• Record Label: Vagrant
  • Release Date: Jun 9, 2009
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 3 out of 52

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlexL.
    Jun 9, 2009
    8
    Key tracks: The Never-Ending Why, For What It's Worth, Breathe Underwater, Battle for the Sun.
  2. AnneL
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    What a pleasure! Love most of the songs. Drums still powerful and lyrics showing a new stage / maturity in Brian's life. Had been disappointed with their albums after Black Market Music. This one makes them top of my list again. Gripping music. Fabulous sounds. Love letting them take over me!
  3. MarkJ.
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    best album of the year, amazing!
  4. ChuckS.
    Jun 10, 2009
    9
    This certainly isn't WYIN, but my guess is Molko and Co had to grow after the huge commercial success of Meds and SWG, and if that growth means simpler and somehow duller lyrics, more synths, strings and even horns (For What It's Worth) then so be it, the guys still sound great (thanks in part to Bottril), have great melodies and punching riffs, and have a kick a** new drummer This certainly isn't WYIN, but my guess is Molko and Co had to grow after the huge commercial success of Meds and SWG, and if that growth means simpler and somehow duller lyrics, more synths, strings and even horns (For What It's Worth) then so be it, the guys still sound great (thanks in part to Bottril), have great melodies and punching riffs, and have a kick a** new drummer (sorry Hewitt). Two thumbs up! Expand
  5. BrunoRoss
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    Fantastic!
  6. JazzUp
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    There's both dark and bright feelings in the album. Every song is full of meaning. I consider this album decent and I've paid for it already.
  7. DavidH
    Dec 13, 2009
    7
    Didn't like it at all at first, but it has started to grow on me. It was much much better at a live show.it has 3 songs which stand out which can make an album these days because more people tend download singles from itunes etc than albums. i can understand why a lot of hardened fans such as myself wont like it but at least they are trying to sound more rounded. I think this will go Didn't like it at all at first, but it has started to grow on me. It was much much better at a live show.it has 3 songs which stand out which can make an album these days because more people tend download singles from itunes etc than albums. i can understand why a lot of hardened fans such as myself wont like it but at least they are trying to sound more rounded. I think this will go down better in the U.S.A than past albums. overall a good effort but just not good enough for Placebo, I feel slightly disappointed. Expand
  8. Korneel
    Jun 11, 2009
    8
    Definitely a great record! It has it's weak moments, but overall it stands straight.
  9. MarciaC
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Beautiful album, don't know why critics are complain about.
  10. Dana
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    Didn't like it at first, but now I'm totally addicted to it. Best Placebo album, doubtless.
  11. FabioM
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    Fantastic album, Brian's vocal is Amazing on it, one of the best albums of their Carree.
  12. PaolaV.
    Jul 19, 2009
    10
    Its an absolute great work, I've follow them since their beginnings and i bought it just because, not expecting too much after meds, and it was refreshing surprising, the lyrics were by no means predictable, I think its their finest work so far.
  13. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    It is outstanding how they can still release such a great album. The style has changed a little bit, maybe it's more focused on the vocals than before, but i really didn't mind that. It's still Placebo, but they're doing something a bit different and it's good. There's a lot of energy here and you can't really start naming tracks without listing the whole album. It's a wonderful work,It is outstanding how they can still release such a great album. The style has changed a little bit, maybe it's more focused on the vocals than before, but i really didn't mind that. It's still Placebo, but they're doing something a bit different and it's good. There's a lot of energy here and you can't really start naming tracks without listing the whole album. It's a wonderful work, worthy of buying Expand
  14. Sep 13, 2013
    8
    At first listen it was my least favourite Placebo record. Apart from Brian Molko's vocals it just doesn't feel like a Placebo record. It might be the brighter, more positive sound of the record or it might be the strange pop like production. There is definitley a placebo shaped hole in the middle of this album and it just isn't as spikey as other Placebo records. Strangely enough the bandAt first listen it was my least favourite Placebo record. Apart from Brian Molko's vocals it just doesn't feel like a Placebo record. It might be the brighter, more positive sound of the record or it might be the strange pop like production. There is definitley a placebo shaped hole in the middle of this album and it just isn't as spikey as other Placebo records. Strangely enough the band re-released the record a year after its initial release in remastered form, a treatment usually reserved for records that are decades old. The remastered version is a marked improvement, with the new mix giving the record a fuller and deeper sound. It has definitely helped me to hear the record in a different light and the more I've listened to it over the last few years the more I like it. I'm still not sure if I would rate it above any other Placebo record but I have decided it is a very decent record, undeserving of the criticism its received. For those who don't like it perhaps try the "redux" (remastered) version. It's definitely a better record. Getting to the songs, they are still different to the traditional Placebo sound being more power chord rock than glam/goth rock. The band obviously tried to go in a different direction with this record and for that should be commended rather than lambasted. There are plenty of excellent tracks on it but perhaps is spread a little too thin at 13 tracks. That said, I can find positives with every track, even "The Never Ending Why", my least favourite track on the record, has a nice dancy chorus. In fact there are several times throughout the album where I'm reminded of the bands cover of Boney M's Daddy Cool, be that a good or bad thing. The worst thing about the album is that lyrically at times it takes itself a bit too seriously, and also the fact that Trigger Happy Hands was omitted from it and included on a bonus disk on a reissued version of the album. For the most part it's a very strong album.  Expand
  15. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    The last great placebo album, with a new drummer, & new sound full of greatest song, is the 4th. best album of the band, change style music, change drummer, change evrything, wouldn't be the same in the next years. the last great album of Placebo
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Battle for the Sun, the band's sixth album and first with drummer Steve Forrest, is given a steel-reinforced production by David Bottrill, a sound that could conceivably be placed on mainstream rock radio if that format still existed, or if it were used as a vehicle for something else than Placebo's music, which remains resolutely pitched toward a niche audience, no matter how many little frills of horns or farting synths grace their guitar grind.
  2. Battle For The Sun feels hazy, lazy and lost--a muggy summer afternoon. Predictable lyrics grate awkwardly like manufactured pop-factory produce, while a ‘nice’ helping of sunshine-synth and sighs paint a chirpy celebration of life and all its hand-clappy beauty. Meh.
  3. The album may revive the band's career in North America, but for many of their loyal fans it will come as a major disappointment.