Bat Out Of Hell III: The Monster Is Loose

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Bat Out Of Hell III: The Monster Is Loose Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the Loaf's third (and hopefully final) installment in his three-decade Bat Out Of Hell series.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Q Magazine
    80
    If the original Bat Out Of Hell was Bruce Springsteen's Born To Run as scored by Richard Wagner, this is even more theatrical. [Nov 2006, p.140]
  2. This is a musical just waiting to be staged.
  3. The whole thing is, of course, ridiculous. But Meat's beat manifesto should be treasured as the last chapter of a remarkable rock trilogy.
  4. Rolling Stone
    40
    For the most part, the old magical feeling sure ain't coming back. [2 Nov 2006, p.78]
  5. That he fails is not the fault of his individual performance; it's the fault of botched execution.
  6. 40
    Producer Desmond Child trips up the Meatman by valuing metal flash over the altruism of want-you-need-you humanity.
  7. The Diane Warren and Desmond Child faux-Steinman stuff is far worse, but the inescapable message of Bat III is that even Meat's former partner hasn't been at peak strength for at least a decade.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. AndrewM
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    What did they expect? A better work than Bat I and II?; we´re all getting older and the master is ill for years. Even this way, it is What did they expect? A better work than Bat I and II?; we´re all getting older and the master is ill for years. Even this way, it is better than 99% of the rock stuff we hear every day. It is great and even tragic. Who didn´t know yet the JS songs Bad for good, Seize the Night and The future ain´t.., it is a MUST. The revelation, for me, is Alive: incredible arrangment, great lyrics and a incredible voice, with a smashing chorus attack: fantastic! Oh, I would the master would return and make us the Bat IV, with all brandnew songs: then, the bat-meat-man may retire, but not yet, not yet! Expand
  2. ScottC
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    I was 17 when Bat out of Hell was released in 1977, and I was blown away. 30 years later, and starving for rock and roll, Bat III satisfies I was 17 when Bat out of Hell was released in 1977, and I was blown away. 30 years later, and starving for rock and roll, Bat III satisfies my hunger and then some. Is it as good as Bat I ? No. It is an excellent follow up effort that with several listenings you will grow quickly to love and appreciate. Can't wait to see him in Syracuse, NY. Meat Rocks !! Expand
  3. Jan 5, 2016
    10
    Every song in this album feels like it is a rock masterpiece, from the bellowing 'Monster is Loose' to the poetic 'all coming back to me now'.Every song in this album feels like it is a rock masterpiece, from the bellowing 'Monster is Loose' to the poetic 'all coming back to me now'. This is by far my favourite Meat Loaf album, which is made more impressive by the powerful vocals from the 52 year old singer. Expand
  4. allisonr
    Nov 21, 2006
    9
    loved it very good,its been in the cd player since we got it
  5. JoseLuisZ
    Dec 9, 2006
    8
    kind of cool! I really like Loaf´s music but I need much more I know he can give us more than just a 3rd version of the bat!...that is kind of cool! I really like Loaf´s music but I need much more I know he can give us more than just a 3rd version of the bat!...that is not original any more. Collapse
  6. DamienS
    Dec 23, 2006
    6
    Largely a mixture of truly awful attempts at straightforward metal and lower-tier Jim Steinman songs (with the exception of the excellent Largely a mixture of truly awful attempts at straightforward metal and lower-tier Jim Steinman songs (with the exception of the excellent "It's All Coming back to Me Now," "The Future Ain't What It Used to Be," "Bad for Good," and "Cry to Heaven"), "The Monster Is Loose" (I refuse to call it a part of the "Bat out of Hell" series) is saved by a series of high-energy pop songs beefed up with some power chords and string arrangements (especially "Cry Over Me" and "Alive"). It's a better album than I expected in a non-Steinman Meat Loaf release, but certainly doesn't deserve its title. Expand
  7. Ik
    Nov 6, 2006
    0
    Painfull

See all 17 User Reviews