Biophilia

  • Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Release Date: Oct 11, 2011
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
Buy On
  1. Oct 24, 2011
    60
    Despite some flaws in its execution, Biophilia does succeed in pushing beyond the already established album-singles-videos model, and the creation of a digital experience to compliment the music feels like a natural progression in the way that music is packaged and consumed.
  2. Oct 11, 2011
    50
    As minimally executed as it is maximally conceived, Biophilia doesn't sculpt emptiness; it swims in it.
  3. Oct 10, 2011
    50
    Only "Virus" connects in the way Bjork's best work can, uniting the fundamental optimism and wonder underlining this project with music that sounds otherworldly yet welcoming.
  4. Oct 10, 2011
    50
    Several tracks do reclaim some of Björk's past glory and inspire a bit of wonder, but the majority of Biophilia meanders weightlessly into space.
  5. 40
    The only reliably engaging elements of the compositions are the wonderful choral arrangements that provide most of the mortar connecting Björk's voice to the instrumental parts.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 226 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 71
  2. Negative: 7 out of 71
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is an album that will certainly musically challenge you. When I first heard it I thought "what the hell is that?", but after someThis is an album that will certainly musically challenge you. When I first heard it I thought "what the hell is that?", but after some listening I found the beauty hidden within it. This reminds me of Radiohead's "Kid A", which was so different from it's predecessors that I had a hard time liking it, but then again that is one of my favorite albums of all time. To sum up, don't judge this album when you first heard it, let it speak to you and when it does you will be amazed, no doubt about it. Full Review »
  2. Oct 26, 2011
    0
    This album is absolute pretentious rubbish. I don't care about the gimmicky applications especially because I refuse to be tied to apples overThis album is absolute pretentious rubbish. I don't care about the gimmicky applications especially because I refuse to be tied to apples over rated proprietary platform but if you look at just the music here what you have are a bunch of tuneless dirges with gibberish lyrics masquerading as some kind of high brow concept. This is an album only a critic could love. Full Review »
  3. Oct 12, 2011
    5
    This is not one of Bjork's better efforts. Vespertine,Homogenic,even Medulla are
    far superior.I tried to like it and there are some songs that
    This is not one of Bjork's better efforts. Vespertine,Homogenic,even Medulla are
    far superior.I tried to like it and there are some songs that are interesting but
    I just cannot get into it.

    I really like Bjork alot but it seems her best work is sadly behind her.
    Full Review »