Britney Jean

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Britney Jean Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 841 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eighth studio release for the pop singer includes guest appearances from her sister Jamie Lynn, T.I., and will.i.am.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. 83
    In just 10 tidy songs, it brings us closer than ever before to that distant dreamer.
  2. Nov 26, 2013
    70
    It's a concept album about the loneliness of pop life--with a high-profile broken engagement behind her, Brit gets personal and drops her most bummed-out music ever.
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    60
    This album continues the striptease of Britney’s career. But behind each discarded veil there is just another veil, an insubstantial gauze masking teams of (presumably unphotogenic) producers, writers, stylists and sloganeers.
  4. Nov 26, 2013
    50
    Despite the absence of longtime producer Max Martin and his associates, the album is a surprisingly retrograde affair, with midtempo tracks marred by dated production and vocals that hark back to the days when Brit was selling 10 million.
  5. 40
    Nothing on the record comes across as natural, and it’s not until the album’s iTunes bonus tracks--“Brightest Morning Star” and “Now That I Found You” in particular--that Spears sounds like she’s singing for herself. But, on the album proper, neither the pop figurehead nor the real woman behind it can be found.
  6. 40
    Ms. Spears and Will.i.am have turned to European disc jockeys who have found dance music’s lowest, least funky common denominator: the steady thump of four-on-the-floor. And they’ve settled for too many tepid tracks.
  7. Dec 2, 2013
    30
    Nowhere does Britney Jean sound like Britney Spears.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 63 out of 226
  1. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Como toda coisa que a princesa toca, Britney Jean divino. Não consigo explica o quanto eu amei esse álbum e o quanto estou orgulhosa deComo toda coisa que a princesa toca, Britney Jean divino. Não consigo explica o quanto eu amei esse álbum e o quanto estou orgulhosa de Britney Spears. Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    8 albums, 105 million sales, the most awarded woman alive in the world,Grammy winner. Britney really is better than ever.
    Personal Album of
    8 albums, 105 million sales, the most awarded woman alive in the world,Grammy winner. Britney really is better than ever.
    Personal Album of the year.
    Always Princess Of Pop
    Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    If you're looking for an autobiography, then Britney Jean is not for you. Britney Spears has yet again delivered a solid album with meaningfulIf you're looking for an autobiography, then Britney Jean is not for you. Britney Spears has yet again delivered a solid album with meaningful lyrics in many songs such as Passenger, Alien, Now That I Found You. For the fans, Britney Jean is almost everything you could have wished for. EDM-influenced, ballads, up-tempos tracks all come together to give you a fan-favorite album. Collapse
  4. Dec 3, 2013
    8
    'Britney Jean' isn't what I really hoped it would be. As a huge fan of hers I only got a modernized version of her 2003 effort 'In the Zone'.'Britney Jean' isn't what I really hoped it would be. As a huge fan of hers I only got a modernized version of her 2003 effort 'In the Zone'. It's a good album but not the promised 'Blackout 2' and it isn't that personal compared to other current albums. It's starts off quite good. Alien is a reminder of what William Orbit gave Madonna in 1998: a haunting melody, lyrics which indicates the vulnerability of an artist, the feeling of being alone in a huge crowd. Artisticly seen, it's the best song on the album. Work Perfume and It Should Be Easy are also good songs but they sound overproduced at some parts (especially It Should Be Easy) or the lyrics are lackluster (like in Perfume). Tik Tik Boom is in my opinion a complete disaster, it sounds like something Kesha would sing. Body Ache and Til It's Gone are perfect single material. The intro of Passenger doesn't really fit into the rest of the song but the actual song fits quite good into the 'personal' concept of the album. Chillin' with You came as a big surprise to me. I didn't liked the song at first but after hearing it for several times I started to like it (although I have the feeling it was a rejected song from the Smurfs 2 soundtrack). Don't Cry, Brightest Morning Star, Hold On Tight and Now That I Found You are no extraordinary songs, partially they sound a bit too familiar to other songs but they perfectly fit into the 'personal' concept as well. The 'Dreaming Mix' of Perfume is in my opinion the better version and should have been released as a single. All in all, it's a good album but I feel a bit disappointed. I really hope that the next record is gonna be completely produced (and written) by William Orbit because Alien is the perfect song for Britney in her 30's! Expand
  5. Oct 16, 2015
    6
    Melhores músicas: Alien, Perfume, Passenger, Chillin With You, Til It's GoneMelhores músicas: Alien, Perfume, Passenger, Chillin With You, Til It's Gone
    ...........................................................................................................
    Expand
  6. Dec 22, 2015
    4
    Very poppy and upbeat album from the 90s teen star Britney Spears. Full for energy, but unfortunately often it gets too too much with theVery poppy and upbeat album from the 90s teen star Britney Spears. Full for energy, but unfortunately often it gets too too much with the bass, it takes over the song and it is tiring. Mixed emotions about this one.. The more I listen to the songs, the less I like them. The songs I actually can cope with is "Perfume", "Alien" and "Don't Cry". Generally: Not impressed. Expand
  7. Aug 31, 2016
    0
    This album is about all things we don't wanna see in a artist: laziness and lack of talent. Full by song who are not either well written orThis album is about all things we don't wanna see in a artist: laziness and lack of talent. Full by song who are not either well written or produced, it shows us what a complete mess is. Expand

See all 226 User Reviews