Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. A work of exceptional songwriting, performance and production.
  2. A New Day at Midnight is not White Ladder part 2, but it does bear certain similarities, namely emotional, beautiful music matched with equally beautiful lyrics, and, of course David Gray's unmistakable voice.
  3. ''Midnight'''s only drawback is its rinky-dink production, which, while less distracting than on ''White Ladder,'' is woefully inappropriate for such delicate, heartfelt music.
  4. 80
    A dozen vivid and deeply personal songs.... Gray has made a record that anybody who cares about great songwriting should hear. [Dec 2002, p.130]
  5. So is it White Ladder II? In a word, "yes." [Nov 2002, p.94]
  6. His beautiful detachment makes these nondescript hooks -- so plain they'd be forgettable if sung by anyone else -- into something special.
  7. 80
    As a whole it lacks the unity of mood the characterised White Ladder... but there is much to love. [Dec 2002, p.106]
  8. 70
    Comes off likea rave-era update of Van Morrison's blue-eyed soul. [Feb 2003, p.138]
  9. While not much of a departure from the honed formula of 'White Ladder', much of 'A New Day At Midnight' opts to pare down that winning mix of gentle dance beats and piano even further, leaving Gray's gorgeous gutsy vocal to do more of the talking on his melancholy tales of love and loss.
  10. If you liked Gray before, you'll still like him now.
  11. Gray is smart enough to stick to a winning formula, making these dour but likable songs instantly recognizable as his own.
  12. 60
    The album merely washes pleasantly past, tickling the ear and delivering a few hummable refrains. There's nothing here to lift listeners the way White Ladder did. [#12, p.143]
  13. He sticks with simple acoustics and subtle string arrangements; however, A New Day at Midnight doesn't possess the heavy heart of White Ladder.
  14. 60
    A poor man's Aimee Mann. [Jan 2003, p.99]
  15. As uncharismatic as its creator, it's certainly boring, but no more so than anything Richard Ashcroft has come up with.
  16. 40
    He lets the technology overwhelm the proceedings and all too often it is used in service of forgettable, substandard melodies.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Dec 12, 2013
    7
    Some people said Gray attempted to make White Ladder II with this record but I don't think that's the case. A New Day At Midnight is one ofSome people said Gray attempted to make White Ladder II with this record but I don't think that's the case. A New Day At Midnight is one of David Gray's most upbeat records, especially when compared to this record's predecessor. There are plenty of nice singalong tunes present and it's an appealing listen, however it lacks the heart and soul of White Ladder. While the songs are decent, too often the songs are overproduced with too much going on in them, taking away from the more stripped down style he had previously employed to show off the strength of his song writing. While everything came together perfectly for Gray to make the excellent "White Ladder", "A New Day At Midnight" is more indicative of Gray's work in general, good but not quite brilliant. Full Review »
  2. buzz
    Apr 11, 2003
    8
    I think I own all of David Gray's CDs, expert, nooooo. The lyrics as always set him apart from the rest. His voice, wonderful, but, I think I own all of David Gray's CDs, expert, nooooo. The lyrics as always set him apart from the rest. His voice, wonderful, but, where is your accent that I have always loved to hear. I like his words, his music, and the sound. Even if this one isn't my favourite David Gray CD, David Gray is still my favourite singer song writer. Full Review »
  3. KarenS
    Mar 13, 2003
    10
    Where have you been all my life!! I saw/heard you first on the Saturday Early Show, & you are amazing. You did Other Side. I went straight Where have you been all my life!! I saw/heard you first on the Saturday Early Show, & you are amazing. You did Other Side. I went straight out & bought both your CDs. Now for the really funny part; I'm 58 yrs. old. Sober in AA 131/2 yrs. Your lyrics speak to me. Yes, you are amazing, across the generation gap...A New Day At Midnight...One Day At A Time Thank you David....thank you so very much...karen Full Review »