Biophilia - Björk
Biophilia Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 133 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Icelandic actress/singer-songwriter's latest album of experimental music was partially recorded on an iPad.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Oct 7, 2011
    100
    Biophilia is one of Bjork's best and most challenging records; it's in a galaxy all its own, one that's not for the faint of heart.
  2. Oct 5, 2011
    90
    This music really doesn't need any window dressing because it's as good a collection of songs as she has put her name to in ten years.
  3. Oct 11, 2011
    90
    Biophilia the "Bjork album" stands with the best of them.
  4. Oct 6, 2011
    80
    It's certainly restless and innovative, but Biophilia never feels like hard work, however much the accompanying bumf tries to convince you it is.
  5. Oct 10, 2011
    80
    From the ashes of Volta, an album that occasionally felt like a career-killer, has come an album of startling beauty, furious invention, and inviting, warm atmosphere.
  6. Oct 6, 2011
    75
    At the heart of it though, we're still left with what's Björk's been doing for most her whole life: music.
  7. 40
    The only reliably engaging elements of the compositions are the wonderful choral arrangements that provide most of the mortar connecting Björk's voice to the instrumental parts.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 56
  2. Negative: 7 out of 56
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Transmutating proteins. Internal nebula. The Atlantic Ridge drifting. The new, eighth studio album by Björk sounds like an ultimate science geek feast. Indeed it is as it comes with a series of apps to be played on your iPad that bring together knowledge and fun. Musically, Biophilia is a sister of Björkâ Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    A great return for one of the greatest artists of the last 20 years! The concept is good and the songs are well done (except "Solstice" and "Crystaline", which seem to be B-Sids of "Vespertine"). Gaga, Britney and all the others sh***y pop singers: learn from her, not from Madonna, who made only one good album ("Ray of Light") and can't even sing! Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is an album that will certainly musically challenge you. When I first heard it I thought "what the hell is that?", but after some listening I found the beauty hidden within it. This reminds me of Radiohead's "Kid A", which was so different from it's predecessors that I had a hard time liking it, but then again that is one of my favorite albums of all time. To sum up, don't judge this album when you first heard it, let it speak to you and when it does you will be amazed, no doubt about it. Expand
  4. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    I love this album. Biophilia, for me, is almost perfect. To experience it fully, you've got to listen to it as a whole. The highlights are Crystalline and Mutual Core, in my opinion.
    Björk is a stunning music icon who is still at the top of her game after decades in the Music industry.
    Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2014
    8
    as well as delivering a collection of deeply scientific lyrics, Bjork's Biophilia also has a deeply scientific sound about it. And the thing that makes this album such a minor treasure, is how, putting aside some of those more boring parts to the start of the album, Biophilia manages to place itself as a rather touching album. Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2011
    6
    I feel like Biophilia is going to be somewhat of a marmite album, like Volta and Medulla before it. I can see why people could like it, or even love it, but for me it doesn't capture the essence of what I personally enjoy about Bjork's music. Perhaps the cosmological concept of the album doesn't lend itself well to Bjork's usual trademark intimacy, as I feel like the songs come across as being sterile and unmoving -- with the enthralling 'Virus' being one of the few exceptions to that.

    That's not to say that I don't think it's a well crafted album. In fact I feel like I have a decent grasp of what Bjork was trying to accomplish conceptually, and the mood is very unique. Personally? It does very little for me, and each listen leaves me wanting something more focused and substantial than what Biophilia offers.
    Collapse
  7. Nov 7, 2011
    0
    Bjork has always been overrated from her first album up until this current release. I don't understand the hype. Her music is boring and weird for weirdness sake. Only hipsters and critics like her. Avoid this garbage. Expand

See all 56 User Reviews