Astronaut

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Oct 12, 2004
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 63
  2. Negative: 2 out of 63

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LJDee
    Oct 15, 2004
    4
    This latest DD album is a failed attempt to rejuvenate the style of a band that has clearly run out of ideas. Recasting former band members has not done any magic for a band that stopped delivering quality music since 1993's "Wedding album".
  2. missshneak
    Oct 19, 2004
    5
    Songs 1-4 are delicious and worthy of the repeat button. Everything else is good to so-so... Pretty bland after song 4 unfortunately. Some moments make me shake my head wondering who let the "I find it in your mouth" lyrics or "do do dododo..." pass the cheezy detector (they still have those, don't they?).
  3. ShabarO
    Oct 21, 2004
    6
    It feels like this offering is uncomplete. The best mixes with the banalities. Yes they have succeeded in getting of some of the magic back but it looks like they can't keeping it up for long enough. Maybe something to do with age. Get some viagra for the next one! By the way my favorite tracks are in the latter part of the album. 6 for reminding me how old we are.
  4. BitBurn
    Oct 25, 2004
    6
    I was so happy when I heard Duran Duran was reforming nearly 2 years ago but now I'm a bit disappointed by the end result! This new album with the original line-up since 1985, kind of left me numb. It's not entirely bad it's just "ordinary". But then again, isn't this "80s-retro" era over yet? This new Duran-reunion album should've been released 3 years ago! I was so happy when I heard Duran Duran was reforming nearly 2 years ago but now I'm a bit disappointed by the end result! This new album with the original line-up since 1985, kind of left me numb. It's not entirely bad it's just "ordinary". But then again, isn't this "80s-retro" era over yet? This new Duran-reunion album should've been released 3 years ago! Nonetheless, a few songs does spark some cool memories and production is nearly flawless. Expand
  5. JesseS
    Oct 28, 2004
    5
    This is no where near the quality of the first 3 records with Andy & Roger, and about as good as most of the records without Andy & Roger. The songwriting is merely pleasant, always wispy, and very commercial--with the exception of the title track and "Point of No Return". Even if Ragged Tiger was too commercial, it had an overblown dramatic quality and safari eccentricity that was almost This is no where near the quality of the first 3 records with Andy & Roger, and about as good as most of the records without Andy & Roger. The songwriting is merely pleasant, always wispy, and very commercial--with the exception of the title track and "Point of No Return". Even if Ragged Tiger was too commercial, it had an overblown dramatic quality and safari eccentricity that was almost overwhelming and always fun. "Rio" was a heartfelt European-flavoured phenomenon which managed to simultaneously be bright and dark or excited and cooly bored. The debut record was sleek, tight, emotive, and....really quite perfect. But alas. The 2004 album "Astronaut" is yawn-inspiring; it has a been there-done that, let's-make-some-money-and pretend-to-be-excited by our boring melodies feel. Sorry, "Sunrise" is catchy but that doesn't make it good. I'll take Arcadia's "So Red the Rose" over this, 100 times over. Expand
  6. FredricsonD.
    Jul 17, 2007
    6
    Not a bad album, but not really a great album either. I think the novelty of the original line up reuniting to work together, beat out the substance of the album. I know they took a few years to complete the album. I think this may have contributed to the lack of luster for most of the songs. I mean, the songs don't seem to have any real energy or excitement, and are too polished, Not a bad album, but not really a great album either. I think the novelty of the original line up reuniting to work together, beat out the substance of the album. I know they took a few years to complete the album. I think this may have contributed to the lack of luster for most of the songs. I mean, the songs don't seem to have any real energy or excitement, and are too polished, and over-produced. I hope their next album is more fresh. Expand
  7. dales
    Sep 19, 2009
    5
    Half the songs are very catchy with groovin hooks thatll make you dance in true duran fashion. while the other half is just awful. a reunion album that should've been more impressive.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. 60
    It's sleek, groomed and genetically engineered to within an inch of sonic perfection, but there's very little that's memorable. [Nov 2004, p.120]
  2. Awesomely anodyne, breathtakingly boring and crushingly clichéd, â??Astronautâ? singularly fails to take flight.
  3. At a time when newer acts, from fringe to mainstream, are moving the band's old ideas forward, Duran Duran needs to do more than just mix in the blips and bleeps of contemporary dance music to prove it has something to contribute. [31 Oct 2004]