• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Sep 27, 2005
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Los Angeles Times
    100
    Wilson delivers a knockout as she serves up enough of the rowdy tunes to keep the jukebox pumping most of the night — most powered by a lively mix of ringing guitars, spunky fiddles and powerful backbeat. [25 Sep 2005]
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    Sticks to the debut's ballads-plus-bar-anthems blueprint while revealing a broader range. [30 Sep 2005, p.91]
  3. Billboard
    90
    Beyond the bombast, Wilson has personality and soul to burn, and her impact on country music is going to be felt for many albums to come, starting here. [1 Oct 2005]
  4. At this point, Wilson looks like the most important new artist to hit country music since the Dixie Chicks.
  5. While Wilson's always refreshingly brash as a vocalist, the arrangements are only satisfactory.
  6. Blender
    80
    It's fed-up and proud at the same time, a kind of Desperate Housewives meets Trailer Fabulous. [Oct 2005, p.144]
  7. The New York Times
    70
    She's not as aggressive and unguarded as she was on her debut. Yet even toned down, her persona has the spunk that country needs.
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 6 out of 18
  1. Sep 1, 2015
    10
    Gretchen Wilson is awesome. She's so good and her debut album is one of the best country records I've ever heard. With songs like All JackedGretchen Wilson is awesome. She's so good and her debut album is one of the best country records I've ever heard. With songs like All Jacked Up and California Girls, Gretchen proves she still has it on this album! Full Review »
  2. PatrickD
    Jun 8, 2006
    6
    I loved "Here for the Party" despite 8 songs, but this was pretty much the same all through. I like #1 and #12. The rest mostly sound funny I loved "Here for the Party" despite 8 songs, but this was pretty much the same all through. I like #1 and #12. The rest mostly sound funny or the same. And "All Jacked Up" sounds like "Redneck Woman" at parts, but it's still good. Full Review »
  3. SarahJ
    Feb 4, 2006
    0
    This album is by far worse than her first one and should have an R rating on it.