Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 370 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Several years have passed since Kyle Katarn avenged his father's death and saved the Valley of the Jedi from Jerec and his band of Dark Jedi. Allowing his Force powers to languish for fear of falling to the Dark side, Kyle set aside his lightsaber, vowing never to use it again. But when aSeveral years have passed since Kyle Katarn avenged his father's death and saved the Valley of the Jedi from Jerec and his band of Dark Jedi. Allowing his Force powers to languish for fear of falling to the Dark side, Kyle set aside his lightsaber, vowing never to use it again. But when a new and menacing threat to the galaxy emerges, Kyle knows he must reclaim his past in order to save his future. Players assume the role of Kyle as they employ a unique mix of weapons, Force powers and your lightsaber in both single- and multiplayer modes of first-person action. [LucasArts] Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Raven Software
  • Genre(s): Action, Shooter, Shooter, First-Person, Sci-Fi, Sci-Fi, Arcade
  • # of players: Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: T
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Computer Gaming World
    100
    It's just beautifully designed: fast-paced, challenging, and awesome to look at. [June 2002, p.78]
  2. Each character model is so well done and I even found the cut scenes interesting.
  3. Raven Software has taken a big chance, trying to cover all the bases with Jedi Knight 2. Luckily, it has paid off, as this is an excellent game. It's got tons of stuff that players have been wanting since the first Jedi Knight, includes an engaging and fun multiplayer game, and delivers it all on the very stable and solid Quake 3 engine.
  4. Combine excellent level design, a compelling storyline and amazing presentation and you’ve got a game that will keep fans hooked until you’ve completed very last little bit.
  5. An exceptional Star Wars action game that contains some of the best combat sequences since "Half-Life," the most distinctive control mechanics since "Max Payne," and the most involving plot in a Star Wars game since Jedi Knight.
  6. 86
    I really wasn't enjoying it much at first, but once I got to the later levels, the lightsaber combat and Force powers made it a ton of fun.
  7. 40
    The game is flawed on so many levels (and in so many ways), that its occasional glimpses of greatness almost get lost in the Bespin Clouds.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
  1. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    An FPS with the story and voice acting of an RPG. If you played and liked Dark Forces 2, you'll love this game. If you played Jedi Academy..An FPS with the story and voice acting of an RPG. If you played and liked Dark Forces 2, you'll love this game. If you played Jedi Academy.. meh, not so sure you will like it. In my opinion, It's a game that achieves in every way excepted. The fights never get old. The thrills some cutscene can bring matches with Dark Forces 2 and the films. Level design and puzzles are milestones. Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2016
    10
    One of the very best (Star Wars) games ever made, ever. Skip it's successor 'Jedi Academy', it has inferior leveldesign. This game has it all:One of the very best (Star Wars) games ever made, ever. Skip it's successor 'Jedi Academy', it has inferior leveldesign. This game has it all: complex leveldesign, the sense of exploration, hard secrets, intense gameplay and fighting, the Star Wars-universe, hours and hours of fun... Expand
  3. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    One of my favorites... ive always loved the gameplay the lightsaber choreography is probably one of the best...when you experience aOne of my favorites... ive always loved the gameplay the lightsaber choreography is probably one of the best...when you experience a lightsaber duel you feel like your having a duel and not just slicing the npc till one of you dies...now the difficulty ill be honest its not an easy game at all you will die alot but fortunatly you can save anytime anywhere u like and trust me use it as often as possible esspecially when your facing dark jedi...the graphics well there older but very well done for the time...im not gonna go much more into it just be warned this game is not for the easily frusterated it is difficult like i said but you feel like you achieved greatness once you get past that obstacle your having trouble with or beating that boss who is kicking your ass..i recommend it to anyone who is a fan of star wars or just an action adventure or sci fi fan Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2012
    9
    "Jedi Outcast" is a great game. It has interesting gameplay, good level design and magnificent locations (many of them are taken from the"Jedi Outcast" is a great game. It has interesting gameplay, good level design and magnificent locations (many of them are taken from the original movies). The game really has that 'original trilogy' atmosphere. Plot isn't too complicated, but it has some good parts. The main thing in this game is a Jedi part, it is greatly done: controls are very comfortable, there are different lightsaber fighting styles, different Forces to use. Also the shooter part is funny too. Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    Jedi Outcast is an all-around great game. While the single player campaign is certainly enjoyable, the light saber battles in multi-player areJedi Outcast is an all-around great game. While the single player campaign is certainly enjoyable, the light saber battles in multi-player are what really sets this game apart from the rest. Include a generous assortment of force powers to the mix and this is one incredibly entertaining classic. You can't call yourself a Star Wars fan if you don't own this. Expand
  6. AnonymousMC
    Sep 17, 2009
    7
    A Very good game once you get past all the annoying missions before you have your lightsaber and even then not getting to customize forceA Very good game once you get past all the annoying missions before you have your lightsaber and even then not getting to customize force powers was annoying but its saving graces were a great storyline and amazing multiplayer Personally i liked jedi Academy better because it had the same multiplayer with more modes and it had force power customization so i could fight my own way instead of using what it gave me after i completed a mission the lightsabers were also better in jedi academy i loved having a double bladed lightsaber Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Jedi Outcast is a special kind of bad: it frustrates in a multitude of ways. Gun mechanics are unwieldy with the crosshair changing position on the screen, lightsaber combat is incomprehensible and generally ends with the good ol' Kyle dying a horrible and sudden death after a long spectacle, the levels are as unintuitive as if they had been designed by the Zodiac killer, there is a mandatory stealth section that activates an arbitrary death cutscene when spotted, the lightsaber consistently failed to protect me from explosive weapons Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best Star Wars Videogames of the Last 20 Years

    Best Star Wars Videogames of the Last 20 Years Image
    Published: November 6, 2017
    We reveal the 25 best Star Wars games, ranked by Metascore.