Avenged Sevenfold - Avenged Sevenfold
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 226 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 226

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    Jesus Christ!!! what the hell is up with all the haters and the **** score??? you people must be more interested in queer ass music like tao cruiz or justin beiber. man screw all of you who gave this a bad review!! this band and album must be too badass for you!
  2. Aug 19, 2010
    7
    While not a terrible album it certainly could have been a lot stronger. But these fanboys getting butt-hurt over the critics are just simply deluded.
  3. Sep 19, 2010
    5
    Like most A7X albums, it starts out strong then loses my attention five tracks in. This is definitely not an album I can put in and listen to all the way through without yawning. That said, there are some very catch tracks (Scream, Almost Easy) that'll be stuck in your head all day. Not strong throughout though.
  4. Nov 27, 2010
    9
    Definitely a different feel then there last album, Avenged has fully turned over the leaf they started with waking the fallen. With every album following Sounding the Seventh trumpet, Shadows has incorporated more and more melodic singing. Where Waking the Fallen was 50/50 and City of Evil was 75/25 this album has just about completely done away with the heavy screaming of songs past.Definitely a different feel then there last album, Avenged has fully turned over the leaf they started with waking the fallen. With every album following Sounding the Seventh trumpet, Shadows has incorporated more and more melodic singing. Where Waking the Fallen was 50/50 and City of Evil was 75/25 this album has just about completely done away with the heavy screaming of songs past. Not that that's a bad thing its just a different sound to hardcore fans. Many have trashed them for it but I see it as a brilliant career choice. Death Metal is a dying genre. You can call it selling out if you want but I actually think this gives them much more potential creativity and fan base. You cant fault them for enjoying playing in front of 10,000 fans compared to 200. Bands evolve over times and this album is proof A7X has as well. And the crazy solos and rediculous drumming is still there. Listen to the Afterlife solo and tell me thats not epic. Hate if you want but by incorporating a more catchy style to their still insanely talented skill probably added at least 3-4 chart topping albums to their future. Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    While not as good as the excellent City of Evil it's a great album in it's own right. the best songs on show here are "A Little Piece Of Heaven" "Scream" & "Afterlife" Not that the albums inconsistent. Definitely worth a listen
  6. Apr 13, 2011
    9
    The best band ever!There music must be heard by eveyone.A7X never dissapoints when they release there music.If you like rock or metal youll love A7X.Their guitar solos are really amazing.
  7. Jun 21, 2011
    6
    It's hard to hate Avenged Sevenfold but also hard to love it as well. The album deffinatly has its highlights and merits, including quality tunes such as Almost Easy, Afterlife and even the guilty pleasure A Little Piece of Heaven. But unfortunatly some tunes also feature some stagnant mediocrity with very little innovation. And anybody that isn't blinded by fanboyism can see that thisIt's hard to hate Avenged Sevenfold but also hard to love it as well. The album deffinatly has its highlights and merits, including quality tunes such as Almost Easy, Afterlife and even the guilty pleasure A Little Piece of Heaven. But unfortunatly some tunes also feature some stagnant mediocrity with very little innovation. And anybody that isn't blinded by fanboyism can see that this is just another run-of-the-mill and mainstream rock album. Enjoyable no the less. Expand
  8. Sep 3, 2011
    8
    This Self Titled album is an explosion of everything Avenged Sevenfold with Awesome Tracks Like Gunslinger Critical Acclaim Scream and Afterlife this is an album that Is worth Checking out for fans of the Hard Rock/Heavy Metal music. Amd in a Comment Unrelated to the music this album is somewhat overshadowed by The Newer Avenged Songs its Underrated but its defintalty worth listing to
  9. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    I honestly do not understand how anyone can rate this under 10! If you didn't enjoy this you have no soul!
    A little piece of heaven is definitely the best song of the century!
  10. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    These guys are, and always will be, very good. This album definitely did have a different style, but it was still very good. I can't see why you wouldn't like it. Avenged Sevenfold rocks.
  11. Apr 11, 2012
    8
    Yes, this album may suffer from some themes of corny unoriginality, such as religious and hellish overtones, but it is a rather good listen, with many emotional songs that are good to listen to, especially if you are going through some awful times. I also like the fact that Avenged Sevenfold are actually brave enough to experiment with so many of their songs. This one has many gems,Yes, this album may suffer from some themes of corny unoriginality, such as religious and hellish overtones, but it is a rather good listen, with many emotional songs that are good to listen to, especially if you are going through some awful times. I also like the fact that Avenged Sevenfold are actually brave enough to experiment with so many of their songs. This one has many gems, "Critical Acclaim" is a good song about the many different faults of America in politics, "Almost Easy" is a good song for grieving over loved ones, or over anything in general. "Scream" isn't particularly that good of song, but it does have a nice guitar solo in it; "Afterlife" and "Gunslinger" are two very emotional songs that are my album favorites on this album. "Unbound (The Wild Ride)" is a nice ballad that involves shrieking piano rifts mixed in with guitar solos. "Brompton Cocktail" and "Lost" are not really my most appreciated, but are okay listens. "A Little Piece Of Heaven" has a very absolutely stupid and pointless meaning, but you can appreciate it for M. Shadows' nice vocal work, and the Broadway instruments nicely mixed within, but it is a rather ugly and perverted listen. Finally, "Dear God" is a country style ballad that is actually a nice emotional song, because it is not a country song, it only has country elements in it. Overall, this album is a good one, because of Avenged Sevenfold's will to experiment. They do however stray from their own genre a little bit too much, which is the album's main flaw. Expand
  12. Apr 21, 2012
    9
    I don't understand the hate from the critics, this album is amazing. Yes it's a different sound from City of Evil, but it's a cleaner sound (City of Evil is a mess, I'm sorry but it's true. Just listen to Beast and the Harlot closely). Melodically, it's great and Synyster Gates/Zacky Vengeance's dueling guitars sound great. M. Shadows' vocals are better than ever and The Rev'sI don't understand the hate from the critics, this album is amazing. Yes it's a different sound from City of Evil, but it's a cleaner sound (City of Evil is a mess, I'm sorry but it's true. Just listen to Beast and the Harlot closely). Melodically, it's great and Synyster Gates/Zacky Vengeance's dueling guitars sound great. M. Shadows' vocals are better than ever and The Rev's passion-filled voice adds a new dimension to a7x's sound. Highlights of the album are anything the Rev sings on and the underrated song "Lost". Expand
  13. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    This may not be a good review if you're looking to see the ups and downs about this band, because I only have GREAT things to say about this band! I love this band so much, great lyrics, awesome instrumental and lovable guys! I love their older stuff, like the Sounding the Seventh Trumpet and Waking the Fallen album! I love Avenged Sevenfold!
  14. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Dear God, Almost Easy, A Little Piece of Heaven, Critical Acclaim, Scream. My favorite Avenged Sevenfold songs are all there! The other albums are very good, but none beats this one.
  15. Dec 25, 2012
    8
    Not the best A7X album, but still good. A bit less powerful then the previous albums though.
    Let's analize every track.

    Critical Acclaim
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. 60
    While straying from metal's path, they uphold its legacy of conservative politics. [Nov 2007, p.148]
  2. 50
    With tighter, mercifully shorter songs, like the Slayer-meets-slash trasher 'Almost Easy,' they're now defiling America's youth with more substance than style. [Nov 2007, p.114]
  3. Their anthem-filled fourth album's brazen swagger may prove irresistible. [Nov 2007, p.137]