14 Shades Of Grey

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 60
  2. Negative: 14 out of 60

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeStarD.
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    You critics need to listen to an album more then once and actually connect with it. The overal score is appalling! Staind's 14 Shades of Grey is one of my favourite albums. This band has no trouble making you feel the songs emotion and not to mention each songs up-lifting chorus. One finely crafted album that should be listened to by all people, even if you don't like rock, this You critics need to listen to an album more then once and actually connect with it. The overal score is appalling! Staind's 14 Shades of Grey is one of my favourite albums. This band has no trouble making you feel the songs emotion and not to mention each songs up-lifting chorus. One finely crafted album that should be listened to by all people, even if you don't like rock, this album will surely appeal to you. HIGHLY recommended! Expand
  2. maxpower
    Aug 2, 2005
    0
    The fact that people would consider this pleasing music is just sad. Lame lyrics and generic instrumentation make this just another piece of crap floating in the toliet of modern mainstream acts, if you want music with emotion i suggest you try some bands that don't suck. I also get a kick out of the people that yell "f*ck the haters" this cd is bad, deal with it
  3. LeoR
    Jun 7, 2003
    8
    Really good album. Although I miss the harder edge songs like For You and anything from the Dysfunction album, this is Staind's real sound. I give it an 8 only because the songs "Tonight" and "Reality" sound the same. Also the last song "Intro" should have been replaced by the song "Let It Go" which you can download if you buy the CD. You can't expect every song to be good.
  4. KaluN
    Aug 4, 2003
    9
    This CD apes my tang to pieces. its awesome and i cant stop playing "Price to Play" or "Zoe Jane"
  5. joey5beat
    Jan 19, 2004
    0
    is this a joke? do these other people really think this is good music? maybe cliches are much better the 15th time around for some. but for me, utter poop + 1. once again my formula: corn ball, trite lyrics + unimaginative instumentation (soft verses "loud", lame choruses are not the only way to make pop music) + bad musicians + completely uninteresting = shi-ite.
  6. SalmanH
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    Its underrated
  7. PatrickD
    Jan 9, 2006
    2
    Wow. So you shouldn't give something bad reviews because you don't like it? You should just let it go away? What if I said, "Hey, because you don't like it, you shouldn't be telling us that, you should be listening to it." This is a REVIEW. People hate your band. Musically, this album is pathetic. I've seen better offerings from the emo garage band next door, and Wow. So you shouldn't give something bad reviews because you don't like it? You should just let it go away? What if I said, "Hey, because you don't like it, you shouldn't be telling us that, you should be listening to it." This is a REVIEW. People hate your band. Musically, this album is pathetic. I've seen better offerings from the emo garage band next door, and I'm being completely and totally serious. Boring. Nu-Metal is dead, try listening to real metal: Lamb of God, Opeth, Dream Theater. That should be enough for anyone. Expand
  8. jon
    Apr 20, 2006
    6
    this cd wasnt really that good but it had one of my favorite songs on there so i apprciated it
  9. JenniferD
    Oct 16, 2003
    10
    Awesome!! it ROCKED
  10. NG
    Jun 25, 2003
    8
    If you liked their last cd, you will surely like this one, cause it's better.
  11. joeb
    Jun 28, 2003
    8
    i thought this cd was not their best, but pretty damn good. You just can't stop being addicted, it seems like, to Arrons voice in all the songs. And i agree w/ most of you that i wish they would bring forth their heavier roots back like "dysfunction" or even their VERY first cd tormented. Still, a great cd all around. I recomend any staind fan to buy the cd!
  12. markm
    Jul 19, 2003
    10
    i understand and love this album
  13. RobT
    Sep 12, 2003
    10
    it fuckin rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!111
  14. jean-sébastienl
    Sep 9, 2003
    10
    staind rules and this one was there best yet! this cd makes me hope that they make a 5th cd!
  15. justins
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    great album f*ck the critics, who dont understand anything that has meaning to it
  16. Mr.Hater
    Dec 13, 2005
    1
    Guess I'm just another hater. Thank god no one's making me listen to it. There is no saving those who do not want to be saved. Great music to those with musical expierience or great music to a critic breaks from whatever the current formula. Critics and music lovers are looking for musical evolution. Those who are still musical virgins will obviously rate this album highly Guess I'm just another hater. Thank god no one's making me listen to it. There is no saving those who do not want to be saved. Great music to those with musical expierience or great music to a critic breaks from whatever the current formula. Critics and music lovers are looking for musical evolution. Those who are still musical virgins will obviously rate this album highly because they have not been over-saturated with the verse-chorus-verse-chorus-bridge-chorus way of doing things. Someday, like their X-Box games, they will find this type of production boring and move on to something more challenging. Or else they will be stuck as a construction-laborer for the next 30 years. Expand
  17. JBTulkinghorn
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    If only the haters would stop hating. This album is outstanding. Any negative review I have seen is weak on detailing the album's faults. There is no filler on this cd. 14 shades of gray is a rare album in today's music world. No sex drugs or violence, only the succinct communication of pent up frustration and resolved and unresolved personal issues. And the band is a crack If only the haters would stop hating. This album is outstanding. Any negative review I have seen is weak on detailing the album's faults. There is no filler on this cd. 14 shades of gray is a rare album in today's music world. No sex drugs or violence, only the succinct communication of pent up frustration and resolved and unresolved personal issues. And the band is a crack outfit to boot. I hope these guys pay no mind to their detractors. Expand
  18. GeorgeBush
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Regardless of what critics and some people who dislike this CD, I absolutely love it. I don't understand why we argue, though: if we like it we'll keep listning 2 it, if u hate it, just forget it. If the haters think it's a waste of time, that's their opinion. Could something they like seem like crap to me? It's possible and likely. I like ANY music, and this Regardless of what critics and some people who dislike this CD, I absolutely love it. I don't understand why we argue, though: if we like it we'll keep listning 2 it, if u hate it, just forget it. If the haters think it's a waste of time, that's their opinion. Could something they like seem like crap to me? It's possible and likely. I like ANY music, and this strikes me close to home. I hold it high on my list, if you don't, then stop criticzing it: NO ONE's MAKING U LISTEN TO IT!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  19. JessicaW
    Jan 1, 2006
    8
    I love Staind, but this cd is not as good as BTC or Dysfunction. There some really great songs like "Fray" and "Blow Away" but the anger has been toned down as a whole on this cd and I Ioved the anger. Still, a good cd overall.
  20. DustinK
    Jun 25, 2006
    10
    I hate how people say that a band is horrible and has no idea what music says. I hate death metal and rock, but just because i don't like them I don't say they lack tallent and that they suck. All it is, is a matter of opinion. If you don't like an albulm fine mention, but dont talk crap about them. I think its a great albulm. Riffs are good and so is lyrics as always. Not I hate how people say that a band is horrible and has no idea what music says. I hate death metal and rock, but just because i don't like them I don't say they lack tallent and that they suck. All it is, is a matter of opinion. If you don't like an albulm fine mention, but dont talk crap about them. I think its a great albulm. Riffs are good and so is lyrics as always. Not everyone is the same though so don't disrespect a bands music just b/c you dont like the style. Great albulm guys, not displeased w/ it at all. Expand
  21. wills
    Jun 28, 2003
    5
    so... incredibly... boring!
  22. joel
    Aug 22, 2003
    10
    All you fuckin critics who said this album sucked are dead wrong. You have to listen to shit more than once to feel what they are trying to express. "14 Shades of Grey" is one of the best albums of the year, and Aaron Lewis probably has one of the best voices in the record industry. Do us all a favor and actually listen to the music next time before you bash an album that should All you fuckin critics who said this album sucked are dead wrong. You have to listen to shit more than once to feel what they are trying to express. "14 Shades of Grey" is one of the best albums of the year, and Aaron Lewis probably has one of the best voices in the record industry. Do us all a favor and actually listen to the music next time before you bash an album that should definately be owned. And oh yea, I thought every song on this album rocked. Expand
  23. StaindRules
    Nov 7, 2004
    10
    The only album that can top this is Break the Cycle...oh, also by Staind. These fucking critics obviosly are shallow and have no ability to relate to anything deeper than "hot for teacher" snort another line rock.
  24. DanG
    Apr 24, 2004
    10
    Incredible music with incredible lyrics. This CD is one of the few really great rock albums out there today. If you listen to the critics on this one you would be missing out on one the best albums I have heard in all my life.
  25. JayUT
    Feb 11, 2005
    2
    It just leaves me somewhat upset when I read these posts. Not only do people actually relate to this and allow it to help them, they qualify this music and the overlaboured lyrics that comes with it as "incredible". Amazing. Or maybe not... Staind get their money from untried individuals who have little sense of musical background, human culture in the whole, and whose concepts of It just leaves me somewhat upset when I read these posts. Not only do people actually relate to this and allow it to help them, they qualify this music and the overlaboured lyrics that comes with it as "incredible". Amazing. Or maybe not... Staind get their money from untried individuals who have little sense of musical background, human culture in the whole, and whose concepts of sensitivity and release correspond to a different tone of voice under a blunt distortion. It should be much too little. This, mind you, is not a good rock album. What is this in front of source tags & codes? I won't bother listing others. Critics are not geeky figures behind desktops playing eclectic, and if they were it wouldn't undermine their opinion. My only hope in this matter (if I have one) is that one day some of you actually realise the smallness of this piece of sound in what has been done in our time. In the meantime, you'll be staring at the blankest and dulles of walls (and maybe paying for it) Expand
  26. billb
    Sep 17, 2005
    0
    this guy was signed by fred durst. case closed.
  27. JamesO
    Sep 25, 2006
    7
    Stainds got 3 albums, this is the worst, but is still a good album, the critics clearly have a lack for any enthuasm with involving themsleves in the lyrics. Staind have a great vocalist, and there guitarists are great aswell. This album is not great, but it's not bad. Get Chapter V - You'll be impressed ;)
  28. ChrisH
    Jan 12, 2007
    7
    It's easy to NOT like Staind. Aaron Lewis has no charisma on or off stage. Nu-metal as a movement is characterized by an overwhelming frat-boy stereotype. And I can't think of Staind without thinking of Limp Bizkit. That being said, this is a fabulous album, better than "Break the Cycle." Aaron Lewis is a great singer/songwriter. Maybe he would've been more respected if he It's easy to NOT like Staind. Aaron Lewis has no charisma on or off stage. Nu-metal as a movement is characterized by an overwhelming frat-boy stereotype. And I can't think of Staind without thinking of Limp Bizkit. That being said, this is a fabulous album, better than "Break the Cycle." Aaron Lewis is a great singer/songwriter. Maybe he would've been more respected if he took to folk music or pretentious indie rock. The fact that this is a hard rock album doesn't diminish it's worth. "How About You" is lyrically and musiclly Staind at their pinnacle (maybe with the exception of "Home"). The hooks in a song like "So Far Away" are undeniable. And the tributes to his daughter ("Zoe Jane") and Layne Staley ("Layne") really make this an album of contrasts. Yeah, there's not much frat-boy drudge like "Mudshovel," but there are some good tunes on this album. Expand
  29. ClayD
    Nov 28, 2003
    10
    Staind has helped me through alot of my life and anyone out there saying that Staind sucks you have no clue what your miss out on.. one of the greatest bands of the history and today...
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. '14 Shades of Grey' features no standout moments or highlights, just a formulaic, plodding, sixty plus moribund minutes that make this album about an hour too long. Avoid at all costs, even if you're a member of Staind's family.
  2. Those who connect with Staind will likely find this more consistently satisfying than Break the Cycle.
  3. Uncut
    40
    At times this album seems interminable. [Aug 2003, p.116]