Blak and Blu - Gary Clark, Jr.
Blak and Blu Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The full-length major label debut for Texas blues-rock singer was produced by Mike Elizondo.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 91
    Though Clark can occasionally get self-indulgent (some of the jammier songs here drift past the six-minute mark), his casual charisma is powerful enough to consistently hold together Blak and Blu's eclecticism.
  2. Nov 8, 2012
    88
    There is an earnestness to Blak & Blu, even in its bumpier moments, that holds your attention, even if it's the testosterone fueled bombast that initially grabs it by the throat.
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    And yet, despite such growing pains, Clark's penchant for restless, exploratory tangents ensures that Blak and Blu hits like a ton of bricks.
  4. Oct 23, 2012
    68
    Clark's refusal to be pigeonholed as merely a great axman results in a diverse, sometimes confounding record that exhibits a still-evolving oeuvre while still showcasing the chops that got him to this point in his career.
  5. Oct 23, 2012
    60
    Clark's talent is undeniable, but only when he's not flogging it half to death.
  6. Feb 12, 2013
    60
    Gary Clark, Jr merges smooth vocals with economical guitar wizardry and makes it all sound less wearyingly pub-rock by embracing the 21st century. [Mar 2013, p.95]
  7. Feb 25, 2013
    60
    His guitar and voice are at their best on the likes of opening Stax stomper Ain't Messin' 'Round and the heavy soul of When My Train Pulls In, Numb, and the funky Bright Lights--his guitar crunchy and full in a way you only get with good amps and pedals.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    Solid blues with added surprises of hip hop, soul and power pop! One of my favorites to wake up the party or travelling in the car! Gary ClarkSolid blues with added surprises of hip hop, soul and power pop! One of my favorites to wake up the party or travelling in the car! Gary Clark Jr is the latest in a long line of talented and versatile guitarists in the guitar hero mode. Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    Gary Clark Jr. is amazing at what he does. That solo on "Please Come Home" is filled with so much soul I don't know how else to describe it.Gary Clark Jr. is amazing at what he does. That solo on "Please Come Home" is filled with so much soul I don't know how else to describe it. "Third Stone from the Sun / If You Love Me Like You Say" is just plain crazy. He has is own signature sound. It's kind of like how you can tell just by listening when Hendrix is playing, or Santana, or Jack White. That little lick he plays on that song (Third Stone form the Sun...) is derived from Hendrix's version but he made it his own. I like it all. There's something missing, though. I was expecting another song like "Numb" but with even more energy. Maybe Gary can create something crazy in his next album. I'd love to hear some Muddy Waters mixed with Jack White and some Hendrix flavor on a track. Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2012
    5
    Half the songs are great, half the songs really are terrible. Way too over-produced and absolutely a grab bag of styles from song to song.Half the songs are great, half the songs really are terrible. Way too over-produced and absolutely a grab bag of styles from song to song. Some obvious, heavy handed attempts at radio play sandwiched between fantastic blues. Listening to this album all the way through is simply an impossibility. Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    5
    Good, not great. Some songs have enough power in them to make the album worth listening to worth while, but ultimately most songs areGood, not great. Some songs have enough power in them to make the album worth listening to worth while, but ultimately most songs are skippable. Such a contrast from song to song does not fair well to a listener looking for consistency from song to song. Ultimately, this album fell short of its potential. Collapse