• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Bad Blood Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The full-length debut release for indie rock singer-songwriter Dan Smith includes influences from folk, hip-hop, indie, and pop music.

Top Track

Pompeii
Eh-eh-oh, eh-oh Eh-eh-oh, eh-oh Eh-eh-oh, eh-oh Eh-eh-oh, eh-oh Eh-eh-oh, eh-oh Eh-eh-oh, eh-oh Eh-eh-oh, eh-oh Eh-eh-oh, eh-oh I was left to my... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    80
    The record is overweight with memorable tunes, epic and intimate at the same time.
  2. Mar 1, 2013
    80
    Bad Blood is a really gratifying debut that feels like a solution.
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    80
    The heightened sense of immediacy is hard to keep up, but Bastille does it remarkably well, resulting in a debut that’s as infectious as it is dramatically powerful.
  4. Mar 1, 2013
    60
    Sometimes you are left wishing that the songs could be left to breathe a little more for themselves.
  5. 50
    There’s nothing inherently wrong with this too-many-feelings, heart-on-your-sleeve approach; it’s just that, played out over the course of an entire album (or on the airwaves, over the course of several years), the whole thing starts to feel a bit contrived.
  6. All this greedy grasping means the London newcomers can’t really get a firm grip on anything, meaning Bad Blood comes out with about as much identity as a Facebook commenter without a profile picture.
  7. Mar 7, 2013
    40
    There's occasional unintentional amusement in the lyrics.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Feb 26, 2017
    10
    A masterful piece of work pulled out of the heart of Dan Smith. It is definitely more of a personal piece, so it's not for everyone to say theA masterful piece of work pulled out of the heart of Dan Smith. It is definitely more of a personal piece, so it's not for everyone to say the least. But Bastille puts an incredible amount of originality into the album, and the sound is incredibly haunting. It leaves you with an unpleasant taste in your mouth, but in a good, dystopian way. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    Love, love, LOVE! If I could have given a 100000/10 I would have. Dan is a master at story telling, the lyrics in this album are incredibleLove, love, LOVE! If I could have given a 100000/10 I would have. Dan is a master at story telling, the lyrics in this album are incredible and together with the amazing music.. it truly makes for world class stuff! Looking forward to their future albums, I'm sure there is bound to be plenty more.. and seeing Bastille live in concert is a must on my bucket list for sure! A brilliant album all round. Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    This album is the best album that I listened in all my f---ing life. The music genres are very well used throughout the album. I do not knowThis album is the best album that I listened in all my f---ing life. The music genres are very well used throughout the album. I do not know why the people hate this masterpiece. Expand
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    7
    A fine debut.

    This album is all in all pretty good. From emotional soaring melodies such as 'Overjoyed' to quirky ballads such as 'Flaws'
    A fine debut.

    This album is all in all pretty good. From emotional soaring melodies such as 'Overjoyed' to quirky ballads such as 'Flaws' it brings an interesting sound to the table.

    I can't help but Bastille rather overplayed their hand in the lead-up to this album, on first listen I had already heard 6 of the 13 songs. It left it feeling more like a collection of singles than a complete album. Perhaps some tracks should have been left as singles too as it feels like the album has tried to get to many different sounds into one space.

    There are, however some excellent moments. 'Weight of living, Pt I' and 'These Streets' harp back to the original quirkiness and excellent melodies that first caught audience's attention in 'Flaws'. Some of the lyrics are a little bit bland or un-inventive which brings me to my final summary.

    All in all this a a good, solid debut with soaring melodies and well crafted music to back it up. It is slightly let down by the fact it seems some-what unrefined for an album that was a fair while in the making. Very enjoyable.
    Expand
  5. Sep 23, 2014
    5
    It´s a nicely produced, predictable and somewhat tame collection of standard indie-pop-songs. The songs all work well in their own place, butIt´s a nicely produced, predictable and somewhat tame collection of standard indie-pop-songs. The songs all work well in their own place, but in the end it feels like all of these songs could be radio smash hits, written and performed in the exact same way by any other indie-band. In other words; the songs work well on their own but are ultimately too weak to form an entire album. They wear out after a few listenings... Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2015
    4
    It's a shame that talented musicians (as we can clearly see throughout songs) are wasted and trapped into flat and monotonous structures,It's a shame that talented musicians (as we can clearly see throughout songs) are wasted and trapped into flat and monotonous structures, boring and annoying melodies and, wholly, a mediocre repertoire. I didn't decide yet whether the worst part of Bad Blood is Dan Smith's voice and tone or the cheesy and ridiculous lyrics; what I do know is that this album feels unconvincing, artificial, common and, most of all, dishonest. Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2013
    2
    Mediocre indie synthpop. For the most part, it all seems rather bland with lyrics whose significance I can't seem to get my head around. ApartMediocre indie synthpop. For the most part, it all seems rather bland with lyrics whose significance I can't seem to get my head around. Apart from the really pretty, ethereal ballad, Overjoyed and tear-jerking love song, Oblivion, almost all the songs merge into one big, mediocre lump that's very unmemorable. Collapse

See all 16 User Reviews