• Record Label: Ultra
  • Release Date: Dec 7, 2010
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 78
  2. Negative: 6 out of 78

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    Deadmau5 is a name that has been in the media quite often the past five years as the techno and house scene has triumphed and all other genres have unfortunately taken a hit. At first he was just a Canadian DJ who released a few good tracks that caught him a bit of attention. Several years later he is no longer that semiprofessional DJ he is sweeping the nation with several albums all ofDeadmau5 is a name that has been in the media quite often the past five years as the techno and house scene has triumphed and all other genres have unfortunately taken a hit. At first he was just a Canadian DJ who released a few good tracks that caught him a bit of attention. Several years later he is no longer that semiprofessional DJ he is sweeping the nation with several albums all of which are hits and producing is now a title he can strongly say he has conquered. His new album 4*4=12 is full of great tracks that differ a tad from his previous ones. He has a different style that is working in his favor. He now incorporates different artists in to his music which inevitably helps in making him main stream. Deadmau5 now has songs on the radio which is boosting his popularity a bunch. I think Deadmau5 is on the road to making many more intricate and catchy tracks with the support he has from other artists and the solid fan base he has now he has a long and prosperous career ahead. Expand
  2. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    Deadmau5 is a great electronic artist, #1 on my list of top 5 electronic artists, tied with Daft Punk. The songs on this should be iconic, but sadly aren't. Thankfully, there are a lot of deadmau5 fans who love and respect his music, me being one of them. However, I still want his (as Leadmeister called it) "artist album" to come out soon, so I can listen the hell out of it.
  3. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    First off, let me say that I am a HUGE deadmau5 fan. I've been listening to his music since his first album came out. So obviously, I was looking forward to this album. Now 4x4=12 is something new. Mainly cause it has beats that I don't expect on a deadmau5 album. So it's something new for deadmau5, and I love it. The best album on this album, was City in Florida. Reminds me of dubstep (IFirst off, let me say that I am a HUGE deadmau5 fan. I've been listening to his music since his first album came out. So obviously, I was looking forward to this album. Now 4x4=12 is something new. Mainly cause it has beats that I don't expect on a deadmau5 album. So it's something new for deadmau5, and I love it. The best album on this album, was City in Florida. Reminds me of dubstep (I love dubstep!). The worst is Everything Before, it's a good song, but it's not really something I would listen to everyday. So if your a new to deadmau5's music, it's a good start, and old fans like me will love where he's going with his music. I recommend playing this at a birthday party or something like that. Great music, great artist and definitely not a "Bad Selection" ;) 9/10 Expand
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    What a powerhouse album! I love it! Favorites include Some Chords, Cthulhu Sleeps, Everything Before, A City in Florida, and Bad Selection. Basically the whole album rocks!
  5. Dec 8, 2010
    8
    Obviously the reviewers did no research on the album before reviewing it, with many of them citing how the 'album' is just a collection of singles that have been released. As stated before, this is not his proposed 'artist album', it is an EP, just like Random Album Title and For Lack of A Better Name. The artist album will come later in 2011, with deadmau5 setting up in his studio forObviously the reviewers did no research on the album before reviewing it, with many of them citing how the 'album' is just a collection of singles that have been released. As stated before, this is not his proposed 'artist album', it is an EP, just like Random Album Title and For Lack of A Better Name. The artist album will come later in 2011, with deadmau5 setting up in his studio for months after the Uk tour. 4x4=12 listens like his live set, with many of the songs in the same order, with the exception of One Trick Pony and Everything Before. Maybe the reviewers should rewrite their reviews on the album, not on how well it sounds along with the LED head and rubix cube. Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For most of us 4 x 4 = 16, but for the mouse helmeted Joel Zimmerman, better known as Deadmau5, that's not the case. However this review is not focused on mouse mathematics, but on Deadmau5's musical ability. The green lighted, bright, and specular helmet on the cover gives the album a mysterious yet intriguing feel. Contrary to popular belief this album is more than just a gathering of a few singles, it offers Deadmau5's new interest and ability in dubstep. The first few tracks of the album are singles that have been released before, but don't let that miss lead you for the other tracks are far from just fillers. This album is the first Deadmau5 album to feature a dubstep influence. "Right this second" is a marvelous example of Joel's amazing musical abilities. The track beings with a calming and hypnotizing piano track, rich in texture and melody. Then the angelic, soft voice of Greta Svabo Beach adds the missing pieces. The true genius of Joel Zimmerman is revealed when the amazing dubstep steps in, unifying two types of music styles brilliantly. The other dubstep song on the album " One Trick Pony" featuring beauty Miss Sofi (Sofia Toufa) offers a powerful, yet playful track that is sure to make you move. The other new songs on this album worth mention are "Right This Second" and " Cthulhu Sleeps". From what I can hear "Right This Second" is a club-orientated groove what is sure to receive a lot of club play, and remixes to keep the masses dancing the night away. The most interesting track on here in terms of track title and sound is "Cthulhu Sleeps". For those of you who are either new fans or unfamiliar with Deadmau5, Joel experienced some turbulence on stage when he suddenly collapsed on stage, suffering from exhaustion and vomiting. When asked about the incident Joel said, "I had an epiphany... Cthulhu called. Nobody was home, completely flayed my mind... couldn't take it. Passed out." Therefore I believe this track is a response to this incident, explaining is creepy sound and uniqueness. Overall this album is a good listen and buy. All the other tracks should be familiar and therefore not given much attention in this review, but do listen to them as well. On a last note producers Wolfgang Gartner and Michael Woods help the mouse make this album what it is, and that is brilliant. So put aside the initial criticism of "it's just a gathering of singles", for you are greatly mistaken. Expand
  7. Mar 15, 2011
    7
    A solid release from Deadmau5, a DJ quickly on the rise across the world. Sofi's vocals on a few of the albums track are a refreshing change of pace, and a few songs, like Raise Your Weapon change the tempo and norm, combining soft melodic piano tones with soothing electro beats, before breaking into dubstep. However, the album still felt a little shallow, compared to his other older releases.
  8. Dec 3, 2011
    7
    Deadmau5 makes house music. Hau5 if you will. He's been known to incorporate awkward internet memes into his music, and still make it structured and taken seriously. Anyone who actually pays attention to albums of the whole would know that DeadMau5 makes his songs become one, they all fluently transition, and that's what album's do, they go together fluently.
    The album starts off great,
    Deadmau5 makes house music. Hau5 if you will. He's been known to incorporate awkward internet memes into his music, and still make it structured and taken seriously. Anyone who actually pays attention to albums of the whole would know that DeadMau5 makes his songs become one, they all fluently transition, and that's what album's do, they go together fluently.
    The album starts off great, Some Chords has that "Ghosts n' Stuff" like feeling, and it doesn't get old.
    Sofi Needs a Ladder, can get annoying for some after line one. Sofi Toufa makes this song to Pop-like, it's too lyrical and non-melodic.The song can be enjoyed by some, but listening to it with a group, you might skip it to the next. A city in Florida is a song that gets a thumbs up. It's more club like, but it it's hard to resist dancing to. "Bad Selection" lacks percussion, and is too long, although it's catchy. "Cthulhu Sleeps" also shares this theme the catchy awkwardness dragged on for too long. "Raise your Weapon" is a more jazz sound to a previous song "I remember" but with more emotion. I can't get enough of the piano in house music (also notable: Faxing Berlin and, Soma about the same time in each album), but half way in Deadmau5 makes a left turn and drops to Dub step. it made me say "oh S%&#" and i was surprised. All of the other albums kept the same tempo and beat. The approached worked, although it did drag on a little too long, but if it was the last song in the album it would make the whole experience memorable, but for some reason Sofi gets an encore in the next song. An all dub step song, this song isn't as bad as her song before, but it's like that awkward guy that keeps showing you things, you just wanna go but it doesn't end.
    Everything Before, i was trying to figure out the correlation between it and the album, but it actually is relating to his previous work. the song is good, it's just like a Deadmau5 song. his way of saying "Here it is you fan boys"
    All in all, Mau5 tried to make a lot of left turns, and ended up going in circles. Some songs need to be re-done, or cut in half. As for "Some Chords" and "Raise Your Weapon" shine from this dark experience. If you pretend that Raise Your Weapon was the end, it would make this album 4 stars.
    Expand
  9. Mar 5, 2012
    8
    Although not as good as 'For Lack of a Better Name' or 'Random Album Title' , in its own right this album is still outstanding.Deadmau5 shows some more of his flair.
  10. Dec 17, 2012
    6
    Like his previous material, 4x4=12 is of the EDM genre (specifically progressive house music) and to be honest, it's more of the same. For some, that's a pros; tracks such as "Raise Your Weapon" and "One Trick Pony" cleverly combine catchy progressive house with dubstep influenced beats. For others, it's a cons; the majority of 4x4=12 is limited when it comes to listeners, and can getLike his previous material, 4x4=12 is of the EDM genre (specifically progressive house music) and to be honest, it's more of the same. For some, that's a pros; tracks such as "Raise Your Weapon" and "One Trick Pony" cleverly combine catchy progressive house with dubstep influenced beats. For others, it's a cons; the majority of 4x4=12 is limited when it comes to listeners, and can get repetitive. "Sofi Needs a Ladder" is the most accessible track when it comes to listeners outside of the EDM fan base, if you can withstand the tedious opening. Overall, 4x4=12 isn't a great album, but for his fans, it should be pleasing. Expand
  11. Jul 22, 2013
    8
    I will say this. You have to appreciate electronic music and more specifically, electro-house before you can be impressed by this album. This isn't one you just hop into having no prior history in electronic music. But for those of you who do appreciate the 4/4 and 3/4 time signatures, lengthy loops, and heavy bass, 4 x 4 12 is one you should add to your collection. Why?

    I'll tell you
    I will say this. You have to appreciate electronic music and more specifically, electro-house before you can be impressed by this album. This isn't one you just hop into having no prior history in electronic music. But for those of you who do appreciate the 4/4 and 3/4 time signatures, lengthy loops, and heavy bass, 4 x 4 12 is one you should add to your collection. Why?

    I'll tell you why. Its a strong album that has an excellent prevailing theme in sound of the tracks while simultaneously giving each a distinguished flavor of its own. Deadmau5 nails each track with creative samples, innovative effects, and some rather humorous naming trends while also progressing in directions that were yet unexplored when the album was released. I really have to to give the guy credit for his dubstep inspirations while not making some half-assed imitation of the genre. Some Chords, City in Florida, Animal Rights, Cthulu Sleeps, and Everything before were especially good tracks which managed incorporate elements of dubstep while also maintaining Deadmau5's signature style and devotion to electro-house.

    Okay, what I said before about how Deadmau5 was inspired by dubstep rather than an imitator of it. Well that wasn't wholly true and that's why I am rating the album down a little. One Trick Pony, Raise Your Weapon, and Sofi Needs a Ladder are some unfortunate examples bad dubstep made by a guy who was not cut out to be a dubstep producer. If you are looking for dubstep, this is not your album and those are certainly not your songs. Besides, he has said in interview that he hates the sound of dubstep anyway which makes me ask "Why?" Why write (bad) songs for a genre you despise? Deadmau5 should have left dubstep to more dedicated producers.
    Expand
  12. Nov 18, 2013
    7
    I've been hearing of deadmau5 for sometime and finally decided to check this album out. I gotta admit that this album is fairly good with the right amount of instrumentals and vocals in the mix. "Raise Your Weapon (featuring Greta Svabo Bech)" is my favorite track, but "I Said (featuring Chris Lake & Michael Woods)", "Sofi Needs a Ladder (featuring Sofi)", and "One Trick Pony (featuringI've been hearing of deadmau5 for sometime and finally decided to check this album out. I gotta admit that this album is fairly good with the right amount of instrumentals and vocals in the mix. "Raise Your Weapon (featuring Greta Svabo Bech)" is my favorite track, but "I Said (featuring Chris Lake & Michael Woods)", "Sofi Needs a Ladder (featuring Sofi)", and "One Trick Pony (featuring Sofi)" are also good. Overall, this is a commendable electronic music album. Expand
  13. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    Improving on the impressive For Lack of a Better name, Deadmau5 takes much of the same ideas that have established him in the emerging Progressive House community and makes them even better. With the abrasive "Some Chords", the funky "Animal Rights", and the epic "Raise Your Weapon" leading the way, 4x4=12 is a stellar album that shows exactly what this style of music can offer. Also,Improving on the impressive For Lack of a Better name, Deadmau5 takes much of the same ideas that have established him in the emerging Progressive House community and makes them even better. With the abrasive "Some Chords", the funky "Animal Rights", and the epic "Raise Your Weapon" leading the way, 4x4=12 is a stellar album that shows exactly what this style of music can offer. Also, since the tracks are obviously suited well for clubs and parties, the addition of a continuous mix of all the album's songs on the MP3 version of the album is just ingenious. Expand
  14. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    For shame that a masterpiece like this is graded so critically low! The first electronic album I heard and the album that indroduced and opened me up to such an amazing genre!
  15. Jun 24, 2014
    8
    This album sounds a little bit more agressive than the previous one. I think it is ok, but in overall this album is monotonusly in some short parts. Of course we can find great tracks (for example: Some Chords, A city in Florida or Cthulhu Sleeps) but Joel sometimes turned into **** dubstep. It is still good album but i hope deadmau5 will not go wrong path.

    Sry for mistakes, im not
    This album sounds a little bit more agressive than the previous one. I think it is ok, but in overall this album is monotonusly in some short parts. Of course we can find great tracks (for example: Some Chords, A city in Florida or Cthulhu Sleeps) but Joel sometimes turned into **** dubstep. It is still good album but i hope deadmau5 will not go wrong path.

    Sry for mistakes, im not english master...
    Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Feb 2, 2011
    80
    The title's maths may not add up, but he's onto a winning formula. [Feb. 2011, p. 115]
  2. 80
    He's not relying on anybody else out there to make something unique for him to sample; he's making them all himself. Joel Zimmerman only has to rely on deadmau5, and the party won't ever stop. And the mouse is far from dead.
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    73
    Still, his range is admirable and 4 × 4 appropriates just enough familiar tone to act as a mainstream dance sampler for the under-initiated.