Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 95
    Another Day... slithers easily into the company of his greatest releases, with jaw-dropping melodies and flawless, Passengers-era production, creating a soundscape as ethereal as Another Green World. [#16, p.90]
  2. 91
    [A] cosmos-goosing masterwork. [Jul 2005, p.104]
  3. In a pop world where everything feels amped up, who could have imagined that this once-chilly music could sound so comforting. [17 June 2005, p.79]
  4. 80
    This is perhaps Eno's most personal record to date. [Jul 2005, p.102]
  5. The joy of hearing Eno's hushed, statesmanlike singing voice again is one thing, but the hymnal This and funky Under match anything in his canon.
  6. It is, like so many other pop albums, the kind of thing that grows on you and ferments into an incredible entity.
  7. A richly nuanced album, and eloquent in its restraint. [#257, p.57]
  8. Another Day on Earth is a more personal album from the ambient avatar, a recording of rare and meticulous maturity.
  9. The majority of the vocals are so tweaked and treated, morphed and modulated as to simply lose any sense of the man himself.
  10. A low-key but often lovely disc.
  11. Another Day is nowhere near as invested with ideas as Eno's name-making work, but its easy pleasures still rub and float away.
  12. Though various tracks meander ("A Long Way Down") or are just unlistenable ("How Many Worlds"), Eno demonstrates that he's the architect who built the house most electro geeks walk around in aimlessly.
  13. A fascinating look at planet Eno. [10 Jul 2005]
  14. Another Day on Earth is produced to within an inch of its life, with layers of intricate detail and the most ethereal synth washes imaginable.
  15. 60
    Exceedingly pleasant, if hardly groundbreaking. [Aug 2005, p.104]
  16. 60
    A record that encourages global consciousness shouldn't sound so isolated and chilly. [Aug 2005, p.110]
  17. Despite some affecting songs and intriguing production quirks, it lacks that kind of magic [of his 1970s albums]. [Jul 2005, p.113]
  18. Invisible melodies--sometimes too invisible--give shape to songs like wind billowing through curtains. [Oct/Nov 2005, p.143]
  19. While there’s no disputing the attractiveness of its well-polished recording... it’s patchy and... in places, disturbingly adult-contemporary.
  20. If lightweight, it is often pleasant and amusing, if not utterly engaging.
  21. Another Day On Earth is more blank than frank, a journey through a hollow land, more discreet than it needs to be. Imagine a recording in which every human error has been scrubbed, like coffee grounds off a formica counter.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    A beautifully produced album. I just wish it was longer. I love the way "And Then So Clear" builds. "This", "Under", and "Caught Between" are also among my favourites, though that list tends to change with each listen. Please sir, can I have more? Full Review »
  2. drovduek
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    Beautiful.
  3. StephenJ
    Aug 30, 2005
    8
    When you have created masterpieces like Before and After Science, Music For Films and Music for Airports, not to mention Apollo...well I did anyway), It's extremely difficult to continue to produce works of a similar stature that will please the critics and the fans.No artist working with sound or images can churn out 'perfect' pieces of work on demand. I7m sure Brian would love to sit down at his synthesiser and say..".and now I'm going to produce another masterpiece." It just doesn't work like that..the nature of things is that you have success ,failure and .."well, I nearly did it!" situations. So it's unreasonable for us to expect perfection just because it's Brian Eno. (and Jane, if when the time comes,as it surely will, for you to hobble around with your own zimmer frame, i wonder if you will be able to look back on your accomplishments in life and find anything as significant and creditable as Eno's recording catalogue? Well, it's just a thought! ) I always thought the best thing about Eno's music is that ( if you allow it to) it allows your mind to wander where it will. It suggests and creates possibilities of thought and feeling without shouting at you like most Pop mush these days, I for one am happy that I have the option to listen to this as opposed to the often tuneless and repetitive noise of most modern day artists. in this light, I think Another Day On Earth is quite wonderful, it doesn't try too hard, it just is.It's not the best Eno, but it doesn't have to be. It is good enough...and after a hard day's work, a good meal and a hot bath is a perfect antidote to the stresses and strains of the day. Good stuff! Full Review »