You're A Woman, I'm A Machine - Death From Above 1979
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Give[s] Skyward In Triumph and Earth 2 a run for the title of Best Album By A Duo, ever. [Jan 2005, p.113]
  2. You won’t hear a more exhilarating, dizzying record for a long time to come.
  3. Take the pop from Guns ‘N Roses, take the pomp from Van Halen and take the piss out of uber-serious nu-metal and you’ve got one of the most inventive metal outfits in recent history.
  4. You’re a Woman, I’m a Machine is the kind of “feelings” album that fans of noise-rock or hardcore can listen to without fear of being soft. For the rest of us, it’s an indulgence of our more dramatic emotions.
  5. By turning the rock knob down a notch, DFA79 have kept You're a Woman loud and nasty and ensured a cohesion and unusual degree of listenability.
  6. They capably cover everything from noisy freakouts ("Turn It Out") to electroclash chillouts ("Sexy Results"), and manage to hold it all together better than bands armed with triple the sonic arsenal.
  7. If you like your dance music jerky, nasty and just a little bit angry, Death From Above are your boys.
  8. 80
    Bowel-rattling rhythmic rock that's as viscerally exciting as it is grubby. [Feb 2005, p.101]
  9. 80
    Channels sledgehammer power into 11 tunes with a filthy, deeply groovy core. [Mar 2005, p.104]
  10. Pulses with a steady, sweaty energy that's punctuated with arena-sized hooks.
  11. Brings together the best parts of metal, hardcore punk-rock and dance-y post-punk for a sound that would be otherwise useless if it weren't for one thing: The boys got "it."
  12. As for the songs themselves, they're surprisingly varied and accessible; fans of punk, metal, and stoner rock will be the first to gravitate toward this album, but there are tracks that have the potential of reaching a much wider audience.
  13. A truly rocking dance punk album that fulfills on the promise of a dubious genre; other artists in this so-called movement have only hinted at something this fun and dance-able.
  14. A titanic assault of monstrous proportions. [29 Jan 2005, p.59]
  15. Smart and occasionally even danceable, if not quite as cool as they think. [May 2005, p.111]
  16. These songs will undoubtedly knock the wind out of you, but for every dynamic explosion or screeching wall of noise there’s a hook in tow.
  17. 60
    The results range from stupid to sexy to irresistably stupid. [Jan/Feb 2005, p.103]
  18. You're a Woman, I'm a Machine might be the best party record on this side of '79 that your local abandoned warehouse has ever seen.
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    Death From Above 1979 are really unlike any rock band out there. It's one of the better duo bands out there. Although I must admit, I didn't buy into it the first time I heard it. Or the second time. ANd even the third time. But I tried to like them and forced myself and eventually it clicked one day. Now, I listen to it all the time. It's a great dance-punk album that gets better with each listen. It's dirty, sleazy, and it completely rocks. "Romantic Rights" is the standout track. All In All, it's unlike any record I've ever heard and I wish they'd make another album. B+ Full Review »
  2. Aug 9, 2012
    8
    This is the sort of album I needed. The DFA1979 signature guitar sound of plastic, fat riffs and brain melting distortion keeps a colourful feel to an album that could have potentially suffered from being too dark. The new Bloc Party release is more evidence that DFA1979 have inspired and created a sound of their own. Full Review »