Britney

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Britney Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 350 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Oops, she did it a third time. The Pepsi spokesperson's third LP features 12 new tracks produced by the likes of Rodney Jerkins, Max Martin and the Neptunes, including a cover of Joan Jett's "I Love Rock N Roll."

Top Track

I'm A Slave 4 U
I know I may be young, but I've got feelings too And I need to do what I feel like doing So let me go, and just listen All you people look at me... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    90
    It's enough of a reinvention to suggest that Britney will know what to do when the teen-pop phenomenon of 1999-2001 passes for good.
  2. A nicely varied, wholly satisfying collection.
  3. Britney and 'Britney' still works best when making a good pop cheese and dance sandwich.
  4. Britney is by far her most personable album, the most consistently playful and the least wince-inducing.
  5. Blender
    60
    It's hard to listen to the rest of Britney without imagining what the album would have sounded like had [the Neptunes] produced the whole thing. [#4, p.121]
  6. Spin
    50
    Amazingly enough, she does sound almost human. [Jan 2002, p.108]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 64
  2. Negative: 13 out of 64
  1. ownora
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    Brit rockzorz your soxorz
  2. Aug 26, 2016
    10
    Britney are great on this album, she did make good choises to singles, overprotected and I Love Rock in Rol, am I'm Slave 4 U are so sexy, iBritney are great on this album, she did make good choises to singles, overprotected and I Love Rock in Rol, am I'm Slave 4 U are so sexy, i love lonely and cinderela also, is a funny listen Antecipating her voice was so amazing in this album Expand
  3. SairoS
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    One of the best albums I've ever heard1 Too bad they made a terrible choice about the singles...
  4. ZaneS
    Feb 3, 2009
    8
    A real good one by the Princess of Pop - one of her best. But it's by no means an "Oops!" or a "Blackout." It is however better than "In A real good one by the Princess of Pop - one of her best. But it's by no means an "Oops!" or a "Blackout." It is however better than "In The Zone" and "Circus." The singles weren't chosen right, where "Overprotected" and the lame remix of "Boys" were obviously bad choices. It has much better tunes, like "Let Me Be," "That's Where You Take Me" and "Cinderella," all which would have made a few great bubblegum dance-pop singles. Expand
  5. Sep 12, 2011
    7
    Not Britney's best album for sure. A great pop record but not what we expected listening to the lead single "I'm a Slave 4 U". The recordNot Britney's best album for sure. A great pop record but not what we expected listening to the lead single "I'm a Slave 4 U". The record presents really good tracks like I'm a Slave 4 U, Overprotected, I Love Rock n Roll and I'm Not a Girl, Not Yet a Woman but songs like Let Me Be and What It's Like To Be Me are most used as fillers. She was changing with this album but the complete musical changed happened with "In The Zone" Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2016
    5
    A small step backwards from her previous album. Good tracks: Overprotected, I'm Not A Girl, Not Yet a Woman. The latter track sais it all, butA small step backwards from her previous album. Good tracks: Overprotected, I'm Not A Girl, Not Yet a Woman. The latter track sais it all, but i can't say she ever matured (became a woman) in her music. That's not to say her music is bad. Expand
  7. AnnaH.
    Nov 11, 2001
    0
    She looks like a bigger slut then ever, she needs to write her own music and learn to be original.

See all 64 User Reviews