Absolution

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 306 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 306

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 6, 2011
    6
    While Absolution is not a bad record by any means, it exemplifies the 'rage against the machine' meets 'radiohead' criticisms. The album features plenty of good songs, but fails to find a footing and sounds disjointed at times. Still a solid effort with some great, climactic songs.
  2. DaveC
    Apr 15, 2004
    4
    Overblown, pretentious, samey and at times unlistenable, although there are some passable highlights, including the title track.
  3. MarkM
    May 22, 2004
    4
    Muse are to Radiohead what Creed is to Peral Jam, what Bud Light is to Guinness...
  4. AndyY
    May 9, 2006
    5
    Radiohead-lite, minus the abstract creativity.
  5. MarcoM
    Nov 15, 2005
    4
    Nothing new or interesting...
  6. PhilA
    Jan 30, 2005
    6
    Agree with Paul F. I have been a long time Muse fan, so I know my stuff. This album is just wrong - some of the tracks are downright boring and uninventive. Where is that bold and innovative Muse we came to love with Showbiz and OoS? + All the ingenious b-sides. I do thank them VERY VERY much for "Hysteria" though. That song is worthy of comparison with Bliss, musically - not lyrically.
  7. Dec 1, 2014
    6
    Absolution is one of those records that aims for grandiose but for the most part falls short. While "Absolution" is a very listenable and at times enjoyable record, at times Muse are just overly dramatic and it can get a bit trying. There are plenty of nice little hooks and lines on the record but the operatic vocals and apocalyptic lyrics take themselves a bit too seriously in places. ForAbsolution is one of those records that aims for grandiose but for the most part falls short. While "Absolution" is a very listenable and at times enjoyable record, at times Muse are just overly dramatic and it can get a bit trying. There are plenty of nice little hooks and lines on the record but the operatic vocals and apocalyptic lyrics take themselves a bit too seriously in places. For me, Muse records always have killer singles which bring their albums up a few notches - "Time is Running Out" a great example of this on "Absolution". Unfortunately the other singles from this album are pretty average but overall we are left with a solid, if not terribly exciting album. Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Filter
    90
    A massive concept album that is so gluttonously huge-sounding that it makes The Wall sound like a Sebadoh record. [#10, p.94]
  2. Despite the daunting Radiohead-colored cloud that hangs heavy over Muse, the band pushes the limits of its slick, pre-apocalyptic rock with a self-assured strut.
  3. Mojo
    30
    Pushes the trio's grandiose delusions onto new levels of interpretative-dancing, mirror-cracking excess. [Oct 2003, p.107]