Yeezus

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Jun 18, 2013
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1364 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 15, 2016
    10
    Best Songs: "On Sight", "Black Skinhead", "I Am a God" (feat. God), "New Slaves", "Hold My Liquor", "I'm In It", "Blood on the Leaves", "Guilt Trip", "Send It Up", "Bound 2"

    Worst Songs: N/A
  2. May 31, 2016
    10
    This album may sometimes sound demonic but this one of the best albums I have ever listened to. This albums is very aggressive and talks a lot about race. Kanye West is brilliant and has a lot of creative, original references to many things I will not reveal. Just listen to the album on Spotify and find out why this album is amazing!
  3. May 31, 2016
    10
    This album leaves me speechless everytime I listen it. It is a "masterpiece" from start to end. This is the most unique album I've ever listened. The attitude of the song "I'm A God" and "New Slaves" nails it. Kanye West has himself said that "New Slaves" is the best rap song of all time, and even it is. No doubt! In the song "I'm A God" he slays and conveys that he's "the only rapperThis album leaves me speechless everytime I listen it. It is a "masterpiece" from start to end. This is the most unique album I've ever listened. The attitude of the song "I'm A God" and "New Slaves" nails it. Kanye West has himself said that "New Slaves" is the best rap song of all time, and even it is. No doubt! In the song "I'm A God" he slays and conveys that he's "the only rapper compared to Michael". Indeed, it's all true. "Ain't no way (he's) giving up. (he's) a god"
    Favourite tracks - "New Slaves" and "I'm A God"
    Jewel of the album - "New Slaves"
    Expand
  4. May 11, 2016
    10
    Kanye west is a genius and he knows it. Yeezus is an album that was way ahead of its time. Kanye is not afraid to try new sounds and has done this on Yeezus. He pulls it of amazingly as well with the electric beats which he is also spitting bars over
  5. May 1, 2016
    10
    Simultaneously the best and most hated album of 2013. This polarizing, meticulous and grand follow up to his masterpiece, "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy", is relentlessly challenging to listeners and will instantly turn you off from the first track. However it is something you need to stick with and embrace its view and it pays off hugely.
  6. Apr 26, 2016
    10
    Probably my favorite album of all time. Kanye will never fail to impress me with this album. everytime i listen to it, it gets better and better and when Daft Punk and Kanye get together it is something amazing my favorite part of the whole album is that its something different and more darker than the previous album before Yeezus (MBDTF). And i like darker type of albums like Yeezus. iProbably my favorite album of all time. Kanye will never fail to impress me with this album. everytime i listen to it, it gets better and better and when Daft Punk and Kanye get together it is something amazing my favorite part of the whole album is that its something different and more darker than the previous album before Yeezus (MBDTF). And i like darker type of albums like Yeezus. i can not get enough of it, i listen to it atleast everyday and it never gets old it is truly a classic masterpiece of all album. My favorite songs from this album is On Sight, Send it up, Black Skinhead and Guilt Trip. Expand
  7. Apr 1, 2016
    9
    Yes this album is a big curveball from Kanye West. It was probably the last thing his fans were expecting, but seeing his progression from Graduation to 808's and then to MBDTF, it really shouldn't be too surprising that he will produce such a leftist record. While not his best album, it certainly ranks among the best. The sounds he used, though grungy, serve as a musical means for him toYes this album is a big curveball from Kanye West. It was probably the last thing his fans were expecting, but seeing his progression from Graduation to 808's and then to MBDTF, it really shouldn't be too surprising that he will produce such a leftist record. While not his best album, it certainly ranks among the best. The sounds he used, though grungy, serve as a musical means for him to convey the overall message of the album. This album truly took me for a ride, and while I didn't instantly like some tracks, the ones I liked, I really liked. And, as always, it's such a refreshing pleasure to have Bon Iver on borad. Hope they work together some more.
    BEST- On Sight, Black Skinhead, I Am a God, Hold My Liquor
    WORST- Guilt Trip, Blood on the Leaves
    Expand
  8. Mar 22, 2016
    8
    76/100. Kanye put out a really interesting album here, and it is carried by a few songs, but held down by others. "On Sight" and "I Am a God" are two of the worst songs Kanye has ever put out, while "Hold My Liquor", "I'm In It", "Blood on the Leaves" and "Bound 2" are among the best. You get a mixed bag with this album, but overall it has enough great songs to make it a good album.
  9. Mar 8, 2016
    9
    Dark, visceral and intense. Kanye West's latest outing is a hectic and engaging experience that is as bold as it is profane. Yeezus is a memorable album that, even though it isn't as good as My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, will probably divide his fans but it is at least a brave and powerful step for the artist.
  10. Feb 16, 2016
    0
    Complete and utter autonued garbage that sounds like an angry child throwing a tantrum. Stop making music Kanye, produce and leave rapping up to real MCs
  11. Feb 15, 2016
    10
    This is West's winner. It encapsulates the Kanye West of today and of, seemingly, the future. Sonically, it breaches every wall. But more importantly, many of those walls Kanye himself helped build.
  12. Feb 15, 2016
    10
    Yeezus is like a fine wine. After the first listen, someone may wonder what the heck Kanye was thinking pushing out a minimalist, ten song album. Upon further listenings, however, one can see the genius behind the album and the intricacies behind each song. This album follows with Kanye's trend to stray away from the crowd and create unique masterpieces.
  13. Feb 14, 2016
    0
    Très ambitieux et "novateur", cet album est à l'image de son chanteur: un mégalo prétentieux.
    Beaucoup de bruit pour pas grand chose, Yeezus est loin de révolutionner la musique, bien au contraire.
  14. Jan 30, 2016
    9
    "Look at the song title "I Am a God" and it seems like easy blasphemy-- Kanye West's update of John Lennon's "more popular than Jesus" shocker from 1966. But just as the Beatle's proclamation was fuller and wiser in context-- "I believe that what people call God is something in all of us," Lennon would later explain-- "I Am a God" is not simply the latest self-important blast from one of"Look at the song title "I Am a God" and it seems like easy blasphemy-- Kanye West's update of John Lennon's "more popular than Jesus" shocker from 1966. But just as the Beatle's proclamation was fuller and wiser in context-- "I believe that what people call God is something in all of us," Lennon would later explain-- "I Am a God" is not simply the latest self-important blast from one of pop culture's pre-eminent egoists. For starters, the track sounds less triumphant than breathtakingly vexed, crashing in with a gnarled dancehall vocal sample and paranoid sawtooth synths that aim to destroy. Here, Kanye raps about loyalty, respect, threesomes, and, yes, croissants with the urgency of someone being chased by a 30-ton steamroller. The song is pierced by a series of primal screams, pixelated outbursts that are only briefly able to halt the beat's heaving evil. In Kanye's hands, being a god sounds stressful as hell, something we can all relate to, and the song's apparent inspiration is a passage from the book of Psalms: "I have said, Ye are gods; and all of you are children of the most High."
    These are the immeasurably lofty stakes Kanye deals in on Yeezus, his sixth solo album. His intensity here has a heightened desperation as he howls into the void, but the Chicago native has always been beguiled by the view from above. Take "Jesus Walks", where he references another Psalm while gasping from on high: "I walk through the valley of the Chi where death is/ Top floor, the view alone will leave you breathless." Then, on "POWER", he contemplates leaping out of the penthouse, "letting everything go." In a way, Yeezus is the panicked sound of that ensuing free-fall, a rush of angst and despair with absolutely nothing left to lose.
    The album is something of a razor-sharpened take on 2008's distressed 808s & Heartbreak and marks a blunt break with the filigreed maximalism Kanye so thoroughly nailed on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. In hindsight, the latter record-- with its ingratiating GOOD Fridays buildup, endless guest list, and uncharacteristically apologetic interview sessions-- was his attempt at recapturing a superstar-sized American audience after a slew of entertaining-yet-questionable PR incidents. Except it didn't exactly work: While Twisted Fantasy was universally lauded and went platinum, it still stands as Kanye's worst-selling album to date, failing to produce a top 10 single. But even if it wasn't a chart smash, the intricacy and durability of Twisted Fantasy incubated the Cult of Kanye to an extreme level. "I’d rather piss a bunch of people off and make myself happy than make everyone else happy and be pissed off inside," he told VIBE around the release of 808s. Yeezus doubles-down on this exclusionary philosophy: "Soon as they like you, make 'em unlike you/ 'Cause kissing people ass is so unlike you."
    For Kanye, there's purpose in repulsion. And on Yeezus, he trades out smooth soul and anthemic choruses for jarring electro, acid house, and industrial grind while delivering some of his most lewd and heart-crushing tales yet. This is willful provocation that Ice Cube, Madonna, and Trent Reznor could all be proud of. Some of the record has him tackling the same issues he's been rapping about since The College Dropout, albeit with a fire-eyed stare. On his debut's "Family Business", he poignantly lamented a jailed cousin's absence at the Thanksgiving dinner table in a manner "so sweet, like a photo of your granny's picture." On Yeezus, he's still addressing the plight of incarcerated black men, but now he's incensed. With "New Slaves", he confronts us with vulgar stereotypes while exposing the prison-industrial complex for the deeply systemic racist sham that it is.
    Meanwhile, XXX creeper "I'm In It" sounds like a dancehall orgasm mired in quicksand and makes previous come-ons like "Slow Jamz" come off like Disney theme songs. "The kids and the wife life, but can't wake up from the nightlife," says the new father on that track's knowingly button-pushing final verse. "I'm so scared of my demons/ I go to sleep with a nightlight." Kanye told The New York Times he's recently reached a new level of Zen, but this is the opposite of beach-chair music. Perhaps the album's most explicit lines are the blurry fantasies of a confessed porn addict who's described his daughter's mother as a "superstar all from a home movie." Without much room for levity, Kanye's complicated and distrustful view of women is unrelenting on Yeezus. And while there's no real excuse for flat oafishness like "eatin' Asian **** all I need was sweet and sour sauce," many of the album's most powerful moments have him broken down, insecure, and bloody, railing against an ineptitude with the opposite sex.
    Album pinnacle "Blood on the Leaves" tells a nightmarish story of divorce and betrayal, all while samples of Nina Simone's pitched-up "Strange Fruit" and TNGHT's demonic "R U Ready" horns play yin and yang" -Pitchfork
    Expand
  15. Jan 29, 2016
    0
    Dull, boring and pathetic and that's just Kanye. This is quite possibly one of the worst excuses for an album though to be fair none of his albums are awful so this is no surprise.
  16. Jan 15, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Favourite Songs: On Sight, Black Skinhead, New Slaves, Blood on the Leaves
    Least Favourite Songs: Bound 2, Guilt Trip, Hold My Liquor
    Yeezus is not an unenjoyable album but I have a fair few issues with the content on it, as well as the way it's been glorified as some envelope pushing masterpiece. It's just not that. Yeezus may have introduced a lot more people to noise hop as a genre but I don't think taking a sound over a decade old and giving it a more mainstream appeal is at all envelope pushing. It's like Death Grips who seem to get all the praise for this exciting new kind of music, which is why noise hop fans, like Moodie Black, get annoyed when people just assume Death Grips are the first noise hop band ever and everyone else is just copying them. It's exactly the same thing with Kanye's Yeezus and at times it makes want to hate the album. Its bad enough hundreds of thousands of people, possibly millions, think that this is groundbreaking; it's made worse by the fact that it's a half assed effort. I dare anyone to argue he put his all into this. I guess I'm happy that Kanye experimented with this sound but I would be a lot happier if he introduced it to people well because after hearing the Lil Wayne level lyrics to songs like 'I'm In It' it would just seem like the new horror core with lyrics that try too hard to be shocking. Kanye West could have actually created a very dark album with this but he completely ruins the mood created by the beats with dumb lyrics. On the final song the production takes a very unexpected turn towards a College Dropout era sound but sadly Kanye doesn't take that same trip back with his lyrics. Despite all of that there is, like I said, some very dark production on here and a great mixture of raw drums and dark synths on a few songs. Most of my favourite songs were produced with the help of Daft Punk- most notably the messy futuristic sounding opener 'On Sight'- which has for 3 years left me dreaming of some kind of full length collaboration between the two artists that'll almost definitely never happen. But still, I can dream can't I?
    Better Than Previous Project?: No
    Try This If You Like: The Money Store by Death Grips
    Expand
  17. Jan 5, 2016
    3
    The worst Kanye's album, i like the fact that he's tryna experiment with his music, but this time he failed. The best song on the album is "Black Skinhead", where he fuse the industrial music with the hip-hop, and it's sounds pretty good, but in the album there are HORRIBLE songs, like "Bound 2", sounds like a bowl full of **** and the other songs are bad, songs like "Blood on the Leaves"The worst Kanye's album, i like the fact that he's tryna experiment with his music, but this time he failed. The best song on the album is "Black Skinhead", where he fuse the industrial music with the hip-hop, and it's sounds pretty good, but in the album there are HORRIBLE songs, like "Bound 2", sounds like a bowl full of **** and the other songs are bad, songs like "Blood on the Leaves" doesn't need to exist. Hope that his next album will be much better Expand
  18. Dec 22, 2015
    3
    I don't know where Kanye's head is at with this one. It seems like he tried to do industrial type production, which is cool and all, but this man's bars are some of the worst I've heard in a while. Then the ever so cringy sex themed lyrics make it hard for me to take this man seriously. Definitely not the worst thing I've ever heard, but I expect MUCH more from Kanye West.
  19. Dec 19, 2015
    10
    Absolutely perfect album. Innovative music for many other artists. I recommend for all hip hop's fans. It would be great if there is two tracks more on the album. But 10/10 :)
  20. Nov 20, 2015
    9
    I'm an italian fan of Kanye west and I think that this album will be remembered as an album that broke many barriers and a classic in the next ten years. Sounds are incredible but the only flaw is that the verses are a bit without sense. Ye talks about racism but in the next verse he talks about his leather pants?! But this is Kanye. This is one of the few , perhaps the only , reasons whyI'm an italian fan of Kanye west and I think that this album will be remembered as an album that broke many barriers and a classic in the next ten years. Sounds are incredible but the only flaw is that the verses are a bit without sense. Ye talks about racism but in the next verse he talks about his leather pants?! But this is Kanye. This is one of the few , perhaps the only , reasons why my vote is 9 and not 10. Expand
  21. Sep 22, 2015
    10
    will never be able to listen to this in public because the message is too serious to be taken lightly. i get hype listening to songs on this

    kanye continues to speak of his mind
  22. Jul 5, 2015
    9
    Not the best Kanye's put out there (MBDTF is still my favorite), but this album is still fantastic. When I first heard "On Sight", I was turned away from this album. Later, I gave it a try, and I was surprised that I passed on it on the first place. Beside for "On Sight", which isn't TOO terrible, the album is great all the way trough. It is very different from all his other albumsNot the best Kanye's put out there (MBDTF is still my favorite), but this album is still fantastic. When I first heard "On Sight", I was turned away from this album. Later, I gave it a try, and I was surprised that I passed on it on the first place. Beside for "On Sight", which isn't TOO terrible, the album is great all the way trough. It is very different from all his other albums (Very experimental, mabey the reason for the public backlash) and it takes chances. If there is anything remotley close to "Art" in pop music today, it's this album.

    Highlights:
    - On Sight
    - Blood On the Leaves
    - Black Skinhead
    Expand
  23. Jul 1, 2015
    8
    Great album, although it did make me cringe the first couple of times i listened to it, but the more i started listening to it, the better it got, which (in my opinion) makes this album worth listening to, more than once.
  24. Jun 22, 2015
    8
    Kanye West may have let fans down with an ambient record, but he's Kanye - every one of his albums are different. Kanye's at his lyrical worst on this album, but the production makes up for it. The production is interesting in every aspect - heck, even Daft Punk produced a few songs on here. It ranges from rock to trap, it's ambient, it probably has some of the most revolutionaryKanye West may have let fans down with an ambient record, but he's Kanye - every one of his albums are different. Kanye's at his lyrical worst on this album, but the production makes up for it. The production is interesting in every aspect - heck, even Daft Punk produced a few songs on here. It ranges from rock to trap, it's ambient, it probably has some of the most revolutionary production on any hip hop album. We even get a touch of College Dropout Kanye with "Bound 2". And of course, this is original too. Yeezus is unlike anything else ever released, even his own other studio albums. And plus, he may not be lyrically strong on this album but some of these lines make for a good laugh. "New Slaves" is one of the best songs I have ever heard in my whole life - not another song like this will be created for another decade at least. In general, what makes this album so special and unique is the production, originality, and clear showing of West's artistry. Grade: B+/A-. Highlights: "New Slaves" and most tracks. Worst song: "Guilt Trip" Expand
  25. Jun 15, 2015
    8
    Certainly not as good as his previous one, but still highly enjoyable, Yeezus is another great album by Kanye. It's an interesting and original blend of sounds, styles and influences from around the music industry with Kanye's unique touch. As a pure hip-hop fan, I was a little bit disappointed by the album, because it's more an alternative electronic experience than a rap album, but forCertainly not as good as his previous one, but still highly enjoyable, Yeezus is another great album by Kanye. It's an interesting and original blend of sounds, styles and influences from around the music industry with Kanye's unique touch. As a pure hip-hop fan, I was a little bit disappointed by the album, because it's more an alternative electronic experience than a rap album, but for any fan of West, the album is worth the purchase. Expand
  26. Jun 7, 2015
    10
    If he weren't seen as a celebrity, Kanye would be hailed as a true artist for this album. This is a giant middle finger to the music industry, not unlike Kid A was for Radiohead. Kanye proves that despite his obnoxious arrogance, he really may, in fact, be a genius 10/10—"New Slaves", "Black Skinhead", "Bound 2".
  27. Jun 6, 2015
    3
    there are great ideas on this album and it could have been done good. But knowing well that Kanye is an egotistical maniac, I'm getting the feeling that he is only doing this to say ''look at me, look at me, look at me''. This album is in no sense a good album. Black Skinhead is the only song that does it, which is strange, because I want to like the other tracks more because they are morethere are great ideas on this album and it could have been done good. But knowing well that Kanye is an egotistical maniac, I'm getting the feeling that he is only doing this to say ''look at me, look at me, look at me''. This album is in no sense a good album. Black Skinhead is the only song that does it, which is strange, because I want to like the other tracks more because they are more experimental. There is more to experimental music than this, it isn't just slap up a couple of beats and then deliver lines with extremely basic lyricism and just Lil Wayne-esque metaphors and punchlines that are only funny because they are drenched in melt cheese and deepfried. It's ridicolous. There are good ideas here and there, I am a God for instance has an extremely intense beat, but it's destroyed by Kanye's strugglebars and the syntriffs and screaming thatis just nails on a chalkboard. Hold My Liquor has a beautiful set of harmonies, but having Chief Keef slobber on the mic over autotune just makes it terrible.

    Kanye is by no means a bad lyricist, but if this was his breakout project, I would think it was a bad parody on Death Grips. Some parts of the album are good, but they are just overshadowed by the vast incompetent crap that is the rest of the album. There are no deeper meanings to the lyrics, hurry up with my damn croissant! I'm eating asian **** all I need is sweet and sour SAUCE is also terrible ( did I mention that the beat on this track sounds absolutely dreadful? ). I'm giving him a 3 on this one. Some good ideas, so it may deserve a 5, but there is no chance in hell I will increase the score on this album.
    Expand
  28. Apr 28, 2015
    4
    It starts out with some good ideas, but suffers from very poor execution. This is especially true with "Bound 2", which can be used as a metaphor for the entire album, starting of with a good beat and melody, but then drowning in unnecessary sound effects and "noise", in an attempt to sound artistic and fresh. Kanye can do much better...
  29. Apr 26, 2015
    5
    Yeezus sounds like Kanye heard Death Grips, and said, "These guys are getting a lot of critical acclaim, I should probably try to do something like this”. However, he failed to do all the things Death Grips does right.
  30. Apr 17, 2015
    10
    Once again Kanye To The, Chi town god, delivers again. Kanye is the greatest artist on the planet right now, no debate. Yeezus is a masterpiece about his struggles being accepted. Kanye touches on very serious topics while keeping humorous. Incredible beats and harsh notes make this album special, only Kanye would try something like this and it works to perfection.
  31. Mar 29, 2015
    4
    I don't blame the man for trying to put a breath of fresh air to the table, but, I wonder how he could think this was a good idea, the production is great on some tracks (Bound 2, Blood On The Leaves) and some other tracks just sound like R2D2's ballsack, the subject matter, is LAZY. Maybe aside from New Slaves, but the way it is executed is poor.
  32. Mar 22, 2015
    6
    6.4/100...............................................................................................................................................
  33. Mar 20, 2015
    10
    This album... is pretty crazy, between the starting effect of "On Sight", or the bashing of the beat in "I Am A God", you feel like you're losing your mind. Yeezus is what happens when someone from a basement full of ideas, makes them into one. Kanye has always showed he can be the difference and the leader. Each song has a feel of ecstatic movement. I feel as if you can look at thisThis album... is pretty crazy, between the starting effect of "On Sight", or the bashing of the beat in "I Am A God", you feel like you're losing your mind. Yeezus is what happens when someone from a basement full of ideas, makes them into one. Kanye has always showed he can be the difference and the leader. Each song has a feel of ecstatic movement. I feel as if you can look at this album as a "Rap Album" or "Pop Album", nor am I trying to say it's a groundbreaking genre in itself. The album is minimalism at its finest, its a mash up of culture and experience. Expand
  34. Mar 11, 2015
    6
    Kanye West's latest album is an interesting and experimental project. For his first solo album since 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy', 'Yeezus' has typical Kanye themes (like money and religion), but expands on its lyrical content with more introspective themes of racism. The production is loud and abrasive, something which kind of alienates its audience. Some of the lyrics, especiallyKanye West's latest album is an interesting and experimental project. For his first solo album since 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy', 'Yeezus' has typical Kanye themes (like money and religion), but expands on its lyrical content with more introspective themes of racism. The production is loud and abrasive, something which kind of alienates its audience. Some of the lyrics, especially regarding women, are repetitive for Kanye, but at least he tries. However, 'Yeezus' remains a better improvement from 'Watch the Throne'. Expand
  35. Mar 11, 2015
    8
    Que vous reste-t-il à faire lorsque le sommet n’est plus assez élevé pour contenir votre personne debout ? Vous le défoncez, le sommet. C’est dans cet esprit que Kanye West œuvre depuis My Beautiful Twisted Fantasy. Toujours très créatif, l’américain n’avait probablement pas évalué l’onde de choc que produirait Yeezus. L’album est complètement à l’opposé de ce qu’il fait normalement enQue vous reste-t-il à faire lorsque le sommet n’est plus assez élevé pour contenir votre personne debout ? Vous le défoncez, le sommet. C’est dans cet esprit que Kanye West œuvre depuis My Beautiful Twisted Fantasy. Toujours très créatif, l’américain n’avait probablement pas évalué l’onde de choc que produirait Yeezus. L’album est complètement à l’opposé de ce qu’il fait normalement en studio. Mise à part 808 and HeartBreaks, le producteur-compositeur-architecte-provocateur-interprète et papa à temps partiel, a toujours été très méticuleux mais assez conventionnel dans ses créations musicales. Yeezus est l’interprétation du bon côté de l’égocentrisme de Kanye West. «I Am God», répète-t-il sur la troisième piste de l’album. Son niveau d’arrogance est allé tellement loin qu’il a repoussé les limites que ses fans purs et durs étaient prêt à lui accorder. Cet album a probablement plus satisfait les détracteurs de Kanye West. Dans le sens ou l’artiste dépasse les conventions accordées par l’industrie (incluant largement la base de fan), l’initiative se doit d’être soulignée. Je l’accorde, ce n’est pas le meilleur album de Kanye West. Mais de repousser les contraintes qui lui sont inévitablement liées et de continuer à réussir, c’est du Génie avec un grand G. Les procédés utilisés sur Yeezus sont difficilement interprétables. C’est un diamant brut, un bijou. Comparer la conversion de Bob Dylan à la guitare électrique me parait maintenant pertinent pour décrire et définir Yeezus. C’est un album complètement à contre-courant du West habituel. Compte tenu des circonstances, c’était presque à prévoir puisque la tête de Kanye West peut facilement intégrer le monde au grand complet, deux fois au moins. Expand
  36. Mar 3, 2015
    0
    Just trash period. Listen to the actual album its really trash, it only has two hit songs which include bound 2 and blood on the leaves. It has a really annoying buzzing sound and just terrible.
  37. Mar 2, 2015
    10
    This album whether you like it or not has changed modern rap forever. I consider this to be the best album of my lifetime. Each song delivers a power packed/lyrically jaw-dropping experience. Kanye has moved in a bold new direction and he has done it in full force and achieved a classic. I hope he continues down this path for "So help me god"
  38. Feb 23, 2015
    0
    It's because of this album's metacritic score I've decided to kill myself. As long as albums by Drake and Kanye are getting higher ratings than great artists like Eminem I don't want to live here. Lyrically his album is trash. Kanye used to be decent but now he's just horrible.
  39. Jan 18, 2015
    8
    This album is so underrated by the internet, so its great to see critics give it a decent rating. Yeezus is produced to intentionally be dirty and sound unproduced. I love it because it really represents how crazy Kanye West has become as an artist, and how little he cares about his audience. As usual, he has some great metaphors and sick rhymes that emphasize the points he makes about racism.
  40. Jan 2, 2015
    8
    Amazing experimental hip-hop album by Kanye West. He is always showing us some new.

    The beats are amazing.. the lyrics.. well.. sometimes it works.

    AMAZING TRACKS:

    - On Sight
    - New Slaves
    - Hold My Liquor
    - Blood on the Leaves
    - Guilt Trip

    - BAD TRACKS:

    - Send It Up
  41. Dec 15, 2014
    10
    This album is perfect production is remarkably excellent. The songs and personality led him to become a "Yeezus" of music although it is too egocentric. I think his selfishness led him to create this perfect album. The best are: "Black Skinhead", "I Am a God", "Bound 2", "Blood On The Leaves".
  42. Dec 8, 2014
    9
    After the first listen, "Yeezus" may sound like just a group of jarring noises, all meant to piss you off and get you thinking to yourself, "how did anybody think this guy was good?" There lies your issue: repeated listens begin to really flesh out the gorgeous in what is Mr. West's darkest and craziest work to date. After his enormous success with the critically-lauded "My Beautiful DarkAfter the first listen, "Yeezus" may sound like just a group of jarring noises, all meant to piss you off and get you thinking to yourself, "how did anybody think this guy was good?" There lies your issue: repeated listens begin to really flesh out the gorgeous in what is Mr. West's darkest and craziest work to date. After his enormous success with the critically-lauded "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy," Kanye sought out to change his game yet again, repeatedly informing interviewers about him doing the complete opposite of what people wanted from him musically. Abrasive, pummeling, extreme, grinding, droney and industrial are all words I would use to describe the sound from this record, yet in the hands of a man with talent like Mr. West, the irritating noises soon begin to take shape, form, and end up becoming a masterpiece that the perfectionist is obsessively using to stay far, far ahead of the game. Remember when hip-hop was uncomfortable? When it was weird and unpleasant and jarring and crazy? That's exactly what this album is, constantly knocking you off of your feet, and as you stand up to brush the dust off, hits you yet again. Ye also stated that he wanted a minimalist design to the record, and it is very much so; clocking in at 40 minutes, there's no beat or noise or scream that isn't perfectly in place. Also treading on the minimalism line is Ye's screams: unexpected and primal, they pierce the song abruptly, with beat changes coming and going in a manner never heard before. Personally, the tracks that were the least expected were my favorite: "On Sight" as an introduction is the most confused I've ever been when starting to listen to an album (I thought something was wrong with my iPod when it began). "Hold My Liquor" sounds ridiculous at first, but the longer it goes, the prettier it gets. "Blood On The Leaves" is my absolute favorite, with six minutes of him rapping/singing/wailing over a girl that he got pregnant, all on top of a sample of "Strange Fruit," a song about lynching. This moment alone smacked me in the face and deftly declared that Mr. West sure had the guts, balls and genius to pull it off. It's bold, it's urgent, but it's most importantly, revolutionary. Expand
  43. Nov 23, 2014
    3
    As someone who has always loved Kanye's beats, but almost never his lyrics, this album was a nightmare. There are redeemable moments, or brief glimpses of thoughtfulness, but the LP as a whole is a mess. Where MBDTF was epic and musically stunning, this album feels confused and muddled. The album went for a more industrial, heavily electronic taste. Where there is some merit to thatAs someone who has always loved Kanye's beats, but almost never his lyrics, this album was a nightmare. There are redeemable moments, or brief glimpses of thoughtfulness, but the LP as a whole is a mess. Where MBDTF was epic and musically stunning, this album feels confused and muddled. The album went for a more industrial, heavily electronic taste. Where there is some merit to that idea, it comes across sour. The opening track, though only two and a half minutes, feels like 5. This isn't to touch upon his lyrics, which are at an all time low. Not only are they even more self absorbed, they're almost completely useless. Except for moments on "New Slaves", I have a hard time calling any of these lines inspired or even quality. They're even worse than the music he puts them over. Okay, so what is good? After all I gave this a three, which means at least something was worthwhile. I'd have to give that to "Blood on The Leaves", "New Slaves" and "Black Skinhead." All of these beats are memorable, refined, and unique. Plus these are probably the closest we get to Kanye West actually rapping even remotely "Well". Those three songs, though not my favorite of his, I may put on at some point. For the other seven songs, I could care less. You compare the pro's to the cons and you easily can see the problem. I won't be as arrogant to say that this IS how the album is. A lot of people adore this album, and if you do too, great. I wish I could like it, but I am personally very sick of Kanye's arrogance, which is no longer an aspect of his personal life, but a key player in all of his songs. Plus some pretty bad, unfocused electronic beats, and awful lyrics, it's no wonder this album divided a lot of people. And I'm pretty safely on the dislike side. Expand
  44. Nov 16, 2014
    10
    Undoubtedly my initial reaction to Yeezus was pretty mixed. For someone who doesn't listen to industrial or grind music, the entire album's sound is alienating and offputting, especially in comparison to the artist's earlier albums. The lyrics are also repulsive and completely acerbic to say the least, and his obession with his dick seems to take center stage for lyrical themes.
    Despite
    Undoubtedly my initial reaction to Yeezus was pretty mixed. For someone who doesn't listen to industrial or grind music, the entire album's sound is alienating and offputting, especially in comparison to the artist's earlier albums. The lyrics are also repulsive and completely acerbic to say the least, and his obession with his dick seems to take center stage for lyrical themes.
    Despite this, mostly because of the last two songs on the album, Send it Up which is hilarious and Bound 2, my personal vote for most beautiful song of 2013 I found myself returning to the album and with each listen finding something else that was interesting or striking. Now it is my favorite album of the year.
    Expand
  45. Sep 18, 2014
    5
    I'm a huge fan of Kanye West's music but for me this album just was blah compared to his other albums. Black Skinhead and Blood on the Leaves are the only songs that are compelling and different but other then that the album suffers. Bound 2 is still one of the worst hip hop songs I've listened to.
  46. Sep 10, 2014
    1
    Kanye's first two albums were decent hip hop albums with actual effort put into the lyrics. Since Graduation, Kanye has gotten lazy and most of his lyrics sound like a bad freestyle. He needs to sit down actually spend time writing lyrics and polishing them like the great rappers of the 90s (Nas, Tupac, Ice T KRS-One, etc.) Yeezus is without a doubt, Kanye's worst album to date. Dating KimKanye's first two albums were decent hip hop albums with actual effort put into the lyrics. Since Graduation, Kanye has gotten lazy and most of his lyrics sound like a bad freestyle. He needs to sit down actually spend time writing lyrics and polishing them like the great rappers of the 90s (Nas, Tupac, Ice T KRS-One, etc.) Yeezus is without a doubt, Kanye's worst album to date. Dating Kim Kardashian has lowered Kanye's IQ to a few points above retarded. Kanye has been drinking some of Kim K's stupid juice. Kanye sounds incredibly trashy on this album. Bound 2 is by far the worst song Kanye has ever written. Bound 2 belongs in the top 5 worst hip hop songs ever written. Yeezus is a disgrace to hip hop and music in general. Kanye you should be ashamed of yourself. Expand
  47. Aug 29, 2014
    10
    Bërë shumë mirë Expirimental / hip hop album duke treguar Kanye është në kulmin e karrierës së tij muzikore , jo në fund ! Shumë keq rreh si , bëhet me prodhim i tepërt dhe një të hedhura të karakteristikave dërrmuese ! Ju duhet të blej ! :) 10/10
  48. Jul 15, 2014
    8
    Is this album Yeezy’s best? Not quite. But is it unlike anything he has ever produced? Definitely. It’s eccentric, unnatural, and about as far away from the Kanye we all know and sometimes love, but Kanye proclaims himself as the Jesus of the game today, and if he keeps diving into new frontiers, then that shouldn’t change.
  49. Jul 15, 2014
    8
    Yeezus sees Kanye West push himself like never before and he once again brings something new to the hip-hop party. The man is hard to like as a person but there is no doubt that he is an exceptional talent. He could have easily recycled what he's been doing for the last decade, released it and sold shedloads but instead he's launched a sonic attack on the music world. Musically, Yeezus isYeezus sees Kanye West push himself like never before and he once again brings something new to the hip-hop party. The man is hard to like as a person but there is no doubt that he is an exceptional talent. He could have easily recycled what he's been doing for the last decade, released it and sold shedloads but instead he's launched a sonic attack on the music world. Musically, Yeezus is astonishing with West bringing all of his producer skills and musical talent to produce something truly creative. Unfortunately and perhaps surprisingly, the album is let down by West's lyrics, an area in which he often excels. Yeezus doesn't seem to have anything new to say and outside of "New Slaves", West could be freestyling about anything and too often the material tries to shock but ends up just being plain distasteful. Expand
  50. Jul 11, 2014
    8
    Got some real great Material this album, different and very interesting. Besides the minimalistic and ridiculous Album Cover which is still kinda great but also **** up
  51. Jul 3, 2014
    5
    I love industrial noise rap, but Kanye didn't get it right here. Easily his worst album. From lazy wordplay to lackluster production to an overall lack of inspiration in the album, it's weak. There are a few great tracks, namely Black Skinhead, New Slaves, and Blood on the Leaves, but even those aren't up to par for Kanye.
    It also does seem to be a borderline shameless ripoff of what
    I love industrial noise rap, but Kanye didn't get it right here. Easily his worst album. From lazy wordplay to lackluster production to an overall lack of inspiration in the album, it's weak. There are a few great tracks, namely Black Skinhead, New Slaves, and Blood on the Leaves, but even those aren't up to par for Kanye.
    It also does seem to be a borderline shameless ripoff of what Death Grips is doing, so there's that too.
    Expand
  52. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    Am I late to the Yeezus party? It's been almost a month since the release of Yeezus, but I feel I need to get my opinion out there. On my first listen of Yeezus, I hated every minute of it, except a few tracks. I despised the autotune on Blood on the Leaves and Guilt Trip, and some of the subject matter felt like he wrote it in 2 minutes, and said it, I'm Kanye, people gon' buy my sh**Am I late to the Yeezus party? It's been almost a month since the release of Yeezus, but I feel I need to get my opinion out there. On my first listen of Yeezus, I hated every minute of it, except a few tracks. I despised the autotune on Blood on the Leaves and Guilt Trip, and some of the subject matter felt like he wrote it in 2 minutes, and said it, I'm Kanye, people gon' buy my sh** anyway.' Then I listened again, and again, and again. I don't know how 'Ye does it, but Yeezus has become my fourth favorite 'Ye album (CD, LR, MBDTF). My ears still hurt listening to the ridiculous gong show that is 'I Am A God' (HURRY UP WITH MY D*MN CROISSANT), but I sincerely enjoy a large percentage of every track on this album.

    Favorite Songs: Black Skinhead, New Slaves, Guilt Trip, Bound 2
    Least Favorite Songs: On Sight, I Am A God

    Edit 2014: Kanye is a genius. all praise Yeezus.

    Favourite Tracks: Most of 'em
    Least Favourite Track: On Sight

    Overall grade: 95-96/100
    Expand
  53. Jun 12, 2014
    3
    This is worst album. First I would like to say that there really isn't any thought provoking lyrics at all in his album, which is hilarious in the fact that he tried to sell it as his deep meaningful anti establishment piece while only really saying "YOU DON'T OWN ME" and "I'M A GOD" over and over again. I would say that any of his previous albums, literally any of them had more time andThis is worst album. First I would like to say that there really isn't any thought provoking lyrics at all in his album, which is hilarious in the fact that he tried to sell it as his deep meaningful anti establishment piece while only really saying "YOU DON'T OWN ME" and "I'M A GOD" over and over again. I would say that any of his previous albums, literally any of them had more time and thought in their words.

    Not trying to say that Kanye never sang about how cool he is, but the rapid amount of self praise starts sounding like nothing but denial and also most of his previous albums at the very least had a moment where he praised someone else for helping him out. College Dropout had "Jesus Walks", Late Resignation had "Mama", the closest thing we have here is "Bound 2", which doesn't succeed to lowering himself a bit and instead takes a song about how he is so in love and makes it more about him having sex a lot. Kayne, please stop, you've made good songs about girls you would in love with before.

    The good side of this album, the same thing that just makes me frustrated at Kanye's subpar lyrics is the wonderful and I mean amazing instrumental. I bought the album just for the background music and listen to it for the same reason. I hope to hell there is some good mix tapes using this stuff cause then I can replace Kanye's words with those that have a bit more meaning.

    Kanye, please try a bit harder next time.
    Expand
  54. Jun 4, 2014
    1
    Worst kanye album ever. Worst hip hop album for the last decade. In my opinion if 2pac, biggie, eazy e, big pun, big l and eazy e heard this, they would be turning in there grave if they heard this music. There nothing wrong in experimenting in music and being creative but this is ridiculous. Weird instrumental and ignorant and incoherent lyrics. Plus theres only 10 songs on the album. ItWorst kanye album ever. Worst hip hop album for the last decade. In my opinion if 2pac, biggie, eazy e, big pun, big l and eazy e heard this, they would be turning in there grave if they heard this music. There nothing wrong in experimenting in music and being creative but this is ridiculous. Weird instrumental and ignorant and incoherent lyrics. Plus theres only 10 songs on the album. It seems like rappers a selling out to get rich and get famous. Sadly I was a big kanye fan until I heard this album. Expand
  55. May 14, 2014
    4
    wow where do i start.. i felt like kanye rushed this album the lyrics are meaning less on most tracks he's going over the same **** song after song the only song that is decent on this thing is bound 2, and new slaves which has some good verses in it while all the other songs felt dry and the production has a (death grips) feel to it. all up this album isn't that bad some songs are catchywow where do i start.. i felt like kanye rushed this album the lyrics are meaning less on most tracks he's going over the same **** song after song the only song that is decent on this thing is bound 2, and new slaves which has some good verses in it while all the other songs felt dry and the production has a (death grips) feel to it. all up this album isn't that bad some songs are catchy but with a second listen you can't take him seriously dont waste your money on this thing if anything pirate it.. I'm giving it a 4/10 thanks if you read this :) Expand
  56. May 3, 2014
    10
    "He'll give us what we need / It may not be what we want"

    This about sums it up nicely. Kanye knows what I want, better than I do. I never thought this album would sound like this. But I really like it. And that's because Kanye always keeps it fresh. He always tries to do something new, which is probably also why his career is so consistently good. He doesn't try to re-do or top what
    "He'll give us what we need / It may not be what we want"

    This about sums it up nicely. Kanye knows what I want, better than I do. I never thought this album would sound like this. But I really like it.
    And that's because Kanye always keeps it fresh. He always tries to do something new, which is probably also why his career is so consistently good. He doesn't try to re-do or top what he did in the past.

    On his everlasting quest to do something fresh and bring something new to the mainstream music-world he decided it would be time to make some industrial-hip-hop. And please don't think I'm saying Yeezus is the first album of this sound, but seriously: Kanye is a major player. You'd expect something like this from a niche group (Death Grips), not a music star.
    Nonetheless Kanye does it. And he does it good. And the acid-y sound of On Sight that greets you on the first listen to the album hits you in the face. In a good way.

    It may not be Kanye's strongest Album in the lyrical term, but it still features some nice commentary.

    The production is on another level though. Minimalistic, experimental, hard-hitting - great.
    Expand
  57. Apr 30, 2014
    0
    "I just talked to Jeezus, he said, "WHAT UP YEEZUS??!" I said, **** im chillin, tryna stack these millions" (Car crash sonic disaster blares in the background)
    I AM A GOD, I LIKE MASSAGE'S, KIM OPEN MY DAMN GARAGE, I LIKE RESTAURANTS, I AM A GOD!

    This is what critics like these days huh. Smh.
  58. Apr 8, 2014
    9
    Are you a believer of Yeezianity???? Well you should be. Yeezus is undoubtedly his most abrasive album to date. He is as aggressive and egoistical as ever before on this project. When you're a GOD you make the rules hence giving a single F***k on his lazy braggadocios lyrics used where it could be seen a major flaw but when its as organic as 'Ye makes it out to be we cannot beAre you a believer of Yeezianity???? Well you should be. Yeezus is undoubtedly his most abrasive album to date. He is as aggressive and egoistical as ever before on this project. When you're a GOD you make the rules hence giving a single F***k on his lazy braggadocios lyrics used where it could be seen a major flaw but when its as organic as 'Ye makes it out to be we cannot be disappointed. For every stan out there who loved My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, it could turn out to be a surprise or a disaster for some however it thrives on excitement. He made it clear he's here to be the next Steve Jobs, Andy Warhol e.t.c. but seriously with a discography as compelling to most current artists today giving him the benefit of the doubt is an understatement. Daft Punk did brilliantly on constructing the acid-house influenced track "On Sight" and its Punk influenced "Black skinhead". I cannot say its his best album to date due to its craft work as times sounds underwhelming however Kanye West has once again set his ego bar at an all time high, as for things goes its simply a breath of fresh air. 9/10 Expand
  59. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    Brilliance mixed with Ignorance with a side of Egotistical-ness, if thats even a word. But overall for what it is being an experimental album, I really feel like Kanye delivered just in a different way then he did with MBDTF, Dropout, and LR
  60. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    The album is an angry, muddled, ignorant, slapped-together heap of vulgar expression that works better than anyone else in music could've done. It's an album so angrily sure of itself it'll have you convinced that a man worth 100 million dollars faces oppression comparable to that of a slave.
  61. Mar 3, 2014
    1
    Painful to listen to. It's been out for a while but i still struggle to see why it even exists. I've never been a big fan of Kanye West and this album does nothing that even makes me consider caring about what he does. Everything about this album, from the promotion to the production was awful. Horrible album. One okay song but that's about it.
  62. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    Well there are 2 kind of people in the matter of Yeezus .... the sane and insane people and of course people who think Yeezus is a masterpiece are sane ...... This album is beyond description and until now it's the best album in the new millennium!
  63. Feb 9, 2014
    3
    Honestly, this album works better as an instrumental. There are some songs that DP worked on, which pisses me off since R.A.M. was poorly executed and the instrumentals are amazing here. Otherwise, this album is just rubbish put together that ends up just being all over the place. No structure, just an inflated ego. I don't care for it.
  64. Feb 5, 2014
    10
    Yeezus is, in my opinion, best album of 2013. The reason people give it any bad reviews is because they haven't given Yeezus enough time to sink in. It's incredibly unique and creative, to the point where it takes several listens to get used to. In the past, Kanye hasn't failed to produce some of the most artistic, chart-topping, best-selling albums, and to this day, still hasn't. Once youYeezus is, in my opinion, best album of 2013. The reason people give it any bad reviews is because they haven't given Yeezus enough time to sink in. It's incredibly unique and creative, to the point where it takes several listens to get used to. In the past, Kanye hasn't failed to produce some of the most artistic, chart-topping, best-selling albums, and to this day, still hasn't. Once you hear the album you're left breathless. If you haven't heard it yet, or don't like it, give it a few listens and it'll grow on you. Expand
  65. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    Put simply if you don't like this album, you're a hater. The production is truly legendary, and anyone who says the album doesn't have meaning or is narcissistic didn't listen well. Yeezus is a true work of art and will go down as a revolutionary album in the increasingly electronic music world.
  66. Feb 1, 2014
    7
    What is this? No seriously, what is this? I love the production, and I love four or five tracks. But this album was so confused. Following in the footsteps of 808s and Heartbreaks, Kanye hit one into left field and this time, I could vibe with it, but I think either Kanye was trying too hard to be meaningful and new, or this album is too experimental for me. I can appreciate it for what itWhat is this? No seriously, what is this? I love the production, and I love four or five tracks. But this album was so confused. Following in the footsteps of 808s and Heartbreaks, Kanye hit one into left field and this time, I could vibe with it, but I think either Kanye was trying too hard to be meaningful and new, or this album is too experimental for me. I can appreciate it for what it is but tracks like I Am a God and Hold My Liquor just aren't for me. The best tracks were, Black Skinhead which was awesome, and Bound 2 which seemed like it was a leftover from My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. Expand
  67. Jan 29, 2014
    9
    It's hard to call Yeezus Kanye's most inventive work, because literally every album he has released was extremely creative in its own time. What I can say is that Yeezus is the only rap album this year that I've heard where it genuinely caught me off-guard. There were multiple moments throughout the album where I said out loud "he can't do that... you can't do that, right?" But he did it.It's hard to call Yeezus Kanye's most inventive work, because literally every album he has released was extremely creative in its own time. What I can say is that Yeezus is the only rap album this year that I've heard where it genuinely caught me off-guard. There were multiple moments throughout the album where I said out loud "he can't do that... you can't do that, right?" But he did it. He would switch from one sample to the next, different tempo, no supporting beat, and then he would jump right back in to his flow with a new beat and sample behind himself.
    One of Kanye's trademarks is his repetitious use of sampling. Each song is incredibly unique, from the primal, angry satire of Kanye backed with a huge drumline and Tarzan-ish screaming in Black Skinhead, to the industrial, heavily distorted opener On Sight. Bound 2 and Hold My Liquor were standout tracks for originality, although Blood on the Leaves and New Slaves were more recognized and also very inventive in their own right.
    Nothing is in this album that doesn't belong in there, and that's a rare thing to say in the age of digital music recording. He went through ridiculous amounts of modifying, mixing, re-writing, and post-production over the course of this album, ultimately ending with the hiring of Rick Rubin the "reducer" less than three weeks before the album was due, to help over-see the final, drastic changes to the album.
    This album gets a 9.5, but I am going to round down to a 9 because there were some lyrical moments that were distastefully sexual and not even in a clever way. If that album were without the track I'm In It, I might round up to a 10. Still, Kanye's style and artisanship are still leagues ahead of most rappers in the game today, and this album deserves a listen from anyone who claims to be tired of the "same old same old."
    Expand
  68. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    I love the album. Its dark, grimy, and most of all creative. I also understand its probably not for everyone, but at least its elicits a response unlike most music that comes out today. Tracks no one can deny include Blood On The Leaves, New Slaves, and Bound 2. Tracks people waver on include On Sight, Hold My Liquor, Im a God. The only track I don't really "get" is On Sight, I likeI love the album. Its dark, grimy, and most of all creative. I also understand its probably not for everyone, but at least its elicits a response unlike most music that comes out today. Tracks no one can deny include Blood On The Leaves, New Slaves, and Bound 2. Tracks people waver on include On Sight, Hold My Liquor, Im a God. The only track I don't really "get" is On Sight, I like or love every other track. Expand
  69. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    A solid, innovative album, but a little bit offensive. This sounds like an M.I.A. album. My favs are Blood on the leaves, Black Skinhead & Bound 2 (BBB lol).
  70. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    The difference between Yeezus and other albums released in 2013 was how different it sounded and it was done successfully. This is definitely the music of the future.
  71. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    Kanye's most recent album is by far his most extreme. Its angry, violent, dark yet brilliant. Amazing production is he icing on the cake. Best album of the year.
  72. Jan 5, 2014
    0
    I don't recall listening to a worst album than this one. It is unbelievable how most critics can't tell a rubbish record from revolutionary one. So disappointing. There is no highlight in this album. The lyrics are terrible, so is the production and the music in general. I cannot believe RS ranked it on the second position of 2013's best albums. This magazine and these new audiences areI don't recall listening to a worst album than this one. It is unbelievable how most critics can't tell a rubbish record from revolutionary one. So disappointing. There is no highlight in this album. The lyrics are terrible, so is the production and the music in general. I cannot believe RS ranked it on the second position of 2013's best albums. This magazine and these new audiences are destroying what once we knew as great, enjoyable music. Expand
  73. Jan 5, 2014
    5
    If I had it my way, Kanye West would not be allowed to talk in public. Ever. When it comes to his albums I would say the reverse. Kanye typically has a good ear and great taste in big production rap albums that churn out anthems and original content alike. On Yeezus, Kanye is starting to push the good and bad elements of his music more radically. The results end up being much more rawIf I had it my way, Kanye West would not be allowed to talk in public. Ever. When it comes to his albums I would say the reverse. Kanye typically has a good ear and great taste in big production rap albums that churn out anthems and original content alike. On Yeezus, Kanye is starting to push the good and bad elements of his music more radically. The results end up being much more raw and chaotic. On tracks like "Black Skinhead", "I Am A God", and "Send It Up", there's enough hook and form to keep the music and rhymes on track amidst some wobbly production and pitchy sound effects. But with cuts like "On Sight" and "Bound 2" the chaos and switheroos are too much and make it tough to endure a listen for more than a moment. "Bound 2" is especially annoying perhaps one of Kanye's worst to date, which is unfortunate given that the chorus is actually fine. It's the transitions marked with the "uh huh honey" that make my ears bleed a bit. By the time I got through the record I realized that Kanye's massive and annoying ego is beginning to affect his work. That is a travesty, because Kanye has some killer tracks and albums leading up to Yeezus an album that I'd rather only occasionally pick from on Spotify rather than spend even .99 on a track to contribute toward. Expand
  74. Jan 1, 2014
    4
    The long awaited album was for the most part to me a disaster. Besides the two big hits (Black Skinheads & New Slaves) & the songs that reminded me of old Kanye (Blood On The Leaves, Bound 2) This album was just awful. Save yourself the money and do not pick this one up, even if you are a die hard Kanye fan.
  75. Dec 28, 2013
    8
    Honestly, I wanted so badly to hate this album, I could hardly stand it. With Kanye West's massive ego brought out to its fullest on several aspects of this album (really, Kanye, "I Am God (feat. God)?") I wanted to hate it even more after I listened to it, but the music is just too epic and just plain good to hate. Tracks like "Black Skinhead", "Bound 2", "New Slaves", and "Blood On theHonestly, I wanted so badly to hate this album, I could hardly stand it. With Kanye West's massive ego brought out to its fullest on several aspects of this album (really, Kanye, "I Am God (feat. God)?") I wanted to hate it even more after I listened to it, but the music is just too epic and just plain good to hate. Tracks like "Black Skinhead", "Bound 2", "New Slaves", and "Blood On the Leaves" are smart, if not somewhat dark and disturbing at points, and melodically perfect. The only reasons I could not give this album the ten that a majority of the album's tracks deserve are 1) the massive amounts of self-glorification in multiple songs (as mentioned before, he literally calls himself God in one of the songs, and on several others basically says that his greatness means he do whatever he wants) and 2) track 6 "I'm In It" (an awful and shallow song that is unforgivable on an album that is otherwise amazing). One warning though: if you are offended by violent and profanity ridden lyrics, avoid this album like the plague. Just trust me on that one. Expand
  76. Dec 27, 2013
    8
    Kanye West has yet again stepped outside of the box and he's delivered another innovative piece of work burning with purpose. That being said, his lyrics have never been so lifeless. Case and point: "hurry up with my damn croissants!", or "eating asian all I needed was sweet and sour sauce". There's no underlying meaning to bars like this, as much as I'd like there to be. The positives doKanye West has yet again stepped outside of the box and he's delivered another innovative piece of work burning with purpose. That being said, his lyrics have never been so lifeless. Case and point: "hurry up with my damn croissants!", or "eating asian all I needed was sweet and sour sauce". There's no underlying meaning to bars like this, as much as I'd like there to be. The positives do outweigh the negatives though, as Kanye is just being Kanye and gives us yet another piece of art. Sounds like this have never made it to the mainstream, albums have never sold 300,000+ first week without promotion, albums like this have never hit such a broad audience, and no artist has ever had the guts to accomplish any of those goals. At this point, we can't even pat Kanye on the back anymore. This is just what we've come to expect. Expand
  77. Dec 26, 2013
    3
    So after reading all about this critical darling making the number one album of the year in various respected publications, I finally listened to Kanye's Yeezus album.

    Admittedly, synthetic is not my usual stomping ground, however I did find his music what I would consider somewhere within the realm of compelling, although not quite genius. I could delve into my praises more
    So after reading all about this critical darling making the number one album of the year in various respected publications, I finally listened to Kanye's Yeezus album.

    Admittedly, synthetic is not my usual stomping ground, however I did find his music what I would consider somewhere within the realm of compelling, although not quite genius. I could delve into my praises more specifically, but I'm not. In fact, my praises are going to come to an abrupt, deliberately dismissive stop right now.

    This dude's lyrical message is trash in the most absolute sense. I find it so detestable, the only way I'd ever purchase this album would be if this crybaby "genius" invented a machine to go back in time to his studio, and re-used these beats to make cover versions of twinkle twinkle little star and mary had a little lamb. I'm not going to waste my money or time to hear some self righteous, ego maniacal, man-infant-supremacist perform a racist rant. Quite frankly, it's defamatory to me as a human being.

    The universal acclaim for this album among indie music critics has revealed a highly accomplished field of predominantly white male jackasses who's primary skill in life seems to be outsmarting themselves. All you awesome artsy fartsy indie hipsters in love with this pile of excrement have revealed so much I wish I never knew about your socially depraved mindset. The desperation to be accepted by black people must be incredibly overwhelming to appropriate such wretchedness. I'd ask God to have mercy on your nerdy little beta male souls but why bother? Most of you are atheists anyway.

    Your Baby "Yeezus" belongs in a barbed wire playpen, with a digital rattle so it can best express his musical genius. Gently toss in a bottle of baby formula hopefully spiked with arsenic for this rat to suckle on, and I think we may have finally taken an appropriate step toward cleaning house in the music world. To see this dude's career riding first class on a one horse open sleigh to hell would be the best Christmas present the world could ask for. I'm flushing this God-Turd like a half eaten, partially decomposed dead feeder goldfish.

    Turn out the lights on this one. This album is a shameful waste of time for any human being with a half-shred of dignity.

    Happy Holidays to all, and to all a good night.
    Expand
  78. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    chaotic and dying, unlike anything ever done by him, from the beats to the lyrics all remente something new and shows the way the future of music. Kanye rose on the musical term with this album
  79. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    This is worth listening to... The creativity of his production along with his egotistical rhymes makes Yeezus an ultimate classic even though it's not in West's top 3 albums...
  80. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Great instant classic album......Onsite to New Slaves is the best album stretch of the last few years in hip hop. I'm not sure if anyone has done what Ye is is doing on the mainstream level as far as Hip Hop goes. He is definitely taking chances on the album and executes it perfectly. Sonically the best produce album I've heard this year. Jay-Z can learn a thing or two from Kanye causeGreat instant classic album......Onsite to New Slaves is the best album stretch of the last few years in hip hop. I'm not sure if anyone has done what Ye is is doing on the mainstream level as far as Hip Hop goes. He is definitely taking chances on the album and executes it perfectly. Sonically the best produce album I've heard this year. Jay-Z can learn a thing or two from Kanye cause MCHG was terrible. Expand
  81. Dec 12, 2013
    2
    If 808 and Heartbreaks2.0 with no soul.... Daft Punk production and Bound 2 are the only things 2 worth writing home about. No lyrical depth. No story. No connection between the music. The edits and song order makes little to no sense. It sounds like listening to a man self gratify for 40 minutes. If he is a voice of a generation then you must have a heavy investment in plastic cultureIf 808 and Heartbreaks2.0 with no soul.... Daft Punk production and Bound 2 are the only things 2 worth writing home about. No lyrical depth. No story. No connection between the music. The edits and song order makes little to no sense. It sounds like listening to a man self gratify for 40 minutes. If he is a voice of a generation then you must have a heavy investment in plastic culture with no substance or depth only concerned with the surface with things. You helped create the megalomaniac by reinforcing that he is an icon or a god (Kanye to Yeezy to Yeezus), note the lowercase g because true icons do no tell you they are an icon. I will not let Yeezus kill your discography you still produced four tracks on the Blueprint and My Twisted Dark Fantasy will be your Thriller in a few generations. Expand
  82. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    I admit Yeezus can be a bit hard to listen to at first; the beats are very ‘in your face!’ and Kanye’s lyrics can be a bit off-putting, I cant tell you how many times the man mentions his ‘black penis’. But then again that’s what I always liked about him, the guts to do whatever he wants, a lot of artists are afraid to take that far. It may not sound like it now but this what ourI admit Yeezus can be a bit hard to listen to at first; the beats are very ‘in your face!’ and Kanye’s lyrics can be a bit off-putting, I cant tell you how many times the man mentions his ‘black penis’. But then again that’s what I always liked about him, the guts to do whatever he wants, a lot of artists are afraid to take that far. It may not sound like it now but this what our generation needs. Expand
  83. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Kanye West shows once again, through Yeezus, that he is transcendent of most musical norms. It seems anymore as if Kanye West could release an album of nothing but talking about philosophy and himself, with absolutely no music, and we would see it as the next great thing in music. But it is so, because with every album Kanye is pushing what we as a society thought were his limits, to theKanye West shows once again, through Yeezus, that he is transcendent of most musical norms. It seems anymore as if Kanye West could release an album of nothing but talking about philosophy and himself, with absolutely no music, and we would see it as the next great thing in music. But it is so, because with every album Kanye is pushing what we as a society thought were his limits, to the point where many think the man is limitless. The obvious sell for this album is its originality, but it is original because it blends old Kanye with newer Kanye, with a fusion of something we haven't seen from him before. While not his best work, it certainly ranks near the top, clumped in a group with The College Dropout and Late Registration, just not quite as good as My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. As we take in Yeezus for what it is, we also are steadily preparing for Kanye's next album, which figures to be another step into musical history. Best album of 2013. Expand
  84. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    People will understand and appreciate this album in time. It's Kanye's Kid A.

    Initially, I only thought the album was ok. If I wrote this review right away, I might have given it a heart sinking 5 (I'm a massive Ye stan). But as time went on, I started to enjoy it more and more. Now I listen to it almost every day. It just caught me off guard because it didn't hit off with me right
    People will understand and appreciate this album in time. It's Kanye's Kid A.

    Initially, I only thought the album was ok. If I wrote this review right away, I might have given it a heart sinking 5 (I'm a massive Ye stan).

    But as time went on, I started to enjoy it more and more. Now I listen to it almost every day. It just caught me off guard because it didn't hit off with me right away like all of his other solo efforts.
    Expand
  85. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    Yeezus is a great album that is helping rap evolve. Kanye finds a new way to push hip hop into a new boundary. Soon other hip-hop acts might join Kanye in having EDM production on their albums. Yeezus is just the start of the new boundary that Kanye created.
  86. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Brilliant at first I wasnt so sure about the album after the first listen because it is hard to listen to but there's no such thing of listening there is only re-listening so after I listened again I loved it
  87. Nov 28, 2013
    9
    To the ego of Kanye West, controversy is a virtue. Continually, pushing the boundaries of Hip-Hop as 'ranted' in his Zane Lowe interview/harangue 'Rap the new Rock 'n' Roll'.
    He teases any listener with statements 'I am a God' perhaps warranting an extensive reply of unconventional attention. Kanye does not make music for the fans of Radio Hip-Hop nor for the common easy going listener.
    To the ego of Kanye West, controversy is a virtue. Continually, pushing the boundaries of Hip-Hop as 'ranted' in his Zane Lowe interview/harangue 'Rap the new Rock 'n' Roll'.
    He teases any listener with statements 'I am a God' perhaps warranting an extensive reply of unconventional attention. Kanye does not make music for the fans of Radio Hip-Hop nor for the common easy going listener. And melodically, the album plays on the notions of dichotomy, from uncomfortable screechy synths to truly harmonious echoes of beauty. He is continually subverting a society in which typical every day norms are replaced by the 'Black Skinhead'. This prevalent undertone is unfortunately disguised by Kanye's array of misogynistic and perhaps unattractive verse.
    However, this album is alone, remarkably Kanye is attempting to catalyze a progression in music, 'again'. The original controversial reception of 80s & Heartbreaks has now morphed into an appreciation for what we hear every day. In this album Kanye West once again stamps on the fence surrounding our microcosm of normal music and he takes full credit for this. He is the square peg in a round hole.
    Expand
  88. Nov 25, 2013
    7
    This album was not Kaye's best work but it is still worth more than a zero or even a five. I have been a fan of Kanye from the College Drop Out days and this album is hardly reminiscent of those days but still not a complete tragedy. Some of the lyrics need some work but the lyrics in "New Slave" are almost praise worthy in my opinion. the album is a solid 7.5 in my opinion but I wouldThis album was not Kaye's best work but it is still worth more than a zero or even a five. I have been a fan of Kanye from the College Drop Out days and this album is hardly reminiscent of those days but still not a complete tragedy. Some of the lyrics need some work but the lyrics in "New Slave" are almost praise worthy in my opinion. the album is a solid 7.5 in my opinion but I would love to see the old Kanye...or even the MTDBF Kanye. Expand
  89. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Yeezus christ this album is dreadful. Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay past his peak
  90. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    While most people won't like the experimental tones of Kanye's album, the few people that do decide to listen to it fully will absolutely fall in love with it. All of the tones sound rough on the first listen, but with every replay, the beats get the better and the lyrics get deeper. This is nothing compared to the older albums like The College Dropout and Late Registration, but it's theWhile most people won't like the experimental tones of Kanye's album, the few people that do decide to listen to it fully will absolutely fall in love with it. All of the tones sound rough on the first listen, but with every replay, the beats get the better and the lyrics get deeper. This is nothing compared to the older albums like The College Dropout and Late Registration, but it's the difference that makes the difference. Expand
  91. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    The transformation Kanye West has taken throughout his hip-hop career has all led to this 40 minute, sprawling descent into industry hell. Kanye sounds at his most angered, most torn down by the entertainment industry and previous love affairs, more so than on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. The production ranges from grimy electro, to minimalists tribal drums, and fantastic samples.The transformation Kanye West has taken throughout his hip-hop career has all led to this 40 minute, sprawling descent into industry hell. Kanye sounds at his most angered, most torn down by the entertainment industry and previous love affairs, more so than on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. The production ranges from grimy electro, to minimalists tribal drums, and fantastic samples. Kanye's lyrics are his most deranged on Yeezus, rhymes upon rhymes about how he feels as if he is a slave in in the entertainment industry and all the scum he encounters throughout his day to day life. Not to mention his view on previous relationships, something he's been singing about since 808's & Heartbreaks. If there's one complaint to be had about this record, it's that it loses replay value if you've listened to it at least 5 times, which is true for any album really, but more so if comparing it to other Kanye West records.

    All In All, Yeezus is about a black man on the brink of insanity, pushing through day to day demons that probably will never escape him, and also a fantastic, dark voyage of hip-hop music. A-
    Expand
  92. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    "Yeezus" is lyrically lazy, but Kanye West isn't just a rapper, but also a producer, and the strengths of this album come with production. The beats are huge, game changers, and most rappers wouldn't think to rap over them. "Yeezus" is Kanye's "I don't give a album, half assing some of his raps, rapping about bold and controversial topics, and converting to more of a minimalists style."Yeezus" is lyrically lazy, but Kanye West isn't just a rapper, but also a producer, and the strengths of this album come with production. The beats are huge, game changers, and most rappers wouldn't think to rap over them. "Yeezus" is Kanye's "I don't give a album, half assing some of his raps, rapping about bold and controversial topics, and converting to more of a minimalists style. On this album he is no longer chasing the radio. From a "hip hop" point of view, this album is a mere bust, but the final product is the most entertaining 40 minutes of any first listen I have ever heard, and it just about creates its own genre. Expand
  93. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This sounds like a M.I.A. album with some hardcore rap verses on it. A very innovative album by a very innovative artist. I love it. The best tracks are Black Skinhead, Blood on the leaves, On Sight, New Slaves & Bound 2.
  94. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    [7.9] Although Kanye may have intended to land himself among the hipsterisms of rap, what he makes is a thoroughly enjoyable, albeit slightly too uniform hard rap album. He certainly doesn't lose his alternative appeal, and while his lyrics might not be as sharp as an artist like Kendrick Lamar, his beats are solid, and his brute swagger is stronger than ever, which is really all that[7.9] Although Kanye may have intended to land himself among the hipsterisms of rap, what he makes is a thoroughly enjoyable, albeit slightly too uniform hard rap album. He certainly doesn't lose his alternative appeal, and while his lyrics might not be as sharp as an artist like Kendrick Lamar, his beats are solid, and his brute swagger is stronger than ever, which is really all that matters in a Kanye album. Expand
  95. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    If Paper Street made music instead of soap, Yeezus would be the eruptions coming from that lonely house. The most interesting part about this album that separates itself from the rest of hip-hop (and Kanye's other work) is how Mr. West the god integrates all types of art into music. Architecture, technology, politics, and fashion all play it's role. Of course, he did not do this himself.If Paper Street made music instead of soap, Yeezus would be the eruptions coming from that lonely house. The most interesting part about this album that separates itself from the rest of hip-hop (and Kanye's other work) is how Mr. West the god integrates all types of art into music. Architecture, technology, politics, and fashion all play it's role. Of course, he did not do this himself. Kanye West & Friends would be a more appropriate artist name as he is joined by the world famous Daft Punk for some of the big tracks on the album such as 'I Am a God' and 'Black Skinhead'. He has his whole lineup of writers and producers he uses for creative ideas. Overall, this album came out five years too early to be widely appreciated, but clearly shows Kanye is not content as being the media and major corporations pet on a leash. With that anger behind him, nothing can stop him from creating this unforgettable piece of work. Expand
  96. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kanye is years ahead of the rap game. Yeezus is not an easy listening album, but it's so well produced and full of raw emotion. From the attention grabbing On Sight with it's distorted, off beat instrumental, to the soul kissed Bound 2, Yeezus is simply a masterpiece. Kanye has exceeded all expectations, which were already high. Expand
  97. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    I have been a casual fan of Kanye's music since 'Diamonds', but fell in love with Yeezus on the first listen, and have only grown to appreciate it more and more as I've listened more and more. I believe that Kanye is one of the few mainstream artists that is committed to constantly challenging himself and evolving...Yeezus is brutal yet subtle and caring, easy to listen or hum along to,I have been a casual fan of Kanye's music since 'Diamonds', but fell in love with Yeezus on the first listen, and have only grown to appreciate it more and more as I've listened more and more. I believe that Kanye is one of the few mainstream artists that is committed to constantly challenging himself and evolving...Yeezus is brutal yet subtle and caring, easy to listen or hum along to, yet challenging and in some instances thought provoking, consistent in its story telling, yet contradictory and I unreservedly recommend it. Expand
  98. Oct 24, 2013
    9
    'Yeezus', the follow-up to West's critically acclaimed 2010 solo record 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' and his 2011 and 2012 collaboration albums 'Watch the Throne' and 'Cruel Summer'; is minamalist, dark, and highly experimental. Album highlights "Black Skinhead", "On Sight", and "New Slaves" showcase the galloping manifesto sound that West was aiming to create. Similar to many of'Yeezus', the follow-up to West's critically acclaimed 2010 solo record 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' and his 2011 and 2012 collaboration albums 'Watch the Throne' and 'Cruel Summer'; is minamalist, dark, and highly experimental. Album highlights "Black Skinhead", "On Sight", and "New Slaves" showcase the galloping manifesto sound that West was aiming to create. Similar to many of West's previous records, 'Yeezus' contains several genius samples; however 'Yeezus' is much less mainstream than his previous efforts; shown by the album's lack of singles (with the exception of "Black Skinhead" and "Bound 2", which were both released after the album dropped).

    Although the album is arguably the best hip hop record of the year, I can't help but be slightly irritated by West's evident which is clearly displayed by the track "I Am A God" and his decision to barely promote the record, which makes it seem like West was just trying to prove that he could have an album go to #1 without significant promotion. Of course, 'Yeezus' did go to number 1, and its not like West has ever really been a wholesome or down-to-earth dude, but West's narcissistic personality comes off a little too strong on 'Yeezus'. Despite this, the album is still exquisite.
    Expand
  99. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    On the walls of various chosen buildings and the SNL stage, the words "NOT FOR SALE" lit up the darkness. On the stage West's silhouette brought out the birth of a new era and his own evolution, on the building West's fiery return projects itself upon the hopeful and excited fans. The derivative hip hop beats don't appear here, he's not selling himself. He's simply letting go, and forcingOn the walls of various chosen buildings and the SNL stage, the words "NOT FOR SALE" lit up the darkness. On the stage West's silhouette brought out the birth of a new era and his own evolution, on the building West's fiery return projects itself upon the hopeful and excited fans. The derivative hip hop beats don't appear here, he's not selling himself. He's simply letting go, and forcing us to accept it with rocky, crude and reluctant understanding. What Kanye serves is impetuous, gut wrenching and takes you by surprise. But then again that's hip hop isn't it? By pushing the envelope he leaves a big crash in the ocean of music, West rises in ranks and gives us a breathtaking journey that's only just beginning. Reluctantly, I can't help but to begin and relive again and again. Soak in the repercussions, for just as the projection shut off as "New Slaves" ended on the W Hotel late at night in LA, we and the world had just gotten a glimpse of Kanye's artistic statement. What's next for Kanye West? Considering the birth of North West, nothing for a while now. Still, the anticipation for what's next is at an all time high and the stage has been set. Let's begin. Expand
  100. Oct 16, 2013
    9
    This is what you get when you mix very clever writing with expert sampling and producing. it has some really emotional moments, like the brilliant breakdown at the end of new slaves and the first verse of blood on the leaves to the awesome pumping beats on black skinhead to the hypnotic track guilt track. favorites: black skinhead, im a god, new slaves, blood on the leaves, im in it.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. The Wire
    Dec 10, 2013
    50
    His concerns are serious--consumerism, race, fame, relationships--but he rarely addresses them with the craft or focus they deserve. [Sep 2013, p.66]
  2. Q Magazine
    Aug 20, 2013
    80
    Contradiction incarnate, Yeezus is Kanye's most Kanyeish LP yet. [Sep 2013, p.103]
  3. Mojo
    Aug 13, 2013
    80
    Nasty, brutish, short, and wholly compelling, Yeezus begs only one question: where next? [Sep 2013, p.89]