Blur 21 - Blur
Blur 21 Image

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The collector's limited edition set includes all seven studio albums, plus bonus CDs for each album, four CDs of rare/unreleased material, three DVDs, a 7" vinyl album, and a book about the Britpop band that included Damon Albarn and Graham Coxon as members.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jul 24, 2012
    Teeming with B-sides, live tracks, and demos, much of it previously unreleased, 21 is both exhaustive and indispensable.
  2. Jul 30, 2012
    It's a treasure trove of Britpop and English musical history, a veritable panoply of musical goodness.
  3. Jul 19, 2012
    You don't get bands like Blur very often. They deserve great boxsets, and this feels like one. [Aug 2012, p.85]
  4. Jul 31, 2012
    There were plenty of other great British bands of the '90s but none of their peers--Oasis, Suede, Pulp, Radiohead--covered as much stylistic ground or wound up with a catalog as rich as this ridiculously generous box set handily proves.
  5. Jul 31, 2012
    Unlike many career-spanning sets, Blur 21 is perfectly arranged, with each studio album living on its own disc, accompanied by another disc of era-specific bonus material like singles, compilation tracks, remixes and more.
  6. Jul 31, 2012
    The bonus material contains an abundance of amazing, weird, and brilliant moments. But the type of extras included-like a disc of demos from Blur's early years, when the band went by Seymour--will likely only interest completists.
  7. Jul 27, 2012
    The five and a half hours of unreleased demos/live recordings do give a warmly inclusive insider's feel but there's nothing I'd listen to more than a couple of times.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    Simply the best collection ever released. I was unfortunate to be completely skint when Blur released their singles boxset back at the end of the century... this more than makes up for it.

    Each album is provided in it's remastered form, with a bonus disc containing B-Sides and outtakes from the period of the album. Also included are 4 discs of rarities, 3 DVDs including Showtime (which fans will know), and more importantly for me (as it was the night I saw the band, and had the pleasure of meeting them afterwards) the 1999 singles show at Wembley.

    A limited edition one-sided 7" vinyl and a well-produced art book finish things off nicely.

    Being a stickler for keeping collections such as this in mint condition, I'm happy to say that the box includes a download code which gives you access to 320kbps MP3s of every track, so the CDs can stay in their protective shrink wrap. Sadly the DVDs are not available for (legal) download via the code.

    The contents of the box do everything they're supposed to do - providing an improved experience of the albums you had, and those you didn't. Even though I had all the albums already, this boxset makes for amazing value given the extra content you get.

    There is no legitimate reason to not give this collection a 10. If you aren't a fan, you didn't buy it, and if you are a fan you will LOVE it.
  2. Aug 13, 2012
    This band is magic, possessing maybe the most varied and interesting back catalogue of any band of the past two decades. If you like Blur, this box set is a no-brainer. If you're new, dive on in - you won't be disappointed. Expand
  3. Aug 6, 2012
    Blur, to some this may seem like a one hit wonder that says woohoo a lot. But you probably only think that because your a f**king American. Blur is life, it is molding, it is change. It is everything good and a little evil. It is blur. Expand