Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    100
    Now, 21 years on, beautifully remastered, Blue Lines still sounds unique.
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    100
    Blue Lines still goes above and beyond. [Dec 2012, p.102]
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    100
    Blue Lines doesn't need [extras]. It was a classic in the truest sense, and unimprovable template that sound like it was recorded yesterday--or tomorrow. [Dec 2012, p.118]
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    100
    Twenty-plus years later, it still sounds ahead of its time and remains an influential, genre-spanning work.
  5. Nov 29, 2012
    100
    Flaunting both their range and their tremendously evocative productions, Massive Attack recorded one of the best dance albums of all time.
  6. Dec 21, 2012
    95
    Today though, with the skyline dominated by the likes of Kanye West and Plan B on their respective sides of the Atlantic, to hear this genuinely groundbreaking group in such magnificent high definition is probably the closest we're going to get to going back to any of today's megastar's roots.
  7. Jan 4, 2013
    90
    A ground-breaking debut, an original game-changer, a true, flawless, 24-carat triumph. [No. 94, p.60]
  8. Dec 11, 2012
    90
    No bonus tracks, no live filler--no reason to mess around when the perfection was in the pacing.
  9. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    Frankly [add-ons would] just be a distraction from the underlying theme that becomes clear once you get absorbed into the music, which is that Blue Lines is still Blue Lines, and most of the world is still trying to catch up to it.
  10. Nov 29, 2012
    90
    The new varnish appears to add little to an already sumptuous-sounding set.
  11. 90
    Resounding with enchanting vocals, a distinctly dusk-singed ambience and a keen precision thanks to its percussion, Blue Lines transcends the spills onto the dance floor and tinny thumps from laptop speakers, possessing a cosmic ability to remain a masterpiece 21 years after its release.
  12. Nov 29, 2012
    70
    This 2012 Remix/Remaster version of the album, with its rich mastering, is the one to own.... But it is not Massive Attack's masterpiece. Though some would disagree, that honor goes to 1994 follow-up Protection.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    8
    I am not nostalgic on this one. Massive Attack is simply my most listened to artist for the past twenty years never very long without a play. Is this album a masterpiece? Damn right it is! Is this mix an improvement? No, no it's not unfortunately. I found the album to be a casualty of the loudness wars. I am really missing out of the high cracks of the highs here and the punch of the drums when you really crank it up. I just leaves me feeling a bit muddy in the head. Do yourself a favor, go grab the original and crank it up! Full Review »
  2. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    Super awesome. A remake at its best. Although Massive Attack has a lot to catch up over Heligoland, this album, which is one of the best in decades, has never been better! Full Review »
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    One of the great albums of the past 25 years unquestionably. Hugely influential. I think this is their best one, with Mezzanine also worthy of a mention. Can we please stop calling it 'trip-hop' though? The artist themselves (along with fellow innovaters from the mid 1990s Portishead) constantly state their dislike of this labelling of their music. Just sit back, relax and enjoy. Full Review »