User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 194 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 194

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 17, 2014
    9
    With their debut album winning the 2004 Mercury Music Prize, many expected Franz Ferdinand to struggle with their next album however 2005s "You Could Have It So Much Better" is more than a worthy follow-up. Released only 18 months after their debut, they returned this in a very short space of time. From the opening notes in "The Fallen" to the closing notes in "Outsiders" This album is aWith their debut album winning the 2004 Mercury Music Prize, many expected Franz Ferdinand to struggle with their next album however 2005s "You Could Have It So Much Better" is more than a worthy follow-up. Released only 18 months after their debut, they returned this in a very short space of time. From the opening notes in "The Fallen" to the closing notes in "Outsiders" This album is a brilliant listen for anyone who liked the debut and anyone else on the planet.
    Best Tracks: The Fallen, Walk Away, Eleanor Put Your Boots On, You Could Have It So Much Better
    Worst Tracks; You're The Reason I'm Leaving
    Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    Definitely a much more varied album than their debut, Franz Ferdinand's You Could Have It So Much Better is a mixed barrel of things done better and things done worse than on their debut. Overall, it is a much less consistent album, containing possibly their most meaningful song, "The Fallen", and one of their least meaningful songs in "I'm Your Villain." In addition, this an albumDefinitely a much more varied album than their debut, Franz Ferdinand's You Could Have It So Much Better is a mixed barrel of things done better and things done worse than on their debut. Overall, it is a much less consistent album, containing possibly their most meaningful song, "The Fallen", and one of their least meaningful songs in "I'm Your Villain." In addition, this an album extremes, with pounding rockers like the title track and "Evil and a Heathen" and gentle, even beautiful tracks like "Walk Away" and "Eleanor Put Your Boots On." Nonetheless, fans of their self-titled album should be fans of this follow-up as well. Expand
  3. May 25, 2012
    10
    You Could Have It So Much Better (in my opinion) improves upon a great debut album with one that has songs that are more punchy and catchy than their self-titled debut. This is one of the best times I have had while listening to an album, and would recommend this record highly.
  4. Apr 25, 2012
    0
    One of the worst albums I've had the displeasure of buying. It possesses all of the pretension of the early '00s indie movement without any of the charm of the hits on the band's first album.
  5. Jan 6, 2012
    7
    While still has many good moments, their style wore thin a bit for me on their second record. There was little or no progression in style and it lacked the tunes of their debut.
  6. Stormwatch
    May 1, 2008
    5
    Some good moments, but, as a whole, notably inferior to Franz's awesome first album. The songs lack the "alternative" feel from before, and tend to be too fast-paced. The "louder" production doesn't help either.
  7. VidM
    Aug 13, 2007
    6
    Very low mileage on this one. Noticeably inferior to their debut. Most of the tracks blur together into one long tedious mess.
  8. JeffJ
    Jun 15, 2007
    9
    Absolutely stunning. It would have been even stronger if they would have left off "Fade Together" and "Outsiders', but if the songs "The Fallen," "Do You Want to", "This Boy" and "You Could Have it So Much Better" don't shake your booty, then, like Fatboy Slim said, your booty must be dead.
  9. Oligami
    May 20, 2007
    7
    They evolved the way I feared they would. This record definitely needed some more restrain.
  10. MarcusP
    Mar 12, 2007
    9
    Great Album. It´s not the songs in itself, thats great, it´s the whole album.
  11. ElizabethP
    Jan 17, 2007
    8
    A lot better than their first album since they abandoned a lot of aimless, sloppy guitar strumming. "Do You Want to?" is a great song although it's slightly embarrassing to sing it on the top of your lungs. The stand outs are "The Fallen" and "Outsiders". This album is more melodic and more coherent than their previous.
  12. time
    Dec 2, 2006
    6
    Do You Want to is one of the worse singles of the year.
  13. SebaB
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    It's the firts album that makes me imitating guitarsolos
  14. TheCritic
    Jul 17, 2006
    8
    DEFINATELY better then their first one especially when they slow themselves down. Check out "Eleanor put you boots on" and "Outsiders" and even "Walk Away"
  15. anon
    Apr 2, 2006
    10
    EVEN BETTER thatn the first one.
  16. StanH
    Feb 22, 2006
    7
    Has some very good tracks, but is too drawn out and not nearly as consistent as their debut.
  17. MarioP
    Feb 1, 2006
    9
    I was not thoroughly convinced by this at first, and I still think that Do You Want To is an embarassingly horrible song, but the album definitely grew on me on further listenings, so much so that now I prefer it over their debut. Less keyboards and frills, even more guitars, some good ballads (and Walk Away is truly brilliant) and great songwriting and structure. Exciting and quite I was not thoroughly convinced by this at first, and I still think that Do You Want To is an embarassingly horrible song, but the album definitely grew on me on further listenings, so much so that now I prefer it over their debut. Less keyboards and frills, even more guitars, some good ballads (and Walk Away is truly brilliant) and great songwriting and structure. Exciting and quite long-lasting as well. Well done FF, this is my pick for 2005 (with Andrew Bird a close second). Expand
  18. JorgeE
    Jan 28, 2006
    10
    In order to save words.... JUST PERFECT!!!!
  19. FFFF
    Jan 23, 2006
    5
    This song is far more aggressive than the first, and I like that. But almost all of the songs sound the same. And the two ballads are pathetically cheesy. Bonus points for possibly the best drummer in the millenium. The guitar is repetitive, and the voice adds a huge shadow to the rest of the music. TOO DISCO-Y for me. I love their first album though.
  20. AlecE
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    Best album of 2005.
  21. Ben
    Jan 7, 2006
    9
    No, there's not really anything innovative here, and yes, it all sounds very similar to their first album. In truth, the only thing Franz Ferdinand brings to the table here are some incredibly catchy songs. Then again, what more do they really need? This might not have been the best album of 2005, but I'd be hard pressed to think of another that was simply this much fun to listen to.
  22. Tom
    Jan 5, 2006
    1
    All the songs sound the same as the last album- I was very disappointed.
  23. JonH
    Dec 28, 2005
    10
    In the top 5 of albums of 2005. Franz Ferdinand is pop/rock at its absolute finest and most exciting. Every track is a showstopper.
  24. MANUTD
    Dec 27, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best albums I've ever heard
  25. Mack
    Dec 10, 2005
    5
    Sometimes catchy? Yes. Sometimes annoying? Yes. Infinitely overrated? Of course. I was dissapointed at the formulaic nature of it all - I kind of expected something with a dose of creativity. Had this been released by someone else, it would have garnered much critical backlash, but alas, FF is still riding the wave of support from their first album, which was flawed, but much better.
  26. meh
    Dec 6, 2005
    3
    very overrated. gets pretty boring after about 3-4 listens despite a few tracks.
  27. markl
    Nov 28, 2005
    8
    Slightly better than their debut.
  28. DankyMcSkanky
    Nov 21, 2005
    6
    so overrated its not even funny. like i will say that they have some of the catchiest tunes of the year but they're nothing new. just another pop band trying to come off as indie. straight posers
  29. Nani
    Nov 18, 2005
    10
    couldn't have it any better.
  30. HugoP
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    Tight stuff...
  31. guido
    Nov 9, 2005
    5
    deja vu. apart from some nice guitar riff, very few interesting and original ideas
  32. heddaache
    Nov 8, 2005
    9
    Super energetic fun! Even better than their last!
  33. Mr.Right
    Nov 7, 2005
    3
    I, sincerely, enjoyed the first outing, and looked foward to hearing what FF could come up with next. What came up was a recipe, that was in much need of a fly.
  34. ataraxiay
    Nov 6, 2005
    7
    louder than the first one but i regret the cheesy ballads!
  35. AndrewJ
    Nov 6, 2005
    9
    To say people are jumping on the bandwagon is, in my eyes, slightly naive and the comment of someone who just hasn't listened to this album. It is packed full of the sort of songs which i think the first album was missing. 'The Fallen', 'This Boy', 'I'm Your Villain' and 'The Outsiders' are all inspired Franz Tracks whilst 'Eleanor To say people are jumping on the bandwagon is, in my eyes, slightly naive and the comment of someone who just hasn't listened to this album. It is packed full of the sort of songs which i think the first album was missing. 'The Fallen', 'This Boy', 'I'm Your Villain' and 'The Outsiders' are all inspired Franz Tracks whilst 'Eleanor Put Your Boots On' is the best Beatles song written this decade. Expand
  36. TomW
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    Fantastic album, better than the first. Best song: The Fallen
  37. billy
    Nov 5, 2005
    9
    most of it was great, but just not perfect
  38. MatthieuR
    Nov 3, 2005
    9
    Great album; I can't understand why people like Jame F. are slamming this record for being more of the same; that's like complaining to the waiter that there isn't a fly in your soup!
  39. Renee
    Nov 3, 2005
    9
    What? This song is not even close to being the same as the debut. The songs are deeper, the instruments are played better, the chords are more intricate. It's all-in-all a definite step up from 'Franz Ferdinand' and I like where the guys are headed.
  40. JadenB
    Nov 1, 2005
    4
    I think people are just jumping on the bandwagon. This album is not as nearly good as the first album. I've been trying to warm up to it and it's increasingly difficult to. It's cheesy and repetitive. There riding the coatails of there first album still.
  41. JameF
    Oct 30, 2005
    3
    No. It really is just the same thing, again. Yes indeed.
  42. slawekk
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    so far, one of the two albums of the year (the second being black rebel motorcycle club). much more better that the debut!
  43. FelixR
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    This may just be the best album this year. It's certainly a big improvement on the first album, which had as many forgettable tracks as it did memorable ones. It's got catchy hooks, thoughtful lyrics, and a cohesive structure that makes it nearly impossible to turn it off once the album starts playing.
  44. Matt
    Oct 25, 2005
    9
    More fun and hookier than their first album. I never thought they could come up with an album almost as good as the new New Pornographers and Liz Phair albums, but they did.
  45. ExecutionerJones
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    Their first album was a eight. This one is a ten! It's the best album I've bought in ages. EVERYONE needs to hear the title track turned way up!
  46. AllanF
    Oct 21, 2005
    9
    Anyone who says their first album is better is insane. This one is phenomenal.
  47. jyotirmayad
    Oct 19, 2005
    8
    yeah, this is a good CD. No sophomore slump here. j.t.
  48. NicolásO
    Oct 19, 2005
    9
    A very complete album. Another step forward from a band which is called to set a new order in the current indie scene.
  49. TobyKeith
    Oct 17, 2005
    1
    It sounds like they've listened to the outakes of their debut album and put it out as a record. I could've done that better!
  50. Disco_Stew
    Oct 17, 2005
    10
    Great follow up, Im loving this album, The fallen is a great song.
  51. NickH
    Oct 17, 2005
    8
    == 8.4 / 10 == It's endlessly listenable, I'll give it that right off the bat. Why is that you ask? Because it all, in a sense, runs together. There are only two instances of the boys of Franz Ferdinand ever experimenting. Most of the time this would be the death of an album, not "You Could Have Had It So Much Better". The sound, however similar it is on every track, is == 8.4 / 10 == It's endlessly listenable, I'll give it that right off the bat. Why is that you ask? Because it all, in a sense, runs together. There are only two instances of the boys of Franz Ferdinand ever experimenting. Most of the time this would be the death of an album, not "You Could Have Had It So Much Better". The sound, however similar it is on every track, is fantastic. Franz Ferdinand have honed their sound to perfection, and that's good thing I guess. They know what they're doing - maybe a little too well. I just hope they realize that a band needs to grow, not stay stagnant. Here's hoping for an odd, quirky third album that pushes what they are capable of. In the meantime, I'm going to go listen to this CD again... Expand
  52. John
    Oct 16, 2005
    9
    This album proves that Franz CAN out do their 1st album. "What you meant" is kinda like some of The Beatles good stuff, there is so much veriety in the new album. Dont listen 2 people slam this and overlook it its sooo dam good, a must!!!
  53. CG
    Oct 15, 2005
    10
    It's simply brilliant - not remotely emotionless, as suggested in one or two of the reviews above. My favorite is when reviewers miss the point altogether: the idiot at Stylus actually critisized What You Meant" for featuring 'cringe-worthy pearls like
  54. Evan
    Oct 14, 2005
    3
    They are losers. The look like hobos and can't sing. The only reason I gave them a 3 is because the one guy looks like Jim Carrey, and he's awesome!!!
  55. dakh
    Oct 13, 2005
    9
    Betterr than the first, among the the best of 2005.
  56. MinY
    Oct 13, 2005
    10
    When I first listened to this album after my friend gave it to me, I fell in love. Stylish to the max with plenty of substance... very charming, fun dance pop music. There's this weird backlash to Franz nowadays which is completely unfounded, attempts to discuss the music have turned into arguments against post-punk as a whole and the people who hate on Franz have always sounded When I first listened to this album after my friend gave it to me, I fell in love. Stylish to the max with plenty of substance... very charming, fun dance pop music. There's this weird backlash to Franz nowadays which is completely unfounded, attempts to discuss the music have turned into arguments against post-punk as a whole and the people who hate on Franz have always sounded retarded arguing their points. People just don't get that it's supposed to be a fun, almost nonsensical pop group and not meant to be a savior to rock. Although in my opinion, it might have done just that. Expand
  57. Trunga
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    Franz Ferdinand have made a great album, the catchy lyrics, great tunes, love it all and the sequence in which the tracks fall, enough to keep your head bopping !
  58. BenG
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    Better than the first and one of the best albums of the year. Remember that Oasis and Coldplay have also released amazing albums this year! This is brilliant! I'm actually listening to it now!
  59. SteveT
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    Fantastic, simple as!
  60. Mex
    Oct 10, 2005
    5
    Do not understand the high rating. The first album was a nice surprise, but this 2nd album is more of the same, certainly not better, slightly boring. So, stick to the first and wait for a better 3rd album.
  61. MattA
    Oct 9, 2005
    9
    Very good... i think i like it better than thier last album, but then again... not all songs are that great... but the ones that are are great.
  62. DanB.
    Oct 9, 2005
    8
    As good as the first, maybe a little better. "Fade Together" is soooooo darn good, but I wish the vocals were just a tiny bit clearer.
  63. RonG
    Oct 9, 2005
    9
    Superb, far better than their debut, which sounds poor in comparison
  64. JeremyM.
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    OK, I understand how different people have different opinions, but that doesn't mean they should be stupid. Stylus Magazine is full of shit, and they try to use combinations of big words to hide it. Also, they gave it a C-...doesn't that mean their score should be around, say, a 71? Well anyways, this album is incredible, as trite as that may sound. It is such a large expansion OK, I understand how different people have different opinions, but that doesn't mean they should be stupid. Stylus Magazine is full of shit, and they try to use combinations of big words to hide it. Also, they gave it a C-...doesn't that mean their score should be around, say, a 71? Well anyways, this album is incredible, as trite as that may sound. It is such a large expansion on their already stellar debut. First of all, Alex Kapranos really explores the capabilities of his vocals much mroe than the he did in their first album. The basics of the songs- the guitars and the drums- are much more prominent in the melodies and in the background and are also more detailed. The tracks never even brush repetetiveness or seem boring. This album is very complete, although it takes 2-3 listens to fully enjoy the album. You Could Have It So Much Better will establish Franz Ferdinand as one of the premiere bands in alternative rock without a doubt. The point is, you need to own this album. If for some reason you don't already, take my word for it and go spend some money on this amazing collection of sound. I definitely would not give a big 10 just because it got an 85, it just is that damn fantastique. Expand
  65. AndyW
    Oct 8, 2005
    10
    Franz Ferdinand sure goes over their boundaries, and easily pulls off some old school Clash-esque punk, as well a new side to them, some softer stuff. For a follow-up to the debut, this is absolutely amazing. Definately one of the best of 2005. Hardly, one weak song this entire album. It is sooo choice, that I highly recommend you pick this record up.
  66. slapchar
    Oct 8, 2005
    10
    One of the best albums of the year. 'Outsiders' stands out as a superior song.
  67. BeenmanC
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    If i had the option of butter on my pancake or the new Franz i would pick butter. BUT after i ate that tasty little cake in the pan with butter i would go out and buy the new Franz because its so awesome. I would listen to the new Franz and then listen to it again because I cant get sick of it. And then id go out pound some beers and try to get some action!!
  68. LukasH
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    Excellent follow up album. Catchy tunes that travel all over the map. From start to finish this album KICKS A**.
  69. JonA
    Oct 7, 2005
    4
    I've tried to listen to it twice and I didn't get all the way through it both times and it's only 41minutes long, to say it's repetitive is a understatement. This is a band that will be completely forgotten as time passes. But I will say one thing in it's favor, it's still better then most bands that play on mtv or vh1.
  70. JenniferE
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    Fantastic collestion of songs both fast and slow the best without doubt is The Fallen.
  71. DamianM
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    "If you didn't actually like the cold, arch, clipped art pop of the debut, then don't buy this because you're probably not going to like it; just get back to your Status Quo records, you tin eared muppet." John Doran, Playlouder. Or make that Bon Jovi records you American idiots!
  72. ThomasL
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    You Could Have It So Much Better......No you can't, this is so very nearly perfect
  73. [Anonymous]
    Oct 6, 2005
    10
    A perfect follow-up to their perfect debut. I might even like this CD even more than their debut, it is fantastic. Definitely buy it if you liked their first album.
  74. JohnS
    Oct 6, 2005
    9
    Overall a better album than the first, a collection of strong hummable stylish songs peppered with thee weaker tracks to fill the space, just like the previous album. The texture of this album is warmer and more inviting if less danceable than the debut. Of course by being warmer I mean despite the angular discoish sound there is more instrumentation and even oooohs and aaaaahs that were Overall a better album than the first, a collection of strong hummable stylish songs peppered with thee weaker tracks to fill the space, just like the previous album. The texture of this album is warmer and more inviting if less danceable than the debut. Of course by being warmer I mean despite the angular discoish sound there is more instrumentation and even oooohs and aaaaahs that were completely absent from the debut. When leftball albums come out and have a major impact you have to be a bit wary of many critic elitists who tend to underrate the follow up albums to try and elevate the illusion of their knowledge on the subjec as if they were amember of some vanguard organization of newly aquired taste, see reviews of Gorillaz and Death Cab for Cutey for reference points. There is a heavy price to pay to hip critics when you pose on billboards(end sarcasm). As for the low stylus review, the author gave kelly osbourne's album an A- if you want an indicator to his "taste" or judgement in music criticism. As for the sound of the album, they sound even more like early Roxy Music than they did on their first album. And any "professional critic" who does not pick up on this all too obvious influence(heck they even dress the same) isn't worth two grains of salt as an expert on the subject. Not taking into accounts the slower ballads that sound sort of like Jonathan Richman singing with an agular semi-Paul McCarthiesque arrangement. Ultimately this album sounds like a cohesion of various 60's and 70's bands, not 80's bands. Also on an interesting side note, the lyrics are printed in the little sleeve booklet on what appears to be real notebook paper. Expand
  75. JackH
    Oct 5, 2005
    8
    Pretty amazing album. I haven't decided if I like it better than the first one (I've only listened once all the way through), but I think it shows that Franz aren't just one hit wonders. The one drawback is that they've traded in the dance songs like "Auf Achse" and "Michael" from the first album for slower, more balladsy type songs ("Elanor Put Your Boots On"). Pretty amazing album. I haven't decided if I like it better than the first one (I've only listened once all the way through), but I think it shows that Franz aren't just one hit wonders. The one drawback is that they've traded in the dance songs like "Auf Achse" and "Michael" from the first album for slower, more balladsy type songs ("Elanor Put Your Boots On"). I'm not sure I like that move as much, but they're good songs for what they are. Expand
  76. AudreyP
    Oct 5, 2005
    9
    I am really fond of this release although it is nothing more than a well made pop album, but still it is much better than a lot of what most poppy bands put out. Like so many have said, if you liked their debut, you will most likely enjoy You Could Have It So Much Better...
  77. PaulH
    Oct 5, 2005
    5
    it's obviously rushed, the lack of good material here is surprising, almost all of the songs are B-Sides quality. I can't believe it's getting all these amazing reviews.
  78. ChrisG
    Oct 5, 2005
    9
    Brilliant follow-up. Stronger songs -- better song structure and melody. Most tracks go beyond the immediate hook.
  79. nickk
    Oct 5, 2005
    9
    A more than worthy follow up. perhaps a little underwhelming at first but the songs prove to be just as exciting and infectious as those on the stellar debut while the inclusion of three ballads adds another dimension. though the tall poppy killers will tell you otherwise this album is indeed Franztastic
  80. WillO
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    Perfect album filled with catchy lyrics, yet dark at the same time. This is a masterpiece and has just marvolous songs. PERFECT
  81. StevenB
    Oct 4, 2005
    9
    Perhaps I was expecting a let down. Perhaps I felt with such a strong debut there was nowhere else to go but down. I was as incorrect as horse wrangler heading up FEMA. Great second effort. And without the usual two year wait.
  82. JesseJ
    Oct 4, 2005
    0
    THis is dumb to the core!! Eat it outloud!
  83. TravisY
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    Sounds like the first but more in depth. Awesome if you loved the first album. Okay if you thought it was okay.
  84. Viv
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    This had a rating of 89 before Stylus Magazine pissed on it. Still, let the numbers continue to speak, as this is in my opinion one of the best, unabashedly cocksure albums of the year.
  85. JoeC
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    Excellent album, solid follow-up to influential debut.
  86. ChelseaD
    Oct 4, 2005
    5
    I really liked Franz's debut, and so I was really hoping this album would be amazing. Sadly, I was wrong. This is just the boringly average follow-up you'd expect from a band like Franz Ferdinand. BUT, if you really, REALLY loved their debut, and want more of the same (along with some Beatles-y ballads and a few added flourishes), then by all means, tack on an extra few points I really liked Franz's debut, and so I was really hoping this album would be amazing. Sadly, I was wrong. This is just the boringly average follow-up you'd expect from a band like Franz Ferdinand. BUT, if you really, REALLY loved their debut, and want more of the same (along with some Beatles-y ballads and a few added flourishes), then by all means, tack on an extra few points to this score and buy it. But if you're tired of all this dancepop nonsense flooding the British music scene, skip it. Expand
  87. DeanS
    Oct 4, 2005
    8
    It's pretty good, has some great tracks, but certainly isn't as consistently good as their debut. However, they do broaden their range quite a bit, and when they do something new, it comes off well. The least memorable ones feel like extras from the last album.
  88. MihaiV
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    Just brilliant. I love the 3 ballads. This was the big surprise to me. The rest is Franz Ferdinand at their best.
  89. RobertD
    Oct 4, 2005
    7
    Its alright, not as good as the first one and definetly not as hype as the new strokes cd will be.
  90. mizzocapone
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    awesum!! they had the impossible task of following up the first album and miracously succeeded!
  91. DMassey
    Oct 4, 2005
    9
    Utterly terrific, although am I alone in thinking that Do You Want To is the single cheesiest and horrifically annoying song to be released for a long time? The rest of the album more than makes up for it however both expanding and improving on their established sound.
  92. JJHoldijk
    Oct 4, 2005
    8
    Many young promising bands ussually disappear after a surprising debut album. Not Franz Ferdinand. In fact, the follow-up to their 2004 debut might even be more surprising. Why? Because it's just so damn good... With "You Could Have It So Much Better", the band took a walk on a darker and louder side. Where their last album made you want to shake your booty, this one will make you Many young promising bands ussually disappear after a surprising debut album. Not Franz Ferdinand. In fact, the follow-up to their 2004 debut might even be more surprising. Why? Because it's just so damn good... With "You Could Have It So Much Better", the band took a walk on a darker and louder side. Where their last album made you want to shake your booty, this one will make you want to bang your head. Though there's still plenty of booty-shaking left. The current single "Do You Want To" might be the song that enbodies that the most. And then there are songs like "The Fallen". Opening with a riff that's so solid it will make you want to smack your mom's bottom and scream "bitch!" at her(even if you really really love your mum, like I do), it really rocks your socks. The song "Eleanor Put Your Boots Back On" shows another side of the band. It's a really nice, Beatle-esque song which shows that FF can do more than building songs with rythms which are tighter then a swiss clock. All in all it's a pretty diverse album which will appeal to even more listeners thatn their last. It also makes one thing very clear, and that is that Franz Ferdinand is definitely not another one day fly. Expand
  93. MikoV
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    Absolutly Great!
  94. DSHelder
    Oct 3, 2005
    5
    Not bad. Just not very good. With four exceptions, the songs are not up the old standard. But what really ruins this album, is the new poppish sound. Farewell indie, hello boredom.
  95. tONY
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    Sounds so memorable and catchy.
  96. ChrisP
    Oct 3, 2005
    9
    Again franz put out another good album. This album i think doesnt have all of the good songs that last had but the songs on this album that are good are really good.
  97. Craig
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    as good as you can get for a follow-up to the debut.
  98. konron
    Oct 3, 2005
    8
    Their sound is a bit more diversified the second time around, but consequently, it doesn't sound as solid as their first album. If anything, it shows promise for the band's future.
  99. gabew
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    hells yeahhhhhhh
  100. pm
    Oct 3, 2005
    0
    (cough) over-rated (cough)
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. It's a stunning, confident piece of work that suggests the band is merely getting started.
  2. 80
    It'll do just fine for now. But here's hoping for a torturously difficult third album. [Oct 2005, p.140]
  3. Franz Ferdinand have slightly tweaked the neo-Brit-pop genre – mixing in funk, dashes of punk, and a bit of disco – and come out with a sophomore album even more confident and hungry for glory than their debut.