• Record Label: Vanguard
  • Release Date: Jul 13, 2010

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
Buy On
  1. It's a turmoil of glorious noise.
  2. Though there is a good chunk of filler ("Wesley," "Target Heart," "Go On," "The Game,") the memorable songs mark this disc as something worth purchasing and something worth coming back to.
  3. While Blue Giant has the freshness and enthusiasm of a debut album, it also boasts the artistry and intelligence of a band with years of experience, and this music brings forth the joy of the best of both worlds.
  4. The musicians involved in the band are seasoned professionals who really know their instruments, and it's obvious they're enjoying themselves. That makes Blue Giant that rare side project/supergroup that manages to combine musicians having fun with good songwriting and exceed expectations.
  5. Alternative Press
    The band's piecemeal rock 'n' roll emerges a mish-mash of spacey barroom blues, with Kevin's voice sometimes struggling yo pair with the front-and-center obligation that rawer music demands. [Aug 2010, p.146]
  6. Under The Radar
    While the new pieces are generally good, it's the songs from [last year's EP} Target Heart that continue to shine brightest. [Summer 2010, p.82]
  7. Tellingly, the best songs on Blue Giant are also the simplest, pointing to what this record could and perhaps should have been.

There are no user reviews yet.