Young Man In America - Anaïs Mitchell
Young Man In America Image

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The singer-songwriter scales back from her 20-track 2010 album Hadestown with 11 folk tunes on her fifth album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Feb 22, 2012
    With Young Man In America, Anaïs Mitchell has created her second consecutive masterpiece.
  2. Feb 13, 2012
    A remarkable, genre-defying album. [Mar 2012, p.86]
  3. Feb 13, 2012
    A fierce, melodic affirmation of sadness and grief, love and lust, attachments formed both strong and precarious, Young Man in America is a marvel of a record from start to finish.
  4. Feb 15, 2012
    A sorrowful, yet captivating collection of songs, ensuring that Ms. Mitchell continues to snap at the heels of PJ Harvey in the female singer songwriter stakes.
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    Young Man in America is born from sorrow, suffering, shattered dreams and incendiary youth "waiting on oblivion", yet it's one of the most life-affirming musical journeys you'll have all year.
  6. Apr 4, 2012
    Young Man in America, is just as ambitious [as her last release, Hadestown], but it's more intimate and accessible than its predecessor, focused on the textures of everyday life and the odd, stirring power of Mitchell's voice.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. May 31, 2012
    Honestly beautiful, every song is great. "Young Man in America" is one of the best songs of 2012 by far. Everyone needs to check out this album because it is so diverse and complex and just a breath of fresh air Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2012
    While Hadestown was a masterfully executed epic folk-opera, with Young Man in America, Anais Mitchell returns to a simpler, yet beautiful form of story telling. Because it is not so concept oriented, each song is more accessible in its own right, while still cohering beautifully into an album worthy of listening to from start to finish. I think this is the perfect album to win over first-time listeners. Recommended Tracks: "Wilderland," "Young Man in America," "Venus," "Tailor" Expand
  3. Mar 15, 2012
    It's really rare to find an individual with such a unique voice coupled with great lyrical abilities. Young Man In America is definitely worth a listen. Expand
  4. Mar 1, 2012
    To the previous reviewer, "it's" is clearly the correct spelling here. Maybe do a little grammar school refresher? As far as the record goes, IT'S absolutely gorgeous and one of the best things I've heard this year. Expand
  5. Feb 28, 2012
    It's expansive Americana/folk. It sounds great, with deep and spacious arrangements. The melodies are accessible and some are quite catchy, but off-center enough not to be boringly predictable. As far as the lyrics... well, you probably won't feel deeply challenged by them, but if you're anything like me they'll manage to lodge themselves in your heart pretty quickly. Mitchell has a way of unfurling the story of a song in perfect synchrony with her song structures; 'Dyin' Day' is reminiscent of "The Wall" from her Hadestown album, in that it slowly builds a powerful lyrical idea using repetitive but evolving call-and response verses. That song is a highlight. Others include the title track, whose restless, hungry hero evokes immediate sympathy, and "Coming Down", a quiet and wistfully sad little tune.

    I will say that beyond those songs, none of the others have really grabbed me in the two days I've had to listen to it, but that might be because I have tracks 2-4 more or less on repeat. In the end I suppose I have to recommend Hadestown over this. But the three songs I mentioned above are really great, and absolutely worth the sticker price.
  6. Apr 26, 2012
    The album "Young Man in America" by Anais Mitchell is rich in experience LP, seemingly careless and gentle in the transmission - in fact, just as the artist's previous album "Hadestown" - it contains profund, moralistic lyrics. All this is embroiled in a very diverse melodic forms, creating an unusual atmosphere. All the songs - from experimental "Wilderland" to the lethargic, closing "Ships" are worth the attention and time. Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2012
    If perhaps one thing, it is well disguised -- a voice that will challenge your patience, and some overtly simplistic lyrics (and piano playing that I can only think of as â Expand

See all 8 User Reviews