• Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Oct 30, 2007
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 472 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 472

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JaredM
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    One of the best albums of 2007. I've never much cared for Britney Spears and her "Music" but this album has proven me wrong. Even if she didn't write most of the tracks (A smart business woman knows when to start and better yet stop). This killer dance album floored me. It will definitely be remembered years from now, for having some of the best dance tracks of the last decade.
  2. SammyJ.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    Great album. Britney is back. Gimme More is hot. Piece of me the video is awesome!
  3. MarkM
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Surprising! I'm really amazed because this album is very electronic-pop and I'm loving it! I also love the personal lyrics althoguh she did not penned them nevertheless this is a bold move for more!
  4. CarlosA.
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    I had to give a 10 'cause since I got the album I can't stop listening to it, I know her life's been a trouble and that she's going through a lot of things related to her kids, the way she drinks and if she's on drugs.. but the album is really good...is electropop mixed with r&b and brit did a great job, that's the reason why she sold a lot albums around the I had to give a 10 'cause since I got the album I can't stop listening to it, I know her life's been a trouble and that she's going through a lot of things related to her kids, the way she drinks and if she's on drugs.. but the album is really good...is electropop mixed with r&b and brit did a great job, that's the reason why she sold a lot albums around the world. She is one the best sellers ever! at least in the USA. I just hope that everything is gonna be better and that she will realize that the night life and the drugs are not the best! I just hope that one day she will return to music and will do it great as she's done it before! that's why we love you Brit! get well soon! Expand
  5. TreyceF.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    I thought it really expressed how she felt. Piece of me and Why should I be sad are awesome.
  6. H.B
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Best Britney Album ever!!!
  7. AOH
    Oct 30, 2007
    8
    Absolutely her best. Hands down the years biggest surprise.
  8. JoshuaS
    Apr 25, 2009
    10
    You could stick on this album at a party and dance all the way through. It is just full of songs you wanna shake to!
  9. KennyH.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Despite it all.. Britney delivers one of the most greatest dance albums in history!... This will set the clubs on firee!
  10. claire
    Nov 2, 2007
    9
    Don't know what those losers who gave her a low score are listening to, this album rocks! You go girl
  11. Jul 14, 2012
    1
    His worst album for sure, processed voice, songs stressful, sickening beats, the only good song of this album may be "Break the Ice". There's a lot of poor songs in this record.
  12. MarinaS.
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    The best her album ever!!
  13. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    A famous magazine considers this the fourth best album of the decade 2000-2009. It was recorded in & out of the rehab and you can actually hear that Britney wasn't in the best conditions to record, but she still made the best comeback & amazing dance tracks. "Freakshow" features elements of dubstep, too.
  14. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    Her second best album. Amazing production and as a whole it marks mostly her failed marriage and media issues, particurally in the song Why Should I Be Sad which is the best one out of the album personally because of the honesty in its incredibly elaborate lyrics. Heaven On Earth, Gimme More, Break The Ice, Piece Of Me. This is Britney at her top. It's impressive how this album, still thisHer second best album. Amazing production and as a whole it marks mostly her failed marriage and media issues, particurally in the song Why Should I Be Sad which is the best one out of the album personally because of the honesty in its incredibly elaborate lyrics. Heaven On Earth, Gimme More, Break The Ice, Piece Of Me. This is Britney at her top. It's impressive how this album, still this year was in 3.1 million copies and it is currently at 4.3 million due to her entrance in the X-Factor pannel judge. Hopefully it'll reach 5 million. Expand
  15. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    Only time would be able to tell how much this would become the decade-to-come's most influential album. Considering what Britney did before and what she has done after this, Blackout certainly puts itself apart from her other productions, for only one reason: its darkness. Different from the easy-going, glowing "Circus", Blackout has deeper tracks with melodies that are catchy and yetOnly time would be able to tell how much this would become the decade-to-come's most influential album. Considering what Britney did before and what she has done after this, Blackout certainly puts itself apart from her other productions, for only one reason: its darkness. Different from the easy-going, glowing "Circus", Blackout has deeper tracks with melodies that are catchy and yet continue to have quality. Certainly influenced by a dark/struggle period in her life, Britney was able to create (since she is the executive producer of it) a cohesive and creative album. "Gimme More", "Freakshow", "Piece of Me" and "Heaven on Earth" are amazing. Incredible work. Expand
  16. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    Ok I'm looking at Britney's past albums to see how people reviewed them and I'm really confused. People are giving Femme Fatale great reviews, but Blackout has almost 50 negative reviews? That's just not right. I'll keep this short. Blackout forever changed the playing field for pop music. I can play it from start to finish without skipping a single song. This is the Britney that I love.Ok I'm looking at Britney's past albums to see how people reviewed them and I'm really confused. People are giving Femme Fatale great reviews, but Blackout has almost 50 negative reviews? That's just not right. I'll keep this short. Blackout forever changed the playing field for pop music. I can play it from start to finish without skipping a single song. This is the Britney that I love. Ahead of its time, but it's a uniquely Britney album. It's Britney, **** Expand
  17. Jun 12, 2011
    5
    I never liked her but this album is her best by far. Catchy chorus and beat. Of course after you have to consider she probably didn't write a single word or contribute in any way to this album but after all it's Britney Spears.
  18. Aug 7, 2011
    5
    A somethat surprising album that delivers more than you might actually expected, with loud, sexy, electronica beats as well as some Timbaland style corkers thrown into the mix you can't help but like this album for what it is, pop music. But that's all this album is, it offers little else, nothing that pushes the boat out, nothing overly memorable and sadly the only things that have beenA somethat surprising album that delivers more than you might actually expected, with loud, sexy, electronica beats as well as some Timbaland style corkers thrown into the mix you can't help but like this album for what it is, pop music. But that's all this album is, it offers little else, nothing that pushes the boat out, nothing overly memorable and sadly the only things that have been pushed to their limits is auto tuning and backing vocalists (Robyn for example), which i'm aware is used with most artists, but at some point a limit should be reached. Expand
  19. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    Britney at her best.
    I love this album. Not a single track in Blackout disappoints me. She got there first before everyone else jumped on the electro-dance wagon in 2011. Futuristic, sexy, under-rated.
    My album of 2007.
  20. Sep 6, 2014
    10
    Blackout, considerado o melhor álbum de Britney pela maioria dos fãs, é sim, o melhor álbum dela, e talvez um dos melhores álbuns pop da década de 2000. É um CD que revolucionou a música pop, principalmente a faixa "Freakshow", que "inventou" o dubstep, e se ele não existisse, a música pop não seria como ela é hoje. Todas as faixas são boas, não tem como escolher uma melhor.
  21. Oct 28, 2011
    3
    This album is grossly overrated. It sounds like everything Timbaland and co. were doing around the same time, only much, much worse. Generic beats, shallow lyrics, poor vocals... this is one you'll want to pass on.
  22. Feb 24, 2012
    3
    This album will sway neither the faithful nor the unbelievers from their positions along the borders of her stalled momentum.
  23. BillZZzzzZZZzzz
    Nov 5, 2007
    0
    This is horrible. I can't listen to this. I don't want to dance to this. I won't.
  24. ManuelV.
    Nov 3, 2007
    1
    Well, it could be worse.
  25. joeiU.
    Nov 6, 2007
    1
    Consistently a good album but how could one say this merits a 10?? or even a 9, 8, 7?? I laugh at those who hail this as her best cd ever! None of her albums are worthy of critical acclaim nor of contimplation of merit. Why do we even care to vote or review such albums as BLACKOUT. Spears is the epitome of what's wrong in music now-days.. She had only one thing going for her in the Consistently a good album but how could one say this merits a 10?? or even a 9, 8, 7?? I laugh at those who hail this as her best cd ever! None of her albums are worthy of critical acclaim nor of contimplation of merit. Why do we even care to vote or review such albums as BLACKOUT. Spears is the epitome of what's wrong in music now-days.. She had only one thing going for her in the past, her dance moves.. All she does is lip-sync and hardly does anything worth praising, musically. She is as lame and lifeless as a plastic barbie doll except barbie is easier on the eyes. Now that she cant even dance-lyp-sync in her performance (mtv vmas 07) she is nothing! Her handlers-producers are the only ones we should be merriting on BLACKOUT.. i give the production an 8.. however britneys lifeless robotic chants bring this album to a non-reputable place, unworthy of her possession.. Its sad really to think that this lady here gets money from these lost gay men and lost little teenage girls who know nothing better then to listen to this iconic repression of real talent, Ms. Spears.. aka no talent, period! Expand
  26. AnonymousMC
    Oct 31, 2007
    1
    I might give the producers a 3 or 4, but I can't give Britney that, because she did not contribute to this "work" that holds her name. If it takes processed computer voice effects to hide your lack of talent, and you have to hire a team of people write the songs, a team of people to choose from the songs you didn't contribute to, and along the way tick off your writers by not I might give the producers a 3 or 4, but I can't give Britney that, because she did not contribute to this "work" that holds her name. If it takes processed computer voice effects to hide your lack of talent, and you have to hire a team of people write the songs, a team of people to choose from the songs you didn't contribute to, and along the way tick off your writers by not returning thier calls, and otherwise blunder your way through what is really not even your own album, you probably deserve a 0. Hopefully the end of her. Expand
  27. HaroldGreen
    Oct 31, 2007
    0
    This is a horrible album. The sad part is, Britney had very little involvement in the project at all. It is scary tot think how bad this album would be if she actualy attempted to write and produce the entire album.
  28. mark
    Oct 31, 2007
    4
    Britney can't sing, and the lyrics are mostly lame. Some pretty good production is what keeps this album from being a complete disaster.
  29. HilliaryD.
    Nov 1, 2007
    2
    um, it's Britney Spears...she's been a complete joke for years.
  30. [Anonymous]
    Nov 1, 2007
    0
    This Album Simply Sucks
  31. JoeB.
    Nov 10, 2007
    2
    Praise for this album centers on how great the dance tracks are, once again proving that many critics have a generally poor knowledge of the dance music scene. Everything on this album has been done better elsewhere--sometimes even with the help of the very same producers--on dance albums in the last two years.
  32. LisaJ.
    Nov 13, 2007
    0
    I shudder to think that people actually like this trash. It's a perfect example of Ms. Spears herself. Trashy, cheap, noisy and useless. The only song worth dancing to is Gimme More. The rest of the album is shockingly bad and prooves that her air head fans will buy anything with her name on it. The whole album conjures up images if a fithy, dive of a bar where you will end up with I shudder to think that people actually like this trash. It's a perfect example of Ms. Spears herself. Trashy, cheap, noisy and useless. The only song worth dancing to is Gimme More. The rest of the album is shockingly bad and prooves that her air head fans will buy anything with her name on it. The whole album conjures up images if a fithy, dive of a bar where you will end up with an STD when you wake up the next day. Expand
  33. TristanC.
    Nov 1, 2007
    3
    I really wanted this album to be good, really I did. But this is BEYOND bad. There is only about two songs on it that are good. Her vocals are horrible, and the whole album is wayyyy over-produced. Once again, she had a chance to make a comeback, prove something, but sadly she let everyone down.....again.
  34. DavieB.
    Nov 1, 2007
    0
    Its just sad, it is a true statement on the current condition of the music industry. A record can be sold not on the merrit of its music but rather on how much tabloid covers the artist (if you can even call her that) is on. The reason people have bought this album is curriosity and nothing more, there is no depth to her music. Spears is a dinasuar and a hold over from the 90's who Its just sad, it is a true statement on the current condition of the music industry. A record can be sold not on the merrit of its music but rather on how much tabloid covers the artist (if you can even call her that) is on. The reason people have bought this album is curriosity and nothing more, there is no depth to her music. Spears is a dinasuar and a hold over from the 90's who unlike many of her contemporaries is unable to evolve with the times and change her imiage as well as her musical style to show any maturity or creativty. THose people who bought her music years ago have grown up, so why cant she? Many pop artist have been able to change and evolve with the times and still stay relevent and poplular while showing great depth, but it seems that spears (or should i say the people who controle her or tell her what to do) wish not to take a risk and stick to the same formula she used when she was 17 (Low browl radio friendly sexuality that boarders more on cheap back alley prositition then it does on true sex appeal, easy to digest none complicated dance beats, and simple verse chorus verse song structure, all in a simple 4 minute or less radio format) The use of auto tuner on this record is sickening, it just goes to show how many in the music industry use the studio not as a tool to enhance the artist and the music but as a crutch to support them and hide their all to evident flaws. This is all to visible in her inability to perform her own music on stage (let alone fake it) Since when was it more important to dance then sing in the context of populat music? Is her music that shallow that people go to the shows to see crappy dancing (if she was a good dancer she wouldnt need coreographers to tell her every sigle move to make on stage) rather then listen to the music. She is nothing but a little doll that record exucutives hope to wind up and play so they can try to save their failing industry. The 90's are over and so is this farce that has been sold to us as something resemballing talent. Spears needs to stick to what she is good at, being tabloid fauder Expand
  35. Clint
    Nov 1, 2007
    0
    are you kidding? people think that this is her greatest album ever?!! do not waste your money on this trash, and i'm not talking about her personal life. the music is boring, monotonous, stupid and annoying. britney fans should go back and listen to her other cds, when she was in control of her life, and tell the difference.
  36. DavieB.
    Nov 2, 2007
    0
    Its just sad, it is a true statement on the current condition of the music industry. A record can be sold not on the merrit of its music but rather on how much tabloid covers the artist (if you can even call her that) is on. The reason people have bought this album is curriosity and nothing more, there is no depth to her music. Spears is a dinasuar and a hold over from the 90's who Its just sad, it is a true statement on the current condition of the music industry. A record can be sold not on the merrit of its music but rather on how much tabloid covers the artist (if you can even call her that) is on. The reason people have bought this album is curriosity and nothing more, there is no depth to her music. Spears is a dinasuar and a hold over from the 90's who unlike many of her contemporaries is unable to evolve with the times and change her imiage as well as her musical style to show any maturity or creativty. THose people who bought her music years ago have grown up, so why cant she? Many pop artist have been able to change and evolve with the times and still stay relevent and poplular while showing great depth, but it seems that spears (or should i say the people who controle her or tell her what to do) wish not to take a risk and stick to the same formula she used when she was 17 (Low browl radio friendly sexuality that boarders more on cheap back alley prositition then it does on true sex appeal, easy to digest none complicated dance beats, and simple verse chorus verse song structure, all in a simple 4 minute or less radio format) The use of auto tuner on this record is sickening, it just goes to show how many in the music industry use the studio not as a tool to enhance the artist and the music but as a crutch to support them and hide their all to evident flaws. This is all to visible in her inability to perform her own music on stage (let alone fake it) Since when was it more important to dance then sing in the context of populat music? Is her music that shallow that people go to the shows to see crappy dancing (if she was a good dancer she wouldnt need coreographers to tell her every sigle move to make on stage) rather then listen to the music. She is nothing but a little doll that record exucutives hope to wind up and play so they can try to save their failing industry. The 90's are over and so is this farce that has been sold to us as something resemballing talent. Spears needs to stick to what she is good at, being tabloid fauder Expand
  37. RobertB.
    Nov 7, 2007
    1
    Absolutely terrible.
  38. FrankF.
    Oct 30, 2007
    0
    15 songs of nothing!
  39. CaladoniaK
    Oct 31, 2007
    0
    Horrid.
  40. ChrisV
    Oct 30, 2007
    5
    Very disappoint record... its not britney anymore.. its only a bunch f producers doing their thing and britneys voice on the track, sucks!!!
  41. charlesc.
    Nov 1, 2007
    0
    absolute and complete garbage. Britney has no talent at all, whatever talent she USED to have evidently disinigrated into an abusive talentless alcholic partying awful mother who cant sing, cant dance and cant keep a man.If u see this cd in stores THROW IT ON THE GROUND AND STEP ON IT...you may be saving someone from 60 mins of dookey.
  42. LyleG.
    Nov 1, 2007
    0
    She is a horrible human being and a rotten musical artist. Jessica Simpson has more integrity and soul!
  43. Kyle
    Oct 31, 2007
    3
    On a daily basis, it's utterly horrendous. Her voice was never her strength, and it's worse now. It gets a three because the beats are, at the very least, good enough for clubs. However, I would walk out of a club if her music is being forced into my ears.
  44. Sep 5, 2010
    8
    i think this is her best job, in her worst moment, gimme more (single) is powerful and had the "it's britney B***h" that become in a unforgetting line
  45. May 23, 2011
    10
    Blackout is the pop electronic album of the decade. Its a masterpeice and its a real shame that people can't enjoy it because of the credibility that Britney seems to have nowadays.
  46. Sep 13, 2010
    8
    Britney's comeback album definitely was great but lacked some of what her previous albums had. On "In The Zone" Britney did a song with Madonna and it was the best. Black out is good Standout tracks: "Gimme More" "Why Should I Be Sad" and "Piece of Me"
  47. Mar 2, 2011
    7
    On paper, a Britney Spears album without the help of writer Max Martin is a recipe for disaster. Yet despite the absence of the Swede, and the fact that Britney was fat, barmy and bald during the lead up to this record, Blackout does not suck. In fact, to date it's the only Spears album worth listening to in its entirety. Many of the tracks have the tendency to sneak up and surprise; sheOn paper, a Britney Spears album without the help of writer Max Martin is a recipe for disaster. Yet despite the absence of the Swede, and the fact that Britney was fat, barmy and bald during the lead up to this record, Blackout does not suck. In fact, to date it's the only Spears album worth listening to in its entirety. Many of the tracks have the tendency to sneak up and surprise; she sounds sexy on "Ooh Ooh Baby" without being gross, cool on "Gimme More" without trying too hard, and pissed off on "Piece of Me" without caring a whole lot. Somewhat of a minor miracle! Expand
  48. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    First, I found it irritating, forgettable, and boring. Different from her previous work. As I listen to it again, I realized that it is entertaining and danceable. Futuristic at its best and shows that Britney will always hire the best. So, the album is Britney's best for me.
  49. Dec 23, 2011
    9
    Very Solid Good Album!
    The Best Songs In My Opinion Are:
    Gimme More, Piece Of Me, Break The Ice, Freakshow, And Oooh Oooh Baby!
    My Favorite Song Is Get Naked (I Got A Plan)!
  50. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    I could list why every song on this album is just pure perfection, but it would take too long. "Blackout" is widely regarded as the most influential pop album in recent times, and rightfully so. Absolute perfection.
  51. May 23, 2011
    9
    So much about Britney's actual "blackout". This version of her public life is splendid enough to make me hug it for the rest of my musically-inclined life. Its her best album since her debut and deserves more credit. As she sang in "Why Should I Be Sad?", "it's time for me to move along/it's time for me to get along". Thats the good news of promise and improvement and while she's at it,So much about Britney's actual "blackout". This version of her public life is splendid enough to make me hug it for the rest of my musically-inclined life. Its her best album since her debut and deserves more credit. As she sang in "Why Should I Be Sad?", "it's time for me to move along/it's time for me to get along". Thats the good news of promise and improvement and while she's at it, there's always Blackout to celebrate a high point in her career. Expand
  52. Sep 19, 2011
    7
    Even if it's hardly Britney's effort, Blackout is a surprising comeback packed with cleverly produced, club-ready dance tracks that are heavily influenced by the electropop and synthpop genres ("Freakshow" has a striking dubstep influence) and about as catchy as the flu in December.
  53. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    This album is the best one by Britney. It signs her return to the music world. The album contains really good dance tracks like Get Naked (I Got a Plan), Piece Of Me and Gimme More. This album has got Britney's touch. This album launched the music in a new planet: the Electro Music.
  54. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    "Blackout" has re-defined the pop music. Since its release, the culture hasn't been the same. One of the best albums released by Britney Spears. Be sure to check "Heaven on Earth" and "Freakshow" on this album.
  55. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    This is pop music at its best. Britney went through hard times before and during the recording of this album, but the outcome is nothing less than spectacular. Definitely one of the best albums of the 00s.
  56. Mar 22, 2012
    7
    Not the best album of Britney Spears had the ability to earn top marks in both the critics and admirers of the critique of pseudo-singer (not the fans, for their opinion should not be taken into account). From there we see the level of artist. No more comments.
  57. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Her second best album, Heaven On Earth is epic!
  58. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    "Blackout" is, without a doubt, Britney's best album. It was released during the roughest time of her live, and when her image was very damaged because of her erratic behaviour (in fact, "Blackout" is the only Britney album that hasn't reached the number 1 spot on the Billboard 200 list). However that shouldn't have affected anyone's vision of the album, and "Blackout" is the most cohesive"Blackout" is, without a doubt, Britney's best album. It was released during the roughest time of her live, and when her image was very damaged because of her erratic behaviour (in fact, "Blackout" is the only Britney album that hasn't reached the number 1 spot on the Billboard 200 list). However that shouldn't have affected anyone's vision of the album, and "Blackout" is the most cohesive and meaningful album that she has ever done and, judging by her later efforts, that she will ever do. She didn't do any writing for the album (and she has never been a very productive writer), but the songs really fit her story, so she must have some good choosing skills, or very good writers working for her. The whole album is a statement, and a very effective one. It opens with "Gimme More" and the iconic "It's Britney, **** and is followed by "Piece of Me", one of her best songs ever. It is really sad that her situation was so out of control that she couldn't properly promote or perform these songs, because most of them were extremely mainstream and hits waiting to happen, and not every album has that and maintains it's quality. It is ironic how Britney could deliver her best album in her worst moment, making it to be her most ignored record. Some may say that it's overrated. I don't think it is, at all. I think she couldn't give it the attention it deserved. Highlights: Get Naked (I Got a Plan), Piece of Me, Radar, Hot as Ice Expand
  59. Jun 29, 2012
    10
    Without a doubt her best cd released as of 2012. An it is one the top cd's released in 07. The production is just amazing. On pretty much every track Britney sounds so invested and/or engaged. A great thing to hear, excluding In The Zone, Britney had a tendency to sound like she wasn't really connecting with songs off previous albums. On this album though she sounds like she is having funWithout a doubt her best cd released as of 2012. An it is one the top cd's released in 07. The production is just amazing. On pretty much every track Britney sounds so invested and/or engaged. A great thing to hear, excluding In The Zone, Britney had a tendency to sound like she wasn't really connecting with songs off previous albums. On this album though she sounds like she is having fun and enjoying her time in the recording studio. The album would have sold millions had it been properly promoted and had Britney been in better health. Because at the end of the day it really is that amazing. Expand
  60. May 16, 2012
    10
    Simply, one of the best pop albums of the millennium. Every song on that album is a masterpiece!
    "It's Britney **** is enough to make the album the most memorable one in history.
  61. May 29, 2012
    9
    Britney's Best Album (Up To 2007)
    Amazing Tracks And Vocals!
    Love Every Song..
    90% A-
  62. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    best Britney album so far, followed by Femme Fatale and then Circus. Blackout is so sick, deep, new, I love it. congratulations to producers! Still waiting for something like this again from Britney
  63. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    Probably the best album that Britney Spears will ever produce. It's the only of her records that lacks a bit of the shallow and empty touch that In The Zone exceeded and Femme Fatale sums up in voice effects and over-production.
  64. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    the world's biggest pop star has released one of her best records. out passing her In The Zone era, Blackout takes you into a world of fame, money, sex and glamour as Britney sings hits like Gimme More featuring Danja and lovey dovey ones like Ooh Ooh Baby alongside the amazing Piece Of Me and Toy Soldier
  65. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Her Best Album Up To 2007!
  66. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Un album inteligente y sexy que ha logrado ser la inspiración para muchos artistas, es una obra maestra en donde Britney se escucha relajada y donde se le puede escuchar divertida en cada track
  67. Dec 8, 2013
    8
    This is pretty fantastic for a Britney Spears record. Through her then personal struggles she managed to put out an original and classic dance album in which any of the tracks could be a hit single. Download: Every track except "Hot as Ice", "Why Should I Be Sad" and "Get Back" (and definitely not "Everybody" found on the deluxe edition).
  68. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever
  69. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Baby One More Time is her best album, just because is her debut album but this is definitely her most personal album, Britney Jean is just a waste of time... This is a truly comeback.
  70. May 14, 2014
    10
    Funny thing is that Britney recorded her (by far) best album while she was at her worst. Blackout is a really nice album and has made history in many cultures. It has those beats all over, but they're by no means generic and still really dance-able today. You hit the right spot, Ms. spears!
  71. Jul 27, 2014
    10
    After a three year hiatus amid a mental breakdown, Britney Spears proved that she was still reigning pop royalty. Each track has its own unique sound, propelled by inferior production. By far her most adventurous work to date!
  72. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    The 2007 album, Best album of Spears.
    The amazing and cool album, Gimme More, Hot As Ice and Piece Of Me are best songs of princess of pop!
    Danja is so amazing, Pharell is so cool and Timbaland is so fantastic...
    Britney is the only princess of pop
  73. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    Um grande álbum. Não é à toa que ele é considerado o melhor da carreira de Britney Spears e uma Bíblia do Pop. Muito bem produzido e com músicas conceituais, ele, se fosse lançado hoje, seria atual. Muito bom. :)
  74. Oct 22, 2014
    10
    This Is a Perfect album. Yes the Gimme More is super and Piece Of Me a big hit, Radar & Break The Ice this amazing. This Perfect. Britney 4 big hit in 1 album.
  75. DH
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    I think it's great! Fun and consistent. Love the album cover. The whole album has energy. Everybody lighten up.
  76. angelm.
    Nov 1, 2007
    9
    this is a very good album, fresh, pop, dance, maybe is no the best of britney but i love it
  77. ChrisNYC
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Britney is back!!!!....The album gives awesome dance tracks from start to finsih......say what you will about her personal life, but let the music speak for itself......and it delivers, time and again!
  78. AriffM
    Nov 20, 2007
    8
    I was never a fan, except for the bounciness of Toxic & the pathos of Something, I never gave much thought about Ms Britney, that is, until she shaved her head. What a great show of defiance! Can you imagine Nelly Furtado or any of the top 10 female pop performers doing the same out of some bizarre emotional self-confrontation? As for the album - if you're a fan of Ladytron-Depeche I was never a fan, except for the bounciness of Toxic & the pathos of Something, I never gave much thought about Ms Britney, that is, until she shaved her head. What a great show of defiance! Can you imagine Nelly Furtado or any of the top 10 female pop performers doing the same out of some bizarre emotional self-confrontation? As for the album - if you're a fan of Ladytron-Depeche Mode you'd be pleasantly surprised. Expand
  79. CaesarC.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Great album, Britney improved her music since In The Zone.
  80. Britney'sV.
    Nov 3, 2007
    7
    Some of my best work y'all!
  81. RyanT
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    This album is great. All the songs, that's right, all of them, are great. Very dance-like. I recommend it to anyone.
  82. ChrisG
    Dec 5, 2007
    9
    It is her best album yet. The songs are funky and futuristic. All of the bizarre voice she uses like in Get Naked (I Got A Plan) and Freakshow work to her advantage. The dance club hits like Gimme More and Radar make this cd a huge success.
  83. DardoS
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    I cannot believe it. No, really. I dislike Britney's music, I usually find it way too stupid. "Blackout" is not the exception: it is probably the most stupid thing you've heard... after "Spice up your life" perhaps. But the truth is that this piece of stupid music is amazingly funny! It's not the kinda album I'm gonna listen to over and over. But you can be sure that I cannot believe it. No, really. I dislike Britney's music, I usually find it way too stupid. "Blackout" is not the exception: it is probably the most stupid thing you've heard... after "Spice up your life" perhaps. But the truth is that this piece of stupid music is amazingly funny! It's not the kinda album I'm gonna listen to over and over. But you can be sure that you can play it on a party, and it will work. Oh, and "Hot as ice" is the biggest nonsense I've heard in my life. And I just can't help lovin' it. Expand
  84. JamesKuyken
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    Awesome come back album!!!!
  85. BenceB.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Of Course, Britney's best work i think, all the song is modern, up-tempo and electric! a typically R&B/Pop disc :) i love it! BRITNEY B***h is back.
  86. MathieuO.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    And yes this album is fabulous.
  87. RobertF
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    Britney's much anticipated album doesn't fail to deliver. This album is very well produced and one can't help but be caught in the hynotic and yet playful beats that Britney's crew carve out. One needs wonder whether this is just slick production or a smart plan by the former good girl now ubiquitous star credited as executive producer. A great pop dance album with Britney's much anticipated album doesn't fail to deliver. This album is very well produced and one can't help but be caught in the hynotic and yet playful beats that Britney's crew carve out. One needs wonder whether this is just slick production or a smart plan by the former good girl now ubiquitous star credited as executive producer. A great pop dance album with many beats destined for radio and chart success. Collapse
  88. PaulinaC.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Amazing!
  89. ixata
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    Really... i just had to give this album a 10. its just too good. no fillers AT ALL. and my idols are tori amos and bjork. please guys.. give ratings to THIS ALBUM.. not her life or whatever that bugs you.. buy this record and enjoy.
  90. EnzoP
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    Perfectly produced and sang: Spears' voice sounds amazing on beats by Danja, Bloodshy & Avant and others. Her best album so far.
  91. MB
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    Britney's best album yet.
  92. BobD.
    Feb 1, 2008
    9
    Very well done for someone so troubled. Shows that no matter how crazy you go, if you have an ear for excellent pop, that ain't gonna leave. Standouts for me are Heaven On Earth, Freakshow, Perfect Lover and the bonus track Outta This World. Every song is good in some way though, and this album sounds AMAZING if you play it blaring loud in your car during summer with the windows Very well done for someone so troubled. Shows that no matter how crazy you go, if you have an ear for excellent pop, that ain't gonna leave. Standouts for me are Heaven On Earth, Freakshow, Perfect Lover and the bonus track Outta This World. Every song is good in some way though, and this album sounds AMAZING if you play it blaring loud in your car during summer with the windows down. Well done Britney, now get well soon! Expand
  93. DerekC.
    Feb 5, 2008
    9
    Whilst her voice isn't very deserving of praise9lets face it the nasal sound can be giot from kindergartners!!) this album is just enjotable and for once she doesn't appeaar to be fixed at the mic her voice whether good or bad is shown. Not bad!
  94. Anonymous
    Mar 21, 2009
    9
    Welcome back, Britney, we missed you! Blackout shocked me from start to finish. At first, I thought: "Oh, crap, another comeback album." But it's more. It's a defiant, in-your-face sucker punch to the media's gut. Full of catchy beats, unusual synth sounds, and fearlessly sexy lyrics, Blackout may just be Britney's best work yet. Piece Of Me, Gimme More, and Break The Welcome back, Britney, we missed you! Blackout shocked me from start to finish. At first, I thought: "Oh, crap, another comeback album." But it's more. It's a defiant, in-your-face sucker punch to the media's gut. Full of catchy beats, unusual synth sounds, and fearlessly sexy lyrics, Blackout may just be Britney's best work yet. Piece Of Me, Gimme More, and Break The Ice are the best tracks, but Toy Soldier and Freakshow are well done, too. Expand
  95. SoniaC
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    I absolutely LOVE every song on the album!
  96. whits
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    brilliant electro pop. girl gonna WORK.
  97. gabriel!
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    her best album yet.
  98. JordanL
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Anyone who doesn't like this album has no business in dance music or having fun. Don't people GET IT? She is a DANCE artist. She does not make sappy love ballads & her voice isn't strong like Mariah or Celine's, yet people always belittle her because of that. If, say, Madonna or Kylie made an album like this, it would have gotten 5/5 stars everywhere. And people Anyone who doesn't like this album has no business in dance music or having fun. Don't people GET IT? She is a DANCE artist. She does not make sappy love ballads & her voice isn't strong like Mariah or Celine's, yet people always belittle her because of that. If, say, Madonna or Kylie made an album like this, it would have gotten 5/5 stars everywhere. And people complaining about the overproduced vocals? Are you kidding? IT IS A DANCE ALBUM, IT IS SUPPOSE TO BE ROBOTIC AND ELECTRONIC-INFLUENCED. Have you guys ever heard of DAFT PUNK?! Each song is a classic and I must say it is becoming one of my favorite albums ever. Expand
  99. MateoG.
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    I Love it! great album.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. The biggest failure of these songs, and the most confusing thing about this album, are the melodies.
  2. Poetry it's not. Still, there is something delightfully escapist about Blackout, a perfectly serviceable dance album abundant in the kind of bouncy electro elements that buttressed her hottest hits.
  3. For every hot, of-the-moment track, though, there's something like the nonsensical 'Hot As Ice,' which was co-penned by the thoroughly talentless T-Pain and might have worked two albums ago but just sounds retrograde here.