Blown Away - Carrie Underwood
Blown Away Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio album for the Grammy-winning country singer was produced by Mark Bright.
  • Record Label: Arista
  • Genre(s): Pop, Country, Adult Contemporary, Pop/Rock, Pop Idol, Contemporary Country
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. May 1, 2012
    In an already impressive, multi-platinum career, Blown Away is a landmark achievement.
  2. 83
    When she's a good girl, she's very good--but Bad Carrie just sounds better.
  3. May 10, 2012
    This is easily Carrie's most well-rounded and confident work to date.
  4. Apr 30, 2012
    While the album starts bold and mechanically impressive, it gets progressively quieter over the course of its first half, as if she were taking a break from fire-breathing... [Yet] relaxation is not her milieu.
  5. Jun 14, 2012
    However predictable the package, there's fun to be had in these tales of bad dads, cheating husbands and cold, cold hearts, and Underwood delivers them with sweet purposefulness.
  6. May 1, 2012
    This is nebulous pop music dressed up in country fringe, zoomed out so far that Underwood never nails anything in particular.
  7. 50
    Mostly, though, Blown Away finds her using her remarkable voice to deliver feel-good bromides.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. May 5, 2012
    Even though I wish there would be more "dark" materials on the album like she promised, as a stand-alone album, Blown Away is an astounding collection of fun, sweet, dramatic, sad and thoughtful songs. Unlike the previous albums, Carrie takes you on a ride to different places; every song feels important and thoughtfully planned out. Recommended tracks: Wine After Whiskey, Good in Goodbye, Good Girl, Two Black Cadillacs, Thank God for Hometown, One Way Ticket, Cupid's Got a Shotgun. Expand
  2. May 2, 2012
    "Blown Away" is yet another great album released by American Idol winner, Country superstar Carrie Underwood!

    It's her most artistic effort
    so far, and the highlights go to the dramatic songs "Blown Away" and "Two Black Cadillac". Nevertheless, being as Country as she is, considering she's a proud Opry member, she also included some really Country tunes really she had never did before. These include the cute and interesting "Cupid's Got A Shotgun" which actually features Entertainer of the Year, Brad Paisley on electric guitar. And also "One Way Ticket", which has very heavy influences from the likes of Kenny Chesney. Expand
  3. Dec 16, 2012
    This album is a masterpiece. Differently from "Play On", "Blown Away" tracks are very different from each other, and she goes really country, she goes a little mellow, she goes a little pop, she goes a little rock, she is a multi-colored palette, and even though she show many different colours, they all work together, and nothing seems out of place in here. Carrie has proved once again why she is so successful, and this time, she's done it with real quality. Expand
  4. May 2, 2012
    This is her best album to date. I wouldn't skip any single track. It shows her versatility as a singer and growth as a songwriter. Standout tracks: Blown Away, Good In Goodbye, Wine After Whiskey, Two Black Cadillacs, and See You Again. Expand
  5. May 14, 2012
    This album is full of music seems to be one of the few places left that the album format is still surviving. And here it lives up to the old standards. Great songs to sing along with, powerful use of her amazing voice. Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    With Underwood soaring her vocals to heights not recorded on her own studio albums before, Blown Away is a masterpiece in achieving the best vocal capabilities of any Idol alumni (even outshining Kelly Clarkson.) With a mix of fun summer-sound jams like Good Girl and One Way Ticket, to the dark and brooding Two Black Cadillacs and Blown Away, Underwood's vocals command the lyrics and blow away the production. With expertise quality in delivering an album that flows naturally from desolate and dark, to cheery, and hopeful Underwood and her team have delivered an album solid for the genre of Country. While perhaps best favoring the album's closing ballad in Who Are You, mid-album track, Thank God For Hometowns, and single See You Again, Underwood rivals even the majesty of her previous release (Play On). Expand
  7. Sep 16, 2012
    Just bought this album and was disappointed. I think she took 2 steps back from her previous works. I bought it because I liked her first single, Good Girl, but the rest of the songs just did not do anything at all for me. Just very bland and she doesn't seem to have evolved at all. Oh well, maybe next CD. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews