."
  14. Jul 11, 2013
    0
    How in the universe of music does this album have a more positive score than that of J. cole's Born Sinner? This album is trash and it should not be bought by anyone who listens to Hip-Hop music. I don't have a problem if a person wants to do something different with their music just make sure it's good. This is a lyrical failure he is capable of sooooo much better but he did not put is all in this album at all. I am not a Kayne hater I loved every album that he has done before this one even 808's and heartbrakes that was actually a good album but this....This is trash do not buy and Rate J Cole's Born Sinner higher because it is a much better album than this one. Expand
  15. Aug 28, 2013
    0
    I can't understand where all of the positive hype about this album is coming from. I understand how original Yeezus is and all the risks 'Ye took in releasing this with no true single and such... I get it. However, that doesn't instantly forgive the abominable lyricism of this collection of songs. Kanye used to produce and write some of the most inspirational and well produced music in the hip hop genre. Now he takes a leap of faith that falls incredibly short and people are loving the fact that he jumped, not the music itself. It is definitely original and it pushes the boundaries, but none of these songs are songs that you can really listen to and enjoy.... Expand
  16. Sep 5, 2013
    0
    This album is Grade-A trash. The lyrics are absolutely terrible and the production is so so. This is coming from a Kanye fan btw. I love all of his other albums but this is a disgrace and the only reason people think this is good is because Kanye made it. If B.o.B or Kid Cudi had made this these same people would be trashing it.
  17. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    Yeezus. You either love it or you hate it. I love it. Blood on the leaves is permanently stuck in my brain; the last minute and a half of that song... Amazing work Mr. Kanye West.
  18. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    I have been a casual fan of Kanye's music since 'Diamonds', but fell in love with Yeezus on the first listen, and have only grown to appreciate it more and more as I've listened more and more. I believe that Kanye is one of the few mainstream artists that is committed to constantly challenging himself and evolving...Yeezus is brutal yet subtle and caring, easy to listen or hum along to, yet challenging and in some instances thought provoking, consistent in its story telling, yet contradictory and I unreservedly recommend it. Expand
  19. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kanye is years ahead of the rap game. Yeezus is not an easy listening album, but it's so well produced and full of raw emotion. From the attention grabbing On Sight with it's distorted, off beat instrumental, to the soul kissed Bound 2, Yeezus is simply a masterpiece. Kanye has exceeded all expectations, which were already high. Expand
  20. Apr 30, 2014
    0
    "I just talked to Jeezus, he said, "WHAT UP YEEZUS??!" I said, **** im chillin, tryna stack these millions" (Car crash sonic disaster blares in the background)
    I AM A GOD, I LIKE MASSAGE'S, KIM OPEN MY DAMN GARAGE, I LIKE RESTAURANTS, I AM A GOD!

    This is what critics like these days huh. Smh.
  21. Jun 24, 2013
    4
    Pretty bad...like not at all what I was hoping for. I like the experimental direction he took and maybe if he incorporated the right lyrics this could have been a great album, but with songs like "I'm a god" there is really no words to describe how egomaniac that is. I know it's part of his persona and it makes him who he is but that is just retarded. Also why does every other word have to be ni@@a? I mean really can't some one release a rap album where that word is actually used in context and not just filler? I want another rap album like Madvillany to come out. Guess I'll just have to keep waiting. Expand
  22. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    This Kanye's most out there album to date, but that does not mean it's not up there with his best. At first listen it might seem that West has taken the easy way out, trading his signature production for hard beats and blips that sound more like a acid Nine Inch Nails, but after further evaluation the listener will grow to appreciate the album for simple masterpiece that it is.
  23. Jun 20, 2013
    6
    When it comes to the production, the mood and the overall sound, this album is notable for its uniqueness and creativity, though the rough and extreme nature of this album will be too much for many people.

    the lyrics however are simplistic and often off-point. this album's serious tone is marred by many corny lines. such as him wanting to pour sweet and sour sauce all over an asian
    woman's body. Expand
  24. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Kanye doing what he does: making great music. I find this album oddly both fun to listen to and annoying as hell The best moment is on "New Slaves" when Cher bursts into chorus. Yeezus isn't the most fun to listen of Kanye's albums, but it deserves to be considered among his best.
  25. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    The transformation Kanye West has taken throughout his hip-hop career has all led to this 40 minute, sprawling descent into industry hell. Kanye sounds at his most angered, most torn down by the entertainment industry and previous love affairs, more so than on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. The production ranges from grimy electro, to minimalists tribal drums, and fantastic samples. Kanye's lyrics are his most deranged on Yeezus, rhymes upon rhymes about how he feels as if he is a slave in in the entertainment industry and all the scum he encounters throughout his day to day life. Not to mention his view on previous relationships, something he's been singing about since 808's & Heartbreaks. If there's one complaint to be had about this record, it's that it loses replay value if you've listened to it at least 5 times, which is true for any album really, but more so if comparing it to other Kanye West records.

    All In All, Yeezus is about a black man on the brink of insanity, pushing through day to day demons that probably will never escape him, and also a fantastic, dark voyage of hip-hop music. A-
    Expand
  26. CPB
    Jun 18, 2013
    6
    This album is nothing special. I don't why people are praising this album, the only two good songs are 'New Slaves' and 'Black skinhead'. Those are actually the only two songs with something to say, also. Everything else is just Kanye riding his own dick thinking he's a "genius" (even though Death Grips did a more grittier version of this album before with the 'Money Store'). Now this isn't a horrible album, but no where near great (like College Dropout, Graduation and My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy; all of which were great albums). Expand
  27. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    The first side of YEEZUS is bold and to the point. The production is great and Kanye delivers his lines with passion. "On Sight", "Black Skinhead" and "New Slaves" rank among the best tracks Kanye has delivered. On the second side of the album the pace slows down and some of the songs (notably "I'm In It") are forgettable with their stale synthesizer beats and autotune'd vocals. Had the album been a passionate percussion-heavy punk rap barrage all the way through, we'd be listening to a classic. Now it seems half-assed and hurried. Expand
  28. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    Great album, took me a few plays to appreciate it, but worth while. Lyrically I felt it lacked a touch which is why I wouldn't give it a full 10. xxxx
  29. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Kanye West shows once again, through Yeezus, that he is transcendent of most musical norms. It seems anymore as if Kanye West could release an album of nothing but talking about philosophy and himself, with absolutely no music, and we would see it as the next great thing in music. But it is so, because with every album Kanye is pushing what we as a society thought were his limits, to the point where many think the man is limitless. The obvious sell for this album is its originality, but it is original because it blends old Kanye with newer Kanye, with a fusion of something we haven't seen from him before. While not his best work, it certainly ranks near the top, clumped in a group with The College Dropout and Late Registration, just not quite as good as My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. As we take in Yeezus for what it is, we also are steadily preparing for Kanye's next album, which figures to be another step into musical history. Best album of 2013. Expand
  30. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    People are comparing this album to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, and I think that's the wrong approach because both albums are vastly different, and excellent in their own ways. This album helps Kanye's producer credit more than his lyrical credit, but I've still got it in heavy rotation on my phone. Black Skinhead is probably the best track. This a really high quality album, despite the barely-there artwork. My only gripe is that there are only 10 tracks. Perhaps he will release volume II in the future. Expand
  31. Oct 15, 2013
    8
    Another great album by Kanye. Sadly, the lyrics don't live up to the music on this album. They are quite forgettable and not well thought out. Musically is a new direction for Kanye. The sound is very reminiscent of Death Grips (industrial/glitchy hip hop) however, he is able to deliver is own take on this style.
  32. Jun 19, 2013
    5
    MBDTF is one of my favorite albums of all time, so when I heard that this was coming out I was really excited. This album turned out to be not bad, but a huge disappointment. Kanye threw all meaning and lyrical genius out the window for this album. Most of his rhymes are incredibly simple. The production was great on tracks like "New Slaves", "I Am A God", and "Black Skinhead" but I feel like the production got worse and worse as it went on. I didn't really like this album, but I can understand the appeal. Expand
  33. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    If you like electronic music and rap, look no further. I happen to have grown up on Daft Punk, and though this makes me an outlier, I didn't love Kanye until 808s. Some people find this album abrasive, but I'm used to these kinds of sounds from electronic music. I really enjoy the beats. The one thing holding it back for me is that some of the lyrics are superficial, but that's Kanye a lot of the time. I wouldn't say all of the lyrics are bad though, especially in New Slaves and Blood on the Leaves. Expand
  34. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Yeezus fails at what My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was fantastic. It hasn't a concrete atmosphere and it lacks innovation (as a hip-hop album). Punchlines are there but they are not really concentrated and cohesive. But I think this is maybe the most important thing when you are listening to this new Kanye's album. It is empty, unsettling, dark, aggressive and still mind-blowing. And it gets better with every listen. Yeezus just rose again. Expand
  35. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    Put simply if you don't like this album, you're a hater. The production is truly legendary, and anyone who says the album doesn't have meaning or is narcissistic didn't listen well. Yeezus is a true work of art and will go down as a revolutionary album in the increasingly electronic music world.
  36. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    "Yeezus" is one of the most innovative albums of all-time. It cannot even be classified as just "rap". Kanye West can now be considered as his own very genre. Songs like "Hold My Liquor" and "Blood On The Leaves" make you realize there's still hope for modern music yet. Not quite to the diversified level of his last solo album, "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy", but an amazing album it's own right. Expand
  37. Jul 10, 2013
    5
    It starts off with a raw electronic sound, that sonically is different to Kanye’s Work, and this sound has been created with the help of Daft Punk. I have never been a fan of rap, or Kanye West other than “Runaways” from My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. So the fact that I can listen to this from beginning to end is a feat in itself, but it is still poor. I like the raw electronic sound on the beginning of the album, the industrial feel, and the good use of samples to break up and add to the songs, but the lyrics are poor. They are boring and predictable, Saying that the first two songs are better than the rest of the album until the end. “On Site” and “Blackhead” are good, I can listen to them and they don’t have any of the incessant auto-tune that features later on in the album.

    “New Slaves” maybe could be the most dance floor friendly seeing as it is bass heavy, and it’s one of the few songs where the lyrics mean something, even if Kanye goes about it in a brash way, not exactly using the most sophisticated language.

    From there on, the album becomes a mess, until “Bound 2″ with the seductive sample of Brenda Lee going “Uh huh Honey”, along with a bridge featuring Charlie Wilson that really breaks the song up, and I like that it came as a surprise, it was refreshing. Sure the lyrics may again be poor, “I want to you hard in the sink”, but it’s enjoyable, and for one song, I can look past the flaws.

    Overall, musically the album is decent, I like it here and there, Kanye has some good ideas that he ruins with his rap and the autotune, I really have no strong likes or dislikes to this album, just disappointment with what could have been, and the score is maybe just out of kindness.
    Expand
  38. Jun 24, 2013
    1
    The songs are generic and very un-inspired, West has fallen off, every single song sounds like a filler, it seems as if he was just bored and decided to get in the studio. There isn't any melodies, drum patterns. This is not music at all. I do not recommend this album, Buy it at your own risk.
  39. Jun 20, 2013
    6
    After originally only getting to the forth track before I had to quit, I gave it a second chance which ultimately lead to a third listen through. After being annoyed by it at first, and realizing that it isn't the instant classic as his previous albums, it grew on me. I found myself vibing to a lot of it. This is definitely not Kanye's best work, but it's worthy of looking past the loud frantic beats and trying to see what he was going for. I think Cole got the best of him on June 18th, but Yeezus will, of course, outsell Born Sinner. Expand
  40. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Yeezy has done it again and like all his previous albums its something totally different than the others.... The music production is exceptional his lyrics darker than ever. Kanye West always pours his heart and effort into each album and this was no exception and in this one Kanye is at his best creativity efforts lyrical, musical and promotion wise. This album although is a great piece of work isnt as good as MBDTW but still a Kanye album is a Kanye album. I just dont get all the ignorant haters.... Expand
  41. Jun 22, 2013
    3
    This album has little to offer and I am very disappointed in Kanye. With only 10 tracks on the album, it is a rip-off to even purchase. Not only are there just 10 tracks, it sounds like he recorded the entire album in an echoing gymnasium 3 hours before the album was due to his label. Kanye said he didn't want it to be radio-style music, but you can still make good songs without sounding radio-friendly. In "Blood On the Leaves", he sounds like a bad version of T-Pain, sounding even more generic than T-Pain himself. Overall the album leaves much to be desired from the rapper who previously never failed to impress me. In my opinion the worst thing he ever could have done for his career was get married and have a child. Expand
  42. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    Is this album Yeezy’s best? Not quite. But is it unlike anything he has ever produced? Definitely. It’s eccentric, unnatural, and about as far away from the Kanye we all know and sometimes love, but Kanye proclaims himself as the Jesus of the game today, and if he keeps diving into new frontiers, then that shouldn’t change.
  43. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Really Good Album sounds total different from his past albums and you will have to listen a couple of times but this album is dope lyrically/production wise on point its a masterpiece
  44. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Kanye West must of lost something in the last 3 years but still manages to deliver a kick-ass album. Kanye West is definitely one of the more outspoken and lyrically talented rappers of this day and age, but i don't think this album is as World changing the "God" wanted. I mean this is expected, personally, i think it would be extremely hard to compete with his previous effort "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy" but Kanye still knows how to deliver and hasn't lost his touch completely. What i do love about this album is i feel that Ye has connected back into his roots of The College Dropout while still using his overproduced beats that critics have fell in love with. Now, Yeezy is actually bringing back some rap and doing a good job mixing the two together. I hope for more efforts like this for the future ofr raps "God". Expand
  45. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Kanye's lyrics are both as lazy and as clever as ever, but the production is incredible. Occasionally repetitive flow, but Kanye's album gives me the same feeling as listening to "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy". Great album, and a new take and sound to his music.
  46. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    Great album. Beats are very simplistic and loud, almost perfect production, lyrics are brash and in your face, occasionally inconsistent. This isn't an album for anyone who solely listens to hip hop, it pretty much transcends the genre. 9/10
  47. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    Overall, I found this to be a rewarding and enjoyable album, however, it does has have some issues that need to be adressed. First off, Kanye's lyrics feel lazy and contain some bad punch lines on the majority of the tracks. Second I felt that some of the collaborations didn't add too much to the album, for example, I feel like Frank Ocean's feature on New Slaves feels phoned in, Chief Keef singing with auto tune on Can't Hold My Liqour isn't pleasant, and Kid Kudi's singing feature on Guilt Trip didn't really bring much to the track. Although this is not one of Kanye's best lyrical works, the album is augmented by some dark industrial/electronic flavored production, similar to the vein of underground acts, most notably Death Grips. The harsher, more abrasive, and minimalist production gives the album some nice dark overtones, and are strong pumping beats. I really enjoy the driving beats on the opening track, Black Skinhead, and I am a God. Another production highlight on this album is Blood On The Leaves which features a great sample of Nina Simone singing strange fruit. Additionally, the closing track has a more soulful vibe to it, which provides nice contrast. The atmosphere of the album is great, the tracks fit together well and its great to see Kanye try to use some new influences, because he could easily be making great music in his old style. I also was impressed with his social commentary on New Slaves.The best tracks on this album were Black Skin Head, New Slaves and Blood on the Leaves. I'd say my least favorite is I'm in it. This album would have been better if Kanye had written better lyrics and put more time into it to refine it more. He was going somewhere great with this, however he ruined some of the vibe with too many trashy punch lines(although some of it is forgivable taking into account that the album's name is Yeezus and Kanye's ego is a part of his music). I really did enjoy this album, I would like to give it a higher score but the issues are gonna bring it down a bit. I would highly recommend checking out Death Grips who have even more gritty production and have horrifyingly disgusting lyrics. Expand
  48. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    I honestly think this album goes right over people's heads............................................................................................
  49. Jun 20, 2013
    3
    Critics you can't be serious, this album is trash and this isn't music. All of Kanye's previous albums outdo this one by a long shot. Kanye is getting confused with believing in a God and thinking he is God.
  50. Jun 23, 2013
    3
    This review was pretty simple. There were 3 good songs out of 10.

    Pros:

    + Black Skinhead
    + New Slaves
    + Blood On The Leaves

    Negatives:

    - Everything Else
  51. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    When Kanye sat down to write Yeezus, it wasn't with the intention to make his long-time critics do a huge 360 and suddenly become his biggest fans.

    This album was written for the people who've followed Kanye's progression and can dig the changes he's describing to us; from man to famous man, famous man to 'god' and Yeezy to Yeezus. There's something about these changes that should be
    depressing and somehow painful (it seems like Kanye's going through a rough time) but is actually just somehow exciting.

    Dark, sleazy and satisfying. A+
    Expand
  52. Jun 24, 2013
    7
    Yeezus is a good album. Kanye said he was taking a minimalistic approach with Yeezus, but this is not at all true. The beats are unique, & interesting, so to say. The rapping isn't remarkable for Kanye, or remarkable overall, but it's good. New Slaves and I Am a God has standout rapping, and awesome beats, though the beat is much too overpowering in New Slaves, only song I don't listen to with a bass boost. As for the lyrics, typical Kanye lyrics. Blood on the Leaves is a song that seems to not have made it on to Kanye's 808s & Heartbreak, but it's still a good song, though it does feel out of place on Yeezus. Then there's Guilt Trip, featuring Kid Cudi. Another song that seems to not have made it onto 808s & HB, but this one is just bad. It feels like a song just put there to add a song and fill up some space. Kanye could have at least made us another filler song, better than the Guilt Trip. Overall, I'm satisfied with my purchase, but don't think Yeezus lived up to the hype. Expand
  53. Jun 26, 2013
    8
    Providing you with a slow drip feed of pieces of Mr. West's psyche, a select blend of aggressive and enigmatic. Yeezus does not stun. Instead you are cloaked by the egotistic, hypnotic wording of a man that longs to exceed the levels of hip hop innovation he had a very large role in creating for not only others, but himself. This does not happen instantly. The process is slow. For myself it took around a good 4/5 strongly attentive listens to try and understand how this whole thing is meant to shape out. I still don't get it.

    I think that's why this album has been so deeply polarising. And why I fall on the positive side of the that polarisation.

    I do not love it, because I feel as though Kanye West is yet to make his masterpiece. I do not love it, because I want to feel safe in this knowledge. I do not love it, but I like it very much.

    Highlights:
    Black Skinhead The screaming. Slow build. Chugging beat. Powerful, delectable angsty goodness.
    Blood On The Leaves Reminiscent, intense, fearful. Definitely a personal highlight. Something very "808's" about it.
    Bound 2 A warm, fuzzy send off that melts the ice that has coated the prior 9 tracks.

    Lower Points:
    I'm In It Not too fond of the sampling. It feels predictable, almost tacky.
    Guilt Trip I feel as though something went wrong with this one. Kinda rushed lyrically. I feel quite bad about that too, because Kid Cudi does a fine job towards the end. I kind of wish I liked it.
    Expand
  54. Jul 24, 2013
    5
    Following his highly successful collaboration album with Jay-Z ('Watch the Throne'), rapper Kanye West is back with what will most likely be the most polarizing album of 2013. The original reception for this album ranged wildly from hailing it as the greatest rap album of all time, to dismissing it as the worst record Kanye has ever put out. Unfortunately, I find it hard to stray away from the latter.

    The overly noisy and cacophonous production is just one of the things that hurts 'Yeezus'. On the majority of these tracks, it sounds like Kanye is just being different and loud for the sake of being different and loud, and not to reach a deeper musical meaning or theme. Sporadic outbursts of crazy randomness are all over the production of this LP, which in the end to me seem pretty damn uninspired. With the exception of a few tracks (see "Black Skinhead" and "New Slaves"), a no point is Kanye able to generate any of kind of groove rhythm, melody, or really any real musical substance whatsoever. Perhaps the highlight of the album production-wise is the closer "Bound 2", which really sounds like a bonus track from Kanye's previous solo album, 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy'.

    Although I've never been a huge fan of Kanye's lyrics and flow, this album even perhaps reaches a new low. With again the exception of a few tracks, almost practically every song on 'Yeezus' is composed of cheap, egotistical, and overall pretty stupid lyricism. If after 'Watch the Throne' you thought it was impossible for Kanye to be even more eccentric, you thought wrong (see 'I Am a God' lol). 'New Slaves' is one of the few songs on this album that contains a relevant lyrics and themes.

    Overall, the only reason why this album is rated as a 5/10 is thanks to the presence of a few golden tracks, that don't feature annoyingly noisy production or stupid lyrics. And don't get me started on the auto tune.

    STANDOUT TRACKS:
    'New Slaves'
    'Black Skinhead'
    'Bound 2'
    Expand
  55. Jun 28, 2013
    8
    Yeezus is a very complex album. It is definitely innovative. The album combines hip-hop, house, dancehall and R&B themes that combine to make something that I can't really describe. I absolutely love the production on the album but Kanye lets me down lyrically especially on Black Skinhead which with some strong rapping could have been a great track. Best tracks in my opinion are Bound 2, New Slaves, I'm In It and Blood On the Leaves. Bound 2 is the only track that really sounds like Kanye of the College Dropout and Late Registration era. New Slave is another song with great production that lets me down a little bit in terms of lyrics. I'm In It is a slap and I love Assassin's verse. Overall the album feels a little bit too thin lasting only 41 minutes. There also isn't a real radio hit track that Kanye seems to be able to produce at will. I know Kanye is very much into being innovative and original but if he had just put 2 potential hit radio songs on Yeezus it would have been a great album. As it stands Yeezus is confusing, vulgar, narcissistic, deep, confusing, a few steps below great, inconsistent, and confusing. Yeezy's rapping feels a little bit too lazy like he wasn't really trying to go all out lyrically. Half of Yeezus is great and the other half is seriously WTF did I just listen too. Expand
  56. Jun 29, 2013
    8
    I give this a 9 only because it is not his very best album, but we are talking about Kanye. There are incredibly high expectations that come with him. He is a jack-of-all-trades. He has mastered everything from Soul in College Dropout, to Strings in Late Registration, to Pop in Graduation, to Autotune in 808s & Heartbreak, ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING in My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, and he has now moved to the new "trap" genre on Yeezus. Kanye is a truly transcendent artist and will go down as one of the greatest hip hop artists, if not one of the greatest musical minds to ever live. Yeezus is a just a microcosm of what Kanye can do. Expand
  57. Jul 1, 2013
    4
    This album is very weak, kanye knows a lot about music so i guess that he had heard a lot of Nine Inch Nails, but the thing is that he knows that now Experimental/Noise hip hop is the with artist like Death Grips or Clipping so he tried to do his version of the genre....

    AND HE FAILED!!!!!!!!. Oh god! i loved his old stuff but this sucks...
  58. Jul 11, 2013
    8
    Undoubtedly Kanye's most harsh, dark, and experimental work, Yeezus is the culmination of his egoism and productive creativity. Unfortunately, his latest album fails to lyrically live up to MBDTF.
  59. Jul 15, 2013
    3
    Kanye West is a lyrical genius. He showed it on this one. My favorite song on this whole album was "Hold My Liquor" with Cheif Keef. It's pretty bad for THAT to be the best song. "Bound 2" was just annoying, the beat was just weird with the voice in the back round. I disliked this album ALOT.
  60. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    An album you have to listen to multiple times to really appreciate. The first few tracks aren't the strongest: send it up new slaves can blend together at times with a similar dark electronic vibe. Then the outro of new slaves hits and the album takes off from there. Hold my liquor, Im in it, and Blood on Leaves are some of the most fascinating songs Mr. West has come out with. Bound 2 is also a fun throw back. The more you listen to it, the more you like it Expand
  61. Oct 16, 2013
    9
    This is what you get when you mix very clever writing with expert sampling and producing. it has some really emotional moments, like the brilliant breakdown at the end of new slaves and the first verse of blood on the leaves to the awesome pumping beats on black skinhead to the hypnotic track guilt track. favorites: black skinhead, im a god, new slaves, blood on the leaves, im in it.
  62. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    Even though it can be pretty jarring at times, the album grows on you over time with each listen. One of the most quotable albums of recent memory, with Yeezy giving us 2-3 laugh out loud per song. It sounds like a soundtrack to a Nero-esque orgy. Blood on the Leaves is absolutely beautiful, and is the stand out song. Great from start to finish, and while I wouldn't put this album above MBDTF or Late Registration, it's a great entry into Kanye's already stellar body of work. Expand
  63. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Yeezus christ this album is dreadful. Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay past his peak
  64. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This sounds like a M.I.A. album with some hardcore rap verses on it. A very innovative album by a very innovative artist. I love it. The best tracks are Black Skinhead, Blood on the leaves, On Sight, New Slaves & Bound 2.
  65. Oct 9, 2013
    7
    A slick, different kind of album. I suppose it is typical of Kanye to create something a little unexpected (yes, irony), but still have little ties to his previous work. I like the beats more than the lyrics on the whole of the album but you cannot deny that Kanye is great, an artist (and not just your typical rapper), at what he does and he is sure to surprise us in the follow up to Yeezus.
  66. Aoi
    Oct 12, 2013
    8
    Great production. Terrible lyrics. Poor delivery. It sounds rushed, why ruin a potential classic with just a poor performance? I really think ye's passion for music has gone. Hope his next solo is a classic.
  67. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    On the walls of various chosen buildings and the SNL stage, the words "NOT FOR SALE" lit up the darkness. On the stage West's silhouette brought out the birth of a new era and his own evolution, on the building West's fiery return projects itself upon the hopeful and excited fans. The derivative hip hop beats don't appear here, he's not selling himself. He's simply letting go, and forcing us to accept it with rocky, crude and reluctant understanding. What Kanye serves is impetuous, gut wrenching and takes you by surprise. But then again that's hip hop isn't it? By pushing the envelope he leaves a big crash in the ocean of music, West rises in ranks and gives us a breathtaking journey that's only just beginning. Reluctantly, I can't help but to begin and relive again and again. Soak in the repercussions, for just as the projection shut off as "New Slaves" ended on the W Hotel late at night in LA, we and the world had just gotten a glimpse of Kanye's artistic statement. What's next for Kanye West? Considering the birth of North West, nothing for a while now. Still, the anticipation for what's next is at an all time high and the stage has been set. Let's begin. Expand
  68. Oct 24, 2013
    9
    'Yeezus', the follow-up to West's critically acclaimed 2010 solo record 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' and his 2011 and 2012 collaboration albums 'Watch the Throne' and 'Cruel Summer'; is minamalist, dark, and highly experimental. Album highlights "Black Skinhead", "On Sight", and "New Slaves" showcase the galloping manifesto sound that West was aiming to create. Similar to many of West's previous records, 'Yeezus' contains several genius samples; however 'Yeezus' is much less mainstream than his previous efforts; shown by the album's lack of singles (with the exception of "Black Skinhead" and "Bound 2", which were both released after the album dropped).

    Although the album is arguably the best hip hop record of the year, I can't help but be slightly irritated by West's evident which is clearly displayed by the track "I Am A God" and his decision to barely promote the record, which makes it seem like West was just trying to prove that he could have an album go to #1 without significant promotion. Of course, 'Yeezus' did go to number 1, and its not like West has ever really been a wholesome or down-to-earth dude, but West's narcissistic personality comes off a little too strong on 'Yeezus'. Despite this, the album is still exquisite.
    Expand
  69. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    If Paper Street made music instead of soap, Yeezus would be the eruptions coming from that lonely house. The most interesting part about this album that separates itself from the rest of hip-hop (and Kanye's other work) is how Mr. West the god integrates all types of art into music. Architecture, technology, politics, and fashion all play it's role. Of course, he did not do this himself. Kanye West & Friends would be a more appropriate artist name as he is joined by the world famous Daft Punk for some of the big tracks on the album such as 'I Am a God' and 'Black Skinhead'. He has his whole lineup of writers and producers he uses for creative ideas. Overall, this album came out five years too early to be widely appreciated, but clearly shows Kanye is not content as being the media and major corporations pet on a leash. With that anger behind him, nothing can stop him from creating this unforgettable piece of work. Expand
  70. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    "Yeezus" is lyrically lazy, but Kanye West isn't just a rapper, but also a producer, and the strengths of this album come with production. The beats are huge, game changers, and most rappers wouldn't think to rap over them. "Yeezus" is Kanye's "I don't give a album, half assing some of his raps, rapping about bold and controversial topics, and converting to more of a minimalists style. On this album he is no longer chasing the radio. From a "hip hop" point of view, this album is a mere bust, but the final product is the most entertaining 40 minutes of any first listen I have ever heard, and it just about creates its own genre. Expand
  71. Nov 28, 2013
    9
    To the ego of Kanye West, controversy is a virtue. Continually, pushing the boundaries of Hip-Hop as 'ranted' in his Zane Lowe interview/harangue 'Rap the new Rock 'n' Roll'.
    He teases any listener with statements 'I am a God' perhaps warranting an extensive reply of unconventional attention. Kanye does not make music for the fans of Radio Hip-Hop nor for the common easy going listener.
    And melodically, the album plays on the notions of dichotomy, from uncomfortable screechy synths to truly harmonious echoes of beauty. He is continually subverting a society in which typical every day norms are replaced by the 'Black Skinhead'. This prevalent undertone is unfortunately disguised by Kanye's array of misogynistic and perhaps unattractive verse.
    However, this album is alone, remarkably Kanye is attempting to catalyze a progression in music, 'again'. The original controversial reception of 80s & Heartbreaks has now morphed into an appreciation for what we hear every day. In this album Kanye West once again stamps on the fence surrounding our microcosm of normal music and he takes full credit for this. He is the square peg in a round hole.
    Expand
  72. Nov 25, 2013
    7
    This album was not Kaye's best work but it is still worth more than a zero or even a five. I have been a fan of Kanye from the College Drop Out days and this album is hardly reminiscent of those days but still not a complete tragedy. Some of the lyrics need some work but the lyrics in "New Slave" are almost praise worthy in my opinion. the album is a solid 7.5 in my opinion but I would love to see the old Kanye...or even the MTDBF Kanye. Expand
  73. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Brilliant at first I wasnt so sure about the album after the first listen because it is hard to listen to but there's no such thing of listening there is only re-listening so after I listened again I loved it
  74. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    Yeezus is a great album that is helping rap evolve. Kanye finds a new way to push hip hop into a new boundary. Soon other hip-hop acts might join Kanye in having EDM production on their albums. Yeezus is just the start of the new boundary that Kanye created.
  75. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    I admit Yeezus can be a bit hard to listen to at first; the beats are very ‘in your face!’ and Kanye’s lyrics can be a bit off-putting, I cant tell you how many times the man mentions his ‘black penis’. But then again that’s what I always liked about him, the guts to do whatever he wants, a lot of artists are afraid to take that far. It may not sound like it now but this what our generation needs. Expand
  76. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Great instant classic album......Onsite to New Slaves is the best album stretch of the last few years in hip hop. I'm not sure if anyone has done what Ye is is doing on the mainstream level as far as Hip Hop goes. He is definitely taking chances on the album and executes it perfectly. Sonically the best produce album I've heard this year. Jay-Z can learn a thing or two from Kanye cause MCHG was terrible. Expand
  77. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    chaotic and dying, unlike anything ever done by him, from the beats to the lyrics all remente something new and shows the way the future of music. Kanye rose on the musical term with this album
  78. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    Brilliance mixed with Ignorance with a side of Egotistical-ness, if thats even a word. But overall for what it is being an experimental album, I really feel like Kanye delivered just in a different way then he did with MBDTF, Dropout, and LR
  79. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    The difference between Yeezus and other albums released in 2013 was how different it sounded and it was done successfully. This is definitely the music of the future.
  80. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Expect the unexpected. Open your mind. Free your mind of any prejudices. Be open and listen to the lyrics closely. Kanye is here to speak his mind in a very raw way. It's industrial in sound and very punchy in it's delivery. This isn't for the laid back listen. But it can be once you are used to it. It's different from his previous albums but there are familiar elements mixed in. Kanye West is still in top form here. The good far outweighs the bad. It's hardcore Kanye.....but spoken through....well....YEEZUS. Expand
  81. Jan 5, 2014
    5
    If I had it my way, Kanye West would not be allowed to talk in public. Ever. When it comes to his albums I would say the reverse. Kanye typically has a good ear and great taste in big production rap albums that churn out anthems and original content alike. On Yeezus, Kanye is starting to push the good and bad elements of his music more radically. The results end up being much more raw and chaotic. On tracks like "Black Skinhead", "I Am A God", and "Send It Up", there's enough hook and form to keep the music and rhymes on track amidst some wobbly production and pitchy sound effects. But with cuts like "On Sight" and "Bound 2" the chaos and switheroos are too much and make it tough to endure a listen for more than a moment. "Bound 2" is especially annoying perhaps one of Kanye's worst to date, which is unfortunate given that the chorus is actually fine. It's the transitions marked with the "uh huh honey" that make my ears bleed a bit. By the time I got through the record I realized that Kanye's massive and annoying ego is beginning to affect his work. That is a travesty, because Kanye has some killer tracks and albums leading up to Yeezus an album that I'd rather only occasionally pick from on Spotify rather than spend even .99 on a track to contribute toward. Expand
  82. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    If there's one thing this proves, it's that he's learned from Watch The Throne. Kanye's joint effort with Jay-Z tried to be bigger than it was capable of at times, and while it was a solid effort, stripping it down for a more raw sound on Yeezus has paid off. This is as innovative as any rap album has ever been.
  83. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    "How much do I not give a f*ck?" Mr. West asks in On Sight, the first track of Yeezus. The answer is clear. The question is quickly followed with a familiar College Dropout sample sounding tune that goes on to say "He'll give us what we need It may not be what we want." Which, is the perfect way to describe what this album is. Not something we want(old Kanye), but something we need(New Kanye).
  84. Jul 15, 2014
    8
    Yeezus sees Kanye West push himself like never before and he once again brings something new to the hip-hop party. The man is hard to like as a person but there is no doubt that he is an exceptional talent. He could have easily recycled what he's been doing for the last decade, released it and sold shedloads but instead he's launched a sonic attack on the music world. Musically, Yeezus is astonishing with West bringing all of his producer skills and musical talent to produce something truly creative. Unfortunately and perhaps surprisingly, the album is let down by West's lyrics, an area in which he often excels. Yeezus doesn't seem to have anything new to say and outside of "New Slaves", West could be freestyling about anything and too often the material tries to shock but ends up just being plain distasteful. Expand
  85. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    Dark, visceral and intense. Kanye West's latest outing, though very self-indulgent and narcissistic and a little boring at times, is a hectic and engaging experience that is as bold as it is profane. Yeezus is a memorising and artistic album that, even though it isn't as good as My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, will probably divide his fans but it is at least a brave and powerful step for the artist. Expand
  86. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    After the Picasso-art of My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Kanye West reinvents itself again, with an album much more Hip-Hop and Minimal than MBDTF thet reminiscent in some ways Watch The Throne and 808s & Heartbreak. Songs like On Sight, Black Skinhead and Blood on the Leaves are examples of good and innovative production, that's right, the production that perhaps on this album is the most innovative of the year with Daft Punk, No.ID, 88 Keys and Kanye same in the height of the form. In conclusion, Yeezus of abstract-art is an album of pure genius that we have never heard. A classic to remember for many, many years. Expand
  87. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    Kanye West's 6th solo album is something of an initial 'Kid A' reception inspired industrial mess. As an artist West moves back and forth from the early 00's hip-hop that put him on the household map, but unlike its incredible predecessor Yeezus doesn't move far enough in a particular direction to warrant overwhelming acclaim nor deserve condemnation (a 0? Who are you kidding?) for its failings. Instead Yeezus is a fairly competent album that attempts to stitch together all of Kanye's styles up to this point and it doesn't always work. Blood on The Leaves samples Nina Simone's soulful 'Strange Fruit' in an off-shoot that could have been a B-Side on Late Registration whilst closer Bound 2 has more in common with The College Dropout than any of West's more recent material. These contrasts in quality are often found in style, and the albums first half is by far its strongest, yielding schizophrenic beats and idiosyncratic lyrics. Although I agree the production of Daft Punk (considering their potential) is perhaps wasted, tracks like 'Black Skinhead' and opener 'On Sight' are far and away the most interesting works here though far from entirely original. Other all Yeezus is still a succinct and more consistent listen than '808's' or 'Graduation', but the lyrical depth and egotistical ravings although perhaps designed to contrast the juvenile substances with the poetic are misjudged in crucial moments and apart from Frank Ocean his guest line-up squandered. Still, even if it does not match up to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy in scale or scope, it is far from unlistenable as others have stated, and fits in with the Kanye discography for now. Expand
  88. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    This is the first time, I am reviewing a brand new album. I usually take some time to get used to an album but some albums are such that they stick with you even when you listen to them just once. After listening to this album nearly seven times now, I think I am in a position to review it properly. Basically its great!!

    Yes, he is back with his 6th album. By this time as a fan I knew
    that this album like all his other albums has to be different or break some trends and most likely set a few new trends. 3 years after creating arguably one of the greatest rap albums of all time. He is back again doing what he does best, defy the norms and he still refuses to make the rap albums that everybody else seems to make. Its only been 3 days since the album was released but I can say this with full conviction:

    I took notice of this genius when I heard his second album: Late Registration. Shortly, its my favourite rap album of all time.

    With this album, Kanye West de-constructs the rap/hip-hop conventions, chops them up and makes something that’s sonically akin to Massive Attack’s: “Mezzanine” than say, any of his other albums. He created his own genre twice before with “808s & Heartbreak” and “My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy” and this one is inventive and different in the same vein as these two albums.
    Expand
  89. Oct 1, 2013
    6
    I'll admit that I've only recently gotten into this guy's work around the time this album came out & I was pretty much blown away. However there seems to be an inverse pattern of Kanye's production getting better & more experimental while the lyrical content gets increasingly worse. And with Yeezus that pattern continues.

    Admittedly about 90% of the good thing I have to say are in the
    production & instrumentation. If you're reading this, chances are you've already heard about the bizarre change in direction here to something less accessible & more raw, and that'd be a great way of describing it in a nutshell. It's dark, minimalist, straightforward & aggressive in the best ways possible. The lush, drawn-out & practically orchestrated sound of MBDTF was great to hear but this is an extremely rewarding change of pace. That's not to say this album is without its subtle catchiness, since even in his earliest albums Kanye's had a talent for creating great hooks, not just in some pop chorus but in the instrumentals too. The synths might be buzzing & droning but there's still a keen sense of melody in how they're arranged that makes them stick out in a unique way. Same can be said for the samples, which are generally well-incorporated. The 2 tracks that stand out musically for me the most though are lead single “Black Skinhead” & closing track “Bound 2”. The former is just awesome, combining pulsating tribal drum beats, primal screams in the background & quiet synths in the chorus that builds expertly with the drums back into the verse. The latter is my, and what I imagine a lot of people's, favorite song on this album. This is mainly due to the soul sample-looping back-to-basics approach that was all over Kanye's first few albums, aka the “college trilogy”, helped by the comparatively more genuine lyrics. There's also “New Slaves”, probably the strongest track lyrically, which gives some insightful jabs at the materialism that brainwashes the upper class, as well as overly intrusive “journalists” that constantly hassle him & other celebrities for no good reason.

    However, no matter how great this album may be musically & occasionally lyrically, those lyrical moments are few & far between. For the most part in this department, Yeezus is obnoxious, egomaniacal, hypocritical & at times outright cringeworthy. I think the main problem isn't so much that he's not self-aware about the public's perception about him, but for that he's not self-aware about how poorly he expresses his self-awareness about the public's perception about him. He's so hot-headed & over-the-top about the topic that it can only add to his already bad media persona. Say what you want about the braggadocios tracks on MBDTF or the 2011 Jay-Z collab album Watch the Throne, but at least there he sounded like he was having some level of fun with it in a way that was at times pretty enjoyable in its ridiculousness. But here the way he brushes off detractors & brags about how much sex he has is just forced & uncomfortable. And sometimes this can ruin an otherwise good track, particularly “I'm in It”, which pairs a nice slow groove & a soulful chorus from Bon Iver's Justin Vernon with poetry like “Eatin' Asian all I need is sweet & sour sauce”. And even one of my favorites “Black Skinhead” has its bad lyrical traits, but in a different way. The main thing is that in a song where he's talking about racially inequality & stereotypes, he acts angry and irrational, brags about his possessions & says lines like “300 where the Trojans”. There's a clever line here & there but I find it hard to get past that. Surprisingly one of the more positively notable tracks is “I Am A God”, which despite its obvious pretentious delusions is more of an exaggerated declaration of confidence than anything else, and brings back the enjoyable ego-projecting of the last couple albums.

    With even that big ol rant out of the way, I still can't recommend checking this album out enough. Yes, it's as a whole Kanye's weakest effort to date lyrically & very front-loaded, but it's just so interesting & engaging musically that it's worth a listen even despite its big flaws. I still like his older stuff more though.

    Top 5 tracks: Bound 2, New Slaves, Black Skinhead, I Am a God, Hold My Liquor
    Score: 66/100
    Expand
  90. Dec 27, 2013
    8
    Kanye West has yet again stepped outside of the box and he's delivered another innovative piece of work burning with purpose. That being said, his lyrics have never been so lifeless. Case and point: "hurry up with my damn croissants!", or "eating asian all I needed was sweet and sour sauce". There's no underlying meaning to bars like this, as much as I'd like there to be. The positives do outweigh the negatives though, as Kanye is just being Kanye and gives us yet another piece of art. Sounds like this have never made it to the mainstream, albums have never sold 300,000+ first week without promotion, albums like this have never hit such a broad audience, and no artist has ever had the guts to accomplish any of those goals. At this point, we can't even pat Kanye on the back anymore. This is just what we've come to expect. Expand
  91. Jun 21, 2013
    5
    2nd worst album from Kanye IMO. Not sure wat else to say about this polarizing album that only Kanye could pull off. I hope he rebounds with a much better effort next time bc this ain't the one.
  92. Jun 19, 2013
    5
    To me this record has split personality disorder, possibly like Ye himself.

    The first 6 songs seem pseudo-angry and pretentious. He talks about how rich he is, "stacking millions", being able to buy someones life he is so wealthy, comparing picking his own shirt to "picking cotton" in the fields.
    The anger and frustration seems so put on and acted especially coming from someone who is
    with a Kardashian and buys Ferraris as birthday presents.

    The last 4 songs seem more real and are actually really good songs. But on those Ye complains about the downsides of being a celebrity and showing some true emotions.

    I've been a Kanye fan since the beginning but his underdog complex just doesn't hold true anymore and he needs to keep about it. Especially lyrically this is one of his worst efforts. His rhymes are not only weak but full of pretentious pseudo-anger.

    808s was so raw and real and full of powerful emotions and to me this record is the exact opposite. It seems Kanye has no real inspiration anymore other than feeding on all the rumors and from the tabloids so he just goes with that. If that's your gig ...ENJOY!!
    Expand
  93. Aug 30, 2013
    8
    Talk about a year Kanye's had, performing at the VMA's (Video Music Awards), having a baby with an odd name (North West? Sounds like an insurance company) and even banging his head on a sign then fighting with the cameraman. Even with all that, we still have to remember that Kanye still does music, and he changes things up with his new album "Yeezus" (which sounds like Jesus sneezing) Now Yeezus has divided up people, critics obviously love, but listeners don't know whether to love it or hate it. For me I liked it. Yeezus isn't Kanye's most memorable album and no everyone will like it, but it doesn't know what it's trying to say, and I recommend it to any Kanye West fans. The opening song "On sight" sounds like something made in a garage (actually this whole album feels like it was made in a garage) but I like that Kanye changed up his style but managed to keep things fresh. The best song on this album is "Black Skinhead", which has a great beat, some amazing sounds, and an interesting take on Kanye West's view of life. Another standout includes "Blood on Leaves" which again shows everyone that West's songs have social commentary and will make you think. Some problems with this album is there's less to think about on the songs, which I blame the pacing at less than 50 minutes it's one of West's more shorter albums. Also no of the songs really stick out expect for "Black Skinhead" and "Blood on Leaves" everything else is more filler than fun. But still Kanye West still manages to impress with his latest release, as I did listen to the album on repeat a few times, and at some points, "Yeezus" is kinda brilliant. If you're a fan of Kanye West, Yeezus is definitely worth listening to. Expand
  94. Jun 21, 2013
    5
    When compared with the dedication and vision of 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy', 'Yeezus' feels rushed and underdeveloped. Kanye West is not a subtle producer, nor is he a brilliant lyricist. He is a fantastic surveyor of pop culture and virtuosically distills it into bombastically produced and arranged albums that combine much of what is current and relevant into something that feels new. In similar ways that Quentin Tarantino approaches film making, Kayne is able to capture the evolution of producing and challenge others in the field to pay more attention to their own efforts. For these reasons I hold him to a higher standard and 'Yeezus' in its entirety feels lacklustre. Perhaps with more time it could have developed into something spectacular but unfortunately as it stands one is left with the feeling that they are hearing a rough draft. I have no doubt we'll hear more from Kanye and look forward to him taking the time as he did with MBDTF, however, this is a mediocre stepping stone by his own standards. Expand
  95. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    I wouldn't say its better than Yeezy's last solo effort, but it comes pretty damn close. Yeezy tries something new with the dub-step beat behind On Sight. Excellent start. Hold My Liquor is halfway through the album's disappointing 10 tracks, and its straight amazing. The album ends with Bound 42 which everybody drooled over because it was sort of a throwback to College Dropout. This isn't hip-hop, nor is this a rap album. Kanye changed up his style again and was very successful.... again. Of course people aren't going to like this album because its not stupid trap beats & raps. Its straight up MUSIC. NO GENRE. JUST ART IN ONE ALBUM. You hate this album? Get out of here. Your opinion is stupid. You're entitled to it, but its stupid because you're writing Kanye off because he's not hip-hop. Expand
  96. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    I can see why people don't like this album...its very different. But Kanye is Kanye and he always does something different..I think this album will grow much more on the people who don't like it if they just take it for what it is. Great album imo.
  97. Feb 9, 2014
    3
    Honestly, this album works better as an instrumental. There are some songs that DP worked on, which pisses me off since R.A.M. was poorly executed and the instrumentals are amazing here. Otherwise, this album is just rubbish put together that ends up just being all over the place. No structure, just an inflated ego. I don't care for it.
  98. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Kanye does it again. Yeezus is a triumph of unparalleled musical imagination, created by the ultimate music nerd who thinks nothing of genres and styles and gleefuly mashes everything he wants like a mad alchemist, creating an unholy concoction that works even though it really shouldn't. Who else would even dare to have Bon Iver's Justin Vernon and Chicago drill poster boy Chief Keef sing on the same track? Who would imagine that you could mix TNGHT and Nina Simone? Who would slap a hefty chunk of a track by a 1970s Hungarian prog rock band at the end of his own composition and then sing all over it? Only Yeezus. Expand
  99. Apr 8, 2014
    9
    Are you a believer of Yeezianity???? Well you should be. Yeezus is undoubtedly his most abrasive album to date. He is as aggressive and egoistical as ever before on this project. When you're a GOD you make the rules hence giving a single F***k on his lazy braggadocios lyrics used where it could be seen a major flaw but when its as organic as 'Ye makes it out to be we cannot be disappointed. For every stan out there who loved My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, it could turn out to be a surprise or a disaster for some however it thrives on excitement. He made it clear he's here to be the next Steve Jobs, Andy Warhol e.t.c. but seriously with a discography as compelling to most current artists today giving him the benefit of the doubt is an understatement. Daft Punk did brilliantly on constructing the acid-house influenced track "On Sight" and its Punk influenced "Black skinhead". I cannot say its his best album to date due to its craft work as times sounds underwhelming however Kanye West has once again set his ego bar at an all time high, as for things goes its simply a breath of fresh air. 9/10 Expand
  100. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Another classic from Kanye West. It's natural that some people don't like it; he's pushing the boundaries of hip-hop. You'll thank him in 10 years. An excellent album.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    50
    His concerns are serious--consumerism, race, fame, relationships--but he rarely addresses them with the craft or focus they deserve. [Sep 2013, p.66]
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    80
    Contradiction incarnate, Yeezus is Kanye's most Kanyeish LP yet. [Sep 2013, p.103]
  3. Aug 13, 2013
    80
    Nasty, brutish, short, and wholly compelling, Yeezus begs only one question: where next? [Sep 2013, p.89]