All The Lost Souls

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Sep 18, 2007
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 86
  2. Negative: 27 out of 86

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StefanV
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    The best, most emotionally-charged album of 2007, and i listened to the one by Radiohead. Some o fhtis stuff is sheer genius (I Really Want You and Shine On) and some of the average stuff (Carry You Home and Give Me Some Love) is better than most songs you may hear on the radio. Blunt is very good at using his own life experiences in his songs - just listen to Same Mistake. This is a The best, most emotionally-charged album of 2007, and i listened to the one by Radiohead. Some o fhtis stuff is sheer genius (I Really Want You and Shine On) and some of the average stuff (Carry You Home and Give Me Some Love) is better than most songs you may hear on the radio. Blunt is very good at using his own life experiences in his songs - just listen to Same Mistake. This is a talent who isn't selling records, at least this album isn't. Meanwhile, every song off of Rhianna's terrible record is hitting #1. Yes, the state of music today is terrible, and James Blunt is one of the few bright spots. Expand
  2. Eric
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    James Blunt is an amazing talent. His music and lyrics are so good it gives me goosebumps. Blunt is real and honest and it comes through in his music.
  3. therobbie
    Sep 19, 2007
    7
    I don't think this album is as bad as you say... It has some strong moments and its quite good if you want some easy listening.
  4. DannyEight
    Sep 19, 2007
    8
    I still think this album goes better under the category of pop rather than rock and that he's done considerably well after such a great/annoying hit like You're Beautiful. My favorite song has to be I Really Want You.
  5. PatrickS
    Sep 19, 2007
    8
    A big improvement over his solid debut. He's getting better and this one should generate a few more hits. It's a much more consistent effort than Back To Bedlam and sounds a lot better too in terms of production and just the music itself. Yes he has a high pitched warbling but it works with the music he writes. Not exactly a rock album, more singer / songwriter pop rock than A big improvement over his solid debut. He's getting better and this one should generate a few more hits. It's a much more consistent effort than Back To Bedlam and sounds a lot better too in terms of production and just the music itself. Yes he has a high pitched warbling but it works with the music he writes. Not exactly a rock album, more singer / songwriter pop rock than anything. It's good, pick it up with you want something that sounds light and mellow and a bit on the emotional side. Expand
  6. KellieA.
    Sep 20, 2007
    9
    The first time I heard Beautiful, I had a hard time getting past Jimmy B's voice. It reminded me of Barry Gibb, and I am so past that. However, each time I listened to the song, I felt a little more connected to the sentiment. After hearing the story behind the song, I fell in love. A friend at work lent me Back to Bedlam, and that was it for me. I was completely taken with the The first time I heard Beautiful, I had a hard time getting past Jimmy B's voice. It reminded me of Barry Gibb, and I am so past that. However, each time I listened to the song, I felt a little more connected to the sentiment. After hearing the story behind the song, I fell in love. A friend at work lent me Back to Bedlam, and that was it for me. I was completely taken with the words, and then the voice started lending to the words. All the Lost Souls was everything I expected from a sophomore effort. It is intelligently written with catchy melodies. Most of all, if you have any feelings at all, there are many songs on here that most anyone can connect to on a personal level. It requires more than one listen. Expand
  7. SeanA.
    Sep 21, 2007
    9
    It is such a sad thing when people cannot identify with good music. If you know James Blunt, you should know that he served in the army, whcih is where he draws most of his inspirations from. All the lost souls, is an albyum for the men and women who died in battle. Tracks like "I'll take everything", "Annie", "Same Mistake", "Shine on" are songs of sadness, remdemption, and in my It is such a sad thing when people cannot identify with good music. If you know James Blunt, you should know that he served in the army, whcih is where he draws most of his inspirations from. All the lost souls, is an albyum for the men and women who died in battle. Tracks like "I'll take everything", "Annie", "Same Mistake", "Shine on" are songs of sadness, remdemption, and in my case cheerful and gives my life a meaning. All the lost souls, is the ultimate follow-up to his debut album. Expand
  8. MatthewP.
    Sep 21, 2007
    8
    This album was never going to reach the standards of Back to Bedlam but it isn't a bad attempt! I just think it is really sad that people are judging this album purely because mr blunt is a bit weird! These people are obviously NME readers and deserve nothing but to listen to babyshambles and wank over drugs! For chris c aswell, ryan adams one of the most important artists of our generation.
  9. JoelJ.
    Sep 22, 2007
    9
    Reminds me of some of the music from the 60's and 70's. A good thoughtful songwriter with simple but good backup from his band. A nice change of pace.
  10. Cult
    Sep 22, 2007
    8
    A worthy sophomore effort. For fans of his voice and style, nothing on this album will disappoint. The songs are catchy, his emotive vocal style still catches the ear, and the lyrics are striking and personal.
  11. MatthewT.
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    James is one of the best writers of music I've every listened to, he is amazing, I didn't think he'd ever compete to Back to Bedlam.. but what do you know.. he proved himself!
  12. SuziZ.
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    James Blunt - top again. great album. wonderful voice that you never get tired to listen to.
  13. AndrewV.
    Sep 26, 2007
    8
    I need to listen to it more for a few songs to catch on for me. However, I really like the album even after a few listens. The people giving it 0, either give a valid reason other than "it sucks" or get lost. Sorry to sound harsh, but honestly some people like the way he sings and what he stands for. If you are going to talk about crappy music focus on Britney Spears, Paris Hilton and the I need to listen to it more for a few songs to catch on for me. However, I really like the album even after a few listens. The people giving it 0, either give a valid reason other than "it sucks" or get lost. Sorry to sound harsh, but honestly some people like the way he sings and what he stands for. If you are going to talk about crappy music focus on Britney Spears, Paris Hilton and the like who are truly giving music a bad name. Expand
  14. PeterK.
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    The lyrics are repetitive and simplistic, but the music is good. I understand his harsh critics points of view, but as I'm not usually interested in pop music I lack the knowledge to judge from a genuinely critical position.
  15. stevenp.
    Sep 27, 2007
    9
    This record by james blunt blew me away... i really think he's touching on something special here. 2007 has brought a lot of bad records to the table (the reminder, panda bears' person pitch, friend opportunity) but this new effort by james blunt is a truly refreshing listen! i believe it will deservedly be held among the years best, and will be fondly remembered in the years to come.
  16. LauraL.
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    Love his music.
  17. Sandra
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    The guy is handsome, smart, writes most of his own songs, dates models, and is successful. There's a lot for men to envy with this guy -- and the reviews by men are almost universally dripping with malice and personal put-downs. I love this album as much as his first. Bet he sells a bundle of these CD despite the critics.
  18. thomy.
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    absolutely brilliant!!!!it touched me ,when i sat down to enjoy music on Saturday morning & i really loved it.Trust me its v.good & worth ur money. Blunt bashers will always hate him,but he is an icon!!
  19. JohnC.
    Oct 6, 2007
    9
    Seems like a lot of people don't like the person and are reviewing with that bias in mind. The album itself is great, its better than most of the things i've heard this year. Yes, the songs can be considered on the safe side but theres no throw away tracks or skits to make the cd longer. Give it a try.
  20. Laura
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    All that lost souls is PERFECT!
  21. GrantK.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    Does need a few listens, but an excellent album nonetheless.
  22. Michaels.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Just brilliant.
  23. gigigigi
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    good music.
  24. Zanfirb.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    great songs.
  25. QuangN.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    James, you rulez the soulful music !!!
  26. AWW.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    If you're in the mood to wind down. This album hits the spot. NOT a bad song in the group. Just really really have been enjoying it.
  27. BorisP.
    Dec 14, 2007
    8
    Very good album. We're waiting for the next one.
  28. CherylW.
    Dec 18, 2007
    9
    It is not as good as the first one, but the average is not bad at all. Excellent work for listeners. Like 1973, this is the best piece, but i am still waiting a piece as good as Goodbye my Lover.
  29. StarfishRizzi
    Dec 28, 2007
    8
    Can't understand why he gets so slated by the people so called 'in the know'. Jealousy perhaps? If you don't like the music or his voice, that's your right. But to disparage his composing abilities and his musicality is like saying the Mona Lisa is crap because you don't like her dress! It's a good album. Sometimes I feel his lyrics fit the music rather Can't understand why he gets so slated by the people so called 'in the know'. Jealousy perhaps? If you don't like the music or his voice, that's your right. But to disparage his composing abilities and his musicality is like saying the Mona Lisa is crap because you don't like her dress! It's a good album. Sometimes I feel his lyrics fit the music rather than express something but basically I like it. Expand
  30. MichaeltheArchangel
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    Flipping haunting, Bloke!
  31. CarmelC
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    Awwh its a heartfelt cd that I am sure was started with great passion hopefully his passion and depth will continue I am sure the 3rd cd will be fab as well. James you're far too hard on yourself, you're by no means a 0 its 10 all the way luv.
  32. t_tmiaokenix
    Apr 4, 2008
    8
    Nothing to complain much.
  33. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    The start off is brilliant and goes up to the 5th track then there is sharp fall down in the tracks 6 and 7.................the ending is perfect i don't know why but i liked that song very much... :)
  34. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    The best album I've heard in my life.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Here's a set that suggests rock has got its head screwed on straight again, that the path to real feelings need not necessarily be led by Norah Jones.
  2. He shows the abandon and confidence of a long-term artist, not just a one-hit wonder.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Lost improves on the first disc at least five times over, partly because its starker focus might really take you back to...well, certainly not a club, but maybe an AM radio-equipped kid's bedroom circa 1973. [21 Sep 20007, p.80]