Yes! - Jason Mraz
Yes! Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth full-length release for the singer-songwriter includes a cover of Boyz II Men's "It's So Hard to Say Goodbye to Yesterday."
  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Contemporary Singer/Songwriter, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Alternative Singer/Songwriter
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jul 15, 2014
    What he's got, now, is an invigorating change-up record that shines in an already impressive discography.
  2. Jul 15, 2014
    Yes! is not a record fueled by the heady rush of love at first sight; it's an album designed to soundtrack a long getaway weekend for a couple already in love.
  3. Jul 15, 2014
    Mraz’s easy charm has, over the course of his decade-plus in the spotlight, aged well.
  4. Jul 21, 2014
    Eventually all this mellow reflection begins to resemble a retreat rather than an advance.
  5. Jul 15, 2014
    Unfortunately, his wide-lens worldview leaves Yes! feeling like the musical equivalent of a G-rated sitcom.
  6. Aug 15, 2014
    There's a somber, nearly a cappella take on the Motown oldie "It's So Hard to Say Goodbye to Yesterday," and "Quiet" laments suburban sprawl--but those are rare chin-down moments for a guy who makes Jack Johnson look like Ian Curtis.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Aug 1, 2014
    Cool, the voice is the highlight of the album, no one can deny how good a singer he is.
    But I do not see as their best album, very different
    from that, some songs are lost as well ...
    But the album overall context is very good, I recommend.
  2. Oct 25, 2014
    A little sad... This album ends Jason's amazingly long streak of some of the best music in the world. Usually I love to listen to every single song on his albums from beginning to end -- nothing but profoundly deep and enlightening magic. But I rarely listen to Yes!, and when I do, I find myself skipping through to the three creative and moving songs - "Hello, You Beautiful Thing", "3 Things", and "Back to the Earth" - on the album that represent the unique lyrical wisdom and general genius that is Jason Mraz. The other stuff isn't terrible, but not outstanding, which is what he always is on nearly every song of every album. He'll be back, though, I have no doubt. You don't just lose that kind of spirit. Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2014
    Coming from someone who likes all Jason's previous albums to differing extents, this one left me cold. With a few exceptions, it sounds like he's run out of ideas both musically & lyrically, resting on lovey-dovey cliches & lazy "white guy with acoustic guitar" melodies. Pick it up if you're a big fan & just wanna know what he's up to now & hopefully find a few tracks you like, but don't expect anything all that impressive.

    (For a longer, more in-depth review, look up "Spin It Reviews" on YouTube.)