User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 232 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 232

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ScottH.
    Jan 7, 2008
    0
    Despite my understanding of the general public's stupidity, I still can't believe there's a market for this kind of 'music.' This may be a form of head banging entertainment for some, but it has no critical appeal whatsoever. Those interested in 'hard & heavy' should be directed to those bands who've already covered the territory 20-35 years ago.
  2. SteveW.
    Jan 2, 2008
    3
    It's easily the most unoriginal, uninteresting and lazy album Avenged Sevenfold have put together yet. I didn't have high hopes for this album after watching the video for "Almost easy", which made me want to cry from stupidly out of context guitar solo, terrible lyrical content (I'm not insane, I'm not insane), and irritating vocal melody in the chorus. I didn't It's easily the most unoriginal, uninteresting and lazy album Avenged Sevenfold have put together yet. I didn't have high hopes for this album after watching the video for "Almost easy", which made me want to cry from stupidly out of context guitar solo, terrible lyrical content (I'm not insane, I'm not insane), and irritating vocal melody in the chorus. I didn't mind Critical Acclaim too much, even though I did think that Avenged Sevenfold political motives didn't make much sense and were just a grasp for lyrics. But then comes the album and I can honestly say I've never been so disappointed since I first saw Iron Maiden "bring me your daughter"(which was pretty terrible). My main complaint, being a guitarist, are the God awful solos thrown in about the album. It seems that vengence and Gates only have two preprogrammed modes for solos now, mind blowingly fast and slow harmonies. There was no sign of emotion, originality, natural progression, or a musical orgasm present throughout any of their solos in that album. On a whole, every song was as formulaic and uninteresting as the last, and i know they can do a lot better. Expand
  3. ChrisSR
    Nov 1, 2007
    0
    This is easily one of the worst bands to have ever graced the false labeling of being called "metal", besides bands like Linkin Park, Korn, and Limp Bizkit, They have no real technique, just scatter-brained attempts at creativity. If you want real metal, listen to Megadeth or Ozzy, not A7X.
  4. OldA7X...
    Nov 2, 2007
    0
    A7X Is s.it now... the sound is emo and poser... A7X have the money idea now...the metal of the band is losted WTF 4ever.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Nov 5, 2007
    0
    Whomever said that this has great guitar work obviously doesn't listen to that much metal or is in denial because of how much this cd fails on all sides. Most of the guitars in each song tend to follow the same riff as the song before it and just continue to repeat until the chorus then do it all over again. BORING
  6. Chris
    Oct 31, 2007
    0
    First and foremost, this score is for the reviews, particularly Blender and Spin. I don't know what ass blender has crawled up and died in, but last time I checked, metal wasn't very conservative at all. This album hardly fits that bill, except with "Critical Acclaim". I'm still trying to rack my brain to figure out what they mean. Both magazines that I read (Decibel and First and foremost, this score is for the reviews, particularly Blender and Spin. I don't know what ass blender has crawled up and died in, but last time I checked, metal wasn't very conservative at all. This album hardly fits that bill, except with "Critical Acclaim". I'm still trying to rack my brain to figure out what they mean. Both magazines that I read (Decibel and Terrorizer) are definitely more left-leaning, as are most real metal bands I know of. And what the hell is a "slash trasher", Spin? Secondly, the score is for metacritic, who keeps presenting reviews for bands 99% of the world hasn't heard of, then to make up for their lack of metal, presents shit like Avenged Sevenfold as a barometer for the state of metal. Yes, I know they have good guitarists, but half of the male population in America can play guitar so that doesn't make you a good band by any stretch of the imagination. If I see another mallcore moron wearing another ridiculous skull bat, I think I'll go insane. Avenged Sevenfold was a terrible metalcore band that decided to change their style to faux-metal, a la "Guns n' Roses", and is now cashing in on the results. Way to go, you are the kings of Hot Topic. Expand
  7. DominicC.
    Jun 26, 2008
    1
    The most unoriginal band who thinks they're all metal because they had one hit. So they think they can produce their own album? Haha yeah right. A7X's self titled album is basically the Jonas Brothers plus the make-up.
  8. john
    Dec 6, 2007
    0
    Sorry, i just don't understand how anyone can like this crap.....waste of money.
  9. J.K.
    Oct 31, 2007
    3
    A7X said before this album's release that they were not interested in creating a followup to either City of Evil or Waking the Fallen. They intended to delve into new territory. Somewhere along the line, they lost their way, fell back into the City of Evil mold and just threw a few pop, country, and various other influences scatter shot, into the album without any real purpose. The A7X said before this album's release that they were not interested in creating a followup to either City of Evil or Waking the Fallen. They intended to delve into new territory. Somewhere along the line, they lost their way, fell back into the City of Evil mold and just threw a few pop, country, and various other influences scatter shot, into the album without any real purpose. The skillful instrumentation is wasted on rehashes and it all plays out long enough to reveal that nothing was worth repeating in the first place. Those annoyed by Shadows' whining vocals from the previous album will be absolutely horrified with what they find here. Expand
  10. VinnieV
    Oct 31, 2007
    0
    Avenged Sevenfold may be one of the worst bands that I have heard in the past decade. Don't buy this or anything else from them.
  11. Johnny5
    Nov 12, 2007
    0
    My younger brother put this record on for me recently. Completely ball-less rock for kids who haven't heard Iron Maiden yet. Avoid this disc at all costs.
  12. BrennanL.
    Nov 16, 2007
    0
    Holy awful albums, Batman! I've always hated Avenged Sevenfold, but this is an amazingly bad step down. Its so corny and terrible, Critical Acclaim is one of the worst songs I've heard since I listened to the last ICP album. It seems to be a trend for bad bands to get even worse in 2007 (here's to you Atreyu).
  13. HexG.
    Nov 17, 2007
    0
    I tried to chew my own ears off. Pure Garbage.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. 60
    While straying from metal's path, they uphold its legacy of conservative politics. [Nov 2007, p.148]
  2. 50
    With tighter, mercifully shorter songs, like the Slayer-meets-slash trasher 'Almost Easy,' they're now defiling America's youth with more substance than style. [Nov 2007, p.114]
  3. Their anthem-filled fourth album's brazen swagger may prove irresistible. [Nov 2007, p.137]