0304

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
0304 Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Album number five finds the singer-songwriter seemingly entering an early mid-life crisis, as she dives headfirst into commercial teen-dance-pop territory.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. It's the first album of hers that's a sheer pleasure to hear.
  2. Uncut
    80
    The tunes are stunning, her voice has never sounded better and she makes serious points few others would dare in a pop context. [Oct 2003, p.114]
  3. Q Magazine
    70
    She has never sounded brighter or more infectious. [Nov 2003, p.117]
  4. Blender
    60
    The first third of 0304 tries too hard to impress.... But soon she calms down and knocks out undeniable hooks. [#17, p.142]
  5. Essentially a wanna-be version of Madonna's American Life.
  6. But overall as much as the listener should be prepared to hate this record and its pretensions towards anticipating pop trends, it isn’t necessarily a failure.
  7. Mojo
    20
    Beats click and rumble while Jewel simpers baby-doll vocals which sound deflatingly calculated. [Oct 2003, p.114]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 29
  2. Negative: 11 out of 29
  1. Rod
    Jun 11, 2003
    10
    Great. This is by far Jewel's best album to date. I love her new sound.
  2. MichealB
    Sep 8, 2003
    10
    Awesome!! Screw the embittered reviewers who don;t know music from their ass anymore!!! Especially Rolling Stone!!! Fuck them!!
  3. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    Great album! 0304 shows a different side of jewel, a pop side that wasn't seen before the record! "Intuition" and "2 Find U" are the best onGreat album! 0304 shows a different side of jewel, a pop side that wasn't seen before the record! "Intuition" and "2 Find U" are the best on teh album and really are great and the other 12 songs are just as good also Expand
  4. DevonB.
    Feb 25, 2005
    8
    I liked the lyrics, because they seem to mean more than regular pop songs, she said this is the kind of album that she has wanted to create I liked the lyrics, because they seem to mean more than regular pop songs, she said this is the kind of album that she has wanted to create for awhile now, and I think it's a good one. Expand
  5. curefreak
    Jan 15, 2005
    4
    this cd is very confusing its neither all bad or all good in my opinion the things i didnt like was the white washed production wich turns this cd is very confusing its neither all bad or all good in my opinion the things i didnt like was the white washed production wich turns everything into a shiny surface , any cd that tries to be pop should always have some killer beats well this one fails miserably for the most part , shania twain has better beats and most of hers are ripped of from def leppard and bryan adams!! some of the lyrics are downright embarrasing, this cd would have been a masterpiece if every song was along the lines of intuition( why does all jewells cds have killer singles that she has trouble following up with ?) the songs off the top of my hand that werent completly awfull was intuition , two becomes 1, stand, and run to you so pretty much the first 4 four songs , eeek ive sworn off from buying jewells cds from now on cause theyre just too damn inconsistant i really did like her new look tho it was sexxy without being trashy Expand
  6. DavidW
    May 30, 2004
    1
    This CD makes me very sad. Jewel has given into the devil on her shoulder and become what sells. Sluts. I have never been able to respect This CD makes me very sad. Jewel has given into the devil on her shoulder and become what sells. Sluts. I have never been able to respect artists like Britney Spears, Shakira, (recent) Madonna, Christina, etc. There CDs sell because guys wanna do them and girls want to be them. Jewekl Was different. In a sea of american idol pop bullshit, there was always the comforting acustic sounds of Jewel. Was she for the masses? Probably not. Because the masses like whats trendy, popular, and sexy. They don't want a docile respectful poet who writes her own songs, who plays her own instruments, and who can really touch your heart. This type of garbage can be produced by anyone with a microphone, an ibook, and a copy of garage band. You can make any voice sound "great" with effects. But very few can actually sing from the heart and without effects like Jewel does. She didn't need a pop album! She was fine the way she was. My question for Jewel is: Who will save your soul? Expand
  7. Tom
    Jun 10, 2003
    0
    have you seen the tracklisting? what is this, a joke? Stand Run 2 U Intuition Leave the Lights On 2 Find U Fragile Heart Doin' Fine 2 have you seen the tracklisting? what is this, a joke? Stand Run 2 U Intuition Leave the Lights On 2 Find U Fragile Heart Doin' Fine 2 Become 1 Haunted Sweet Temptation Yes U Can U & Me = Love America Becoming Expand

See all 29 User Reviews