Bad Blood - Bastille
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    80
    The heightened sense of immediacy is hard to keep up, but Bastille does it remarkably well, resulting in a debut that’s as infectious as it is dramatically powerful.
  2. Mar 1, 2013
    80
    Bad Blood is a really gratifying debut that feels like a solution.
  3. Mar 1, 2013
    80
    The beautiful part about Bad Blood is that it is both entirely predictable yet completely disarming.
  4. Mar 1, 2013
    80
    The record is overweight with memorable tunes, epic and intimate at the same time.
  5. For everything Smith lacks in wordsmithing, his bandmates make up for in straight up dramatic songwriting.
  6. 60
    Its repertoire of tricks--piano and falsetto sob-rock, yodel-along backing vocals, hands-in-the-air breakdowns--is entirely predictable, but generally redeemed by strong, surging melodies.
  7. Mar 1, 2013
    60
    Sometimes you are left wishing that the songs could be left to breathe a little more for themselves.
  8. 50
    There’s nothing inherently wrong with this too-many-feelings, heart-on-your-sleeve approach; it’s just that, played out over the course of an entire album (or on the airwaves, over the course of several years), the whole thing starts to feel a bit contrived.
  9. All this greedy grasping means the London newcomers can’t really get a firm grip on anything, meaning Bad Blood comes out with about as much identity as a Facebook commenter without a profile picture.
  10. Jul 25, 2013
    40
    Lyrics are corny and sometimes funny.
  11. Mar 11, 2013
    40
    Bad Blood feels strangely anemic.[Apr 2013, p.95]
  12. Mar 7, 2013
    40
    There's occasional unintentional amusement in the lyrics.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Why do people hate this album!? I love it. I especially love "Pompeii". I can't stop listening to that song. There must be something wrong with you people! You are all stupid! Full Review »
  2. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    Bad Blood by the British quartet, Bastille, is a brilliant album with all songs being quite great, though some are better than others and some of the lyrics sound a little silly at times. But overall, Bad Blood is a fantastic debut from Bastille and I am definitely looking forward to their newer music in the future. Full Review »
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    7
    A fine debut.

    This album is all in all pretty good. From emotional soaring melodies such as 'Overjoyed' to quirky ballads such as 'Flaws'
    it brings an interesting sound to the table.

    I can't help but Bastille rather overplayed their hand in the lead-up to this album, on first listen I had already heard 6 of the 13 songs. It left it feeling more like a collection of singles than a complete album. Perhaps some tracks should have been left as singles too as it feels like the album has tried to get to many different sounds into one space.

    There are, however some excellent moments. 'Weight of living, Pt I' and 'These Streets' harp back to the original quirkiness and excellent melodies that first caught audience's attention in 'Flaws'. Some of the lyrics are a little bit bland or un-inventive which brings me to my final summary.

    All in all this a a good, solid debut with soaring melodies and well crafted music to back it up. It is slightly let down by the fact it seems some-what unrefined for an album that was a fair while in the making. Very enjoyable.
    Full Review »