User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 195 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 195

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Stormwatch
    May 1, 2008
    5
    Some good moments, but, as a whole, notably inferior to Franz's awesome first album. The songs lack the "alternative" feel from before, and tend to be too fast-paced. The "louder" production doesn't help either.
  2. AlexKapranos
    Oct 3, 2005
    6
    The unpretentiousness is a breath of fresh air amid the dire wave of emo-indie out there currently, but I don't have to listen to Franz Ferdinand to get my dose of unpretentiousness 'cause it's all been done before.
  3. MarkC
    Oct 3, 2005
    6
    I thought this album was unfocused and somewhat boring. It has a few great singles, yes, but overall, it leaves me with a sour taste in my mouth. after a month or so, this will be collecting dust on my shelf.
  4. DSHelder
    Oct 3, 2005
    5
    Not bad. Just not very good. With four exceptions, the songs are not up the old standard. But what really ruins this album, is the new poppish sound. Farewell indie, hello boredom.
  5. ChelseaD
    Oct 4, 2005
    5
    I really liked Franz's debut, and so I was really hoping this album would be amazing. Sadly, I was wrong. This is just the boringly average follow-up you'd expect from a band like Franz Ferdinand. BUT, if you really, REALLY loved their debut, and want more of the same (along with some Beatles-y ballads and a few added flourishes), then by all means, tack on an extra few points I really liked Franz's debut, and so I was really hoping this album would be amazing. Sadly, I was wrong. This is just the boringly average follow-up you'd expect from a band like Franz Ferdinand. BUT, if you really, REALLY loved their debut, and want more of the same (along with some Beatles-y ballads and a few added flourishes), then by all means, tack on an extra few points to this score and buy it. But if you're tired of all this dancepop nonsense flooding the British music scene, skip it. Expand
  6. PaulH
    Oct 5, 2005
    5
    it's obviously rushed, the lack of good material here is surprising, almost all of the songs are B-Sides quality. I can't believe it's getting all these amazing reviews.
  7. JonA
    Oct 7, 2005
    4
    I've tried to listen to it twice and I didn't get all the way through it both times and it's only 41minutes long, to say it's repetitive is a understatement. This is a band that will be completely forgotten as time passes. But I will say one thing in it's favor, it's still better then most bands that play on mtv or vh1.
  8. Mex
    Oct 10, 2005
    5
    Do not understand the high rating. The first album was a nice surprise, but this 2nd album is more of the same, certainly not better, slightly boring. So, stick to the first and wait for a better 3rd album.
  9. JadenB
    Nov 1, 2005
    4
    I think people are just jumping on the bandwagon. This album is not as nearly good as the first album. I've been trying to warm up to it and it's increasingly difficult to. It's cheesy and repetitive. There riding the coatails of there first album still.
  10. guido
    Nov 9, 2005
    5
    deja vu. apart from some nice guitar riff, very few interesting and original ideas
  11. DankyMcSkanky
    Nov 21, 2005
    6
    so overrated its not even funny. like i will say that they have some of the catchiest tunes of the year but they're nothing new. just another pop band trying to come off as indie. straight posers
  12. Mack
    Dec 10, 2005
    5
    Sometimes catchy? Yes. Sometimes annoying? Yes. Infinitely overrated? Of course. I was dissapointed at the formulaic nature of it all - I kind of expected something with a dose of creativity. Had this been released by someone else, it would have garnered much critical backlash, but alas, FF is still riding the wave of support from their first album, which was flawed, but much better.
  13. FFFF
    Jan 23, 2006
    5
    This song is far more aggressive than the first, and I like that. But almost all of the songs sound the same. And the two ballads are pathetically cheesy. Bonus points for possibly the best drummer in the millenium. The guitar is repetitive, and the voice adds a huge shadow to the rest of the music. TOO DISCO-Y for me. I love their first album though.
  14. time
    Dec 2, 2006
    6
    Do You Want to is one of the worse singles of the year.
  15. VidM
    Aug 13, 2007
    6
    Very low mileage on this one. Noticeably inferior to their debut. Most of the tracks blur together into one long tedious mess.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. It's a stunning, confident piece of work that suggests the band is merely getting started.
  2. 80
    It'll do just fine for now. But here's hoping for a torturously difficult third album. [Oct 2005, p.140]
  3. Franz Ferdinand have slightly tweaked the neo-Brit-pop genre – mixing in funk, dashes of punk, and a bit of disco – and come out with a sophomore album even more confident and hungry for glory than their debut.