Black Holes & Revelations

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 428 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 428

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DWit
    Aug 20, 2006
    7
    I love Absolution and Origin Of Symmetry but this album has crossed the line of grandiose and become lame. I still believe this is better than Showbiz but Muse can do better. I love the emotion that they evoke, even though it has become lame. That being said, this album isnt horrible and I still love Muse.
  2. JuliaA
    Aug 20, 2006
    8
    this is a great album among the releases of so called modern vintage and those post-thingy.many bands could make great rock-craft,but not many of them able to deliver it in eerie yet beautiful way without being cheesy.the lads surely knew how to make themselves stand out at the map of musical world.as for those critiques who said it's crappy,I think they should spin the CD at least this is a great album among the releases of so called modern vintage and those post-thingy.many bands could make great rock-craft,but not many of them able to deliver it in eerie yet beautiful way without being cheesy.the lads surely knew how to make themselves stand out at the map of musical world.as for those critiques who said it's crappy,I think they should spin the CD at least three more times to get the essence. Expand
  3. kylef
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    this is muse best album yet i cant wait to c them in concert
  4. Emily
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    Definitely their best album; however it wasn't love at first sight ;) map of problematique's probably the best song i've heard in a long, long time-love the samples used in it.
  5. Amelia
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    oh my god... brilliant - it hasn't left my cd player yet
  6. DavidC
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    This CD ranks right along with the last two Muse CD's as being one of the most addictive works of modern rock. One can play this music over and over and its continues to hit that cord in your brain where you look forward to the hearing it again and nothing else will do.
  7. RichR
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    I'd heard about these guys for a while, then I saw them at the Austin City Limits festiva last week, not really expecting much because, well, I'd simply never heard 'em. DANG! This band, especially the lead singer, is possessed! They lit up the moon! They are three, but they play as one. Not only that, they have great songs. I'd give this record a 15 if I could. Heck I'd heard about these guys for a while, then I saw them at the Austin City Limits festiva last week, not really expecting much because, well, I'd simply never heard 'em. DANG! This band, especially the lead singer, is possessed! They lit up the moon! They are three, but they play as one. Not only that, they have great songs. I'd give this record a 15 if I could. Heck yeah, there's some U2 in there, some Radiohead, but they're an insanely energetic and creative band in their own right, and they give the crowd their alll onstage. I love this band. I love this record. I give it a 15! Expand
  8. time
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    I agree with the British magazies. A epic, dazzling masterpiece. I guess us Americans don't like the brits getting all political and in our business but Muse keeps it from going to far. Don't listen to Spin. They put My Chemical Romance in their top 5 and they named the computer modem as album of the year in 2000. Rolling Stone is a joke. That's all I have to say about them.
  9. RickyD
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    This is not only one of the best albums of 2006, one of the decade instrumentally and lyrically brilliant, an album full of complete estatic emotion and power, it manages to touch on many subjects although it is mainly politically charged and it has a couple of positive tracks such as starlight and invincible, the highlights for me are 'take a bow' i like the way it builds and This is not only one of the best albums of 2006, one of the decade instrumentally and lyrically brilliant, an album full of complete estatic emotion and power, it manages to touch on many subjects although it is mainly politically charged and it has a couple of positive tracks such as starlight and invincible, the highlights for me are 'take a bow' i like the way it builds and explodes in your face and 'Knights of Cydonia' the fantastic prog feel with that amazing riff at the end. I saw them last year at wembley arena fantatsic, going to see them again at wembley stadium (90,000+ seater)they've sold out 2 nights there so you tell me a band who can do that are no good(to the people who slate them)then your mad. Expand
  10. ShengW
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    best album of the year
  11. AnaJ
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    I had to listen to the album a couple of times to really appreciate it, but it has become one of my favorites. Some feel that the lead singer is too passionate, but it just emphasizes the fact that he truly believes what he is singing. I suggest everyon give it several listens before passing judgement
  12. ScottW.
    Aug 19, 2007
    9
    The best of 2006. Heavy music has to sound good for me to put up with it, and this dose it for me. I could listen to this whole albume from the start to finish and then some. You don't like harder music?Well it sucks to be you, in this case.
  13. MadelineH
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    great!!!
  14. MarkD.
    Mar 24, 2008
    8
    Love em or hate em no one else today makes music this big and epic. It takes a special band to even think about writing this kind of music and when you realise that ther's a subtility and consistency lacking on their earlier records you have to admit that they've well and truly pulled it off this time.
  15. JustinK.
    Apr 7, 2008
    9
    with Black Holes and Revelations, Muse have reinvented the meaning of the word "genre". Every song is different in its own respects, and almost every song is noteworthy. Only muse could make a song about a natural space phenomenon be so cool (supermassive blackhole).
  16. SteveO
    Jun 28, 2008
    8
    It's good, but come on guys... It's Radiohead back in 1995 with "The Bends".
  17. FrancoisB.
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    MUSE is just the creators of masterpieces. Any retarded person that gives this album a bad rating is a sad case that should stick to its RAVE and DANCE music, boom-boom-boom-boom-boom. Muse has redefined the music industry with awesome, musical and captivating songs that is created by the musical master Matthew Bellamy and his mates
  18. DemetrioH.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    This album is a truly majestic mix of harmony, soul and cutting edge rock n roll. Everything that Radiohead should have been.
  19. davidi
    Mar 11, 2009
    8
    Great album, somehow it lacks of more guitar power. Assasin, kights of cydonia, take a bow the best.
  20. StephanieT
    Apr 28, 2009
    10
    I think the Band is awesome... and need to come to ONTARIO more often!! but keep the work up and keep jamming!!
  21. DomW
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    Would love to give it a 10 but nothing is perfect is it? For some reason 'Map of the Problematique' brings me to tears of joy when I listen to it - almost like a biological reaction. Any band which can take me to such incredible soaring highs in a dead sober state must have some sort of magical alchemy. Can't wait for their next album.
  22. JimB
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing album, but I'm not surprised to see it get catcalls from the anti-prog brigade (Rolling Stone, Spin, etc).
  23. GeorgeR.
    Sep 13, 2009
    9
    It's almost, ALMOST perfect. There are little things they've missed out and should have replaced, but I'd happily listen to this over and over again.
  24. JackG
    Oct 28, 2006
    10
    I don't know how you can ask for more. I don't understand how someone can give them a zero either unless Matt Bellamy spit in his face. Map of the Problematique, Hoodoo, Knights of Cydonia, City of Delusion are enough to give any Muse fans enough to keep their hands full until their next album
  25. JulianG
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    After Absolution I never thought they could do it again. But...
  26. JonR
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    Best Muse Album?? Absolution may have the commercial success. Origin of Symmetry may have the underground vote. But my vote goes to Black Holes & Revelations!!! Much love to Knights of Cydonia, Supemassive, and Assassin.
  27. oriean
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    More crescendos and swells of emotion and musical tension than perhaps anything they've done in the past, and that's just in the first track alone. This is one of those classic albums that - love it or hate it - will surely be talked about for decades to come... which inevitably makes it a prime contender for best album of the year.
  28. JimmyB
    Jul 15, 2006
    9
    Excellent stuff- from the very opening, you realize this is going to be something of massive proportions. Admittedly, Soldier's Poem is perhaps a little superfluous, and Invincible still hasn't convinced me, yet the rest of the album is of such high quality that it has to take a 9. The album that Absolution should have been.
  29. JaneP
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    Beauty, chaos, truth, and BRILLIANCE!
  30. DrewF
    Jul 18, 2006
    9
    Best album i've purchased in a long, long time. The best thing i can say is that there are no tracks that make me hit the skip-to-next-track button.
  31. AbnerW
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    A divergence from Absolution, but great nonetheless. Certainly the most interesting thing in music at this moment. All Hail the Epic!
  32. R
    Jul 23, 2006
    8
    Thanks to this album and people reviewing it, I've added 'grandiose' to my vocabulary. I'll have a look at Dictionary.com now.
  33. ConsequencesForVillainy
    Aug 16, 2006
    8
    Imagine if the disappointed soul of OK Computer were able to gain access to a spaceship and, eventually, become disillusioned with this new frontier. Black Holes and Revelations is a swirling mass of concentrated arena tek-rock, mostly on point and embracing harmonies that have been popularized by bands like Queen. This is an album that starts off blistering (I would choose "Take A Bow" Imagine if the disappointed soul of OK Computer were able to gain access to a spaceship and, eventually, become disillusioned with this new frontier. Black Holes and Revelations is a swirling mass of concentrated arena tek-rock, mostly on point and embracing harmonies that have been popularized by bands like Queen. This is an album that starts off blistering (I would choose "Take A Bow" over TV on the Radio's " Wolf Like Me" for opening track of the year) segues into "Starlight" (ethereal, very Martin Gore/Alan Wilder Stuff), and explodes with "Supermassive Black Hole". The wildly corny "Knights of Cydonia" intro mars what prove to be Muse's best harmonies yet. Three or four outstanding tracks for those who like the genre - the rest are the usual filler you find on concept albums. Expand
  34. fraserj
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    sheer brilliance -> queen have just been out-queened
  35. KevinM
    Sep 16, 2006
    7
    Queen strikes back. Nothing innovative, some tracks are good enough. It's not the best album of 2006, don't try selling that stuff to me.
  36. SonyaH
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    "Black Holes and Revelations" is everything that good rock should be: uptempo, dramatic, rousing, and even a bit full of itself (but never so much that it ceases to be endearing). Anyone not singing along as they drive a bit too fast is a sourpuss.
  37. AlasdairK
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    A brilliant return to form. After the samey-samey sounds of Absolution, Black Holes shows the bands diversity, while still sounding like 'Muse'.
  38. Ben
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    The most awesome album i have ever heard in my life. Brilliant! Amazing!
  39. VincentVdB.
    Mar 23, 2007
    9
    Muse lifts the word 'music' to a new level with this album. 'Starlight', 'Knights of Cydonia' and 'Supermassive Black Hole' are probably the best songs ever made...
  40. chrisd
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    muse's black holes and revelations is one of my favorite albums that i own. This cd is a little different from their previous three, but i think it is just brilliant. Starlight, Knight of Cydonia, and Map of the Problematique are my favorites on the cd.
  41. rickyj
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    Absolutely phenomenal in every way. It flows with a certain "oomph" that never lets you down. Half romantic, half rebellious, fully awesome.
  42. KylieO
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    This album is amazing. All the songs sound unique and top-notch. Supermassive Black Hole and Starlight are especially great. Muse's best album yet.
  43. RyanM
    Dec 13, 2008
    10
    An absolute MASTERCLASS in exsquisite songwriting. A behemoth of an album. Every song is sheer perfection. Youd have to be dense not to appreciate the beauty of tracks such as Hoodoo, assassin and city of delusion. 100% over the top theatrics and loving it, this album propels the listener to ecstacy until they punch their fist in the air "F**K YEAH!" NMUSE we salute you. To recap BUY IT, An absolute MASTERCLASS in exsquisite songwriting. A behemoth of an album. Every song is sheer perfection. Youd have to be dense not to appreciate the beauty of tracks such as Hoodoo, assassin and city of delusion. 100% over the top theatrics and loving it, this album propels the listener to ecstacy until they punch their fist in the air "F**K YEAH!" NMUSE we salute you. To recap BUY IT, ITS PERFECT! Expand
  44. Sep 11, 2010
    9
    The most consistent of Muse's albums. I loved how each song in this album is a complete departure from their previous releases, giving an exciting, head bashing or head soothing ride and shows what Muse can really do.
  45. Sep 17, 2010
    8
    This is an album of mixed genres which has hooked thousands to muse and made them the biggest band around.Fans may prefare Absolution or Origin of symatry but this is certainly a great album
  46. Dec 4, 2010
    8
    Black Holes & Revelations is Muse's mainstream success album. It is a great album, I'll admit that, but the reason it's so mainstream is because of the song Supermassive Black hole, which in my opinion, is Muse's worst song. It just sounds too pop for such a rock and roll band such as Muse. But enough boasting, Black Holes & Revelations is a great album. The opening, Take A Bow, is such aBlack Holes & Revelations is Muse's mainstream success album. It is a great album, I'll admit that, but the reason it's so mainstream is because of the song Supermassive Black hole, which in my opinion, is Muse's worst song. It just sounds too pop for such a rock and roll band such as Muse. But enough boasting, Black Holes & Revelations is a great album. The opening, Take A Bow, is such a powerful song that's among the best of the album. Assassin is another amazing song. But the best song on this album, and one of my favorite songs period is Map Of The Problematique. Aside from a few alright songs, this album has mostly great tracks. All In All, Muse has pumped out another great album after their previous fantastic album Absolution. B+ Expand
  47. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    not as good as absolution but still amazing
    supermassive black hole is my least favourite, but knights of cydonia is just.. epic
    and guitar solo in invincible is also amazing
    even when muse has gone more commercial, they managed to do great album
  48. Dec 5, 2016
    10
    Stunning. This album has everything. It has rock (most importantly), electronica, pop, acoustics and classic rock vocals. It saw Muse slide even further into that commercial sound, but this time, that was the key. It put them on the map as a permanent fixture. They took what made them brilliant and emphasised it. The more elaborate the better. Thankfully, they also held on to just enoughStunning. This album has everything. It has rock (most importantly), electronica, pop, acoustics and classic rock vocals. It saw Muse slide even further into that commercial sound, but this time, that was the key. It put them on the map as a permanent fixture. They took what made them brilliant and emphasised it. The more elaborate the better. Thankfully, they also held on to just enough darkness and mystery to remain credible in the alternative world. Expand
  49. May 31, 2011
    8
    "Blacks Holes + Revelations" has proved once again that Muse deserve their place in the British rock hall of fame. Despite not quite having the same top notch music as their previous album, "Absolution", this work has great anthems like "Knights of Cydonia", as well as some hard rock in "Assassin" and slow but graceful pieces like "Soldier's Poem". Very good album
  50. j30
    Jan 30, 2012
    8
    Black Hole & Revelations takes Muse from relatively big venue status to stadium rock status. Even though the album is more uneven than it's predecessor, it takes them to new heights.
  51. Dec 2, 2014
    7
    The good songs on this record are fantastic and include some of the best stuff Muse have produced. On the better moments the band get the balance between dramatic opera rock and heavy indie rock spot on. The likes of Supermassive Black Hole (one of the singles of 2006) and "Map of the problematique" have some real killer hooks going on. There are a handful of other catchy rockers on thereThe good songs on this record are fantastic and include some of the best stuff Muse have produced. On the better moments the band get the balance between dramatic opera rock and heavy indie rock spot on. The likes of Supermassive Black Hole (one of the singles of 2006) and "Map of the problematique" have some real killer hooks going on. There are a handful of other catchy rockers on there as well. Unfortunately, as often happens with Muse, for 30% of the album they disappear in the direction of up their backsides and the weaker tracks are very skipable. Contains some bankers for inclusion on the eventual "best of" and is as consistent an album as the band have produced. Far from brilliant but at the same time well worth a listen.  Expand
  52. Sep 30, 2012
    9
    Black Holes & Revelations is a cool, smart and pretty awesome MUSE album that proves to be one of their best ones as well.
  53. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    The Best Muse Album EVER! So many amazing songs, Knights of Cydonia, Starlight, Map of the Problematique,City of Delusion. Thev whole god damn album is brilliant. Muse is a perfect example of what every modern band should be, from Matt bellamy's epic guitar riffs and voice like freddie Mercury, The groovy bass lines from chris and Dom's incredible drumming, Blakc Holes and Revelations isThe Best Muse Album EVER! So many amazing songs, Knights of Cydonia, Starlight, Map of the Problematique,City of Delusion. Thev whole god damn album is brilliant. Muse is a perfect example of what every modern band should be, from Matt bellamy's epic guitar riffs and voice like freddie Mercury, The groovy bass lines from chris and Dom's incredible drumming, Blakc Holes and Revelations is one of those albums you should listen to before you die. Expand
  54. Apr 26, 2012
    7
    I don't like this one as much as Absolution. I felt the songs were not as strong here. I felt disappointed, I felt like they could have done a lot better. "Knights of Cydonia" and "Hoodoo" are the two tracks that really make the album epic as hell, putting "Supermassive Black Hole" and "Starlight" aside.
  55. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    This is alternative rock at it's most powerful. Muse have given us a loud and beautiful album filled with music that's simply inspiring. A breathtaking album.
  56. Aug 23, 2012
    10
    This is my favorite album by Muse. The way they have made all the songs is just flawless. It sounds so awesome, not a single day goes by when I don't listen to any song off this record.
  57. Apr 20, 2014
    9
    Muse's 4th studio album may not be their best, but nonetheless, it is a beautiful record. It's a must have for a new Muse fanatic and collectors. It's almost perfect. 9/10 *

    *Muse is one of the few exceptions of modern day musical artists that are actually good.
  58. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    By and large, Black Holes & Revelations is another great Muse album. Opener Take A Bow starts with synthesizer arpeggios, steadily growing into a massive climax and - after a break down - perfectly leads into the Strokes-influenced Starlight - with it's simple bass line and piano melody probably the catchiest Muse song to date. Lead single Supermassive Black Hole with it's sexy, moaningBy and large, Black Holes & Revelations is another great Muse album. Opener Take A Bow starts with synthesizer arpeggios, steadily growing into a massive climax and - after a break down - perfectly leads into the Strokes-influenced Starlight - with it's simple bass line and piano melody probably the catchiest Muse song to date. Lead single Supermassive Black Hole with it's sexy, moaning vocals over funky guitar riffs and a groovy drum beat surely is one of the album's highlights. While Map of the Problematique heavily borrows from Depeche Mode's Enjoy the Silence, it still works as a track on it's own, with it's beautiful arrangements coming in an electronic wrapping.
    Solder's Poem is a slow, jazzy number with arpeggio guitar, a marching beat and barbershop vocals. Invincible serves as the albums centerpiece, starting of with haunting slide guitar over a marching drum beat, then growing into a heavy rocker with a great solo.
    Assassin is the album's weak point. While still being a decent rock track, it's metal-inspired riffs eventually seem to be going nowhere. Exo-Politics features a groovy rock riff in a simple but quite effective arrangement. City of Delusion begins with acoustic guitar and grows into a rock track with mariachi trumpets, heavy bass and distorted guitar.
    Hoodoo starts with almost arrhythmic Spanish guitar before a dramatic break with classical piano kicks in. It also features one of Matthew Bellamy's most vivid lyrics.
    Of all tracks on this album, Knights of Cydonia probably has the best chances becoming a muse classic. It's a sci-fi-western-soundtrack with massive riffs and singalongs - a true epic and a fitting closer to a convincing album by a band at the top of their game.
    Expand
  59. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    Astonishing, big, nay epic, absurd, provocative, experimental.. all of these words are trying to describe muses new album Black holes and revelations. Filled with spacey melodies, lyrics that are infuriating who ever is on the top of the world, this album is pushing the limits so far that just for a moment you are left dazed until that grandeur hits you again making your brain totallyAstonishing, big, nay epic, absurd, provocative, experimental.. all of these words are trying to describe muses new album Black holes and revelations. Filled with spacey melodies, lyrics that are infuriating who ever is on the top of the world, this album is pushing the limits so far that just for a moment you are left dazed until that grandeur hits you again making your brain totally numb. The album opener Take a bow is and art electronic rock piece that fills you with the necessary energy enabling you to endure the power of the album. Political and violent, musically huge and utterly brilliant, this song is just one of those muse space rock classics. Album continues with starlight, the tit song, which lowers your expectations a bit with simple, non experimental fusion of instruments. This song gives you the impression of an ordinary love song, even though it doesn't necessarily need to be one. Things are getting back on track with supermassive black hole. A song so different from anything you've heard, makes you feel like being inside a spacey disco filled with people high on shrooms. Musically out of this world as well. Then comes the peace after the storm in shape of soldiers poem. With it being light and ordinary in structure, the end product is surprisingly good. The harmony is perfected. Invincible is a song created as a love one, but not between lovers but fellow people, all people. A song that is practically an invitation for people to form unity and peace and as well revolution against those who are pulling us down, you know the famous 'they'. The line 'Together we're invincible' quite clearly states that when united no one could do us any harm. A classic musey space rock song containing a riff worthy of the best. Assassin is a heavier song furthering the idea of a revolution, but the central theme is brainwashing, that is creating people with no identities assassins. City of delusion is a progressive song filled with even more rage against 'those' but here is necessary to highlight the musical genius of the band as they've fused the sound of acoustic guitar with trumpets, damn good trumpets, wobly sounds and synthesisers that at parts it resembles the sounds of the middle east. The song as a whole gives goosebumps, especially the euroasian influences. Another song that uses synthesisers brilliantly is map of the problematique. An electronic piece, resembling depeche mode, is just a proof of what musical achievements the Devon trio are capable of. Exo politics, musically, again brings alternative space rock to the new level while keeping the theme of an fake alien invasion going. There are two songs left which I'll describe in two sentences as if there were no boundaries each of these songs would need an essay to analyze. First of them is knights of cydonia. This song is one of the best songs muse have composed, an ode to freedom which is significant for the reason that it is one one the best prog songs made, a frankly unforgettable experience. Hoodoo, on the other hand, is one of the best songs of the last decade, no further description needed. As you prepare to insert the cd into whatever drive you want, just remember that you have the chance to open yourselves a door into space. Ladies and gentleman, brace yourselves. Expand
  60. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Matt Bellamy's range as a songwriter continues to grow more complex, more absurd, and more bombastic with Black Holes and Revelations, which stands out even in Muse's distinguished discography as a masterpiece. From the opening synths in "Take a Bow" to the unbridled chaos at the end of "Knights of Cydonia," Bellamy has written 11 songs that stand alone brilliantly, but come together toMatt Bellamy's range as a songwriter continues to grow more complex, more absurd, and more bombastic with Black Holes and Revelations, which stands out even in Muse's distinguished discography as a masterpiece. From the opening synths in "Take a Bow" to the unbridled chaos at the end of "Knights of Cydonia," Bellamy has written 11 songs that stand alone brilliantly, but come together to tell a tale of government corruption and/or alien invasion.

    See, even Muse isn't sure what they're writing about! This chaos characterizes Black Holes and Revelations. High points: Exo-Politics, Knights of Cydonia, Starlight
    Low points: Assassin
    Expand
  61. Jan 15, 2015
    8
    Excelente Álbum Hoodoo E City Of Delusion,são as fracas Assassin e Exo-Polotics também são um pouco.
    Top 5 Black Holes & Revelations 2006
    1-Starlight
    2-Map Of The Problematique
    3-Invincible
    4-Supermassive Black Hole
    5-Knights Of Cydonia
  62. Jan 23, 2017
    9
    Muse are one of the few bands to cross the breach into mainstream successfully and sound better after doing so. BH&R successfully sets the standard for all bands making that jump. It's powerful, it's heavy, it's loud, it's catchy, and it's still distinctively Muse. The only thing I wish they would have brought with them is the length of their previous albums, as this one ends before you're ready.
  63. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    the best album of muse, & the first album of the great band that I heard, this album & showbiz are the best muse albums, I think that are the perfect albums, just for me, and only for me
  64. Sep 29, 2016
    10
    One of best progress-rock album ever made. Every song of this album are very good, valuable.They showed to people themselves talent. Matt Bellamy's guitar, piano skills considered "One of best musicians of all time".
  65. May 3, 2015
    10
    Most notable:
    +Starlight
    +Supermassive Black Hole
    +Map of the Problematique
    +Exo-Politics
    +City of Delusion
    +Knights of Cydonia

    This isn't even Muse's best album.
  66. Jun 9, 2015
    9
    Probably right after Origins of Symmetry, the greatest Muse record. It's the perfect fusion of the progressive and space rock genre they played in the previous records, and the experimentations and stylistic changes they will start to try from this point on. A true gem of experimental and progressive rock with tracks that rapidly became some of my favorite tunes ever (Assassin, Map of theProbably right after Origins of Symmetry, the greatest Muse record. It's the perfect fusion of the progressive and space rock genre they played in the previous records, and the experimentations and stylistic changes they will start to try from this point on. A true gem of experimental and progressive rock with tracks that rapidly became some of my favorite tunes ever (Assassin, Map of the Problematique, Knights of Cydonia, Supermassive Black Hole) and other songs that still to this day remain truly amazing (Starlight, City of Delusion, Exo-Politics).
    Some of the last songs sound somewhat uninspired, that is true, but overall the record manages to deliver so much that you start to forget of the little flaws there are.
    Expand
  67. May 21, 2015
    9
    Take A Bow is a swirling vortex that propels the listener into one of the best albums of the 2000's. Starlight is a classic; Map of the Problematique is my favorite Muse song of all time. Soldier's Poem is soft and sweet. Invincible is a great love song. Assassin's riffs blast the album back into fast-paced rock. Exo-Politics is like the birth of The Resistance album. City of Delusion isTake A Bow is a swirling vortex that propels the listener into one of the best albums of the 2000's. Starlight is a classic; Map of the Problematique is my favorite Muse song of all time. Soldier's Poem is soft and sweet. Invincible is a great love song. Assassin's riffs blast the album back into fast-paced rock. Exo-Politics is like the birth of The Resistance album. City of Delusion is great, Hoodoo is good. Knights of Cydonia is the killer track that Muse has never not played live since it came out. Glorious is a beautiful song as well, although nothing in comparison to Knights. Supermassive Black Hole is the only one I don't really like; it's still very catchy and fun, it just rubs me the wrong way for some reason. Just a personal preference thing. Other than that, this album is stellar. Expand
  68. Sep 23, 2016
    10
    Not only is every song on this album a near classic - and the album itself can take that status of one of the strongest albums of the past 15 years - but the lyrics, the guitar work and Matt Bellamy's vocals are all in flawless condition. Which is the best way to describe this album: an absolutely flawless collection of music.
    Verdict: A+
  69. May 24, 2017
    8
    Another fantastic album by Muse, after band's masterpiece "Absolution", Matthew Bellamy's band shows that it wasn't only luck: they have such a huge potential.
    Some songs are a little repetitive but the quality of music is really high.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Entertaining and rabble-rousing, daft and deadly serious, it's a fantastic record, with almost limitless appeal.
  2. Under The Radar
    70
    Black Holes and Revelations isn’t a perfect record but it’s a worthy addition to an already stellar catalog. [#14]
  3. It shouldn't work, but Bellamy's mania is so convincingly realised that even the most avowed Muse refusenik may have to finally concede defeat.