Ceremonials

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Ceremonials Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 344 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The darker second album for the indie band was produced by Paul Epworth.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Q Magazine
    Dec 13, 2011
    100
    Ceremonials is quite some achievement: an accomplished pop record infused with intelligence and imagination... It offers the final, conclusive evidence that she's a pop star to believe in. [Dec. 2011 p. 118]
  2. Nov 4, 2011
    90
    Ceremonials is truly one of the few recent pop LPs that works both as a collection of individual songs and as a true album, with the right balance and flow to keep the record captivating from start to finish.
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    80
    An ambitious LP like is, backlit by harmonies and dramatic chord changes, is the perfect vehicle to showcase her voice; a less talented vocalist would crumble under its heaviness.
  4. Nov 2, 2011
    73
    Ceremonials abandons so many of the musical avenues she mapped out on Lungs and focuses instead on a monolithic sound that is certainly affecting but is becoming increasingly conventional in 2011.
  5. 60
    It's this robust fervor and subject matter that fire up and lift up many of the songs on Ceremonials, but the constant exhortation comes at a price. Listener fatigue sets in as the relentless, up-tempo pace and sharply exclamatory vocal tone overwhelms over the course of the album.
  6. Nov 3, 2011
    60
    Instead of Lungs' largely charming yet discombobulating diversity, Ceremonials suffers from a repetitiveness that's akin to looking at a skyline filled with 100-story behemoths lined-up one after the other, blocking out everything but their own size.
  7. Oct 31, 2011
    40
    Ceremonials never comes down off the high precipice.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    I can honestly say that is album is the best album released in 2011. There is no contest. The sound is like nothing you have heard before, theI can honestly say that is album is the best album released in 2011. There is no contest. The sound is like nothing you have heard before, the vocals are breathtaking and the production is perfection. As much as I liked "Lungs" it does not compare to "Ceremonials". It is an experience, It cannot be explained! you have to live it to understand. Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    Florence has always been one of those beautiful acts that are always there on your iPod should you need something powerful to play in yourFlorence has always been one of those beautiful acts that are always there on your iPod should you need something powerful to play in your ears, for me. This album, however, has made her so much more.

    It's powerful, a power that exceeds even the near flawless 'Lungs'. It carries with it the haunting edge 'Lungs' also held, but plays on it in far more straight-forward ways, a hurricane in musical production and voice, though she equally explores softer melodies, wind instruments and sweeter singing, reminiscent to my 'Lungs' highlight, 'Blinding'.

    This is not to mention the fact that Florence Welch is one of the best songwriters in recent memory, let alone singers. She's truly crafted herself a niche in music and still manages to feel like a breath of empowering, fresh air on every listen. It's thus far, for me, the quintessential album of 2011.
    Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2015
    10
    Yeah, this album is some good **** Is one of the most dark and at the same time beautiful albums I have ever heard.
    From 'Only If for a
    Yeah, this album is some good **** Is one of the most dark and at the same time beautiful albums I have ever heard.
    From 'Only If for a Night' all the way to 'Bedroom Hymns'.
    Expand
  4. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Undoubtedly ceremonials that Florence was a gift bestowed on us in 2011.
    Florence sings with much more confidence, strength and softness,
    Undoubtedly ceremonials that Florence was a gift bestowed on us in 2011.
    Florence sings with much more confidence, strength and softness, their vocals are divinely impeccable, making anyone listen to eventually become one of the legion of lovers of the art of Florence Welch and her band.
    The band gained more prominence brightness.
    Special mention to Shake It Out, a song that every time I hear it I feel my heart beat faster and radiates a joy in my face.
    A great and beautiful work
    Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    I was watching SNL the other night, when Florence and the Machine came on. Now normally, I fast forward my DVR past these segments, becauseI was watching SNL the other night, when Florence and the Machine came on. Now normally, I fast forward my DVR past these segments, because honestly, the sound makes almost everyone sound horrible and 7 out of 10 bands or acts, I just can't stand. I was pleasantly surprised by Florence and The Machine. They remind me of a Female led Coldplay.. but better. I thoroughly enjoy at least half of this album, and that being said, is an accomplishment for any band these days. Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2014
    8
    I love this album. It dives more towards art or arena rock with huge ballads, while featuring some genre-bending tracks such as "Lover toI love this album. It dives more towards art or arena rock with huge ballads, while featuring some genre-bending tracks such as "Lover to Lover" which dives into soul. As a whole, this album delivers an uplifting, deep, spiritual experience, as demonstrated by tracks such as "What the Water Gave Me" "Never Let Me Go" and "Shake It Out". With the beautiful voice of Florence Welch, and the instrumentals that enhance the experience even more, Ceremonials is no sophomore slump. Towards the end, some tracks become a bit diluted by over-production, but don't let that throw you off because the meaning, emotion, and spirituality in them still never disappoint. The only song that is truly disappointing on this album is Seven Devils, which seems a bit overdone and meaningless. Still, it features great tracks, some even written entirely by Florence herself (Breaking Down and Lover to Lover), that all demonstrate the talent and originality that this band has, even with a tad of over-production. Expand
  7. Nov 26, 2011
    3
    After finally managing to force myself to listen to Ceremonials for a third time, I can safely say my initial verdict was the correct one -After finally managing to force myself to listen to Ceremonials for a third time, I can safely say my initial verdict was the correct one - Just about every song misses the mark on what it tries to achieve and they all suffer from the same problem of being over-produced and under delivered. In the end, a grand, sweeping sound throughout can't mask the half-baked lyrics and bad arrangement. Lungs was a masterpiece. This is utter crap. Expand

See all 69 User Reviews