Bad Blood - Bastille
Bad Blood Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The full-length debut release for indie rock singer-songwriter Dan Smith includes influences from folk, hip-hop, indie, and pop music.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    80
    The beautiful part about Bad Blood is that it is both entirely predictable yet completely disarming.
  2. Mar 1, 2013
    80
    Bad Blood is a really gratifying debut that feels like a solution.
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    80
    The heightened sense of immediacy is hard to keep up, but Bastille does it remarkably well, resulting in a debut that’s as infectious as it is dramatically powerful.
  4. Mar 1, 2013
    60
    Sometimes you are left wishing that the songs could be left to breathe a little more for themselves.
  5. 50
    There’s nothing inherently wrong with this too-many-feelings, heart-on-your-sleeve approach; it’s just that, played out over the course of an entire album (or on the airwaves, over the course of several years), the whole thing starts to feel a bit contrived.
  6. All this greedy grasping means the London newcomers can’t really get a firm grip on anything, meaning Bad Blood comes out with about as much identity as a Facebook commenter without a profile picture.
  7. Mar 7, 2013
    40
    There's occasional unintentional amusement in the lyrics.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    This album is the best album that I listened in all my f---ing life. The music genres are very well used throughout the album. I do not know why the people hate this masterpiece. Collapse
  2. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    Love, love, LOVE! If I could have given a 100000/10 I would have. Dan is a master at story telling, the lyrics in this album are incredible and together with the amazing music.. it truly makes for world class stuff! Looking forward to their future albums, I'm sure there is bound to be plenty more.. and seeing Bastille live in concert is a must on my bucket list for sure! A brilliant album all round. Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Why do people hate this album!? I love it. I especially love "Pompeii". I can't stop listening to that song. There must be something wrong with you people! You are all stupid! Expand
  4. Mar 4, 2013
    7
    I think this is a pretty good album, kind of RnB-indie-pop, the melodies are great and songs have a rather epic sound. the one negative... the lyrics aren't that great but these are redeemed by the really well produced music. Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2013
    7
    A fine debut.

    This album is all in all pretty good. From emotional soaring melodies such as 'Overjoyed' to quirky ballads such as 'Flaws'
    it brings an interesting sound to the table.

    I can't help but Bastille rather overplayed their hand in the lead-up to this album, on first listen I had already heard 6 of the 13 songs. It left it feeling more like a collection of singles than a complete album. Perhaps some tracks should have been left as singles too as it feels like the album has tried to get to many different sounds into one space.

    There are, however some excellent moments. 'Weight of living, Pt I' and 'These Streets' harp back to the original quirkiness and excellent melodies that first caught audience's attention in 'Flaws'. Some of the lyrics are a little bit bland or un-inventive which brings me to my final summary.

    All in all this a a good, solid debut with soaring melodies and well crafted music to back it up. It is slightly let down by the fact it seems some-what unrefined for an album that was a fair while in the making. Very enjoyable.
    Expand
  6. Apr 7, 2014
    7
    While the second half of the album felt boring and it has no theme to the entire album, Bad Blood is a fine, must-listen debut album of the promising indie British band, Bastille. Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2013
    2
    Mediocre indie synthpop. For the most part, it all seems rather bland with lyrics whose significance I can't seem to get my head around. Apart from the really pretty, ethereal ballad, Overjoyed and tear-jerking love song, Oblivion, almost all the songs merge into one big, mediocre lump that's very unmemorable. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews