Bangarang [EP]

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Bangarang [EP] Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 191 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From First to Last's Sonny Moore releases his fourth EP of brostep, a subgenre of dubstep.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. This is a pop record because its shamelessly hedonistic barrage of proven dancefloor tricks will obviously be more fun at home than in a club.
  2. Jan 17, 2012
    70
    Music that makes a disco sugar high feel downright pornographic.
  3. Jan 17, 2012
    70
    Like cans of Monster Energy Drink, this collection is spracked out and ridiculous and fun and sometimes disposable, just one more shard of debris left in this kid's wake, and his generation's.
  4. Jan 18, 2012
    60
    It's uncomplicated, catchy fun, the equivalent of 21st-century hair metal-and that's meant as a compliment.
  5. Jan 25, 2012
    50
    Bangarang is a disappointingly formulaic affair which hints for the first time that the wheels may soon slowly begin to fall off.
  6. Jan 24, 2012
    50
    Bangarang is the work of an entertainer still insecure in his ability to hold his audience's attention without resorting to loud gimmicks.
  7. Jan 17, 2012
    30
    Is it a question of [Moore]simply not caring, or does he actually believe that his fans are too stupid to not realize any clear lack of progression and that they're simply being force-fed the same half-assed bass trends again and again and again?

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 11 out of 37
  1. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    As far as Dubstep goes, it's great. Good fun! Matches if not goes past what other artists of the same fame level are doing these days. IAs far as Dubstep goes, it's great. Good fun! Matches if not goes past what other artists of the same fame level are doing these days. I really don't give it a 10, I'm just trying to balance the score out. Overall I'd say 4/5. Expand
  2. Jan 1, 2015
    10
    Of course, this is insanity, just random weird sounds, but in the end, did it entertain you? That's all that matters. This is an awesome EPOf course, this is insanity, just random weird sounds, but in the end, did it entertain you? That's all that matters. This is an awesome EP that just makes you shake. You know you love it. Expand
  3. May 29, 2012
    9
    This EP helps to continue to establish Skrillex's brand which I can see either loving or hating. I think it's a very important thing for anThis EP helps to continue to establish Skrillex's brand which I can see either loving or hating. I think it's a very important thing for an artist, in as forgettable a genre as dubstep, to make a concrete sound identity for themselves. This EP, along with Scary Monsters helps to really create a solid sound base that is the Skrillex brand. That said, I love the sound.

    I did take a point off for aesthetics. I'm not sure what it is about this EP, but something doesn't quite catch me like it did in Scary Monsters. I think it's because the general feeling of songs is a bit slower and more churning rather than up beat.
    Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2012
    7
    not the greatest EP, but i still like it, why is there all this hate? its got some high points, elie golding is in it for gods sake, also,not the greatest EP, but i still like it, why is there all this hate? its got some high points, elie golding is in it for gods sake, also, good beat, good songs Expand
  5. Jan 30, 2012
    4
    Not terrible, but most certainly forgettable. How many artists get the chance to record a new song with the three surviving members of TheNot terrible, but most certainly forgettable. How many artists get the chance to record a new song with the three surviving members of The Doors? One, as far as I know. Gratz on screwing that up, Skrillex. Can you possibly find a new pad setting? That sound was played out twenty years ago. We have computers and you have talent. Come up with something new and stop playing to the fads. Expand
  6. Jan 26, 2012
    3
    This is terrible. Honestly, you have to try hard to annoy me in this genre, and this EP is loaded with poorly done, obnoxious tracks, withThis is terrible. Honestly, you have to try hard to annoy me in this genre, and this EP is loaded with poorly done, obnoxious tracks, with awful samples. Include all of the rehashed bass lines we've all heard before, and you have a short, and horrible album. You think Skrillex would improve after achieving sudo popularity, but instead he has degraded. Sad to see.

    If you want to bump some good fast paced dubstep, look up Acid Wolfpack - Coyote Kisses That song is 1000x better than anything on Bangarang. Last thing I want to say is that the actual Bangarang song is decent. It's worth a listen.
    Expand
  7. Feb 20, 2012
    0
    This is his worst EP. I hate Skrillex bcuz of this EP he doesnt deserve any award from this EP if he does then that means the people are just stupid.

See all 37 User Reviews