Birthmarks

  • Record Label: Yep Roc
  • Release Date: Apr 16, 2013
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
Buy On
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    89
    With Birthmarks, Born Ruffians bring us a deeply personal album.
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    Birthmarks' charm lies in its comforting familiarity.
  3. Apr 15, 2013
    80
    Birthmarks might throw off some, maybe even lose them, but the gamble has paid off, and will undoubtedly result in producing more new fans, as well as reassuring old ones.
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    80
    Whilst not necessarily as endearing as their previous records, Birthmarks may in fact be better.
  5. 70
    Birthmarks is, largely, the sound of the band learning how to gracefully leave behind pre-pubescent tomfoolery in favor of meatier themes and weightier production.
  6. Apr 15, 2013
    70
    Ultimately on Birthmarks, Born Ruffians let go of some of their punk rock ramble and hit the pop song sweet spot.
  7. Apr 23, 2013
    68
    The album is their most complete work to date.
  8. Apr 15, 2013
    65
    Much of Birthmarks is catchy enough to get stuck in your head, if not necessarily memorable enough to stay there.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. May 23, 2013
    9
    As a fan of their last two albums i have to say that i enjoyed this one as well. i thought it was catchy and fun and the singing from theAs a fan of their last two albums i have to say that i enjoyed this one as well. i thought it was catchy and fun and the singing from the lead singer is unique and enjoyable. i cannot stop listening to it.
    my favorite songs on the album are permanent hesitation and so slow.
    Full Review »