Amnesiac

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2001
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 429 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 429

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nick
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    You and Whose Army is one of the best songs written (not to mention my personal favourite I Might Be Wrong). The flow of this album also contributes to its overall brilliance.
  2. SethA
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    This will always be my favorite Radiohead album. I know it's very easy to misunderstand, but I also think it's some of the most beautiful and haunting music I've ever heard, even the tracks that everyone seems to think should have been left out (Revolving Door, Spinning Plates, Hunting Bears). I think they all add to the mania that the band was attempting to display. This will always be my favorite Radiohead album. I know it's very easy to misunderstand, but I also think it's some of the most beautiful and haunting music I've ever heard, even the tracks that everyone seems to think should have been left out (Revolving Door, Spinning Plates, Hunting Bears). I think they all add to the mania that the band was attempting to display. It's a little crazy...but it's also Radiohead, so that should be expected. Expand
  3. Joe
    Aug 11, 2001
    9
    More beautiful artwork. They actually challange current pop thought regarding the direction of music.
  4. RyanT.
    Jul 24, 2002
    9
    While this album could be called Kid B. It has amazing experimental music that may not be a new concept for the band but they pull it off. Highlights include Pyramid Song, I Might Be Wrong, and Life In A Glasshouse.
  5. Oligami
    May 20, 2007
    9
    Mostly derivative, overlong, exceedingly strange and, well, perfect. Listening to this is... like nothing else. How do they do it?
  6. Apr 3, 2012
    7
    I've always thought Amnesiac was a bit of a hit and miss album by Radiohead. Some tracks really stand out and show just how brilliant Radiohead is, and other tracks lack that brilliance. It's nevertheless a solid album but it's no where near Radiohead's best work. B
  7. Jun 2, 2011
    9
    An incredibly great sequel to Kid A; it should not at all be considered the "after thought" of Kid A. Some of my favorite Radiohead songs are on the album. Knives Out is my favorite from the record, but realize that the rest of the album is just a hair behind it. Definitely a buy.
  8. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    It amazes me how low the scores are for Radiohead albums. Radiohead have some of the most amazing, mind opening music in the world, just listen to pyramid song on this album when you need to think out of the box, and you will see why. It's seven eight timing is unusual and unpredictable which takes the casual listener out of it's comfort zone.

    As with all Radiohead albums, the whole is
    It amazes me how low the scores are for Radiohead albums. Radiohead have some of the most amazing, mind opening music in the world, just listen to pyramid song on this album when you need to think out of the box, and you will see why. It's seven eight timing is unusual and unpredictable which takes the casual listener out of it's comfort zone.

    As with all Radiohead albums, the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. Its clear its not for everyone though, just by some of these reviews. Try hard and you wont be disappointed.
    Expand
  9. May 12, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a great album. Some of the songs were weird gibberish but most of it was melodic heaven. "You And Whose Army?" was most likely my favorite... at the beginning it was mostly gibberish but it got better and better. Expand
  10. Feb 26, 2015
    7
    Cold, dark, moody, mysterious, sometimes weird and pretty experimental sound. Combines alternative pop and electronic, giving interesting results. Definitely worth a listen.
  11. jamesw
    May 20, 2007
    10
    brilliant
  12. GarethS
    Apr 17, 2006
    10
    It is obvious that reviewers listening to "a record of B sides" have little comprehension of what is truely interesting and intuitive music. I've never heard of a B side anywhere near as listenable to as radioheads work on amnesiac. A genuinly true form of contemporary music whence a pop/rock form, populally listenable to by the general public has been twisted into much more complex It is obvious that reviewers listening to "a record of B sides" have little comprehension of what is truely interesting and intuitive music. I've never heard of a B side anywhere near as listenable to as radioheads work on amnesiac. A genuinly true form of contemporary music whence a pop/rock form, populally listenable to by the general public has been twisted into much more complex architectures drawing on techniques from many influences classical and rock. Sufices to say that this music has not been writen purely to make money off of a niche market of people looking for wacky-wierdness like some so called classically experimental artists. Radiohead transverse the development of pink-folyd in reverse, releasing their "dark side of the moon" in "ok computer" and moving into experimentation and electronics. This album shows a true love of music for music's sake. Expand
  13. ErikH
    Sep 9, 2007
    7
    Kid A was brilliant, but Amnesiac is simply above-average. There are very few songs to fall in love with (if any) and it gets old after a certain number of listens rather than steadily growing on you. Easily the band's worst album (other than the rock-by-numbers Pablo Honey).
  14. PaulW
    Jun 7, 2005
    9
    It could be their worst album but no-one cares when its so damn amazing!
  15. HeathJ.
    Feb 27, 2002
    9
    Mark K almost got it right - get rid of a few crap songs from Kid A and Amnesiac, put the good ones together and you not only have Radioheads best album but the best album by any band....ever!!!
  16. RonG
    Aug 17, 2006
    8
    A lot of the songs are stunning, in particular Pyramid Song, Knives Out and Life in a Glasshouse, but once again I feel that a few of the songs(as with Kid A), you probably had to be there when the band made it to get them properly, and I guess very few people were (Like Spinning Plates, Revolving Doors)
  17. Jul 31, 2017
    8
    this is probably Radioheads most weird record to this date and it shows in song like this version of morning bell is haunting in this version and the beautiful and two of the most dramatic in the Radiohead discography being pyramid song and you and whose army which are two of the best songs on the album, There's the intro Packt like sardines in a crushd tin box which is a good openingthis is probably Radioheads most weird record to this date and it shows in song like this version of morning bell is haunting in this version and the beautiful and two of the most dramatic in the Radiohead discography being pyramid song and you and whose army which are two of the best songs on the album, There's the intro Packt like sardines in a crushd tin box which is a good opening track and there's the closing track which is life in glass house which is a great way to close this album but the problem with this album is that it can get really dodgy and obscure with the track pulk/pull revolving doors and hunting bears which are nothing but interlude detours that are really boring, and track listing is really not the best with pyramid song being before Pulk/revolving which i think that pyramid song and you and whose army should of been in the second half of the record because the first half show more electronic elements and the tracks should of slowly start getting more and more organic with the instrumentation thats what i thought this album should of done but overall its a great album Expand
  18. KellyW
    Apr 30, 2005
    10
    Don't know what all this criticism is about. I really love this record. Only flaw is the poor tracklisting that doesn't flow from song to song.
  19. jwha
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    radiohead rules.
  20. ArthurL
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    I'm not interested in what critics have to say. I used to be a radiohead listener years ago and had long forgottn about them. I were prejudiced against their later creations but this album is too good to say anything negative about. I'm blown.
  21. StacyH
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    By far the most deep and dark record of Radiohead's. The album's opening tracks are just great, Kives Out is beautiful, and Hunting Bears is surreal.
  22. NE
    Jun 17, 2007
    9
    Radiohead's worst album was Pablo Honey. This, as Kid A's little brother, is only weaker because it has filler (Pull/Pulk Revolving Doors, Hunting Bears). The rest is incredibly amazing.
  23. RyanJ
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    One of the most amazing albums ever made. Pyramid Song will continue to haunt for decades.
  24. BobR
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    don't overlook this album! And yes, You and Whose Army is awesome.
  25. MarkK.
    Nov 30, 2001
    9
    Take the best tracks from Kid A and Amnsesiac and you have Radiohead's best album.
  26. marvnr
    Mar 14, 2004
    9
    Andrei Petrov makes abstract, expressionistic art that borders on impressionism. Radiohead's Amnesiac is like it--both are utterly amazing.
  27. KeithE
    Apr 30, 2004
    8
    Obviously the people who rated this CD with negative feedback missed the whole point of the albums. Watch the Radiohead film by Grant Gee, and listen very carefully to the dialogue. Anyways, still a brilliant album, takes a few listens, thats why I gave it an 8. Anyone who calls themselves a Radiohead fan will accept the fact that the band wants to be more experimental and not criticize Obviously the people who rated this CD with negative feedback missed the whole point of the albums. Watch the Radiohead film by Grant Gee, and listen very carefully to the dialogue. Anyways, still a brilliant album, takes a few listens, thats why I gave it an 8. Anyone who calls themselves a Radiohead fan will accept the fact that the band wants to be more experimental and not criticize them for trying something new. Thats how music evolves, I would hate to have to listen to the same dull shit all the time! So keep your negative comments to yourself. Constructive criticism works well too, instead of bashing one of the greatest bands of all time, pick up a pencil and write better music!! Good luck to you! Expand
  28. MichaelA
    May 27, 2004
    10
    Only became interested in Radiohead with 'Kid A'. This is even better, still 'Hail to the thief' is their best yet. Reminds me a bit of Neu!, maybe more like Faust, even!
  29. AaronR
    Jul 23, 2004
    10
    Simply the best album I have heard. Everybody who thinks otherwise needs to listen to it under the assumption that it will be good; not under the assumption that it will be shite.
  30. cwilson
    Feb 15, 2005
    10
    Radiohead is one of the best bands ever. They're very experimental, and succeed in what they attempt musically. The songs that drew me in were the ones I first saw the videos to, "Pyramid Song" and "Knives Out". Thom Yorke's gorgeous voice croons out these songs, giving me chills everytime. Amnesiac is one of the best, unique, bohemian albums I've ever had the pleasure to hear.
  31. JR
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    This album is by no means Kid A, but is still an experimental beast. Kid A featured 10 songs that, flowing meliflously from one to the other, acted as one complete masterpiece. However, Amnesiac may lack this flow, but it is still an awesome piece of work in which pretty much every single song is excellent. As an album, it falls short of the ultimate mind-blowing experience that is Kid A; This album is by no means Kid A, but is still an experimental beast. Kid A featured 10 songs that, flowing meliflously from one to the other, acted as one complete masterpiece. However, Amnesiac may lack this flow, but it is still an awesome piece of work in which pretty much every single song is excellent. As an album, it falls short of the ultimate mind-blowing experience that is Kid A; but this inferiority shouldn't create it's dismissal - it is a brilliant piece of work that deserves no less than a mountain of credit. Expand
  32. dannyb
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    This was my first Radio Head cd I gave a chance to since Pueblo Honey. And it blew me away. The music is so disjunct in many ways, but it works. These guys are a definite talent. This cd is mixed well too -- with all the electronic elements. Great, Great. real good stuff
  33. EdH
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    An unfairly overlooked album. Had it not been approached on the same terms as Kid A, people would have discovered a very different record, as strong and creative as any Radiohead have put out.
  34. SeanP.
    Mar 10, 2007
    9
    Radiohead's worst studio album. Which just goes to show how great this band is.
  35. MaxM
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    I like every song on this album except for the new version of Morning Bells.
  36. OK
    Apr 29, 2002
    9
    Um...enough with the backlash, because it doesn't make you hip. Radiohead is a collection of incredible musicians fronted by one incredible songwriter, and this album contains more memorable moments than the entire history of modern cock rock. Great stuff, if a little less interesting than Kid A. Plus, their live show will knock your socks off.
  37. rudy
    Aug 22, 2002
    9
    i've been a fan of radiohead since the drill days and they have come a long way. To put in a couple of words amnesiac is a great jazzy/blues album. I would call it their mellow/chilling out album. Knives Out is probably the closet things to any "bends" material. Some songs, like Pulk/Pull, morning bells and hunting bears are pretty much b-sides of kid A but ignore those and you have i've been a fan of radiohead since the drill days and they have come a long way. To put in a couple of words amnesiac is a great jazzy/blues album. I would call it their mellow/chilling out album. Knives Out is probably the closet things to any "bends" material. Some songs, like Pulk/Pull, morning bells and hunting bears are pretty much b-sides of kid A but ignore those and you have an awesome album. Expand
  38. SofiaC.
    Aug 29, 2002
    9
    Despite all the possible open or close doors, this album make us look in..and sometimes is not pretty... other times is the most beautiful thing. Great Album!
  39. RG
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    after 2 yrs of listening to this i can finally say tihs is equally as good of a record radiohead have put out as others. there is no reason to approach this as a b side album. yes it came out from the same recording session as kid a but it is a completely different album with a completely diff concept. whereas kid was a call to arms of what is coming, amnesiac is the deepest radiohead after 2 yrs of listening to this i can finally say tihs is equally as good of a record radiohead have put out as others. there is no reason to approach this as a b side album. yes it came out from the same recording session as kid a but it is a completely different album with a completely diff concept. whereas kid was a call to arms of what is coming, amnesiac is the deepest radiohead have gotten inside their own souls with this effort to grasp alienation caused by everythng around us. granted thats been their working theme this record has a sublime feeling of just giving up after trying and expecting. the sequencing is almost perfect and the studio wizardry works in everyway to heighten the moods. the immidiacy of the music is somehow fluid and eternal with some haunting concepts of waiting for life to happen, loosing ones past, escaping through doors that are traps, becoming commotodies, inhumanity...the very special morning bells redone is just hauting and tragic. o and on and on...great record Expand
  40. RobbieC
    Dec 9, 2007
    9
    A beautiful album. Kid A's retarded kid sibling... so strange.. so amazing.
  41. WillH
    Dec 17, 2004
    9
    The cd maintains the Kid A atmosphere while bringing in a more constructed feel. Songs such a "pyramid song" and "dollars and cents" give that lost at sea feel, where as songs such a "knives out" and "i might be wrong" give a OkComputer esque feel. The album is suporb, but now matter what any one says pull/upkj revolving doors doesn't deserve five minutes of play, and interesting The cd maintains the Kid A atmosphere while bringing in a more constructed feel. Songs such a "pyramid song" and "dollars and cents" give that lost at sea feel, where as songs such a "knives out" and "i might be wrong" give a OkComputer esque feel. The album is suporb, but now matter what any one says pull/upkj revolving doors doesn't deserve five minutes of play, and interesting aspect but it should have been 2 minute interval at the most, while i apraciate Radioheads attempts at new things, this wasn't a wise choice, "Fitter Happier" deserves to stay on OkComputer because it creates the albums atmospehere, this track however, does not. Expand
  42. Aug 20, 2010
    8
    Not Radiohead's finest work by any means. It is far less an album and more a collection of songs than it's predecessor, Kid A. But by far the greatest accomplishment of this album is to open the door to the new Radiohead sound which is heard in its complete debut in successor, Hail to the Thief. It incorporates much more jazz which is a staple ingridient in the Radiohead melting pot ofNot Radiohead's finest work by any means. It is far less an album and more a collection of songs than it's predecessor, Kid A. But by far the greatest accomplishment of this album is to open the door to the new Radiohead sound which is heard in its complete debut in successor, Hail to the Thief. It incorporates much more jazz which is a staple ingridient in the Radiohead melting pot of sounds. Not Radioheads best, but it spawned one of their great anthems, Pyramid Song, and the dark blues prophet of death to the economy and everything that has a well being derived from it, Dollars & Cents, you also hear I Will before its release on Hail to the Thief in backwards form in Like Spinning Plates. All and all, a sub-amazing but above-good album is what you hear in Amnesiac. And let's remember, it can't be easy to follow up arguably the best album of the decade. Expand
  43. Sep 5, 2010
    9
    I first bought this album in 2001, and aside from Pyramid song (which is probably my favorite radiohead song) I thought of it as being much weaker than Kid A. What I really didn't like initially was the second version of Morning Bell, and how the record as a whole was an uncomfortable listen. This is a record that took several attempts over a number of years to appreciate as a full pieceI first bought this album in 2001, and aside from Pyramid song (which is probably my favorite radiohead song) I thought of it as being much weaker than Kid A. What I really didn't like initially was the second version of Morning Bell, and how the record as a whole was an uncomfortable listen. This is a record that took several attempts over a number of years to appreciate as a full piece of music. Now I love it of course, but I still like Kid A, OKC, and HTTT better. It's funny how time can change your perception of things. Along with Pyramid Song, Knives Out will really melt your face off. (They both have great music videos, too!) Expand
  44. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    As great as Kid A is, I belive Thom and Company stepped it up with their follow-up. Rivaling In Rainbows for mesmerizingly beautiful songs, Amnesiac packs quite a punch and, as most Radiohead albums, only improves with each listen.
  45. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    Amnesiac is quite possibly Radiohead's most varied album. Mixing electronics, eerie piano, beats, strings, powerful piano and flowing jazz. What does this mean? Two things. First: this album makes Radiohead. It provides a sweeping view of their ever changing styles. Second: This does, in a way, seem like Radiohead's messiest album. This may be the reason it tends to be ignored. Musically,Amnesiac is quite possibly Radiohead's most varied album. Mixing electronics, eerie piano, beats, strings, powerful piano and flowing jazz. What does this mean? Two things. First: this album makes Radiohead. It provides a sweeping view of their ever changing styles. Second: This does, in a way, seem like Radiohead's messiest album. This may be the reason it tends to be ignored. Musically, though, it's one of their best. Though all of their albums tend to come under those words. Expand
  46. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    unlike many of the masses of of the ok computer/bends old schoolers, and the new school In rainbows men, i personally like to think this as their personal best. NO way a high water mark (as this is Radiohead the constant innovators of great music) but this is the album that sort of has the perefect amount of emotion and experimental environments that makes me always want to place this cdunlike many of the masses of of the ok computer/bends old schoolers, and the new school In rainbows men, i personally like to think this as their personal best. NO way a high water mark (as this is Radiohead the constant innovators of great music) but this is the album that sort of has the perefect amount of emotion and experimental environments that makes me always want to place this cd in my car or walk around with in my ipod. My personal favorite Radiohead song pyramid song is prehaps one of the darkest brooding pieces. Complete with Yorke's Dark, possibly suicidal lyrics and extremely well done piano playing with a nervous string arrangement in the background . but it is prehpas the one song even by title you know your'e gonna cry over or have at least gained some heart aching emotion listening to. But every songs worth listening to. Buy this, and while you're at it buy its b sides too you cannot go wrong with any of the outtakes Expand
  47. Jul 20, 2017
    9
    Just sitting & listening to this again...if this is the worst album Radiohead made since Pablo Honey then they must be the greatest band ever. 3 so-so tracks, 8 brilliant tracks. The scraps falling off the Radiohead table are amazing.
  48. May 18, 2011
    10
    my favourite of theirs. i find Kid A to just be a mere prelude to this. this seems more developed to me.
    backwards i know, but i do not understand why some consider it below their other albums.
    its certainly not b-sides btw, its equal on par with kid a- even amnesiac's own b-sides are pretty damn good!
  49. Jun 4, 2011
    7
    The back half of the album is so-so by Radiohead standards, but Pyramid Song is the best thing they have ever done as a band.
  50. Mar 4, 2012
    8
    The best Radiohead album? Of couse not, but regardless is still as beautiful as any record they produce will be. Continuing with the Kid A trend, Amnesiac arguably has even weirder tracks (...Revolving doors, Like Spinning Plates) that take some getting used to, but are often worth it. Admittedly, there are a few duff tracks (Hunting bears and Dollars and Cents are pretty dull), but theseThe best Radiohead album? Of couse not, but regardless is still as beautiful as any record they produce will be. Continuing with the Kid A trend, Amnesiac arguably has even weirder tracks (...Revolving doors, Like Spinning Plates) that take some getting used to, but are often worth it. Admittedly, there are a few duff tracks (Hunting bears and Dollars and Cents are pretty dull), but these can merely be treated as interludes in an album that contains songs such as Pyramid song, You and Whose Army, Life in a Glasshouse and a much superior version of Morning Bell.

    Essential listening for any Radiohead fan.
    Expand
  51. Jul 12, 2011
    10
    A work of art, revealing an obscene darkness. I was pleased to hear more piano on this record than we've had in previous Radiohead albums, as well as a wider use of instruments. You and Whose Army is by far the best track on this album for the piano that comes shooting in from nowhere and makes the song transcend. Other particularly commendable tracks include Push/Pulk Revolving Doors (itsA work of art, revealing an obscene darkness. I was pleased to hear more piano on this record than we've had in previous Radiohead albums, as well as a wider use of instruments. You and Whose Army is by far the best track on this album for the piano that comes shooting in from nowhere and makes the song transcend. Other particularly commendable tracks include Push/Pulk Revolving Doors (its incredible atmosphere and haunting lyrics bewildre), I might be wrong (for one of the nastiest riffs I've ever heard) and Morning Bell Amnesiac (for the allusion that people seem to miss: This man has forgotten that he has already made this track, and is now making it again but in a different state of mind.) Expand
  52. j30
    Sep 21, 2011
    8
    Solid follow-up to the masterpiece Kid A. Pyramid Song, I Might Be Wrong, and You and Whose Army rank among their best work.
  53. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    Amazingly brilliant, horribly underated.
  54. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    Kid A's follow up/ sister album. Recorded at the same time as Kid A and relased half a year later - Amnesiac is quite a different album and although it would have been pretty cool, you can understand why it wasn't released with Kid A as part of a double album. Both records are very much individual pieces of work. While still on the experimental side, Amnesiac is more instant andKid A's follow up/ sister album. Recorded at the same time as Kid A and relased half a year later - Amnesiac is quite a different album and although it would have been pretty cool, you can understand why it wasn't released with Kid A as part of a double album. Both records are very much individual pieces of work. While still on the experimental side, Amnesiac is more instant and accessible. The first 8 songs are brilliant. I think it tapers off ever so slightly towards the end - although a good song, "Like Spinning Plates" sounds much better live as heard on the "I Might be Wrong" record, Hunting Bears is unnecessary and Life in a Glass House is good. Really good stuff overall from a great, great band. Expand
  55. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Another magnificent job by the "most popular rock band in the world." In all honesty, though, this album is not perfect. It's the album that I'm least likely to listen to for enjoyment. But what makes this album fantastic is the incredible musical content, melodic and sometimes catchy riffs with electronic effects here and there. The only way I would give all the songs on this a perfectAnother magnificent job by the "most popular rock band in the world." In all honesty, though, this album is not perfect. It's the album that I'm least likely to listen to for enjoyment. But what makes this album fantastic is the incredible musical content, melodic and sometimes catchy riffs with electronic effects here and there. The only way I would give all the songs on this a perfect score is if it was released with Kid A as a double album. Plus, this album has awesome B-sides. Expand
  56. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    I did not expect anything resembling the classic OK Computer. I expected a continuation of Kid A. And as expected, plus a phenomenal job, travel in overlapping sounds, through the participation of gorgeous jazz. Bright continued.
  57. May 14, 2012
    10
    this one caught me off guard back in the day, but it's a real beauty. for those that can't appreciate this, i've got to say that if a band doesn't go to that experimental place, the diamonds that come out afterwards just wouldn't happen (in rainbows, anyone?).
  58. Apr 12, 2013
    8
    'Amnesiac' is by far the best Radiohead album: more cohesive and various than its twin 'Kid A'. 'Life in a Glasshouse' is probably the greatest song they ever recorded.
  59. Nov 17, 2014
    10
    How could they follow up the brilliance and experimentation of Kid A? With more. But this album is far from a B-side collection from Kid A. Amnesiac has it's own feel, it's own place in the discography of the greatest band ever formed.
  60. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    I am not much of a music expert in general, but I've heard Amnesiac enough to know it's an example of quality music. Especially, the breathtaking, mind-blowing I Might Be Wrong proves that Radiohead could never make a bad album. I would choose it over Pablo Honey and its hit-track Creep any time (not that i don't like it, I love pablo honey), just for I Might Be Wrong...
  61. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    Although it goes against popular opinion, I firmly believe that Amnesiac is Radiohead's greatest album to date. A serious listen reveals that this is probably their most thoughtfully composed, meaningful and emotional album, with some of the most hauntingly brilliant and beautiful tracks they've ever released.
  62. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    This album continues Radiohead's style perfected in Kid A. Amnesic is nowhere near Kid A, but still does what the band does best. Many aspects of this album are different from the rest of their discography thematically and stylistically. Amnesic is dark and subtle which makes this album the most emotional Radiohead album. Even though Amnesiac stays quiet and subtle at times, it has someThis album continues Radiohead's style perfected in Kid A. Amnesic is nowhere near Kid A, but still does what the band does best. Many aspects of this album are different from the rest of their discography thematically and stylistically. Amnesic is dark and subtle which makes this album the most emotional Radiohead album. Even though Amnesiac stays quiet and subtle at times, it has some buildups that create quite an impact. Fear of hell is a theme possibly displayed in this album with songs such as "I might be wrong" and "pulk/pull revolving doors." The closer on this album "Life in a glass house" could not be more perfect and is my favorite Radiohead song. This album is out there, but has some of the best Radiohead moments. Expand
  63. May 10, 2016
    7
    Amnesiac is the beautiful soft flame of KID A. This album seems to be more the b-sides of the former rather than a fully realized concept, however it is quite an achievement. Download: Pyramid Song, Morning Bell/Amnesiac, Packt Like Sardines in a Crushd Tin Box.
  64. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    Amnesiac is my favorite record from Radiohead.
    It is not made of b-sides of Kid A. I repeat, to all of you that didn't get it yet, it is not made of b-sides of Kid A. To be true, it is a unique album, in the discography of Radiohead, but also in the history of music.
    Melodies are melancholic, sad, elegant, or inexistent. The voice of Yorke is at its edge. Amnesiac is amazing because it
    Amnesiac is my favorite record from Radiohead.
    It is not made of b-sides of Kid A. I repeat, to all of you that didn't get it yet, it is not made of b-sides of Kid A. To be true, it is a unique album, in the discography of Radiohead, but also in the history of music.
    Melodies are melancholic, sad, elegant, or inexistent. The voice of Yorke is at its edge.
    Amnesiac is amazing because it alternates absurd experimental tracks to more easy, guitar-driven ones.
    It's a masterpiece.
    Expand
  65. May 16, 2015
    7
    The follow up of Kid A, or Kid B, as many people like to call it, for me does not reach the level of its predecessor. Its an album where Radiohead push even more the boundaries set in Kid A, but there aren't songs that can actually match the same weirdness and at the same time greatness of tunes like Idioteque, National Anthem or Everything in Its Right Place. Some tracks actually manageThe follow up of Kid A, or Kid B, as many people like to call it, for me does not reach the level of its predecessor. Its an album where Radiohead push even more the boundaries set in Kid A, but there aren't songs that can actually match the same weirdness and at the same time greatness of tunes like Idioteque, National Anthem or Everything in Its Right Place. Some tracks actually manage to be more well crafted, Pyramid Song for example, but still, I feel like this is one of the weakest works of Radiohead in the 2000s. Expand
  66. May 30, 2016
    10
    This is my favorite album by radio-head. There is so many good songs from I might be wrong and pyramid song. And my favorite knives out is a great song and one of their best.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. "Amnesiac" deepens the mystery that Radiohead began with its curious, largely electronic 2000 release, "Kid A," and certainly won't satiate those awaiting the lauded band's supposed return to guitar-heavy epics.
  2. Either Yorke’s lyrics are better this time, or the comparative voluptuousness of the vocal performances make it easier to tune in, or we’ve finally grasped what he’s been getting at since abandoning OK Computer’s more straightforward man-vs-society musings.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    58
    By the sound of it, Radiohead have strayed off into the same territory Yes did over a quarter century ago -- and two pieces of marginalia in a row don't bode well for the outcome. [8 June 2001, p.72]