Yellow House

  • Record Label: Warp
  • Release Date: Sep 5, 2006
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Yellow House is... required listening not just for fans of Horn of Plenty, but for anyone who enjoys ambitious, creative music with an emotional undercurrent.
  2. Beyond production, Grizzly Bear have stepped up their songwriting in every way, assembling melodies that proceed in a logical fashion but never sound overused or overly familiar. Yellow House is a much better record than we could rightfully have expected from these guys, better, even, than we could have imagined them making.
  3. The melodies are entrancing, made even more intriguing by their submergence within the reverb, together resulting in an album whose scope and sound are impossible to ignore.
  4. Under The Radar
    80
    This isn't a folk record by any means, but it's the one Grizzly Bear should have been making all along. [Summer 2006, p.81]
  5. Urb
    80
    Submersive, almost submissive. [Jul/Aug 2006, p.118]
  6. The lo-fi has gone large-scale, each song slowly unfurling to reveal dense, dreamy rhythms, choirs of silky voices and opulent melodies rich in atmospherics.
  7. The attention to detail, the avoidance of crisp production, the resonance of the instruments and voices all contribute to the depth of the music and its ability to penetrate through to the listener in an almost raw and pure state.
  8. Grizzly Bear are an Animal Collective that decided to go more intelligible and accessible instead of running naked through the woods on five hits of sunshine acid while screaming in tongues.
  9. There's a kind of timeless haze that drifts through 'Yellow House' and makes it a pleasingly elusive listen.
  10. Where Horn of Plenty still had spare singer-songwriter arrangements, Yellow House sounds far more elaborate.
  11. Uncut
    80
    The production is more sophisticated, the arrangements more intricate, the melodies and harmonies more complex. [Oct 2006, p.106]
  12. This is a big album: big-hearted, epic in scope and ambition, emotionally all-encompassing and yet somehow personal and quietly moving.
  13. This is a subtle, whispered scream of a work, one that demands nothing of a consumer’s time but pays decent dividends for those willing to make the investment.
  14. Q Magazine
    70
    Out of step with the modern world. [Sep 2006, p.108]
  15. Spin
    70
    The group... get more expansive--and more pop--on their second album. [Sep 2006, p.102]
  16. Magnet
    60
    While Grizzy Bear often comes off as some backwoods cousin of the Elephant 6 collective, the band sports as much texture as Boards Of Canada. [#73, p.93]
  17. Mojo
    40
    There's little discernable rhyme or reason holding it all together. [Oct 2006, p.110]
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 41
  3. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    I cannot imagine me without having this album. It had such an impact. The songs are all beautiful and come together to create a memorableI cannot imagine me without having this album. It had such an impact. The songs are all beautiful and come together to create a memorable experience. You can really appreciate a work of music when every song in the album is good and none are "fillers". Full Review »
  2. Feb 8, 2015
    10
    Alright, I have been known to obsess over things, and I haven't desired listening to another album since listening to this fully for the firstAlright, I have been known to obsess over things, and I haven't desired listening to another album since listening to this fully for the first time a few months ago. I absolutely love it. I am just sad it took me so long to get this album, I had Vacketimest and Shields, so it's literally strange I hadn't burned this record into my memory before those two. If I am going to be honest, I like Yellow House more than either. It's just fricken magical to me. The song 'Little Brother' from 4:52 on, unbelievable. 'On a Neck On a Spit', from 2:04 on, mesmerizing. I could seriously go on like this about the snippets for another 5k words. It seriously has to be in my top 5. It's one of those albums one doesn't know they needed until they finally have it, and now this one couldn't do without it. Full Review »
  3. Jul 17, 2014
    10
    This is a wildly creative album; I have never quite heard anything like it before. Every song transcends the typicalThis is a wildly creative album; I have never quite heard anything like it before. Every song transcends the typical verse-chorus-verse-chorus-bridge-chorus formula that is present in 99% of modern music, and yet somehow manages to sound familiar and accessible. This work of art has reinvigorated my love for music, and I highly recommend this to ANYONE looking for something unique. Full Review »