Bad Blood

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Mar 4, 2013
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 60
    Its repertoire of tricks--piano and falsetto sob-rock, yodel-along backing vocals, hands-in-the-air breakdowns--is entirely predictable, but generally redeemed by strong, surging melodies.
  2. Mar 1, 2013
    60
    Sometimes you are left wishing that the songs could be left to breathe a little more for themselves.
  3. 50
    There’s nothing inherently wrong with this too-many-feelings, heart-on-your-sleeve approach; it’s just that, played out over the course of an entire album (or on the airwaves, over the course of several years), the whole thing starts to feel a bit contrived.
  4. All this greedy grasping means the London newcomers can’t really get a firm grip on anything, meaning Bad Blood comes out with about as much identity as a Facebook commenter without a profile picture.
  5. Jul 25, 2013
    40
    Lyrics are corny and sometimes funny.
  6. Q Magazine
    Mar 11, 2013
    40
    Bad Blood feels strangely anemic.[Apr 2013, p.95]
  7. Mar 7, 2013
    40
    There's occasional unintentional amusement in the lyrics.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    This album is the best album that I listened in all my f---ing life. The music genres are very well used throughout the album. I do not knowThis album is the best album that I listened in all my f---ing life. The music genres are very well used throughout the album. I do not know why the people hate this masterpiece. Full Review »
  2. Apr 13, 2013
    2
    Mediocre indie synthpop. For the most part, it all seems rather bland with lyrics whose significance I can't seem to get my head around. ApartMediocre indie synthpop. For the most part, it all seems rather bland with lyrics whose significance I can't seem to get my head around. Apart from the really pretty, ethereal ballad, Overjoyed and tear-jerking love song, Oblivion, almost all the songs merge into one big, mediocre lump that's very unmemorable. Full Review »
  3. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    Bad Blood by the British quartet, Bastille, is a brilliant album with all songs being quite great, though some are better than others and someBad Blood by the British quartet, Bastille, is a brilliant album with all songs being quite great, though some are better than others and some of the lyrics sound a little silly at times. But overall, Bad Blood is a fantastic debut from Bastille and I am definitely looking forward to their newer music in the future. Full Review »