User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JO.
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    Album of the Year: 2007 and 1967
  2. ChinoP.
    May 29, 2007
    9
    Excellent album! One of the best I heard in the year so far. I really don't understand why some "critics" rate it so low.
  3. BrianK
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    Absolute blissful , energetic, prog heavy, catchy as hell goodness, I love Beta Band and these guys know their music, they are so unique and just explode with wonderful hooks and kick butt cool sound! Best CD of 2007!
  4. nobbyburton
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    wonderful!
  5. mmckenzie
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    dazzling!
  6. MarcusM
    Mar 22, 2007
    9
    Most reviews not on here are very good so it is a bit of a shame that those included are not so. I would rate the album as a good 9/10. The album has a nice happy/sad balance and each song gets better and better with each play. I was going to go into detail about each track but they all have thier own charm - don't listen to reviews - go out, buy a copy and decide for yourself; for Most reviews not on here are very good so it is a bit of a shame that those included are not so. I would rate the album as a good 9/10. The album has a nice happy/sad balance and each song gets better and better with each play. I was going to go into detail about each track but they all have thier own charm - don't listen to reviews - go out, buy a copy and decide for yourself; for me it is the only album in a long time that I can't stop listening to and find new 'bits' in tracks each time. Expand
  7. BigKev
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    Absolute Genius....The Aliens are something a bit special and this album ROX the place.....
  8. jamiem
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    a masterwork
  9. daveyr
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    awesome stuff
  10. dan
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    one of the 5 best albums for 2007
  11. Guido
    Apr 28, 2007
    9
    One of the best of the year so far
  12. ToddC
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    Brilliant. Best of 2007!!!
  13. M.GM.G
    Mar 18, 2008
    10
    If you can, next time you see your mum, hug her for giving birth to you. Make sure you have heard this record first and you won't be able to stop yourself. Still I dream of it Of that happy day When I can say I've fallen in love And it haunts me so Like a dream that's Somehow linked to all the stars above
  14. helenTroy
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    a heart-breaking work of stag genius
  15. Steve
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    Just like the Beta Band, this is full of innovative, catchy tunes that outshines much of what is being produced these days. At a time when music is so dull and unoriginal, this is indeed refreshing.
  16. BarryW
    Apr 27, 2007
    9
    Absolutely fantastic album, hopefully this will get the acclaim it deserves.
  17. javier
    May 24, 2007
    9
    Galaxies exploding just before your ears. Everything that is psychodelic form mid 60s to late 90s seems to fit on the astronomy for dogs catalog. Gondor Anderson seems to be the freakiest, dilletant and jam afected part of Beta Band. Mason, maybe, was the cerebral, conceptual and math oriented. (think about last efforts like hot spots or from heroes to zeroes. More technical and Galaxies exploding just before your ears. Everything that is psychodelic form mid 60s to late 90s seems to fit on the astronomy for dogs catalog. Gondor Anderson seems to be the freakiest, dilletant and jam afected part of Beta Band. Mason, maybe, was the cerebral, conceptual and math oriented. (think about last efforts like hot spots or from heroes to zeroes. More technical and calculated....they were good of course, but thats other story). Echoes of Love, Pink Floyd, Beach Boys, Primal Scream....Love and Rockets, maybe? Oh my God. And of course: Los amigos del Beta Bandidos. Only last song falls in the auto indulgence too long. But if you dont pee in your pants when you hear "She dont loves me any more" or dance like a rave-weirdo with "Rox"....boy, you need ear cottonettes, seriously. Expand
  18. MatthewC.
    May 27, 2007
    10
    After seeing Pitchfork's rating and review for this album I'm convinced that it's writers are a bunch of fucking idiots. How can you give this any less than a 10?
  19. DanielD
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    G - R - E - A - T
  20. May 23, 2013
    10
    Sick album. So much melody, so much heart. Every track is unique and builds and builds to a crescendo. A very uplifting album actually. One of my favourites. Beautiful vocal harmonies too. A real passion for music being displayed here.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. It’s a fun mess, and although heavily indebted to 60s psyche folk and acid rock, Astronomy For Dogs has a verve and colour that saves it from derivative pastiche.
  2. As with the Beta Band, exploratory self-indulgence is rather the point of the Aliens, but here it's firmly anchored by fantastic songs.
  3. 70
    Every one of these 11 songs is a work of wayward genius. [Apr 2007, p.106]