Born This Way

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1507 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 16, 2011
    8
    Born This Way does not quite work as well as a unit as "The Fame Monster" did, for example. However, the songs individually are rather good! I fell instantly in love with "ScheiÃ
  2. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    Needless to say, awesome album. Tiny Mix Tapes is obviously unprofessional and biased to give it a zero, especially when almost every other review disagrees with it. Those who hate this album are just prejudiced against mainstream music and are very bigoted about it, or they believe those dumb rumours of Lady Gaga being Satanic when they have no hard evidence. Period.
  3. May 23, 2011
    10
    She certainly is a Heavy Metal Lover. This is the best album of 2011 so far! i love lady gaga she deserves to take over the world with tunes this awe-inspiring!
  4. May 23, 2011
    8
    Whilst 'The Fame Monster' was more catchy, 'Born This Way' combines poetic lyrics, club-friendly beats, good vocals, and genuine heart to prove itself a winner in its own right.
  5. May 23, 2011
    10
    Most definitely gaga's best work to date. I'm so sick of albums being hyped up to the point where they aren't enjoyable anymore. I was starting to doubt the greatness of 'Born This Way' until i actually heard it. It is truly beautiful! Very big variety while staying with Gaga's signature sound. I cannot choose any favorite(s) tracks because all songs are equally good. very consistent. IMost definitely gaga's best work to date. I'm so sick of albums being hyped up to the point where they aren't enjoyable anymore. I was starting to doubt the greatness of 'Born This Way' until i actually heard it. It is truly beautiful! Very big variety while staying with Gaga's signature sound. I cannot choose any favorite(s) tracks because all songs are equally good. very consistent. I LOVE GAGA AND I WAS BORN THIS WAY. Expand
  6. May 28, 2011
    9
    Those who criticize that we the fans give it high scores because we're fans are just ignorant, we like her music so we gave her high scores, fan or not if you like the album then you high scores, its just that simple. I have to say I have my doubts at first because I'm surprised that she actually chose to go for the artist creative album this early in her career, at first I thought it wasThose who criticize that we the fans give it high scores because we're fans are just ignorant, we like her music so we gave her high scores, fan or not if you like the album then you high scores, its just that simple. I have to say I have my doubts at first because I'm surprised that she actually chose to go for the artist creative album this early in her career, at first I thought it was career suicide but after I heard Born This Way... I feel stupid for even doubting her. This album will not appeal for those wishing to listen to just pure top 40 radio songs, it's not a mainstream album by any pop definition. She's an artist that wishes to experiments and grow during her career, this album is the result. It's definitely not album of the decade by any chance, but it's definitely a great pop album. It strays far from her roots and at times she is trying to hard in this album to please any fans possible, but at least she tries. Most of it were awesome, themes ranging from self-empowerment, immigrants, appreciate life and others positive theme. It definitely have a more gothic lyrics in this album, the chorus of the whole album can be repetitive at times but it's only a minor problem. If you find yourself liking this album then I think you have no problem agreeing that for an 'artist creative' album, this is one damn good pop album. Expand
  7. May 24, 2011
    10
    A true pop, electric opera. Leaves you breathless because of its high energetic beats. Totally amazing! One of the best albums to ever put out by any artist!
  8. May 28, 2011
    10
    Wonderfu, Awesome, amazing, can not find words to describe this cd. Great songs, deep lyrics, this album is in a higher degree, much better than her previous ones. Simply a masterpiece
  9. May 23, 2011
    10
    Brilliant.
    I expected nothing less from Mother Monster. On my first listen, I felt that I wasn't hooked on the new, darker style that Gaga produces on this album. But by the second listen, I was hooked.
    Gaga has created a new sound for herself with 'Born This Way,' and much of the songs have strong meanings relating to Gaga and her fans. I think my favourites are 'Government Hooker,'
    Brilliant.
    I expected nothing less from Mother Monster. On my first listen, I felt that I wasn't hooked on the new, darker style that Gaga produces on this album. But by the second listen, I was hooked.
    Gaga has created a new sound for herself with 'Born This Way,' and much of the songs have strong meanings relating to Gaga and her fans. I think my favourites are 'Government Hooker,' (which is about the relationship between Marilyn Monroe and J.F.K., in case you were wondering) 'Judas,' 'Americano,' (which is reminiscent of Alejandro) and 'Bloody Mary,' which I feel is great and very different to anything that you have ever heard from Gaga.
    I feel that with this album, although not everything is perfect, Gaga is very close to finding herself and her perfect style.
    Expand
  10. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    While not Gaga's best work, this is a great album on its own merits featuring some groovy beats and sensational (and controversial) lyrics. And probably one of the best pop albums released this year.
  11. Jun 21, 2011
    8
    Not her best work to date, as the second half the album is mostly weak filler songs. At over an hour in length, it probably would have been wiser to leave out a few songs or choose to make the 5 minute songs a lot shorter. Nevertheless, the album is a nice fresh of breath air and brings something new to the current pop world (it may be 80's style, but it's not something every artist usesNot her best work to date, as the second half the album is mostly weak filler songs. At over an hour in length, it probably would have been wiser to leave out a few songs or choose to make the 5 minute songs a lot shorter. Nevertheless, the album is a nice fresh of breath air and brings something new to the current pop world (it may be 80's style, but it's not something every artist uses today). The first half of the album is pretty strong. "Marry the Night", "Americano", "Scheibe", and "Government Hooker" are typical Gaga, with the same catchy hooks that we all love. The rest of the songs are meh, but still better quality than most of today's pop releases. The last two songs are by far the best of the whole album: "You and I", an emotional ballad, and "The Edge of Glory", one of Gaga's stronger recent singles. Lady Gaga secures herself on top of the pop world with this album, which is much stronger than releases by Britney or Katy Perry. Expand
  12. May 24, 2011
    10
    Another fantastic album from Lady Gaga. I can't believe there's no filler on this album. Her hard work really shows in this album, it's definitely ambitious record.
  13. May 24, 2011
    10
    An exceptionally amazing album which has few flaws in it. Sure, there may be some tracks that seriously make me think that it was added just to so-called extend the timing on the record, but those tracks that were excellent were really, unforgettable. Some examples include ''Americano'', ''Scheisse'', ''Hair'', ''The Edge of Glory'', ''Born This Way'', ''Judas'' and ''Marry the Night''.An exceptionally amazing album which has few flaws in it. Sure, there may be some tracks that seriously make me think that it was added just to so-called extend the timing on the record, but those tracks that were excellent were really, unforgettable. Some examples include ''Americano'', ''Scheisse'', ''Hair'', ''The Edge of Glory'', ''Born This Way'', ''Judas'' and ''Marry the Night''. The rest are all beautiful in its own way, cause Gaga makes no mistakes. It's on the right track, baby, it was made this way. Expand
  14. May 24, 2011
    10
    She prove it once again, she is truly Phenomenal with this album,
    I love the message, the addicting wave, the beat in every single of the song in this album
    well done Gaga...........
  15. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Hell yes, this is an album that sould be listed among the best of this year!!!This album is totally different from her previous album, and that's what artists should do!!!Explore new ground and find new ideas that will bring you ear-orgasm, and Gaga surely delivers that at the maximum point!Every song is a highlight on its own in this album, an album that breaks music boundaries the wayHell yes, this is an album that sould be listed among the best of this year!!!This album is totally different from her previous album, and that's what artists should do!!!Explore new ground and find new ideas that will bring you ear-orgasm, and Gaga surely delivers that at the maximum point!Every song is a highlight on its own in this album, an album that breaks music boundaries the way only Gaga can do!!! Expand
  16. May 24, 2011
    8
    This album is really good. I don't see how anybody could hate this album. How can anybody say this album was horrible. I know its different from her other two albums but it still keep the electro pop sound. This album gets more personal but still has dance tracks, Lady Gaga on this album shows that she can sing. I love Lady Gaga. The Fame and Fame Monster was amazing album. This isThis album is really good. I don't see how anybody could hate this album. How can anybody say this album was horrible. I know its different from her other two albums but it still keep the electro pop sound. This album gets more personal but still has dance tracks, Lady Gaga on this album shows that she can sing. I love Lady Gaga. The Fame and Fame Monster was amazing album. This is different from those two albums. I think this album is her best yet. At first i didn't like the direction she was going for this album. After listening to this album I became to love it. This is one of the best albums of the year so far. Gaga on this album show people that she can song. Her song writing for this album is really good. I do miss the old gaga but this gaga is cool also in my book. I like the style for this album. This album sounds like an 80s album and also 90's and today. This is an album that some gaga fans would love and some wouldn't. Some people didn't like the direction she went for this album, I understand. Like I stated before I didn't like the direction she was going for this album. This album has some dance tracks like The Edge of Glory. This song is Gaga best yet. Love that song. Some songs are dance songs but still have an electro pop sound to it like You And I. This might be Gaga best album. Right now this is her best album but all her albums gets the same same ratings for me which means all her album are tie to me. This is my favorite right now at the moment but all her albums are really good. I don't see how anybody could give this album a 4 and down. Expand
  17. Aug 4, 2011
    8
    Born This Way is an album by a great musician blending and experimenting the sound of all her musical inspirations. Born This Way is too long for a single disc album and it sounds unfocused because you are confused if her direction is techno or pop rock. The use of religious names is getting offensive, she should get rid of it. The blend of electro-disco and pop rock in songs such as HairBorn This Way is an album by a great musician blending and experimenting the sound of all her musical inspirations. Born This Way is too long for a single disc album and it sounds unfocused because you are confused if her direction is techno or pop rock. The use of religious names is getting offensive, she should get rid of it. The blend of electro-disco and pop rock in songs such as Hair and Bad Kids is awkward. The unnecessary remakes or versions of Express Yourself is not needed and makes the album sound unoriginal. Overall, Born This Way is a solid pop album together with her first two albums. Expand
  18. May 23, 2011
    10
    The hype was worth it. Lady GaGa's Born This Way is a marvelous record. She sings her heart out in every song. Simply AMAZING! There are no stand-out tracks on the album, each and every song is great and could be a potential single. Weather she is singing about religion, love, fighting for equal rights or fighting for your own identity, she always makes sure that your going to beThe hype was worth it. Lady GaGa's Born This Way is a marvelous record. She sings her heart out in every song. Simply AMAZING! There are no stand-out tracks on the album, each and every song is great and could be a potential single. Weather she is singing about religion, love, fighting for equal rights or fighting for your own identity, she always makes sure that your going to be comfortable listening to it. Expand
  19. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    thought pjharvey would have made it, but nah, BORN this WAY, is the album of the year 2011. so far... i'm absolutely in love with every song, well 2 or 3 off, but they are on the deluxe edition anyway.
    Heavy metal Lover and Passion of his Love: GREAT songS!!!!!!
  20. May 28, 2011
    7
    The album is filled with diverse sounds that many people may not have heard in their lives. although all songs were great and felt they were engineered to run together in an endless loop, I felt highly uncomfortable while listening to some Of the songs. This is a great album, but the departure from her fame era music just felt wrong.
  21. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    This thing gets better everytime you listen to it, and already its shaping up to be one of the most underrated albums of the decade. Those panning this album are obviously unable to accept the change in style from The Fame and therefore I can only assume want their artists to keep producing the same stuff at every outing and not explore new avenues. If that's what you want; then thisThis thing gets better everytime you listen to it, and already its shaping up to be one of the most underrated albums of the decade. Those panning this album are obviously unable to accept the change in style from The Fame and therefore I can only assume want their artists to keep producing the same stuff at every outing and not explore new avenues. If that's what you want; then this masterpiece isn't for you. Whereas those of us who welcome the change in style can appreciate that tracks like U&I, The Edge of Glory and Hair are the highpoint of her career. Gaga is simply brilliant, I don't give a flying **** if Katy Perry has more Grammy nominations for her much LESS remarkable Teenage Dream; I never expected this album to be fully appreciated for what it is anyway. "I just wanna be myself, and i want you to love me for who I am.." We do, Gaga...we do. Expand
  22. May 27, 2011
    9
    ThisThis Album Is Overall Good.. Below Is A Track Listing And A Score Out Of 10-
    Marry The Night 10/10, Born This Way 10/10, Government Hooker 8/10, Judas 8/10, Americano 2/10, Hair 8/10, ScheiÃ
  23. Dec 7, 2016
    9
    It is and will remain one of the best and most important pop records of the decade. Apart from the odd head scratcher ('Highway Unicorn', 'The Queen', and the title track), every track is incredible in it's own way. This is pop's answer to hard-rock - taking pop and pushing it to it's ultimate limits. It didn't only confirm Lady Gaga's talent, it enhanced it.
  24. May 24, 2011
    10
    Pop, Electro, Dubstep, Dance, Country... This is what you'll find in Born This Way. Dance while thinking, this is what Gaga is trying to say in this album. Is it the pop album of the decade, as Akon said? Maybe... after all, the decade just started. But, it is the best pop release since Justin Timberlake's Futuresex/Lovesound. Hits? Marry The Night, Americano, Hair, The Edge Of Glory andPop, Electro, Dubstep, Dance, Country... This is what you'll find in Born This Way. Dance while thinking, this is what Gaga is trying to say in this album. Is it the pop album of the decade, as Akon said? Maybe... after all, the decade just started. But, it is the best pop release since Justin Timberlake's Futuresex/Lovesound. Hits? Marry The Night, Americano, Hair, The Edge Of Glory and of course, Born This Way and Judas. I feel you'll hear about Born This Way for a whole year for sure. Expand
  25. May 23, 2011
    7
    Lady Gaga provides in this album a dark , intense , addicting melody. Seems like she puts all her efforts to turn this into a massive orchestra of feelings. Intense beats combined to good vocal performances and awesome choruses makes this album a guaranteed hit for the story of Gaga
  26. May 24, 2011
    9
    Very interesting album, there was a wide variety of music on Born this Way. There are some songs that seem to drown out Lady Gaga's voice and some songs on the Special edition are not that interesting (lyrically and melodically). Still, the hits on the album (that you'll notice straight off) make it all worth it.
  27. May 23, 2011
    10
    Absolutely perfect. A beautiful and perfect album, thank you Gaga! Amazing, not boring, incredible, fantastic! The TRIUMPH of sounds! There isn't a track on this record that is a misfire.
  28. May 31, 2011
    7
    Born This Way will more than likely be a masterpiece for die-hard GaGa fans. For everyone else, it'll just be a recommendation. It is certainly more different than any other pop album of 2011, for sure. Another shiny aspect of Born This Way is that it sounds like a remastered blast from the '80s. The standout tracks are "Electric Chapel" and "The Edge of Glory", which definitely drawBorn This Way will more than likely be a masterpiece for die-hard GaGa fans. For everyone else, it'll just be a recommendation. It is certainly more different than any other pop album of 2011, for sure. Another shiny aspect of Born This Way is that it sounds like a remastered blast from the '80s. The standout tracks are "Electric Chapel" and "The Edge of Glory", which definitely draw influence from '80s dance pop and europop. However, one of its weakest tracks are "Judas", which is basically a rewritten version of "Bad Romance", both having the same tone and meaning. Expand
  29. May 23, 2011
    10
    Pop music has a bad reputation: repetition, laziness, the lack of anything by the singer. Thankfully, artists like GaGa do exist. Producing a -highly- solid (and not all radio friendly) albums with masterful songs causing 'Born This Way' to nearly burst at the seams, it stands tribute that Pop music is a genre like any other, though highly infused with rock and electronic also. Most standPop music has a bad reputation: repetition, laziness, the lack of anything by the singer. Thankfully, artists like GaGa do exist. Producing a -highly- solid (and not all radio friendly) albums with masterful songs causing 'Born This Way' to nearly burst at the seams, it stands tribute that Pop music is a genre like any other, though highly infused with rock and electronic also. Most stand out tracks for me are 'Bloody Mary', 'Heavy Metal Lovers' and 'Government Hooker'. A must buy. Expand
  30. May 23, 2011
    9
    (9,0)
    Lady GaGa criou um album experimental, com musicas que vão desde a agressiva Judas à delicada Hair, mas a maior gloria de todo o albúm foi a ausencia de musicas ruins. Desde a melódica Marry The Night até a gloriosa The Edge Of Glory, GaGa nos leva à uma viagem de sons e
    (9,0)
    Lady GaGa criou um album experimental, com musicas que vão desde a agressiva Judas à delicada Hair, mas a maior gloria de todo o albúm foi a ausencia de musicas ruins. Desde a melódica Marry The Night até a gloriosa The Edge Of Glory, GaGa nos leva à uma viagem de sons e composições dos mais variados tipos. Certamente, o melhor album POP dos ultimos anos.
    Expand
  31. May 24, 2011
    9
    For her third (or second, depending how you look at it) album, it's a pretty solid affair. An electro-clash of 80's rock and 90's dance, it proves to be a journey of an LP. The detractors will no doubt comment on her fanbase of "monsters", her ego, and her fashion instead of just enjoying the music. If this was released by Britney, her fans would be up in arms about how excellent it is,For her third (or second, depending how you look at it) album, it's a pretty solid affair. An electro-clash of 80's rock and 90's dance, it proves to be a journey of an LP. The detractors will no doubt comment on her fanbase of "monsters", her ego, and her fashion instead of just enjoying the music. If this was released by Britney, her fans would be up in arms about how excellent it is, but alas, no one just enjoys the music anymore. All in all, a credible album, few filler tracks, and several worthy singles. Expand
  32. May 24, 2011
    10
    I love this album. In my opinion, it's my own album of this decade. Even her next albums are better, I still mark this year is the year which had changed my life. All the track are very good, especially Scheisse & Bad Kids. This album is nothing like Femme Fatale, Animal, Cannibal .v..v.. It can change the world.
  33. May 23, 2011
    10
    Lady GaGa gave an exceptional album. It sounds so different in a good way from her previous work. The lyrics are so inspiring and themes like be yourself, betrayal, self esteem and identity is themes that are generation struggle for. The music is marvelous, it makes you dance or cry (i.e. The Edge of Glory). The GaGa phenomenon is the new type of reality and its characteristic boundlessLady GaGa gave an exceptional album. It sounds so different in a good way from her previous work. The lyrics are so inspiring and themes like be yourself, betrayal, self esteem and identity is themes that are generation struggle for. The music is marvelous, it makes you dance or cry (i.e. The Edge of Glory). The GaGa phenomenon is the new type of reality and its characteristic boundless freedom. Not only album of 2011 or the decade or anything else it is the album of our generation and it is definitely part of it since MJ, Madonna, Mariah Carey described and marked their generation and continue to be, "Born This Way" is excellency and the '10s a have a good start. Congratulations! Expand
  34. May 23, 2011
    10
    love it so much, much, muchim, muchado, machado, PEDÃ
  35. May 25, 2011
    10
    Lyrically, it is not genius, even cheesy sometimes but I can assure you I enjoyed listening to the album, she improved her singing and she's proving it with her strong vocal performances in Bloody Mary, Electric Chapel & The Edge Of Glory. this is a must-listen
  36. May 23, 2011
    10
    An amazing album! Yes, perhaps not the album of the decade, but comes close to pop album of the decade atleast! the songs are so different from the other mediocre stuff that is put out. I love it!
  37. May 24, 2011
    10
    Gorgeous, the album uses so many sound and combines them to create a true work of art. There are also uplifting and inspiring messages throughout the album, those reviews which are negative are looking for more of the same from gaga, this isnt the same this is different and fantastic
  38. May 24, 2011
    10
    One of the best pop albums that I heard and i am not joking! "Born This Way" offers something that not most of the pop albums deliver: Variety! If you like pop in all of his glory, this is your album.
  39. May 23, 2011
    10
    Simply a perfect album. There isn't a track on this record that is a misfire. I can't understand why it didn't get a better metascore. The album is probably the best of the decade. I haven't heard pop genius like this since MJ or Mad. It's INCREDIBLE!!!
  40. May 23, 2011
    10
    14 EARWORMS. Her music has totally evolved and the diversity of this monster provides music for everyone. It's a brave and proper step and though it is clear that this is not (yet) "album of the decade", only time will tell. Just settle yourself for the biggest pop rollercoaster ride Gaga has ever conceived. A masterpiece.
  41. May 23, 2011
    10
    Amazing album create by one of the most eccentric artist of all time. Sure Gaga takes what she wants from all of her inspiration (Madonna, Elton John, Whitney Houston and more), but she still manage to put her little something in everything. She is the voice of a generation, she speaks for every underdogs out there who are afraid to assumed and be proud of who they are. At a point, BORNAmazing album create by one of the most eccentric artist of all time. Sure Gaga takes what she wants from all of her inspiration (Madonna, Elton John, Whitney Houston and more), but she still manage to put her little something in everything. She is the voice of a generation, she speaks for every underdogs out there who are afraid to assumed and be proud of who they are. At a point, BORN THIS WAY is her and ours (Little Monster) speech for a future personal freedom. BEST TRACKS : MARRY THE NIGHT, BORN THIS WAY, ELECTRIC CHAPEL, THE EDGE OF GLORY, JUDAS AND BLOODY MARY. Expand
  42. May 23, 2011
    10
    Amazing album. Other than Highway Unicorn (Road To Love) which is horrible, every track is unique and has something to offer. The album includes everything and even the ones who did not enjoy her previous work will find something they like.
    Standouts:
    Government Hooker, Judas, Marry The Night, The Edge Of Glory, You and I
  43. May 23, 2011
    10
    Great album for old Gaga fans and for new ones too! Her music is now so much different so if you are fan who only likes "disco-pop" music you maybe won't like this. Born This Way's songs are heavy-rock-dance-electronic-trance mixtures and it works damn good :D For me this album is awesome! Almost every song could be big hit (Government Hooker, Marry The Night, Bad Kids, Heavy MetalGreat album for old Gaga fans and for new ones too! Her music is now so much different so if you are fan who only likes "disco-pop" music you maybe won't like this. Born This Way's songs are heavy-rock-dance-electronic-trance mixtures and it works damn good :D For me this album is awesome! Almost every song could be big hit (Government Hooker, Marry The Night, Bad Kids, Heavy Metal Lover...) Still some songs are kinda boring when there isn't that catchy melody which would make you listen it more and more after the first time. First when I heard album I thought it was good, but not great...Then I listened more those songs and fall in love! :D

    Buy, it's worth it.
    Expand
  44. May 23, 2011
    8
    Solid stuff, if a little much at times. Gaga has definitely reached a new plateu of music; artful, odd, powerful and unique. Some songs are a bit samey; Government Hooker, Bad Kids and The Queen didn't seem too groundbreaking or inspired upon first glance, and the album's weakest track is probably Highway Unicorn (Fashion Of His Love), which is literally all over the place. But it getsSolid stuff, if a little much at times. Gaga has definitely reached a new plateu of music; artful, odd, powerful and unique. Some songs are a bit samey; Government Hooker, Bad Kids and The Queen didn't seem too groundbreaking or inspired upon first glance, and the album's weakest track is probably Highway Unicorn (Fashion Of His Love), which is literally all over the place. But it gets better; Marry The Night is a catchy and solid opener, both Americano and Scheià Expand
  45. May 23, 2011
    10
    Not quite the album of the decade(but what can actually meet that kind of expectation?). But still an overall awesome album, any song on the album can easily pass as a hit single. This is clearly Gaga testing out her creativity to see what works, and fortunately, it all works. Overall, an awesome, awesome CD it meets most of the hype, just not the "album of the decade" hype. Still a solidNot quite the album of the decade(but what can actually meet that kind of expectation?). But still an overall awesome album, any song on the album can easily pass as a hit single. This is clearly Gaga testing out her creativity to see what works, and fortunately, it all works. Overall, an awesome, awesome CD it meets most of the hype, just not the "album of the decade" hype. Still a solid 10 though. Absolutely amazing CD nonetheless. For the people who didn't like it, I suggest to listen to it two more times, the first run through I was skeptical, the second listen I thought it was amazing, the third listen, I now love it. Expand
  46. May 23, 2011
    10
    Wonderful Album. My favorite songs are Government Hooker, Born This Way, Judas, Hair, The edge of glory. Every song is perfect. Just can't stop replay.
  47. May 23, 2011
    10
    If you're looking for a secondary Bad Romance or Just Dance, this album is not your cup of tea. This album shows the maturity of Lady Gaga. Born This Way is her finest work to date, and it nearly lived up to the hype that Gaga made it out to be. The Album Of The Decade? Maybe. The Album Of The Year? Sure. Either way, this goes to show that Gaga is here to stay.
  48. May 23, 2011
    10
    A very strong effort. It goes in a lot of different directions. Gaga is clearly still trying to harness her creativity, and she's getting there slowly but surely. The sheer amount of new music here - over 70 minutes with the bonus tracks - is impressive, and there are no filler tracks. She misses the mark a couple times (Bad Kids, Hair), but she scores many more times (Marry The Night,A very strong effort. It goes in a lot of different directions. Gaga is clearly still trying to harness her creativity, and she's getting there slowly but surely. The sheer amount of new music here - over 70 minutes with the bonus tracks - is impressive, and there are no filler tracks. She misses the mark a couple times (Bad Kids, Hair), but she scores many more times (Marry The Night, Government Hooker, Americano, Scheibe, Electric Chapel). Highly recommend for any pop/dance music fan. Expand
  49. May 23, 2011
    10
    17 Songs, 17 great Pop Tracks... in this album you can find an amount of ideas that could be enough for 5 albums by any other pop singer. And then you have a real singer. If you have to hear talking about a record for one year and a half, that's exactly what you want to listen to.
  50. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    The best album I've ever heard! Mother Monster has totally overcome herself! THE ALBUM OF THE DECADE. is the anthem of our generation and I will always remeber I WAS BORN THIS WAY! so congratulations, Gaga you did it!
  51. May 23, 2011
    10
    The hype was worth it, indeed. This album is one of the iconic records ever made in pop culture. Are you tired of the same things on the radio? Well, thank Lady Gaga, she's created a new tune. I give this album 10 stars, it deserves it. An album with meaning and good tunes at the same time! Worth it!
  52. May 23, 2011
    10
    Amazing! She manages to have a message in her music, while retaining her pure pop glory. This is going to be the album of the decade, No Doubt About It! Put your paws up.
  53. May 23, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is just aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaammmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaazzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzziiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnnnnggggggggggggg Expand
  54. May 23, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I listened to the album three times before being able to give a statement. The beginning of the album may seem boring, But after the fifth song you will be teleported to another dimension, especially with: Hair, Bloody Mary, Highway and Heavy Metal Unicorn Lover. Expand
  55. May 23, 2011
    10
    This album truly shows how Gaga really can sing her ass off. She may censor the word in her songs, but the content is all from the heart. "The Edge of Glory" might just be the best pop song of the year, and "You and I" may be her best example of versatility. "Shiesse", "Judas", "Born This Way", "Government Hooker", "Marry the Night", and "Americano" also show that she still has the abilityThis album truly shows how Gaga really can sing her ass off. She may censor the word in her songs, but the content is all from the heart. "The Edge of Glory" might just be the best pop song of the year, and "You and I" may be her best example of versatility. "Shiesse", "Judas", "Born This Way", "Government Hooker", "Marry the Night", and "Americano" also show that she still has the ability to create a club banging hit. Overall a great album, and definitely worth the hype Expand
  56. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    This is a great album .the only thing we have to do is just to listen it . Gaga has a fabulous voice and in these months we are witnessing it in different television programs around the world France, Japan, Italy, United States.The acoustic versions are doing is showing how talented as a singer Beyonce has already said a few days ago: lady gaga is a talent west unico.kanye said Born thisThis is a great album .the only thing we have to do is just to listen it . Gaga has a fabulous voice and in these months we are witnessing it in different television programs around the world France, Japan, Italy, United States.The acoustic versions are doing is showing how talented as a singer Beyonce has already said a few days ago: lady gaga is a talent west unico.kanye said Born this way deserves a note outstanding. Adele also said he loves Gaga. Be constructive and not to hate people either jealousy or something else and by that I mean the Tiny Mix Tapes criticism . Expand
  57. May 23, 2011
    9
    its really good aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaasaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa+
  58. May 23, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Solid album - songs like Scheià Expand
  59. May 23, 2011
    9
    Born this Way is a stunning pop album that I will be listening for a long time. What's funny is after the first listen, this was not my reaction. To put it bluntly, I was underwhelmed. There were good songs, but none seemed as catchy or defining as "Just Dance" or "Bad Romance." The album also felt kind of jumbled and random. After several more listens, not only did every song grow on meBorn this Way is a stunning pop album that I will be listening for a long time. What's funny is after the first listen, this was not my reaction. To put it bluntly, I was underwhelmed. There were good songs, but none seemed as catchy or defining as "Just Dance" or "Bad Romance." The album also felt kind of jumbled and random. After several more listens, not only did every song grow on me but the songs also felt more connected. Sometimes it takes a little bit of time to realize what Gaga is actually trying to say or do. Basically this album is part reflective and part self empowerment for her fans. Gaga is basically looking at her life, what she rejoices (religion... Judas, Black Jesus + Amen Fashion... plus plenty more have more subtle undertones of religion.) and what she has learned. At first it was almost jarring how much Gaga has changed. Wasn't this the artist whose debut album was a sexy commentary on Fame and it's consequences? Listen closely, and you'll realize she is still commenting on fame, but she is extending her message further. The more I think about it, the more impressed I am with her. Still, the album isn't perfect. "Judas" while catchy is a pretty weak and generic song (though it does have an interesting message... nothing groundbreaking though.) I've warmed up to "Hair" but it's still not the greatest. "Born this way" grew on me in a big way, but I wish the lyrics would have been more like the sexy, juicy and more subtle lyrics from "The Fame." These are not songs I hate, I don't think I hate any of Gaga's songs, she is just capable of better as evidenced by the rest of her album. "Government Hooker," "Schiebe" "Bloody Mary," "Americano," "Electric Chapel," "You and I," and "The Edge of Glory" are the stand out tracks from this album ("Black Jesus + Amen Fashion" is my favorite of the three additional tracks from the deluxe version, though all are good.) All and all this is a darker and weirder turn for Gaga, and I appreciate the effort. I'm tired of all this fluffy pop crap on the radio. If you are a dance music fan... you will love this album! Expand
  60. May 23, 2011
    10
    I can't say any word except FANTASTIC!!!!!!!, keep it up Gaga......!!!!!
    every songs are addicting and gave me an eargasm I luv this album more than her previous album
  61. May 23, 2011
    10
    The sound of the whole album is very coherent, although some lyrics maybe not. For the campaign of this album, it's just massive! It's literally everywhere, and that might a factor that drives some new fans away since they are just done with all the promos, posters and ads that are everywhere they look. For the songs, they are very good. Lyrics might be cheesy, but it's pop, it's supposedThe sound of the whole album is very coherent, although some lyrics maybe not. For the campaign of this album, it's just massive! It's literally everywhere, and that might a factor that drives some new fans away since they are just done with all the promos, posters and ads that are everywhere they look. For the songs, they are very good. Lyrics might be cheesy, but it's pop, it's supposed to be that way. This album has a very clear rock-influenced. My order of favorites: You and I, Edge of Glory, Hair, Judas, Scheisse, Americano, Government Hooker, Heavy Metal Lover, Bloody Mary, Born This Way, Bad Kids, Marry the Night, Highway Unicorn (Road to Love), Electric Chapel, Fashion of His Love, Black Jesus Amen Fashion, The Queen. Expand
  62. May 24, 2011
    10
    Born This Way is a spectacular album. It's been decades since a pop album of this caliber has been released. In some ways, it feels very familiar and retro. At the same time though, it feels totally fresh and almost alien at times. Elements of different genres and influences from decades past come together in unique ways to create songs that defy categorization. Electric Chapel is a sweet,Born This Way is a spectacular album. It's been decades since a pop album of this caliber has been released. In some ways, it feels very familiar and retro. At the same time though, it feels totally fresh and almost alien at times. Elements of different genres and influences from decades past come together in unique ways to create songs that defy categorization. Electric Chapel is a sweet, mellow pop track with 80s rock/metal instrumentals. Bloody Mary is a spooky cool mid-tempo electro ballad told from the perspective of the ghost of Mary Magdalene. Sheisse sounds like an early 90s concept of a "futuristic" song, with bizarre screams and faux-German chants mixed with a great beat and one hell of a chorus. The Edge Of Glory sounds like one of the best 80s power ballads of all time. It just took an extra 25 years to be written. All in all, this is one of the most memorable, eclectic, catchy, and frenetic pop albums in recent memory. It's a must-have for any pop fan. Expand
  63. May 24, 2011
    7
    Born This Way is just okay. The songs don't all sound the same, the production is interesting and positively uses electronic elements to the benefits of the 80s sounding song. This is Gaga's thesis. She's analytically studying the music she was probably born to. It's scratchy and raw but thankfully, not generic like today's contemporary pop. The only flaw is 'Americano' which, sadly, is aBorn This Way is just okay. The songs don't all sound the same, the production is interesting and positively uses electronic elements to the benefits of the 80s sounding song. This is Gaga's thesis. She's analytically studying the music she was probably born to. It's scratchy and raw but thankfully, not generic like today's contemporary pop. The only flaw is 'Americano' which, sadly, is a poor interpretation of last year's 'We No Speak Americano'. 'You & I' and 'Highway Unicorn' is broodingly long and is not up to par with the other songs. Speaking of which, the other songs would make a great partition to what could be album of the decade. Half of the songs are interestingly OK re-interpretations and mash-up of 'Teeth' and 'So Happy I Could Die', these songs may be the so-called 'fillers' but with Gaga there is no such thing. And she is doing 80s. She was like what, 1 years old? So she does not fully understand the aura, euphoria and situation of the world when those 80s songs came out to be loved by many, this may be the reason why some critics are giving BTW bad reviews. Those who do give good reviews realize that her efforts need be rewarded. Look where we are now. 'Friday'? Rebecca Black is the next-generation of pop so of course we need BTW. Let's just hope that in six months time, Gaga will come up an un-pretentious EP that will obliterate BTW's okay-ness and be EP of the decade. Amen. Expand
  64. May 24, 2011
    10
    I love it! every songs are single worthy, it's different from her previous work. definitely her best work yet, and one of the best album ever. definitely worth every penny.
  65. May 24, 2011
    10
    For this, her latest masterpiece, "Born This Way" was indeed born out of her. It's everything GaGa, from the star to beginning it is all fully her.
  66. May 24, 2011
    10
    "Born This Way" is a very great album. It sound strange but very good. It shows us another side of Lady Gaga, more powerful and better. "Blood Mary" , "The edge of glory" is the best song of this album. I love it. I love Lady Gaga.(10.0)
  67. May 24, 2011
    10
    "Born This Way" is AMAZING! It's pop-dance-techno-rock extravaganza! The album is a clever mix of 80 's inspired tracks + unique futuristic Gagaesque anthems. Truly, Gaga is the best thing that happened to pop music since Madonna!
  68. May 24, 2011
    10
    SUPERB ALBUM, it's sooooo amaaaazing inspirasing, and rocks,
    gaga prove it once more that she is bringing tornado into music industry, 10/10 perfection
  69. May 24, 2011
    7
    Gaga has prepared a powerful and absurdly energetic pop ride for us, and she sounds as fearless and shameless as she can possibly do. The only problem is; not sounding positive all the time is necessary in any body of work, and Lady Gaga doesn't know how to decelerate herself in 'Born This Way'.

    In 'The Fame' and 'The Fame Monster' EP, Gaga's ability to deliver heartfelt drama was, well,
    Gaga has prepared a powerful and absurdly energetic pop ride for us, and she sounds as fearless and shameless as she can possibly do. The only problem is; not sounding positive all the time is necessary in any body of work, and Lady Gaga doesn't know how to decelerate herself in 'Born This Way'.

    In 'The Fame' and 'The Fame Monster' EP, Gaga's ability to deliver heartfelt drama was, well, monstrous; "Brown Eyes", "Paparazzi", "Bad Romance", "Dance in The Dark" and "Speechless" are easily some of her best songs to date. Songs that are touching. Songs that are ultimately better than "Judas", clearly a remake of Bad Romance, "Bloody Mary", which sounds dull, and "Yoü and I", which is a good love song, but the world is full of great love songs and this one sadly doesn't stand out. So it seems that Gaga has given so much space to joyfulness and self-worship in 'Born This Way' that, when she tries to portray her angst, her vulnerability and the "agro of her furied heart", she just can't deliver in comparison to her previous albums.

    That, however, doesn't mean that Gaga hasn't made beautiful and meaningful songs for this album. If we focus on the cheerful and uplifting nature of 'Born This Way' alone, we can see that Gaga has never been this entertaining. "Marry The Night", the title track, "Government Hooker", "Hair", "ScheiÃ
    Expand
  70. May 29, 2011
    9
    Other than "Born This Way", which is way too similar to Madonna's 1989 single "Express Yourself", every song is fantastic. "Judas" and "The Edge of Glory" are brilliant.
  71. May 24, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Born this way is the perfect compromise between past and future, tradition and innovation. Melodies are very tasty, lyrics are original and well groomed, the production is phenomenal... What else? Very very very good album! Expand
  72. May 24, 2011
    10
    Lady gaga returns to the music scene with her record-breaking album BORN THIS WAY, which contains a song for everyone! Every song is different and has something special about it. Gaga has managed to marry electronic music with her glam rock influences which adds a refreshing twist to her music style. The reigning pop queen abandons the typical electronic sound which was displayed in TheLady gaga returns to the music scene with her record-breaking album BORN THIS WAY, which contains a song for everyone! Every song is different and has something special about it. Gaga has managed to marry electronic music with her glam rock influences which adds a refreshing twist to her music style. The reigning pop queen abandons the typical electronic sound which was displayed in The Fame. In my opinion, this album will make The Fame's success seem like nothing, because the effervescent tracks on this album are timeless! Expand
  73. May 24, 2011
    10
    Finally, something fresh and unique in pop music. Gaga not only combines techno, electro, rock and metal music in her pop sound, but she also gives a very positive message trough the whole album. You've gotta love it, it has no match in pop music! + This page has done a bad job getting all the negative and mixed reviews and accounting them in the meta score. They've considered ''Tiny MixFinally, something fresh and unique in pop music. Gaga not only combines techno, electro, rock and metal music in her pop sound, but she also gives a very positive message trough the whole album. You've gotta love it, it has no match in pop music! + This page has done a bad job getting all the negative and mixed reviews and accounting them in the meta score. They've considered ''Tiny Mix Tapes'' who have given the album 0 (which is all by itself completely unprofessional) + they have not included About who have given it a 10/10. It's a shame for the whole site. The album's great, it will sell millions and with the tour, Gaga will make it the album of the decade! Expand
  74. May 24, 2011
    10
    Lady Gaga has come to save pop music with â
  75. May 24, 2011
    9
    When I first listened to Born This Way, I was very disappointed that it did not sound like The Fame Monster. After my second and third listens, I really started to love the album and was actually glad that it was not a The Fame or The Fame Monster remake. This is Gaga trying something new and it sounds damn good! Not different, just new. Many of the songs (like Hair, ScheiÃ
  76. May 24, 2011
    10
    i really enjoyed that gaga changed her musical style on this album , The great pop-rock techno feel is great . I Enjoyed this album ALOT more than the fame and almost as much as the fame MonsTer
    Recommended this album to anyone wants an 80's feeling album and if your're a fan of Gaga
  77. May 25, 2011
    10
    10,0 ! After my first listen to Born This Way (Single) I didn't really know what to expect since the sound was quite different. But she had me after the first listen to that record... It's so different from what's going on in music right now. Her vocals are on point (she didn't really got the chance on THE FAME/THE FAME MONSTER to show what she's got), the songs are catchy, the lyrics fun10,0 ! After my first listen to Born This Way (Single) I didn't really know what to expect since the sound was quite different. But she had me after the first listen to that record... It's so different from what's going on in music right now. Her vocals are on point (she didn't really got the chance on THE FAME/THE FAME MONSTER to show what she's got), the songs are catchy, the lyrics fun and smart. I love it and its definitely on my FAVOURITE RECORDS OF ALL TIME-list. Expand
  78. May 24, 2011
    10
    Born This way catapults you into a journey from Marry the Night until The Edge of Glory. You can't help but jump out of your seat and dance, while at the same time feeling emotional about the message. To be quite honest even non-Gaga fans will be bopping along, the tracks are marvelous. This is a must have album/record.
  79. May 24, 2011
    10
    Is not that bad at all... from all the new pop albums this is the best, is strong and dont sounds like a remixed album (Femme Fatale for example). who says it sounds the same must be deaf there are only about 3/17 songs that sounds KINDA the same. The Tiny Mix Tapes critic is so childish, reading that review I couldn't imagine what kind of "profesional" will make it's critic based in howIs not that bad at all... from all the new pop albums this is the best, is strong and dont sounds like a remixed album (Femme Fatale for example). who says it sounds the same must be deaf there are only about 3/17 songs that sounds KINDA the same. The Tiny Mix Tapes critic is so childish, reading that review I couldn't imagine what kind of "profesional" will make it's critic based in how much they hate or love lady gaga, EVERYTHING has two sides bad and good and if you are supoused to be a profesional you should take both sides, the final result maybe is a 40 0r 30 BUT you took both sides before.... THAT'S WHAT PROFESIONAL PEOPLE DO Tiny Mix Tapes review looks like a troll review that hate Lady GaGa. it loses a lot of credibility. Expand
  80. May 24, 2011
    10
    This album has something special. She sings with her heart and emotions, she wrote the whole album. It DOES have a meaning. The way she sings it's just perfect, she always gives a special touch to her music. I really loved it.
  81. May 25, 2011
    10
    This could quite possibly be the best album of the year. It is original, varied, isn't pretentious and is unhurried - lyrically and musically. (UserWasNotFound)
  82. Vic
    May 31, 2011
    9
    This album differs from previous Gaga's albums, but it's not worse and I guess not better. It's just different. There are no stand-out songs but every song is fun, cool and easy to listen. It's a totally commercial album that was made in a highly professional style! Not a lot of musicians can actually do something like that nowadays! It's a solid album and it leaves only positive emotions!
  83. May 25, 2011
    10
    Amazing, different, new, interesting, unique, strong, sexy, exceptional, brilliant, gorgeous ... The album of the decade, lady gaga did it again, will be a great success...congratulations, and keep listening...will not be disappointed.
  84. Feb 25, 2015
    9
    Gaga is an easy target for haters. She is an outspoken woman who sticks up for a community whom many in this country would deem worthy of nothing. She has no problem telling you that she is a talented musician and that she makes good music, so she can come across as full of herself. And yes, she does take much influence from pop icons of the past, especially Madonna. All of these factorsGaga is an easy target for haters. She is an outspoken woman who sticks up for a community whom many in this country would deem worthy of nothing. She has no problem telling you that she is a talented musician and that she makes good music, so she can come across as full of herself. And yes, she does take much influence from pop icons of the past, especially Madonna. All of these factors cause many to just dismiss her all together, and the hype that the media and Gaga herself have generated leading up to the release of "Born This Way" may have actually caused a backlash against her more than anything else. So why I am discussing all of these things instead of the music itself? Mainly to point out all of the things that have come in the way of the music itself, which, in the case of "Born This Way," is almost uniformly fabulous. Gaga took several decades of popular music, filtered it through her unique point of view, and made her magnum opus. I believe it is the exact album she wanted to make, and that type of artistic integrity is hard to find in pop music today. "Marry the Night" gets the album off to a rocking, rousing start, building up to its climatic ending which is pure dance-pop nirvana. "Born This Way," the hit first single, does indeed take major influence from Madonna's recordings of the late 80s/early 90s. Its like she took "Express Yourself" and "Vogue," compressed them, and then shot them out of a laser gun. Its a thrilling sound with beautiful lyrics, totally deserving of its six-week reign on top of the U.S. charts. "Judas" takes large influence from both "Poker Face" and "Bad Romance," and while I don't personally think its up to the level of those two hits, its still very memorable with its biblically-based lyrics. "Hair" is one of my personal favorites; its a beautiful, heart-wrenching dance-rock ballad, kissed with a saxophone, for anyone and everyone who feels less than "normal." "The Edge of Glory" sounds in a similar vein, cranking up everything to a euphoric explosion. Its pure cheese, but its very tasty. Expand
  85. May 25, 2011
    10
    Buen álbum francamente pense que iba a ser un mal album pero despues de escucharlo me di cuenta que es muy bueno , con este album Gaga me ha impresionado va por el camino correcto ...No es el album de la decada pero si es Un Muy buen album POP ..
  86. May 25, 2011
    8
    A marvelous album filled with amazing records. Though its not the perfect pop album you would expect but it is definitely fun to listen and I simply love it.
  87. May 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I bought some song of the album on iTunes Monday at 6AM (I live in West-Europe) and it was very much worth the waiting! I bought Government Hooker, Scheisse, The Queen, Yoü and I, Americano, Electric Chapel, Black Jesus + Amen Fashion, Fashion of his Love and Marry the Night. I already had Born This Way, Judas, the Edge of Glory and Hair, and since it was revealed that it would be possible to use 'Complete my Album' to get it at a reduced price, I bought some extra songs with my â Expand
  88. May 26, 2011
    8
    An amazing album from Gaga. The build up left me wanting more but the tracks on the album are solid and I find it hard to skip any of them. Lyrically and musically impressive. You can hear the hard work she has put into the album on any of the songs.
  89. May 26, 2011
    9
    Lady Gaga is a phenomenon and she is the first artist to bring dance to the pop charts. With "Born This Way", Gaga really is pushing herself musically. This isn't a part 3 to the Fame and Fame Monster. "Born This Way", in its entirety, is a pop/dance record that takes influences from the 70s-90s. These eras produced Gaga's musical inspirations and she has molded her love for music, herLady Gaga is a phenomenon and she is the first artist to bring dance to the pop charts. With "Born This Way", Gaga really is pushing herself musically. This isn't a part 3 to the Fame and Fame Monster. "Born This Way", in its entirety, is a pop/dance record that takes influences from the 70s-90s. These eras produced Gaga's musical inspirations and she has molded her love for music, her fans and everything she stands for into a record that may not be the best album of the decade but it certainly solidifies Gaga as an artist who is on the right track. I've listened to the record quite a few times now and the effort put into the songs really does show and shine on most of the tracks. As a "Little Monster", I bought the special edition. My favorite songs are "Government Hooker", "Americano" (I didn't love it at first but it grew on me), "Scheià Expand
  90. May 27, 2011
    7
    BTW is not that bad, is all the way better than her old releases with no doubt, but i think she may be more strong and less full of herself when will make this, some songs are really good but others just dispossable, if the whole album have a artistic power that some songget may be flawless.
  91. May 27, 2011
    10
    Lady GaGa aka Pop Queen 2011, may have taken a giant leap away from her previous album , The Fame, towards the music of Far East Movement, she still manages to make some outstanding music. From the thumping Dance Songs 'Judas', 'Marry the Night' and 'SchieBe' to the soft delicate 'You and I' GaGa aims to please, and Succeeds.
  92. May 27, 2011
    10
    Extraordinary album. So deformed, intense, powerful and strange as the same Lady Gaga. It is a work of authorship, a masterpiece full of unforgettable songs with memories of the seventies and eighties passed through the filter cool. Lady Gaga promised a masterpiece ... and she did when everyone doubted I could do at 25 years. This album is indispensable for any lover of music and basic inExtraordinary album. So deformed, intense, powerful and strange as the same Lady Gaga. It is a work of authorship, a masterpiece full of unforgettable songs with memories of the seventies and eighties passed through the filter cool. Lady Gaga promised a masterpiece ... and she did when everyone doubted I could do at 25 years. This album is indispensable for any lover of music and basic in contemporary pop. Lady Gaga is a genius. And this album is one of the many reasons for this truth. Expand
  93. May 27, 2011
    10
    This album is perfect, this album makes the fans feel like superstars and thats why its just so amazing. My favorite tracks are Bloody Mary(its so odd, but it makes it unique) and Black Jesus+Amen Fashion.
  94. May 27, 2011
    7
    Was she really born this way!?

    What a massive 2 years. From the nervous girl who sat with Jonathan Ross on his sofa to the meat wearing music master! She has gone from strength to strength and more eccentric by the album. â
  95. May 27, 2011
    9
    Born This Way is an amazing record full of meaning, quality and variety. If you wanna raise your self-esteem you should listen this album. The songs are not as catchy as the previous ones but they will grown on you after every time you listen to them.

    Songs review: Marry The Night: 10/10 Born This Way: 10/10 Government Hooker: 7/10 Judas: 9/10 Americano: 6/10 Hair: 8/10
    Born This Way is an amazing record full of meaning, quality and variety. If you wanna raise your self-esteem you should listen this album. The songs are not as catchy as the previous ones but they will grown on you after every time you listen to them.

    Songs review:

    Marry The Night: 10/10
    Born This Way: 10/10
    Government Hooker: 7/10
    Judas: 9/10
    Americano: 6/10
    Hair: 8/10
    Scheisse: 9/10
    Bloody Mary: 10/10
    Bad Kids: 9/10
    Highway Unicorn: 8/10
    Heavy Metal Lover: 8/10
    Electric Chapel: 10/10
    Yoü & I: 10/10
    The Edge Of Glory: 10/10
    Expand
  96. May 27, 2011
    9
    Overall, I enjoyed the journey through the album. I think 'Marry the Night' and 'The Edge of Glory' were the perfect songs to begin and end it, respectively. In between the two, there were definitely more standout tracks than there were forgettable ones. A few songs from the album including, 'Black Jesus + Amen Fashion' and 'Fashion of His Love' probably could have been left out of theOverall, I enjoyed the journey through the album. I think 'Marry the Night' and 'The Edge of Glory' were the perfect songs to begin and end it, respectively. In between the two, there were definitely more standout tracks than there were forgettable ones. A few songs from the album including, 'Black Jesus + Amen Fashion' and 'Fashion of His Love' probably could have been left out of the bonus track version without losing the integrity of the album. But that being said, her vocals soared in multiple songs, whether it be operatic, disco, or Eighties sounding.

    Lyrically, it was refreshing to not hear about being in a club, getting drunk, or partying of which the Billboard Hot 100 has a lot (not putting a negative connotation on them of course, just saying). They were empowering, personal, and personable lyrics. Sure, there were some weak tracks, but the journey through the album is something that contemporary pop albums lack sometimes.
    Expand
  97. May 28, 2011
    10
    This Album is much different then her two previous works. There really are no bubblegum pop tracks like there was on "The Fame" and the only song reminiscent of "Monster" is the track "Judas" for its Bad Romance-esque style. Everything else about the music on this album is different. Which is an improvement since it shows Gaga's versatility in different styles of music. The messages areThis Album is much different then her two previous works. There really are no bubblegum pop tracks like there was on "The Fame" and the only song reminiscent of "Monster" is the track "Judas" for its Bad Romance-esque style. Everything else about the music on this album is different. Which is an improvement since it shows Gaga's versatility in different styles of music. The messages are also deeper than they were in her other works, also a good thing, and makes this album culturally relevant. The album is full of anthems, so if that is your thing you will love it. Some people don't like this album for the fact that it's not like "The Fame" but "Born This Way" truly shows the growth and maturity of Lady Gaga's Writing ability that was absent on "The Fame." A great Album overall. Recomended Tracks: Government Hooker, Americano, SheiBe, Bloody Marry, Electric Chapel, and You and I. Expand
  98. May 29, 2011
    9
    TFM left Gaga with a very hard act to follow, not to mention she did kinda blow her own trumpet stating this album was going to be the greatest pop record of the decade (!)

    BTW is having a fairly rough time with critics (and may I just say, typically the older ones finding it a little harder to grasp), IMO unfairly so. Reading many reviews, it almost seems like there is a fear of how much
    TFM left Gaga with a very hard act to follow, not to mention she did kinda blow her own trumpet stating this album was going to be the greatest pop record of the decade (!)

    BTW is having a fairly rough time with critics (and may I just say, typically the older ones finding it a little harder to grasp), IMO unfairly so. Reading many reviews, it almost seems like there is a fear of how much influence and power Gaga is getting, so some are coming down hard in an attempt to burst her bubble.

    The album is genuinely catchy, intoxicatingly so even! Its very rare for me to actually listen to an album through and honestly not wish a track or two didnt exist, I absolutely love every single track on BTW!

    Also Id like to note that many reviewers feel obliged to point out the similarities of the title track and some point blank calling Gaga a fake and a rip off. If you watch the video to the track, about 20 seconds from the end she stares into the camera with the iconic Madge teeth - it all seems very deliberate to me! Even the some of the most harshest critics dont deny Gaga has talent, so why on earth would she resort to plagiarism after 1 album! The track BTW clearly has its similarities to Express yourself, as far as I can see it was a very obvious nod to Madonna - not an attempt to rip anything off.

    BTW will get many many plays, honestly not been as taken with an album in a very very long time. Congrats Gaga
    Expand
  99. May 29, 2011
    10
    Not usually a big fan of pop music, I was pleasantly surprised by this album.

    In the past, Gaga had often spoken of her rock influences in her music, then kept churning out pure pop singles such as Telephone and Alejandro, with none of these rock influences to be found at all. But when you listen to this record, the image and the talk finally clicks with the music. Don't get me wrong,
    Not usually a big fan of pop music, I was pleasantly surprised by this album.

    In the past, Gaga had often spoken of her rock influences in her music, then kept churning out pure pop singles such as Telephone and Alejandro, with none of these rock influences to be found at all. But when you listen to this record, the image and the talk finally clicks with the music.

    Don't get me wrong, this is a pop album. But the influences from other genres such as rock, heavy metal, industrial techno and even opera and jazz separate Lady Gaga from the bland Rihannas and the Britneys, and shows off her raw talents as a pop musician with actual substance - something that is nowadays hard to come by.

    The album is not without it's dull moments, however. Songs like Judas and Bad Kids seem promising from the start, but the choruses, however catchy, let them down. However the huge choruses on songs like Marry The Night and The Edge of Glory show that Gaga has kept her ability to keep writing anthemic, catchy pop hooks, while making credible and meaningful music at the same time.

    You and I is a fantastic track, a country rock anthem about reconciling with a past lover, that leads off into a Hey Jude-esque sing-a-long near the end. Think Elton John meets We Will Rock You, with Queen's very own Brian May on the guitar. Heavy Metal Lover, another stand out, is an epic track with pounding electro beats, and lyrics like "I want your whiskey mouth / All over my blonde south" show Gaga's 'nasty girl' side.

    Bloody Mary, a personal favorite of mine, has huge bassy synths in the verse, with Gaga's vocals drifting into a demonic state at one point each verse (cue Illuminati whispers!) that provides interesting variation, and a beautiful, soaring chorus. The song boasts arguably the best lyrics on the album, for example "We are not just art for Michelangelo to carve / He can't rewrite the aggro of my furied heart". Other highlights include the heavily rock inspired Electric Chapel, the Berlin techno dance track ScheiÃ
    Expand
  100. May 29, 2011
    10
    This album definitely lives up to the hype: With massive promo wormldwide, 'Born This Way' was the most anticipated album in years. I believe Lady Gaga has done the impossible by actually making true what she had promised. Best songs:

    Heavy Metal Lover
    Scheisse
    Born This Way
    Judas Marry The Night
    Black Jesus / Amen Fashion
    Highway Unicorn
    Electric Chapel

    Growers:

    The Queen
    Fashion of His Love
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Sep 25, 2014
    86
    Lady Gaga promised her fans (perhaps a tad prematurely) that her new album would be the greatest of the decade. But even if the next nine years bring something better, we're unlikely to hear anything bigger than Born This Way.
  2. Q Magazine
    Aug 8, 2011
    60
    Born This Way feels like the first proper Lady Gaga album. [Aug. 2011, p. 114]
  3. Jul 6, 2011
    60
    Gaga has always been able to anchor her haughty conceptual undertakings with simple, catchy tunes, but with Born This Way, the persona and the message are starting to bleed into the songs. It's not a good look.