User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 4 out of 27

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PatrickC
    Feb 27, 2005
    9
    Great Album,I get the impression a people are a little bothered that Amon Tobin did a video game soundtrack. I've always thought Amon Tobin's music was a little ahead of its time, I think Amon Tobin's capacity to see video games' transformation to a respectable genre to be characteristic of the insight displayed in his music.
  2. KanonA
    Oct 17, 2005
    10
    the most gorgeous soundtrack ever, incredibly melodic and thrilling
  3. andrewj
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    pay no mind to the hater who sounds like an angry little girl and probably stays up all night listening to basement jaxx. this is an incredible album so intricate that it goes over some heads. not for the stupid.
  4. Mar 25, 2011
    9
    I've only listened to a little of Tobin's music, but I wasn't particularly fond of. However, I adored Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory's soundtrack. This album is great, but it's major flaw is that it doesn't include all of the music found in the game, and Jesper Kyd's contribution is no where to be found. What's more, each track is a condensed mixture of the three versions associated with eachI've only listened to a little of Tobin's music, but I wasn't particularly fond of. However, I adored Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory's soundtrack. This album is great, but it's major flaw is that it doesn't include all of the music found in the game, and Jesper Kyd's contribution is no where to be found. What's more, each track is a condensed mixture of the three versions associated with each level of alertness (standard, suspicious, and detected). Despite this, it still makes for a good standalone album and an even more fantastic soundtrack to be heard whilst playing a magnificent stealth game. Expand
  5. sachinp
    Feb 9, 2005
    9
    amazingly haunting and cinematic, with nods to jazz funk and prog rock. fits perfectly with the game
  6. RobertG
    Mar 21, 2005
    10
    Anyone who dislikes this album just dosn't have a good enough sound system.
  7. BradK
    Aug 12, 2005
    9
    Hey, if you take this openly, you can like this. The goal of the noise and such is to convey a tone, and people that are immediately turned off to these sounds, or have never given them the chance, will never understand it. This is personally one of my favorite albums, and I'm getting the 5.1 surround DVD.
  8. GeorgeH
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    This album is better than the second invasion!
  9. judyj
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    whoooahh!! no soundtrack I own comes close to this. deep as hell!
  10. daveb
    Apr 26, 2005
    7
    This is a thoroughly good, enjoyable ablum if you can suspend your disbelief and give it a chance. The arranged noise becomes moving music only if you have an open mind. Otherwise, you might like a tune or two but not the whole album.
  11. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    Without this soundtrack, the game wouldn't have been the same thing, It's nerve-racking, exciting, and intense. Every time i listen to one of the songs i imagine myself infiltrating in a bank, Amon Tobin totally nailed it.
  12. Jul 1, 2015
    10
    I have to say this is one of my very favorite Amon Tobin albums if I could pick one but generally I love all his albums equally they are all truly amazing and inspiring from beginning to end. I love this album especially because I've been an avid gamer for most of my life and I played the splinter cell series and this is hands down one of the greatest OST's made for any modern game made inI have to say this is one of my very favorite Amon Tobin albums if I could pick one but generally I love all his albums equally they are all truly amazing and inspiring from beginning to end. I love this album especially because I've been an avid gamer for most of my life and I played the splinter cell series and this is hands down one of the greatest OST's made for any modern game made in the last century, the songs really fit the game very well obviously and i'm just glad he got that opportunity to make that album. Just one reason Amon is one of my fav artists in the world. Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. As the accompaniment to game play, Chaos Theory is a standout in its field; just don't expect it to be as memorable as the typical Amon Tobin effort.
  2. In the end, it doesn't really matter that it's the soundtrack to a video game that I'll never play. It's a new Amon Tobin album (and a good one at that), and that's all I need.
  3. Spins a web of eerie jazz-junglist percussion. [22 Jan 2005, p.51]