• Record Label: BMG/Jive
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2001
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 362 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 362

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 23, 2011
    3
    Can I Say To American? Skip Every Track But I'm A Slave 4 U, Overprotected, And I'm Not a Girl, Not Yet a Woman...
    I Love Rock N Roll Is Ok... But Its Meh... My Least Favorite Album Of Brit's! If All The Songs Were Like A I'm A Slave 4 U It Would Be Great!
    Sorry! LOW SCORE!
  2. DelegateofHell
    Oct 4, 2005
    0
    She deserves 0.00000000000000 becasue she is abnormal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I wonder if she is from this world?????????????????
  3. RoyS
    Sep 9, 2006
    0
    Just another socially engineered singer. The only thing that keeps these people afloat are pepsi commericials, and weak minded people.
  4. John
    Aug 18, 2004
    0
    HA! no
  5. MelissaO
    Sep 24, 2005
    0
    The worst album from the worst singer in the history of music!
  6. HernanK.
    Nov 28, 2001
    0
    Keeping in spirit with Milli Vanilli, Britney's voice is manufactured by computer and studio technology. Evidence of this statement is given by her inability to sing without a pre-recorded soundtrack (anyone see the HBO special?). Instead, listen to techno if you want to listen to computer generated music.
  7. XavierS.
    Nov 15, 2001
    0
    Not only does she destroy her career, but flushes her reputation down the toilet. Would it kill her to be just a little more original?
  8. AndreasL.
    Dec 29, 2001
    1
    One good song, Overprotected, but nothing else that stands out, this album is a clear miss, and the sales will show that, maybe not for this album, but if the next one is as bad, she'll loose a lot of fans...
  9. JohnathanB.
    Feb 17, 2002
    0
    Innovative, avante-garde and adventurous, Britney's latest is a captivating pop epic. Her lyrics are insightful and poignant, and her voice has a sublime quality that comes across as both lush and assertive. The instrumentation took my breath away with its inspired melodies and clever hooks. In the vapid genre that is pop, it is good to know that people like Britney have the ability Innovative, avante-garde and adventurous, Britney's latest is a captivating pop epic. Her lyrics are insightful and poignant, and her voice has a sublime quality that comes across as both lush and assertive. The instrumentation took my breath away with its inspired melodies and clever hooks. In the vapid genre that is pop, it is good to know that people like Britney have the ability to produce timeless classics that go beyond the latest fads in the music industry. She is also very beautiful, but her sultry, delicious vocals coupled with thought-provoking lyrics mean that she never needs to depend on her image to sell. In conclusion, Britney is one of the most talented and original artists on the scene today and I can't wait for her next big one. Expand
  10. LeeK
    Aug 12, 2004
    2
    eeee...Can I say "Too American"?
  11. AnnaH.
    Nov 11, 2001
    0
    She looks like a bigger slut then ever, she needs to write her own music and learn to be original.
  12. May 4, 2015
    1
    Katy Perry bursts back onto the scene with her amazing second album that is full to the grim of the tongue-in-cheek atmosphere that got herkhkkjhjghjbnnnnn
  13. Aug 30, 2016
    1
    Spears' sophomore album, which was critically one of her best, and featured the self-titled single that everyone and their mothers know. The album is headlined by such songs as Oops...I did it again, Stronger, and Lucky, with each one reaching the top 15 in the US Billboard 100 charts. Though those songs were popular, and I think they are catchy, the album does have its flaws. (I can't getSpears' sophomore album, which was critically one of her best, and featured the self-titled single that everyone and their mothers know. The album is headlined by such songs as Oops...I did it again, Stronger, and Lucky, with each one reaching the top 15 in the US Billboard 100 charts. Though those songs were popular, and I think they are catchy, the album does have its flaws. (I can't get no) Satisfaction is a word-for-word cover of the original Rolling Stones song, and it just comes off as awful personally. Also, the last track on the album, Dear Diary, is very, very stupid, in my opinion. Buy it to relive some nostalgia, but be aware this is the early 2000's, and bubblegum pop is just as cheesy as you thought it was. Collapse Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    90
    It's enough of a reinvention to suggest that Britney will know what to do when the teen-pop phenomenon of 1999-2001 passes for good.
  2. While she's been guilty of gluing sure-fire singles together with rotten fillers on her previous two albums, Britney uses this opportunity to take the odd risk and adds a welcome edge to her sound.
  3. An unmitigated drag.