Blood Pressures

  • Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Apr 5, 2011
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 5, 2011
    8
    Blood Pressures is not their best album (I'd say that distinction goes to Midnight Boom) but for those of us who can't enough Mosshart in our lives, this album should fill the void until the Dead Weathers next album.
  2. Apr 11, 2011
    9
    I'm compelled to write a review about this album because I feel as though it is the best album released so far in 2011 (better than the Smith Westerns - Dye It Blonde; Iron & Wine - Kiss Each Other Clean; and yes Radiohead's - King Of Limbs). I know that is a bold statement, but the tracks on this album are strong and the Kills have evolved just enough since Midnight Boom to make thisI'm compelled to write a review about this album because I feel as though it is the best album released so far in 2011 (better than the Smith Westerns - Dye It Blonde; Iron & Wine - Kiss Each Other Clean; and yes Radiohead's - King Of Limbs). I know that is a bold statement, but the tracks on this album are strong and the Kills have evolved just enough since Midnight Boom to make this album a near masterpiece. I agree with the other user reviews that this album is not as good as Midnight Boom (Midnight Boom was a masterpiece) because a few tracks are somewhat boring on this record (i.e. Pots and Pans; You Don't Own The Road). I have noticed that the bpm has slowed down on most tracks. At first I was expecting more tracks to be upbeat, but the slower tracks have truly grown on me (i.e. Future Starts Slow; The Last Goodbye; Baby Says). I will admit that the best tracks on the record are the upbeat tracks (i.e. Nail In My Coffin; Heart Is A Beating Drum). It really gets to me when people make references to The Dead Weather because I feel that the Kills (and the White Stripes) were better off before the collaboration and that the albums made by those two groups are much better than either of the Dead Weather records. This album is no different. The Kills have ultimately returned to form, with the addition of slight tweaks that appropriately make this album a real winner. Expand
  3. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    I think its really awesome actually, you can sense some influence from dead weather in this darker album, The kills never disappoint, i think that Midnight Boom was their best album, but this one is pretty close to it, songs like future starts slow, nail in my coffin or teh last goodbye are an incredible composition of music and lyrics, thanks for another great album from the kills!
  4. May 9, 2011
    8
    The Kills are at it again. They've gotten darker than their previous work, and I'd say its turned out a good sound. This isn't Midnight Boom (their best album - easily IMO), but it still showcases Alison as the baddedst chick in rock n' roll.
  5. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    Although not their best, this is still a solid blues rock record from The uber cool Kills. Real music you can dance too. The band are on great form here and show no signs of relinquishing their hold on their ice cool rock crown. Heart is a Beating Drum and Damned if She Do are the highlights for me.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Mojo
    May 17, 2011
    60
    Blood pressures doesn't quite take charge of their joint destiny as decisively as it needs to, the cohesive chain smoking cool do their earlier albums diluted by sudden shifts in tempo and mood. [May 2011, p.104]
  2. Q Magazine
    May 17, 2011
    80
    What was often missing was much in the way of engaging, nuanced songwriting. Four alums in, though, there are clear signs of progress. [May 2011, p.121]
  3. Apr 19, 2011
    87
    Bluesier and less electronic than its predecessor, "Blood Pressures" is by far the Kills' most accomplished and diverse set yet.