Born This Way - Lady Gaga
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 764 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 23, 2011
    10
    She certainly is a Heavy Metal Lover. This is the best album of 2011 so far! i love lady gaga she deserves to take over the world with tunes this awe-inspiring!
  2. May 23, 2011
    10
    Most definitely gaga's best work to date. I'm so sick of albums being hyped up to the point where they aren't enjoyable anymore. I was starting to doubt the greatness of 'Born This Way' until i actually heard it. It is truly beautiful! Very big variety while staying with Gaga's signature sound. I cannot choose any favorite(s) tracks because all songs are equally good. very consistent. I LOVE GAGA AND I WAS BORN THIS WAY. Expand
  3. May 24, 2011
    10
    A true pop, electric opera. Leaves you breathless because of its high energetic beats. Totally amazing! One of the best albums to ever put out by any artist!
  4. May 28, 2011
    10
    Wonderfu, Awesome, amazing, can not find words to describe this cd. Great songs, deep lyrics, this album is in a higher degree, much better than her previous ones. Simply a masterpiece
  5. May 23, 2011
    10
    Brilliant.
    I expected nothing less from Mother Monster. On my first listen, I felt that I wasn't hooked on the new, darker style that Gaga produces on this album. But by the second listen, I was hooked.
    Gaga has created a new sound for herself with 'Born This Way,' and much of the songs have strong meanings relating to Gaga and her fans. I think my favourites are 'Government Hooker,'
    (which is about the relationship between Marilyn Monroe and J.F.K., in case you were wondering) 'Judas,' 'Americano,' (which is reminiscent of Alejandro) and 'Bloody Mary,' which I feel is great and very different to anything that you have ever heard from Gaga.
    I feel that with this album, although not everything is perfect, Gaga is very close to finding herself and her perfect style.
    Expand
  6. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    While not Gaga's best work, this is a great album on its own merits featuring some groovy beats and sensational (and controversial) lyrics. And probably one of the best pop albums released this year.
  7. May 24, 2011
    10
    Another fantastic album from Lady Gaga. I can't believe there's no filler on this album. Her hard work really shows in this album, it's definitely ambitious record.
  8. May 24, 2011
    10
    An exceptionally amazing album which has few flaws in it. Sure, there may be some tracks that seriously make me think that it was added just to so-called extend the timing on the record, but those tracks that were excellent were really, unforgettable. Some examples include ''Americano'', ''Scheisse'', ''Hair'', ''The Edge of Glory'', ''Born This Way'', ''Judas'' and ''Marry the Night''. The rest are all beautiful in its own way, cause Gaga makes no mistakes. It's on the right track, baby, it was made this way. Expand
  9. May 24, 2011
    10
    She prove it once again, she is truly Phenomenal with this album,
    I love the message, the addicting wave, the beat in every single of the song in this album
    well done Gaga...........
  10. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Hell yes, this is an album that sould be listed among the best of this year!!!This album is totally different from her previous album, and that's what artists should do!!!Explore new ground and find new ideas that will bring you ear-orgasm, and Gaga surely delivers that at the maximum point!Every song is a highlight on its own in this album, an album that breaks music boundaries the way only Gaga can do!!! Expand
  11. May 23, 2011
    10
    The hype was worth it. Lady GaGa's Born This Way is a marvelous record. She sings her heart out in every song. Simply AMAZING! There are no stand-out tracks on the album, each and every song is great and could be a potential single. Weather she is singing about religion, love, fighting for equal rights or fighting for your own identity, she always makes sure that your going to be comfortable listening to it. Expand
  12. May 23, 2011
    10
    I didn't think it was possible to improve on The Fame Monster, but Lady GaGa has managed to do just that. This is a brilliant album, dark, dancy and loud. This will be considered one of the greatest albums of all time.
  13. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    thought pjharvey would have made it, but nah, BORN this WAY, is the album of the year 2011. so far... i'm absolutely in love with every song, well 2 or 3 off, but they are on the deluxe edition anyway.
    Heavy metal Lover and Passion of his Love: GREAT songS!!!!!!
  14. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    This thing gets better everytime you listen to it, and already its shaping up to be one of the most underrated albums of the decade. Those panning this album are obviously unable to accept the change in style from The Fame and therefore I can only assume want their artists to keep producing the same stuff at every outing and not explore new avenues. If that's what you want; then this masterpiece isn't for you. Whereas those of us who welcome the change in style can appreciate that tracks like U&I, The Edge of Glory and Hair are the highpoint of her career. Gaga is simply brilliant, I don't give a flying **** if Katy Perry has more Grammy nominations for her much LESS remarkable Teenage Dream; I never expected this album to be fully appreciated for what it is anyway. "I just wanna be myself, and i want you to love me for who I am.." We do, Gaga...we do. Expand
  15. May 24, 2011
    10
    Pop, Electro, Dubstep, Dance, Country... This is what you'll find in Born This Way. Dance while thinking, this is what Gaga is trying to say in this album. Is it the pop album of the decade, as Akon said? Maybe... after all, the decade just started. But, it is the best pop release since Justin Timberlake's Futuresex/Lovesound. Hits? Marry The Night, Americano, Hair, The Edge Of Glory and of course, Born This Way and Judas. I feel you'll hear about Born This Way for a whole year for sure. Expand
  16. May 23, 2011
    10
    Absolutely perfect. A beautiful and perfect album, thank you Gaga! Amazing, not boring, incredible, fantastic! The TRIUMPH of sounds! There isn't a track on this record that is a misfire.
  17. May 23, 2011
    10
    Pop music has a bad reputation: repetition, laziness, the lack of anything by the singer. Thankfully, artists like GaGa do exist. Producing a -highly- solid (and not all radio friendly) albums with masterful songs causing 'Born This Way' to nearly burst at the seams, it stands tribute that Pop music is a genre like any other, though highly infused with rock and electronic also. Most stand out tracks for me are 'Bloody Mary', 'Heavy Metal Lovers' and 'Government Hooker'. A must buy. Expand
  18. May 24, 2011
    10
    I love this album. In my opinion, it's my own album of this decade. Even her next albums are better, I still mark this year is the year which had changed my life. All the track are very good, especially Scheisse & Bad Kids. This album is nothing like Femme Fatale, Animal, Cannibal .v..v.. It can change the world.
  19. May 23, 2011
    10
    Lady GaGa gave an exceptional album. It sounds so different in a good way from her previous work. The lyrics are so inspiring and themes like be yourself, betrayal, self esteem and identity is themes that are generation struggle for. The music is marvelous, it makes you dance or cry (i.e. The Edge of Glory). The GaGa phenomenon is the new type of reality and its characteristic boundless freedom. Not only album of 2011 or the decade or anything else it is the album of our generation and it is definitely part of it since MJ, Madonna, Mariah Carey described and marked their generation and continue to be, "Born This Way" is excellency and the '10s a have a good start. Congratulations! Expand
  20. May 23, 2011
    10
    love it so much, much, muchim, muchado, machado, PEDÃ
  21. May 25, 2011
    10
    Lyrically, it is not genius, even cheesy sometimes but I can assure you I enjoyed listening to the album, she improved her singing and she's proving it with her strong vocal performances in Bloody Mary, Electric Chapel & The Edge Of Glory. this is a must-listen
  22. May 23, 2011
    10
    An amazing album! Yes, perhaps not the album of the decade, but comes close to pop album of the decade atleast! the songs are so different from the other mediocre stuff that is put out. I love it!
  23. May 24, 2011
    10
    Gorgeous, the album uses so many sound and combines them to create a true work of art. There are also uplifting and inspiring messages throughout the album, those reviews which are negative are looking for more of the same from gaga, this isnt the same this is different and fantastic
  24. May 24, 2011
    10
    One of the best pop albums that I heard and i am not joking! "Born This Way" offers something that not most of the pop albums deliver: Variety! If you like pop in all of his glory, this is your album.
  25. May 23, 2011
    10
    Simply a perfect album. There isn't a track on this record that is a misfire. I can't understand why it didn't get a better metascore. The album is probably the best of the decade. I haven't heard pop genius like this since MJ or Mad. It's INCREDIBLE!!!
  26. May 23, 2011
    10
    14 EARWORMS. Her music has totally evolved and the diversity of this monster provides music for everyone. It's a brave and proper step and though it is clear that this is not (yet) "album of the decade", only time will tell. Just settle yourself for the biggest pop rollercoaster ride Gaga has ever conceived. A masterpiece.
  27. May 23, 2011
    10
    Amazing album create by one of the most eccentric artist of all time. Sure Gaga takes what she wants from all of her inspiration (Madonna, Elton John, Whitney Houston and more), but she still manage to put her little something in everything. She is the voice of a generation, she speaks for every underdogs out there who are afraid to assumed and be proud of who they are. At a point, BORN THIS WAY is her and ours (Little Monster) speech for a future personal freedom. BEST TRACKS : MARRY THE NIGHT, BORN THIS WAY, ELECTRIC CHAPEL, THE EDGE OF GLORY, JUDAS AND BLOODY MARY. Expand
  28. May 23, 2011
    10
    Amazing album. Other than Highway Unicorn (Road To Love) which is horrible, every track is unique and has something to offer. The album includes everything and even the ones who did not enjoy her previous work will find something they like.
    Standouts:
    Government Hooker, Judas, Marry The Night, The Edge Of Glory, You and I
  29. May 23, 2011
    10
    Great album for old Gaga fans and for new ones too! Her music is now so much different so if you are fan who only likes "disco-pop" music you maybe won't like this. Born This Way's songs are heavy-rock-dance-electronic-trance mixtures and it works damn good :D For me this album is awesome! Almost every song could be big hit (Government Hooker, Marry The Night, Bad Kids, Heavy Metal Lover...) Still some songs are kinda boring when there isn't that catchy melody which would make you listen it more and more after the first time. First when I heard album I thought it was good, but not great...Then I listened more those songs and fall in love! :D

    Buy, it's worth it.
    Expand
  30. May 23, 2011
    10
    Not quite the album of the decade(but what can actually meet that kind of expectation?). But still an overall awesome album, any song on the album can easily pass as a hit single. This is clearly Gaga testing out her creativity to see what works, and fortunately, it all works. Overall, an awesome, awesome CD it meets most of the hype, just not the "album of the decade" hype. Still a solid 10 though. Absolutely amazing CD nonetheless. For the people who didn't like it, I suggest to listen to it two more times, the first run through I was skeptical, the second listen I thought it was amazing, the third listen, I now love it. Expand
  31. May 23, 2011
    10
    Wonderful Album. My favorite songs are Government Hooker, Born This Way, Judas, Hair, The edge of glory. Every song is perfect. Just can't stop replay.
  32. May 23, 2011
    10
    If you're looking for a secondary Bad Romance or Just Dance, this album is not your cup of tea. This album shows the maturity of Lady Gaga. Born This Way is her finest work to date, and it nearly lived up to the hype that Gaga made it out to be. The Album Of The Decade? Maybe. The Album Of The Year? Sure. Either way, this goes to show that Gaga is here to stay.
  33. May 23, 2011
    10
    A very strong effort. It goes in a lot of different directions. Gaga is clearly still trying to harness her creativity, and she's getting there slowly but surely. The sheer amount of new music here - over 70 minutes with the bonus tracks - is impressive, and there are no filler tracks. She misses the mark a couple times (Bad Kids, Hair), but she scores many more times (Marry The Night, Government Hooker, Americano, Scheibe, Electric Chapel). Highly recommend for any pop/dance music fan. Expand
  34. May 23, 2011
    10
    17 Songs, 17 great Pop Tracks... in this album you can find an amount of ideas that could be enough for 5 albums by any other pop singer. And then you have a real singer. If you have to hear talking about a record for one year and a half, that's exactly what you want to listen to.
  35. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    The best album I've ever heard! Mother Monster has totally overcome herself! THE ALBUM OF THE DECADE. is the anthem of our generation and I will always remeber I WAS BORN THIS WAY! so congratulations, Gaga you did it!
  36. May 23, 2011
    10
    The hype was worth it, indeed. This album is one of the iconic records ever made in pop culture. Are you tired of the same things on the radio? Well, thank Lady Gaga, she's created a new tune. I give this album 10 stars, it deserves it. An album with meaning and good tunes at the same time! Worth it!
  37. May 23, 2011
    10
    Amazing! She manages to have a message in her music, while retaining her pure pop glory. This is going to be the album of the decade, No Doubt About It! Put your paws up.
  38. May 23, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is just aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaammmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaazzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzziiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnnnnggggggggggggg Expand
  39. May 23, 2011
    10
    This album truly shows how Gaga really can sing her ass off. She may censor the word in her songs, but the content is all from the heart. "The Edge of Glory" might just be the best pop song of the year, and "You and I" may be her best example of versatility. "Shiesse", "Judas", "Born This Way", "Government Hooker", "Marry the Night", and "Americano" also show that she still has the ability to create a club banging hit. Overall a great album, and definitely worth the hype Expand
  40. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    This is a great album .the only thing we have to do is just to listen it . Gaga has a fabulous voice and in these months we are witnessing it in different television programs around the world France, Japan, Italy, United States.The acoustic versions are doing is showing how talented as a singer Beyonce has already said a few days ago: lady gaga is a talent west unico.kanye said Born this way deserves a note outstanding. Adele also said he loves Gaga. Be constructive and not to hate people either jealousy or something else and by that I mean the Tiny Mix Tapes criticism . Expand
  41. May 23, 2011
    10
    I can't say any word except FANTASTIC!!!!!!!, keep it up Gaga......!!!!!
    every songs are addicting and gave me an eargasm I luv this album more than her previous album
  42. May 23, 2011
    10
    The sound of the whole album is very coherent, although some lyrics maybe not. For the campaign of this album, it's just massive! It's literally everywhere, and that might a factor that drives some new fans away since they are just done with all the promos, posters and ads that are everywhere they look. For the songs, they are very good. Lyrics might be cheesy, but it's pop, it's supposed to be that way. This album has a very clear rock-influenced. My order of favorites: You and I, Edge of Glory, Hair, Judas, Scheisse, Americano, Government Hooker, Heavy Metal Lover, Bloody Mary, Born This Way, Bad Kids, Marry the Night, Highway Unicorn (Road to Love), Electric Chapel, Fashion of His Love, Black Jesus Amen Fashion, The Queen. Expand
  43. May 24, 2011
    10
    Born This Way is a spectacular album. It's been decades since a pop album of this caliber has been released. In some ways, it feels very familiar and retro. At the same time though, it feels totally fresh and almost alien at times. Elements of different genres and influences from decades past come together in unique ways to create songs that defy categorization. Electric Chapel is a sweet, mellow pop track with 80s rock/metal instrumentals. Bloody Mary is a spooky cool mid-tempo electro ballad told from the perspective of the ghost of Mary Magdalene. Sheisse sounds like an early 90s concept of a "futuristic" song, with bizarre screams and faux-German chants mixed with a great beat and one hell of a chorus. The Edge Of Glory sounds like one of the best 80s power ballads of all time. It just took an extra 25 years to be written. All in all, this is one of the most memorable, eclectic, catchy, and frenetic pop albums in recent memory. It's a must-have for any pop fan. Expand
  44. May 24, 2011
    10
    I love it! every songs are single worthy, it's different from her previous work. definitely her best work yet, and one of the best album ever. definitely worth every penny.
  45. May 24, 2011
    10
    For this, her latest masterpiece, "Born This Way" was indeed born out of her. It's everything GaGa, from the star to beginning it is all fully her.
  46. May 24, 2011
    10
    "Born This Way" is a very great album. It sound strange but very good. It shows us another side of Lady Gaga, more powerful and better. "Blood Mary" , "The edge of glory" is the best song of this album. I love it. I love Lady Gaga.(10.0)
  47. May 24, 2011
    10
    "Born This Way" is AMAZING! It's pop-dance-techno-rock extravaganza! The album is a clever mix of 80 's inspired tracks + unique futuristic Gagaesque anthems. Truly, Gaga is the best thing that happened to pop music since Madonna!
  48. May 24, 2011
    10
    SUPERB ALBUM, it's sooooo amaaaazing inspirasing, and rocks,
    gaga prove it once more that she is bringing tornado into music industry, 10/10 perfection
  49. May 24, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Born this way is the perfect compromise between past and future, tradition and innovation. Melodies are very tasty, lyrics are original and well groomed, the production is phenomenal... What else? Very very very good album! Expand
  50. May 24, 2011
    10
    Lady gaga returns to the music scene with her record-breaking album BORN THIS WAY, which contains a song for everyone! Every song is different and has something special about it. Gaga has managed to marry electronic music with her glam rock influences which adds a refreshing twist to her music style. The reigning pop queen abandons the typical electronic sound which was displayed in The Fame. In my opinion, this album will make The Fame's success seem like nothing, because the effervescent tracks on this album are timeless! Expand
  51. May 24, 2011
    10
    Finally, something fresh and unique in pop music. Gaga not only combines techno, electro, rock and metal music in her pop sound, but she also gives a very positive message trough the whole album. You've gotta love it, it has no match in pop music! + This page has done a bad job getting all the negative and mixed reviews and accounting them in the meta score. They've considered ''Tiny Mix Tapes'' who have given the album 0 (which is all by itself completely unprofessional) + they have not included About who have given it a 10/10. It's a shame for the whole site. The album's great, it will sell millions and with the tour, Gaga will make it the album of the decade! Expand
  52. May 24, 2011
    10
    Lady Gaga has come to save pop music with â
  53. May 24, 2011
    10
    i really enjoyed that gaga changed her musical style on this album , The great pop-rock techno feel is great . I Enjoyed this album ALOT more than the fame and almost as much as the fame MonsTer
    Recommended this album to anyone wants an 80's feeling album and if your're a fan of Gaga
  54. May 25, 2011
    10
    10,0 ! After my first listen to Born This Way (Single) I didn't really know what to expect since the sound was quite different. But she had me after the first listen to that record... It's so different from what's going on in music right now. Her vocals are on point (she didn't really got the chance on THE FAME/THE FAME MONSTER to show what she's got), the songs are catchy, the lyrics fun and smart. I love it and its definitely on my FAVOURITE RECORDS OF ALL TIME-list. Expand
  55. May 24, 2011
    10
    Born This way catapults you into a journey from Marry the Night until The Edge of Glory. You can't help but jump out of your seat and dance, while at the same time feeling emotional about the message. To be quite honest even non-Gaga fans will be bopping along, the tracks are marvelous. This is a must have album/record.
  56. May 24, 2011
    10
    Is not that bad at all... from all the new pop albums this is the best, is strong and dont sounds like a remixed album (Femme Fatale for example). who says it sounds the same must be deaf there are only about 3/17 songs that sounds KINDA the same. The Tiny Mix Tapes critic is so childish, reading that review I couldn't imagine what kind of "profesional" will make it's critic based in how much they hate or love lady gaga, EVERYTHING has two sides bad and good and if you are supoused to be a profesional you should take both sides, the final result maybe is a 40 0r 30 BUT you took both sides before.... THAT'S WHAT PROFESIONAL PEOPLE DO Tiny Mix Tapes review looks like a troll review that hate Lady GaGa. it loses a lot of credibility. Expand
  57. May 24, 2011
    10
    This album has something special. She sings with her heart and emotions, she wrote the whole album. It DOES have a meaning. The way she sings it's just perfect, she always gives a special touch to her music. I really loved it.
  58. May 25, 2011
    10
    This could quite possibly be the best album of the year. It is original, varied, isn't pretentious and is unhurried - lyrically and musically. (UserWasNotFound)
  59. May 25, 2011
    10
    Amazing, different, new, interesting, unique, strong, sexy, exceptional, brilliant, gorgeous ... The album of the decade, lady gaga did it again, will be a great success...congratulations, and keep listening...will not be disappointed.
  60. May 25, 2011
    10
    Buen álbum francamente pense que iba a ser un mal album pero despues de escucharlo me di cuenta que es muy bueno , con este album Gaga me ha impresionado va por el camino correcto ...No es el album de la decada pero si es Un Muy buen album POP ..
  61. May 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I bought some song of the album on iTunes Monday at 6AM (I live in West-Europe) and it was very much worth the waiting! I bought Government Hooker, Scheisse, The Queen, Yoü and I, Americano, Electric Chapel, Black Jesus + Amen Fashion, Fashion of his Love and Marry the Night. I already had Born This Way, Judas, the Edge of Glory and Hair, and since it was revealed that it would be possible to use 'Complete my Album' to get it at a reduced price, I bought some extra songs with my â Expand
  62. May 27, 2011
    10
    Lady GaGa aka Pop Queen 2011, may have taken a giant leap away from her previous album , The Fame, towards the music of Far East Movement, she still manages to make some outstanding music. From the thumping Dance Songs 'Judas', 'Marry the Night' and 'SchieBe' to the soft delicate 'You and I' GaGa aims to please, and Succeeds.
  63. May 27, 2011
    10
    Extraordinary album. So deformed, intense, powerful and strange as the same Lady Gaga. It is a work of authorship, a masterpiece full of unforgettable songs with memories of the seventies and eighties passed through the filter cool. Lady Gaga promised a masterpiece ... and she did when everyone doubted I could do at 25 years. This album is indispensable for any lover of music and basic in contemporary pop. Lady Gaga is a genius. And this album is one of the many reasons for this truth. Expand
  64. May 27, 2011
    10
    This album is perfect, this album makes the fans feel like superstars and thats why its just so amazing. My favorite tracks are Bloody Mary(its so odd, but it makes it unique) and Black Jesus+Amen Fashion.
  65. May 28, 2011
    10
    This Album is much different then her two previous works. There really are no bubblegum pop tracks like there was on "The Fame" and the only song reminiscent of "Monster" is the track "Judas" for its Bad Romance-esque style. Everything else about the music on this album is different. Which is an improvement since it shows Gaga's versatility in different styles of music. The messages are also deeper than they were in her other works, also a good thing, and makes this album culturally relevant. The album is full of anthems, so if that is your thing you will love it. Some people don't like this album for the fact that it's not like "The Fame" but "Born This Way" truly shows the growth and maturity of Lady Gaga's Writing ability that was absent on "The Fame." A great Album overall. Recomended Tracks: Government Hooker, Americano, SheiBe, Bloody Marry, Electric Chapel, and You and I. Expand
  66. May 29, 2011
    10
    Not usually a big fan of pop music, I was pleasantly surprised by this album.

    In the past, Gaga had often spoken of her rock influences in her music, then kept churning out pure pop singles such as Telephone and Alejandro, with none of these rock influences to be found at all. But when you listen to this record, the image and the talk finally clicks with the music.

    Don't get me wrong,
    this is a pop album. But the influences from other genres such as rock, heavy metal, industrial techno and even opera and jazz separate Lady Gaga from the bland Rihannas and the Britneys, and shows off her raw talents as a pop musician with actual substance - something that is nowadays hard to come by.

    The album is not without it's dull moments, however. Songs like Judas and Bad Kids seem promising from the start, but the choruses, however catchy, let them down. However the huge choruses on songs like Marry The Night and The Edge of Glory show that Gaga has kept her ability to keep writing anthemic, catchy pop hooks, while making credible and meaningful music at the same time.

    You and I is a fantastic track, a country rock anthem about reconciling with a past lover, that leads off into a Hey Jude-esque sing-a-long near the end. Think Elton John meets We Will Rock You, with Queen's very own Brian May on the guitar. Heavy Metal Lover, another stand out, is an epic track with pounding electro beats, and lyrics like "I want your whiskey mouth / All over my blonde south" show Gaga's 'nasty girl' side.

    Bloody Mary, a personal favorite of mine, has huge bassy synths in the verse, with Gaga's vocals drifting into a demonic state at one point each verse (cue Illuminati whispers!) that provides interesting variation, and a beautiful, soaring chorus. The song boasts arguably the best lyrics on the album, for example "We are not just art for Michelangelo to carve / He can't rewrite the aggro of my furied heart". Other highlights include the heavily rock inspired Electric Chapel, the Berlin techno dance track ScheiÃ
    Expand
  67. May 29, 2011
    10
    This album definitely lives up to the hype: With massive promo wormldwide, 'Born This Way' was the most anticipated album in years. I believe Lady Gaga has done the impossible by actually making true what she had promised. Best songs:

    Heavy Metal Lover
    Scheisse
    Born This Way
    Judas Marry The Night
    Black Jesus / Amen Fashion
    Highway Unicorn
    Electric Chapel

    Growers:

    The Queen
    Fashion of His Love
  68. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    I think the sounds present in the album are much more original than those contained in "The Fame Monster. " I really appreciate the work done by Lady Gaga with this album and confirm his ability and his talent. I am italian and I can't speak english very wel, so I hope to make myself understood.
  69. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    I think every song on this album is amazing and the 80's theme it had to it makes this one of the best albums ive ever heard. I don't want to say much but LADY GAGA IS THE NEW QUEEN OF POP
  70. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    This album is amazing. My top is track is Marry the Night because it is original and emotional, both lyrics and backing track (church organ). People are going to moan that her fans are too into her and that they will like anything that she releases, but we have brains and we understand that sometimes, not everything is perfect, but unfortunately, this album is brilliant and there is no denying that, People are entitled to write a review about this album bearing their own opinion, as I was with this one and I thing this album is great. I am a huge fan and feel this album reaches a new height of pop music and has a great mixture of different styles and different themes. Lady GaGa is on the up and here to stay! Expand
  71. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    The most awaited album of 2011 has arrived! Though the top tracks like "Fashion Of His Love" and "Black Jesus + Amen Fashion" were only on the Special Edition, the album itself is worthy of the title of ALBUM OF 2011. It brings back the 80s vibe and saxophones are present throughout the album. The highlights of the album are "Hair", "SheiÃ
  72. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    (10,0) I finally see a perfect decent album! This album has everything it needs to be no1! This album truly shows how Gaga really can sing her ass off. She may censor the word in her songs, but the content is all from the heart. "The Edge of Glory" might just be the best pop song of the year, and "You and I" may be her best example of versatility. "Shiesse", "Judas", "Born This Way", "Government Hooker", "Marry the Night", and "Americano" also show that she still has the ability to create a club banging hit. Expand
  73. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing album! I think this album should win album of the year at the grammy's because it sold a million in a week ! Adele is her biggest competitor!
  74. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Born This Way is a moment of celebration for Pop. I cannot believe that it got a zero , well you must be crazy not to laugh at their "sophomore" - ridiculous review. But lets respect every opinion. So , to me Born This Way is huge. Its a landmark record for Gaga. It features 234 identities. She is a hooker , she is Bloody Mary , she is Mary Magdalene , she is a bad kid , a heavy metal lover. Plus her vocals havent ever been better. I wont take time to speak about each song seperatelly ,since it's clear I love them all.This album is epic. No other pop album is a bit close to its magnitude and for that reason I gave it a ten instead of a nine. Its so refreshing , and thank God , its like the saviour of pop [mainly mainstream] music. Every damn song sounds like a masterpiece. Whether certain reviewers or not like it , I for one ,will invest on it and say that it will add some more Grammy Awards to Gaga's collection .. Don't get me wrong , I always loved and still love Adele but have it not been for her voice "21" would be ,and is, mediocre and it fails to match the first good half of the album . But "21" like "Born This Way" both indicate some true ,sincere work in the pop sphere. Collapse
  75. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    This is definitely my favourite album of the year by a country mile. Unlike The Fame which was a good selection of dance songs this is so much more. She was bound to lose some fans with such a dramatic leap but she has also gained a more mature selection of fans who I am much more inclined to associate myself with. This is not a very mainstream album which is why I think it is getting criticism from some casual listeners. I find it inconceivable that people think that songs such as Beautiful, Dirty, Rich and LoveGame are better than those such as Marry The Night, Scheià Expand
  76. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    It's pop music at it's finest and definitely Gaga's best record to date. Standout tracks include Americano, ScheiÃ
  77. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's funny that half of critical here are from haters and the other half from fans, so it's difficult to know be inspired by this. Well, in my fan opinion, the album is a piece of art, it takes back the 90's pop music and samples of rock n' roll that become great songs. Congratulations Gaga!!! Expand
  78. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    An absolutely incredible album which consists of some of Lady Gaga's most catchy and fun material to date. Every song is unique and likeable in its own right. Gaga is on top form with Born this Way, and, judging by some of the material in Born this Way, she's got a lot more talent than people give her credit for. 10/10.
  79. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    This album is great from start to finish. I actually agree it is the album of the decade (2010-2011). I haven't heard an album I like more than this one, to be honest. Negative reviews for the album are completely ridiculous to me. Either the person does not like this genre of music or they have a biased opinion against Lady Gaga. Every song sounds completely different from the next with each containing the high production value and song writing you would expect from Gaga. The album's first half is more modern sounding dance tracks while the later half has more of a 80/90's and rock influence. Excellent! Expand
  80. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    Gaga gives us awesome songs in her new album. In my opinion, even though some songs are irrelevant and skipped, %80 are being listened and ADORED. Some of her songs are electronic, some are pop, some are heavy-pop, some are rock but none of them falls apart when it comes to concept and general feeling. I'm definitely not disappointed.
  81. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    This album is amazing. All the songs are amazing. This album is as dark as the fame monster. Gaga proved that she can sing all the genres, no only pop. One of my favorites by far.
  82. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    Lady Gaga is a genius. She writes her own stuff, does a lot of her own synth work, and works her ass off for her fans. Can't get any better than Gaga.
  83. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    This album is just awesome, i loved it. Bloody Mary, Scheibe, Marry the Night, Hair and The Queen are certainly the best tracks, but all musics are great. I just didn't like Highway Unicorn too much, it has a bad song but Gaga's volcals are perfect in all tracks.
  84. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    So inspirational. Album of the decade. IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE GGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
  85. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    Born This Way is a Pop masterpiece that breaks through many societal barriers. The albums if filled with tracks that vary in musical content- songs like "You and I", "The Edge of Glory", and "The Queen" add a more mature sound to this Pop icon. Tracks like "Americano", "Government Hooker", "Bloody Mary", "Electric Chapel", "Black Jesus", and the three tracks previously mentioned travel beyond today's standard Pop vibes- they add something new to the realm of the Pop industry. And to tie this with a golden knot, some tracks like "Judas" "Bloody Mary" and "The Queen" have complex lyrics that prove that Gaga is more than just some pop Princess writing about love. Expand
  86. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    The album of the decade. Every song stands out by itself. The album is a piece of art that should be heard as a whole. Lady Gaga has amazing vocals and shows it in the record.
  87. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    The album features influences Heavy Metal, Disco, Glam Rock. The vocals are perfect, the lyrics are a challenge, the melody is incredible. Gaga has brought us something really good and different.
  88. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Pretentious, yes. Innovative, no. Different and unapologetic yet pushing buttons and standing on it's own platform. YES. 'Born This Way' may have been an overhyped piece of overproduced music coming with your side of gaga sounding like a preachy incomplete transformer, but it does stick to it's theme and does what only a few other albums have been able to do this year. Stray away from the trend. The album has it's gems [Marry The Night, Government Hooker, Hair, Bloody Mary] and it has it downfalls [Judas, Americano, **** Black Jesus]. All in all, it's pop music in many different forms. It's appealing to all audiences especially with it's central theme of freedom, however the message along with a lot of the music get's lost. Still one of the best pop albums of the last 5 years I must say. Expand
  89. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Born This Way se mostrou o melhor álbum lançado no ano de 2011 e sem dúvidas um dos melhores cds pop lançado nos últimos anos. No álbum podemos encontrar batidas destruidoras, sintetizadores e letras fortes nas quais Lady Gaga não teve medo de se arriscar a lançar. Parabéns Gaga pelo álbum Born This Way ser um sucesso de vendas e críticas positivas e nos presenteie cada vez mais com álbums semelhantes ou até melhores que esse â Expand
  90. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    Honestly, it's a phenomenal album. Packed with self-appreciation anthems, Born This Way doesn't disappoint. Tracks like 'Americano', where Gaga is singing in Spanish and 'Scheisse' where Gaga features lyrics in German- and faux-German- while singing a feminist anthem are where Lady Gaga truly shows off her musical talents and capabilities. From the opening track 'Marry the Night' (which is about Gaga's love for her home city New York) through to the final track 'The Edge of Glory' (about her grandfathers death), the album doesn't fail to disappoint. In my opinion, the strongest tracks are 'Bloody Mary' and the weakest is 'Electric Chapel'. Expand
  91. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    The lyric and production of the album is definitely a step up for Lady Gaga. One of the best album of 2011. Definitely worth your money. My favourite tracks are The Edge of Glory, You and I, Marry The Night and Judas. Check it out.
  92. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    A very good album with a wide range of rhythms, ranging from pop to rock stickier most representative, with nods towards electronics more delicious and juicy.
  93. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    This is the most meaningfull album she has out this far. She believes in it, so do her little monsters. Broke a World record with Born This Way, fastest selling single in Itunes history, a title , she will have for a very, very long time.
  94. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    This is conceptually Gaga's best album yet. It fluids very well from start to finish. It's definitely something very different from Gaga's previous work, it's a bit more ambitious but in different areas. It's something you really don't see these days and I'm talking about the overall "dated" sound, almost all of the songs contain a bit more mature and confusing lyrics, it's just not something pop stars usually do. What I'm trying to say is "I want your love and I want your revenge, you and me could write a bad romance" is much more accessible and understandable than "I'm on the edge of glory and I'm hanging on a moment of truth. I'm on the edge of glory and I'm hanging on a moment with you" What does that even mean? Not saying that it's a bad song, 'cause is not at all, i'm saying that this isn't your typical 12 songs bubble gum carefree pop star album. It's something more risky and complicated to digest, a very good body of work. That being said... Can a pop star survive with an album like this? Specially these days when it's so easy to call a hit-maker to make you a 3 minutes fun ready-for-the-clubs smash. There is more commercial competition these days than other musicians had to deal even 10 years ago. But then again Lady Gaga seems committed in stay far away for the pop star stereotype. You can just tell she wants transcend in Pop Culture so while Born This Way is a more worked record it may fail in giving her longevity. She doesn't need more polarisation. I'm very excited and interested to hear her next album an artist like her has so much potential and she's more talented talented than her peers but sometimes hard work beats talented. It doesn't matter how good a song, a video, a album is, if nobody hears it, if nobody remembers it: then it's not worthy. Expand
  95. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Outstanding. She took a huge risk and it paid off. Gaga is truly ahead of her time artistically, don't be fooled by the people who say the title track sounds like express yourself because it sure as hell doesn't. It's utterly exceptional and has explored something more than just conventional pop and takes on a much deeper meaning, and not one that applies to more than just her fans. You don't have to like it but you certainly have to listen to it. They are the kind of tracks that you can listen to everyday for a year and then one day you hear something new that makes you fall in love with them all over again. Both aurally and visually it has the power to make every other female star instantly look dated. Expand
  96. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    One of the biggest and most meanful album of all the time! This is not just for fun,this is for thinking! And the songs are great musically..The album is about breaking the boundries of social life,pop and art!!
  97. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    The BEST Album of the history, Judas, Born This Way, Marry the Night, Hair, The Edge of Glory, Black Jesus, You and I, so perfect! GaGa is so perfect, my favorite album. No more questions, GaGa is the new queen.
  98. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    I can see how this album would confuse many people. It has several tracks which bring back classic sounds, but it also, at the same time, has tracks that sound modern and tracks that sound like nothing that would ever be on the radio. Lady GaGa is brilliant in being able to master all of these sounds and using her vocal capabilities to make these tracks sound both complete and fresh. She uses the sounds of the eighties in songs such as "Born This Way" and "Fashion Of His Love," but despite this, the songs sound very modern and would still sound good on radio today. Tracks such as "Bloody Mary" and "Heavy Metal Lover" would never be played on radio, but again, they sound great on this album of 2011. Lady GaGa knows what she is doing, and this album is definitely not a mistake, and it rises above the mediocre level of many of today's albums. Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Aug 8, 2011
    60
    Born This Way feels like the first proper Lady Gaga album. [Aug. 2011, p. 114]
  2. Jul 6, 2011
    60
    Gaga has always been able to anchor her haughty conceptual undertakings with simple, catchy tunes, but with Born This Way, the persona and the message are starting to bleed into the songs. It's not a good look.
  3. Jun 24, 2011
    85
    Yet, for all of GaGa's flamboyance, there was a humanity in her most memorable work that inspired a devotion in her legions of fans that went far beyond vigorous dance floor workouts. On Born This Way the quirky vulnerability is often lost behind the massive productions.