• Record Label: Ultra
  • Release Date: Dec 7, 2010
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
Buy On
  1. Dec 16, 2010
    60
    Those who go to genuine underground parties every weekend will find it a bit lame, but considering the work of his fellow chart-topping populists, you could do a lot worse.
  2. Dec 10, 2010
    60
    It's a colourful grab-bag, but Zimmerman's ear for stock clubland dynamics means that while 4x4=12 barely breaks sweat whomping the listener into submission, it also stops way short of revealing the man behind the mask.
  3. Dec 7, 2010
    60
    4x4=12 is audacious, mixing generic house grooves with eclectic fare like "Bad Selection," a kinetic jam with dog-whistle synth builds.
  4. Dec 7, 2010
    60
    His third production compilation again shows that he is a master at doing simple electro house music very well: humongous beats and basslines blend with straightforward chord progressions and, when interest may start to lag, sonic diversions.
  5. Dec 7, 2010
    50
    He takes the stage in headgear so cartoon-cute it could have been devised by an ad firm. Unfortunately, Deadmau5's albums sound that way as well.
  6. Dec 7, 2010
    50
    As dedicated, efficient, and resourceful as deadmau5 is, he's ultimately unable to escape the severe limitations of his craft, and therefore can't elevate 4X4=12 beyond standard club fare.
  7. Dec 7, 2010
    50
    Hipsters will hate it, but that's partly the point. Admitting he was "born and raised an Internet hate machine," Deadmau5 knows the power of provocation.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 105
  2. Negative: 6 out of 105
  1. Dec 8, 2010
    8
    Obviously the reviewers did no research on the album before reviewing it, with many of them citing how the 'album' is just a collection ofObviously the reviewers did no research on the album before reviewing it, with many of them citing how the 'album' is just a collection of singles that have been released. As stated before, this is not his proposed 'artist album', it is an EP, just like Random Album Title and For Lack of A Better Name. The artist album will come later in 2011, with deadmau5 setting up in his studio for months after the Uk tour. 4x4=12 listens like his live set, with many of the songs in the same order, with the exception of One Trick Pony and Everything Before. Maybe the reviewers should rewrite their reviews on the album, not on how well it sounds along with the LED head and rubix cube. Full Review »
  2. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    What a powerhouse album! I love it! Favorites include Some Chords, Cthulhu Sleeps, Everything Before, A City in Florida, and Bad Selection.What a powerhouse album! I love it! Favorites include Some Chords, Cthulhu Sleeps, Everything Before, A City in Florida, and Bad Selection. Basically the whole album rocks! Full Review »
  3. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    First off, let me say that I am a HUGE deadmau5 fan. I've been listening to his music since his first album came out. So obviously, I wasFirst off, let me say that I am a HUGE deadmau5 fan. I've been listening to his music since his first album came out. So obviously, I was looking forward to this album. Now 4x4=12 is something new. Mainly cause it has beats that I don't expect on a deadmau5 album. So it's something new for deadmau5, and I love it. The best album on this album, was City in Florida. Reminds me of dubstep (I love dubstep!). The worst is Everything Before, it's a good song, but it's not really something I would listen to everyday. So if your a new to deadmau5's music, it's a good start, and old fans like me will love where he's going with his music. I recommend playing this at a birthday party or something like that. Great music, great artist and definitely not a "Bad Selection" ;) 9/10 Full Review »