Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Like a crisp Xerox of the band's multiplatinum Break the Cycle, with everything sounding bigger, brighter and tighter.
  2. Those who connect with Staind will likely find this more consistently satisfying than Break the Cycle.
  3. 60
    14 Shades is nominally heavier than the group's two previous albums, though the band tempers its harsher instincts to let Lewis ruminate unmolested. [Aug 2003, p.132]
  4. The tedious MOR power ballads can't seem to get out of low gear. [13 Jun 2003, p. 96]
  5. 40
    At times this album seems interminable. [Aug 2003, p.116]
  6. Not memorable enough to be bad, not heavy enough to pack visceral power, most of these songs–even radio-friendly ringers like "So Far Away"–are indistinguishable from the work of a hundred other bands with misspelled names, hotshot producers, plentiful tattoos, and optional silly facial hair.
  7. Part of the problem is the thoroughly unimaginative production, a procession of soft-loud modern-rock cliches that breaks up the ho-hum guitar bashing with acoustic interludes and strings.
  8. Another dollop of rock sludge with a remarkably honest title. [Aug 2003, p.115]
  9. '14 Shades of Grey' features no standout moments or highlights, just a formulaic, plodding, sixty plus moribund minutes that make this album about an hour too long. Avoid at all costs, even if you're a member of Staind's family.
  10. Since when is pairing Jewel's poetry outtakes with modern-rock riffs groundbreaking? [Aug 2003, p.102]
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 42
  2. Negative: 8 out of 42
  1. ChrisH
    Jan 12, 2007
    7
    It's easy to NOT like Staind. Aaron Lewis has no charisma on or off stage. Nu-metal as a movement is characterized by an overwhelming It's easy to NOT like Staind. Aaron Lewis has no charisma on or off stage. Nu-metal as a movement is characterized by an overwhelming frat-boy stereotype. And I can't think of Staind without thinking of Limp Bizkit. That being said, this is a fabulous album, better than "Break the Cycle." Aaron Lewis is a great singer/songwriter. Maybe he would've been more respected if he took to folk music or pretentious indie rock. The fact that this is a hard rock album doesn't diminish it's worth. "How About You" is lyrically and musiclly Staind at their pinnacle (maybe with the exception of "Home"). The hooks in a song like "So Far Away" are undeniable. And the tributes to his daughter ("Zoe Jane") and Layne Staley ("Layne") really make this an album of contrasts. Yeah, there's not much frat-boy drudge like "Mudshovel," but there are some good tunes on this album. Full Review »
  2. JamesO
    Sep 25, 2006
    7
    Stainds got 3 albums, this is the worst, but is still a good album, the critics clearly have a lack for any enthuasm with involving Stainds got 3 albums, this is the worst, but is still a good album, the critics clearly have a lack for any enthuasm with involving themsleves in the lyrics. Staind have a great vocalist, and there guitarists are great aswell. This album is not great, but it's not bad. Get Chapter V - You'll be impressed ;) Full Review »
  3. DustinK
    Jun 25, 2006
    10
    I hate how people say that a band is horrible and has no idea what music says. I hate death metal and rock, but just because i don't I hate how people say that a band is horrible and has no idea what music says. I hate death metal and rock, but just because i don't like them I don't say they lack tallent and that they suck. All it is, is a matter of opinion. If you don't like an albulm fine mention, but dont talk crap about them. I think its a great albulm. Riffs are good and so is lyrics as always. Not everyone is the same though so don't disrespect a bands music just b/c you dont like the style. Great albulm guys, not displeased w/ it at all. Full Review »